Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 August 2025 with respect to the 101 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the claims are performed by two devices and would not be tied up. The Examiner disagrees because the use of multiple devices does not preclude an abstract idea being implemented or performed by the multiple devices. Applicant argues the claims provide an improvement on pages 13-14 of the Remarks because of the confirmation features and the multiple devices. The Examiner disagrees because in many jurisdictions age confirmations are required to purchase age restricted items and the employee is required to confirm the age of the customer intending to purchase the item. No improvement is concisely argued or presented by the Applicant and the Examiner believes the transaction settlement rules are being implemented on the multiple devices similar to MPEP 2106.05(f)&(g) which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Applicant's arguments filed 21 August 2025 with respect to the 102 rejection have been fully considered and based on the extensive amendments, new grounds of rejection are presented below.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 15, filed 21 August 2025, with respect to 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of 21 May 2025 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 14-16, and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. In the instant case, claim 1 is directed to a “information processing system”.
Claim 1 is directed to the concept of “performing transaction settlement based on rules” which is grouped under “organizing human activity… fundamental economic practice (monitoring a transaction for fraud or missing information is similar to mitigating risk) and commercial interactions (sales activities or behaviors and business relations include completing a transaction settlement, additionally, checking the age for an age restricted product is a legal requirement in many jurisdictions)” in prong one of step 2A (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). Claim 1 recites determine both whether registration of the products as registered products to be purchased by the customer is completed and that a settlement for the registered products has not yet been performed; notify the attendant terminal device that a confirmation, to be at least partly performed by the store clerk, is needed after the registration is completed and before the settlement for the registered products; display information indicating that the system is waiting for the confirmation by the store clerk; receive an input corresponding to the confirmation; and perform the settlement for the registered products after the input corresponding to the confirmation is received . Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (See MPEP 2106.04(d)), the additional elements of the claim such as an information processing device, an attendant terminal device, at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.05(f)&(h)). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to (i.e. implement) the acts of performing transaction settlement based on rules.
When analyzed under step 2B (See MPEP 2106.05), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely describe the concept of performing transaction settlement based on rules using computer technology (e.g. an information processing device). Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea, which cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)).
Dependent claims 2-5, 8-11, 14-16, 18-19, and 23-26 do not remedy the deficiencies of the independent claims and are rejected accordingly. The dependent claims further refine the abstract idea of the independent claims and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application In this case, all claims have been reviewed and are found to be substantially similar and linked to the same abstract idea (see Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-19, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saitoh US 2023/0043615.
As per claim 1: Saitoh discloses an information processing system comprising: an information processing device installed in a store and configured to be operated by a customer to check out products to be purchased by the customer (Fig 1 ‘40’& ‘60’); and
an attendant terminal device in the store and configured to be operated by a store clerk (Fig 1 ‘50’ monitoring device, [0339]-[0340], Fig 24B ‘417’), wherein the information processing device includes:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (Fig 4B, ¶¶ [0093]-[0095]):
determine, by receiving a settlement instruction from the customer via the
information processing device, both whether registration of the products as registered products to be purchased by the customer is completed and that a settlement for the registered products has not yet been performed (¶¶ [0399]-[0408]);
notify, by an operation of the customer via the information processing
device, the attendant terminal device that a confirmation, to be at least partly performed by the store clerk, is needed after the registration is completed and before the settlement for the registered products, the confirmation being at least one of an age confirmation, representing that at least one product of the registered products requires the store clerk to confirm an age of the customer (Fig 28 ‘BT31’ [0417], [0413]), and a removal confirmation representing that the store clerk has collected the at least one product and that, through an operation of the customer via the information processing device, the at least one product has been removed, as a registered product, from the registered products (¶¶ [0166] “A “canceled product” is, for example, collected by the employee from the customer during checkout.”, [0597] “A held product classified as classification number “4” is a canceled product (that is, a product that will not be purchased), and needs to be confirmed or the like by an employee during checkout since the product will not be taken out of the shop.”, [0277], [0291], [0453] & [0407]);
display, on a first display device of the information processing device,
information indicating that the system is waiting for the confirmation by the store clerk (Fig 27 ‘an employee will be with you soon. Please wait’, [0391], [0530]);
receive, through an operation of the store clerk on the attendant terminal
device, an input corresponding to the confirmation (¶¶ [0408]-[0412]); and
perform the settlement for the registered products after the input
corresponding to the confirmation is received (¶¶ [0205]-[0206], [0519]).
As per claim 2: Saitoh further discloses The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to require that the confirmation be completed before performing the settlement (Figs 9 & 29, ¶ [0195], Fig 12, 14, 15; [0271]-[0277]).
As per claim 3:
Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the confirmation includes a plurality of different confirmations (Figs 9 & 29, ¶ [0195], Fig 12, 14, 15; [0271]-[0277]).
As per claim 4: Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: receive respective inputs corresponding to the plurality of different confirmations (Figs 9 & 29, ¶ [0195], Fig 12, 14, 15; [0271]-[0277], fig 32 ¶¶ [0503]-[0519]); and
perform the settlement for the registered products after all of the respective inputs corresponding to the plurality of confirmations are received (Fig 32, ‘S912-S913’, ¶¶ [0503]-[0519]).
