DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2019/0044135A1 (Du).
Regarding claims 1, 3-8 and 10, Du teaches a lithium ion battery comprises a positive electrode , a negative electrode, a separator and a non-aqueous electrolyte ([0040]-[0046]).
Du teaches that the positive electrode comprises a modified positive electrode active material comprising a positive electrode active material substrate, and an oxide layer containing boron oxide coated on the surface of the positive electrode active material substrate([0005], Fig. 1, [0021], [0024] , [0051] and Table 1), wherein the positive electrode active material substrate is exemplified as LiNi0.8 Co0.1Mn0.1O2 ([0050]), which meets the claimed nickel amount and formula 1 of claim 8 wherein a is 1, x is 0.8, y is 0.1, M1 is Mn, z is 0.1 and w is 0.
Du further teaches that the positive electrode active material substrate comprises secondary particles formed by agglomeration of the primary particles([0027] and Fig. 2), wherein the coating is distributed on a surface of some of primary particles (Fig. 4).
Du exemplified the boron in an amount of 0.2% ([0021], [0024], [0051] and Table 1), i.e., 2000ppm, which meets the claimed range of boron content A of claims 5-7.
Du exemplifies the non aqueous electrolyte comprises LiPF6 ([0057]) , thus no boron containing lithium salt.
Du does not teach the nonaqueous electrolyte solution comprise a boron dissolved therein, neither the claimed boron content ratio in the electrolyte solution and in the positive electrode. However, Du teaches the same nickel rich positive electrode coated with the same boron compound, i.e., boron oxide in the same amount, i.e. 2000 ppm, and the same non aqueous electrolyte solution of LiPF6 in similar solvent mixture containing ethylene carbonate and dimethyl carbonate ([0057]) to that of the instantly disclosed (instant example 1-1). The original specification does not identify a feature other than the presence of moisture in the fabrication and shipping process that results in the claimed effect, i.e., elution of boron from the positive electrode into the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable basis to expect the claimed effects, elution of boron in the claimed ratio and amount from the positive electrode into the nonaqueous electrolyte solution would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients under environmental moisture. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding claim 9, Du teaches that the primary particles of the positive electrode active material substrate have a particle diameter of 0.2 μm to 1 μm exemplified as 0.4 μm, and the secondary particles have a particle diameter of 5 μm to 18 μm, exemplified as 12μm ([0027] and [0050]), which meets the claimed particle sizes of primary and secondary particles, respectively.
Claims 1 and 4-10 are alternatively, and claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du in view of US2006/0188787A1(Nakanishi), which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 10, Du teaches a lithium ion battery comprises a positive electrode , a negative electrode, a separator and a non-aqueous electrolyte ([0040]-[0046]).
Du teaches that the positive electrode comprises a modified positive electrode active material comprising a positive electrode active material substrate, and an oxide layer containing boron oxide coated on the surface of the positive electrode active material substrate([0005], Fig. 1, [0021], [0024] , [0051] and Table 1), wherein the positive electrode active material substrate is exemplified as LiNi0.8 Co0.1Mn0.1O2 ([0050]), which meets the claimed nickel amount and formula 1 of claim 8 wherein a is 1, x is 0.8, y is 0.1, M1 is Mn, z is 0.1 and w is 0.
Du further teaches that the positive electrode active material substrate comprises secondary particles formed by agglomeration of the primary particles([0027] and Fig. 2), wherein the coating is distributed on a surface of some of primary particles (Fig. 4).
Du exemplified the boron in an amount of 0.2% ([0021], [0024], [0051] and Table 1), i.e., 2000ppm, which meets the claimed range of boron content A of claims 5-7.
Du exemplifies the non aqueous electrolyte comprises LiPF6 ([0057]).
Du does not teach the nonaqueous electrolyte solution comprise a boron dissolved therein, neither the claimed boron content ratio in the electrolyte solution and in the positive electrode.
Nakanishi teaches the addition of an inorganic borate to an non-aqueous electrolyte makes it possible to suppress the amount of gas production when batteries are stored while being continuously charged, and to improve the capacity recovery rate as well as the high-rate discharge characteristics and cycle characteristics ([012] and [0067]), and exemplifies a concentration of 0.005 mol/L of Li2B4O7 added to a lithium hexafluorophosphate nonaqueous electrolyte solution of a solvent mixture of ethylene carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, and diethyl carbonate in a volume ratio of 20:60:20 ([0046] and Table 1), which is equivalent to about 216 ppm of boron content, estimated by the examiner based on atom mass of 10.8 of boron (i.e., 0.005X4X10.8/1000), which meets the claimed range of content (B) of claims 5-7.
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add an inorganic borate such as 0.005 mol/L of Li2B4O7 of Nakanishi to the nonaqueous electrolyte solution of Du. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teachings of Nankanish that to do so would suppress the amount of gas production when batteries are stored while being continuously charged, and to improve the capacity recovery rate as well as the high-rate discharge characteristics and cycle characteristics ([012] and [0067]). Thus the ratio of (B/A) is 216 ppm to 2000 ppm, i.e., 0.108, which meets the claimed ratio.
Regarding claim 9, Du teaches that the primary particles of the positive electrode active material substrate have a particle diameter of 0.2 μm to 1 μm exemplified as 0.4 μm, and the secondary particles have a particle diameter of 5 μm to 18 μm, exemplified as 12μm ([0027] and [0050]), which meets the claimed particle sizes of primary and secondary particles, respectively.
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766