As per claim 5: Saitoh further disclose the information processing system according to claim 4, wherein the plurality of confirmations include a customer confirmation, to be performed by the customer, and a store clerk confirmation to be performed by a store clerk (¶ [0195], [0163]-[0166]; Fig 32 ¶¶ [0503]-[0519], abstract, Fig 12), and
the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
receive the store clerk confirmation (Fig 32, [0503]-[0519], [0162, [0166);
receive the customer confirmation after an input corresponding to the store clerk
confirmation is received (Fig 32, [0503]-[0519], [0162, [0166); and
perform the settlement for the registered products after an input corresponding to
the customer confirmation is received (¶¶ [0205]-[0206], also [0408]).
As per claim 8: Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the confirmation is partly performed by the customer (Fig 11A, ¶ [0195]).
As per claim 9:
Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 8, wherein a part of the confirmation, partly performed by the customer, represents whether the registered products are to be eaten or drunk in the store (Fig 11A, ¶ [0195]).
As per claim 10: Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 9,
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
specify, among the registered products, a candidate product that is allowed to be
eaten or drunk in the store (Fig 11A, ¶ [0194]-[0195]); and,
receive an input corresponding to the part of the confirmation, partly performed
by the customer, representing whether the registered products are to be eaten or drunk in the store (Fig 11A, ¶ [0195]).
As per claim 11: Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 8, wherein a part of the confirmation, partly performed by the customer, is a confirmation as represents whether to use a bag that needs to be paid for (¶ [0086] Fig 2).
As per claim 14: Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the confirmation comprises the removal confirmation (¶¶ [0166] “A “canceled product” is, for example, collected by the employee from the customer during checkout.”, [0597] “A held product classified as classification number “4” is a canceled product (that is, a product that will not be purchased), and needs to be confirmed or the like by an employee during checkout since the product will not be taken out of the shop.”, [0277], [0291], [0453] & [0407]).
As per claim 15: Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: notify the store clerk, via the attendant terminal device (Fig 1 ‘50’ monitoring device, [0339]-[0340]), to collect the at least one product as part of the removal confirmation, after the registration of information is completed and before the settlement for the registered products (¶¶ [0166] “A “canceled product” is, for example, collected by the employee from the customer during checkout.”, [0597] “A held product classified as classification number “4” is a canceled product (that is, a product that will not be purchased), and needs to be confirmed or the like by an employee during checkout since the product will not be taken out of the shop.”, [0277], [0291], [0453] & [0407]).
As per claim 16: Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: notify the attendant terminal device that there is the at least one product which, through the operation of the customer via the information processing device, has been removed, as the registered product, from the registered products (¶¶ [0166] “A “canceled product” is, for example, collected by the employee from the customer during checkout.”, [0597] “A held product classified as classification number “4” is a canceled product (that is, a product that will not be purchased), and needs to be confirmed or the like by an employee during checkout since the product will not be taken out of the shop.”, [0277], [0291], [0453] & [0407]).
As per claim 18: Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the confirmation includes the age confirmation (¶¶ [0277], [0512]-[0513]; [0163]) and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: notify the attendant terminal device that the at least one of the product requiring the store clerk to confirm the age of the customer, has been registered as one of the
registered products (¶¶ [0277], [0512]-[0513]; [0163]).
As per claim 19: Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: when the product requiring an age confirmation has been registered, notify the store clerk, via the attendant terminal device, to perform the age confirmation after the registration is completed and before the settlement for the products (¶¶ [0270]-[0277], [0340]).
As per Claims 21 and 22: Claims 21 and 22 are disclosed under the rationale of claim 1.
As per claim 23:
Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the attendant terminal device comprises a second display device (Fig 24B ‘417’), and the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
control, in response to the attendant terminal device being notified that the
confirmation is needed, (¶ [0366], [0368]) the second display device to:
display at least one of a name and a quantity of each of the registered
products that requires the age confirmation (Fig 28); and
display a message prompting the store clerk to input information
corresponding to the age confirmation (Fig 28).
As per claim 24:
Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein displaying, on the first display device of the information processing device, the information indicating that the system is waiting for the confirmation by the store clerk comprises displaying text that an age confirmation product is included with the registered products and that the store clerk is coming (Fig 27 ‘an employee will be with you soon. Please wait’, [0391], [0530]).
As per claim 25:
Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein notifying, by the operation of the customer via the information processing device, the attendant terminal device that the confirmation is needed after the registration is completed and before the settlement for the registered products includes the confirmation comprising at least the age confirmation, and identifying to the attendant terminal device an identification of the information processing device and an identification of the at least one product of the registered products requires the store clerk to confirm an age of the customer (¶¶ [0407]-[0413], see also Figs 27&28).
As per claim 26:
Saitoh further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein notifying, by the operation of the customer via the information processing device, the attendant terminal device that the confirmation is needed after the registration is completed and before the settlement for the registered products includes at least one of turning on a lamp and sounding a buzzer (¶¶ [0092], [0266], [0407]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID P SHARVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3692