DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the terminals penetrates the second bobbin” as recited in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 7, it appears “side surfaces” should be --side surface--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, it’s not clear what’s intended by “extension portions defining the coil-seating recess” as recited. The extension portions 22a and 22b are different from the coil-seating recess 21 in the present invention. So, how can the extension portion define the coil-seating recess?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geol et al. (KR 10-1111189, hereinafter “Geol”).
With respect to claim 1, Geol teaches a bobbin 21 and 10 for magnetic components (FIGs. 1-4b) and 2), the bobbin comprising:
a first bobbin 21 including a space defined therein to accommodate a magnetic core (“core (not shown in the drawing) para. [0044]) and a pair of isolation protrusions 22a and 22b disposed opposite each other so as to divide the first bobbin into a first section (section on which coil 24a or 24b is wound) and a second section (section on which the other of coil 24a or 24b is wound); and
a second bobbin 10 including a coil-seating recess 12 formed therein to allow a first coil and a second coil to be seated therein in a state of being wound on the first bobbin and terminals 16a-16d disposed outside the coil-seating recess in regions corresponding to four quadrants of the coil-seating recess (paras. [0033], [0036], [0038], [0044] and [0048]).
With respect to claim 5, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 1, wherein the second bobbin is formed to be at least partially convex 10g in an outward direction along a shape of the coil-seating recess (para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 6, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 1, wherein the terminals are mounted on four corners of the second bobbin (para. [0038]).
With respect to claim 8, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 1, wherein the first coil is wound on the first section, and the second coil is wound on the second section (para. [0038]).
With respect to claim 15, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 7, wherein each of the terminals penetrates the second bobbin.
With respect to claim 16, Geol teaches a bobbin 21 and 10 for magnetic components (FIGs. 1-4b), the bobbin comprising:
a first bobbin 21 accommodating a magnetic core (“core (not shown in the drawing) para. [0044]); and
a second bobbin 10 including a coil-seating recess 12, and terminals disposed outside the coil-seating recess,
wherein the first bobbin comprises:
a first section (section on which coil 24a or 24b is wound) on which a first coil 24a or 24b having first wire terminals (ends) is wound;
a second section (section on which the other of coil 24a or 24b is wound) on which a second coil (the other of coil 24a or 24b) having second wire terminals (ends) is wound; and a pair of isolation protrusions 22a and 22b disposed between the first section and the second section (paras. [0033], [0036], [0038], [0044] and [0048]).
With respect to claim 17, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 16, wherein the terminals include first and fourth terminals 16a-16d disposed in regions corresponding to four quadrants of the coil-seating recess (para. [0038]).
With respect to claim 18, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 16, wherein the second bobbin further comprises extension portions defining the coil-seating recess, the terminals being disposed at surroundings of the coil-seating recess in the extension portions (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 19, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 18, wherein the first and second terminals are connected to the terminals (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 20, Geol teaches an EMI filter comprising the bobbin according to claim 1 (para. [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geol, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of E. G. Chambers et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,287,795, hereinafter “Chambers”).
With respect to claim 2, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 1, wherein the second bobbin includes a pair of extension portions 10a-10d (annotated FIG. 1) extending from two opposite sides of the coil-seating recess in a direction of a virtual straight line (dotted line) connecting the pair of isolation protrusions, and
wherein central portions 10e and 10f of the extension portions corresponding to the pair of isolation protrusions are formed (para. [0048]).
Geol does not expressly teach a distance from the coil-seating recess to an outermost portion of each of the extension portions in the direction of the virtual straight line is shorter than a length of each of the terminals in the direction of the virtual straight line.
Chambers teaches a bobbin 27 for magnetic components (FIG. 3),
wherein a distance (thickness of bobbin 27) from the coil-seating recess 23 to an outermost portion (outer periphery) of each of the extension portions (walls of bobbin 27) in the direction of the virtual straight line is shorter than a length of each of the terminals 22 in the direction of the virtual straight line (col. 2, lines 68-72). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the distance relationship as taught by Chambers to the bobbin for magnetic components of Geol to provide the required connectivity between the coil and the terminals to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 3, Geol in view of Chambers teaches the bobbin according to claim 2, wherein a length of at least a part of each of the extension portions in the direction of the virtual straight line is longer than the length of each of the terminals (Geol, para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 11, Geol in view of Chambers teaches the bobbin according to claim 2, wherein first wire terminals of the first coil and second wire terminals of the second coil are disposed opposite each other with respect to the virtual straight line (Geol, para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 12, Geol in view of Chambers teaches the bobbin according to claim 11, wherein the first and second wire terminals are disposed to extend outside the coil-seating recess (Geol, para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 13, Geol in view of Chambers teaches the bobbin according to claim 12, wherein the first and second wire terminals are connected to the terminals (Geol, para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 14, Geol in view of Chambers teaches the bobbin according to claim 2, wherein the second bobbin includes convex portions 10g formed convexly in an outward direction along a shape of the coil-seating recess on at least portions of outer side surfaces thereof that are formed opposite each other with respect to the virtual straight line (Geol, para. [0033]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geol in view of Chambers, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Woo et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0260688 A1, hereinafter “Woo”).
With respect to claim 4, Geol in view of Chambers teaches the bobbin according to claim 2. Geol in view of Chambers does not expressly teach the extension portions include second isolation protrusions formed on the central portions thereof.
Woo teaches a bobbin 110 for magnetic components (FIG. 6), wherein the extension portions 110a (annotated FIG. 6) include second isolation protrusions 110b formed on the central portions thereof (para. [0074]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second isolation protrusion as taught by Woo to the bobbin for magnetic components of Geol in view of Chambers to improve separation characteristics between the terminals to reduce short circuiting possibilities.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geol, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Cheng (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2012/0293291 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 1. Geol does not expressly teach the terminals are mounted on the second bobbin so as to surround an upper surface, a lower surface, and side surfaces between the upper surface and the lower surface of the second bobbin.
Cheng teaches a bobbin 201 for magnetic components (FIG. 3), wherein the terminals 2012 are mounted on the second bobbin so as to surround an upper surface (top surface), a lower surface (bottom surface), and side surface.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geol, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Hwang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0272948 A1, hereinafter “Hwang”).
With respect to claim 9, Geol teaches the bobbin according to claim 1. Geol does not expressly teach the bobbin comprises:
a lower part having a U-shaped cross-section; and
an upper part having an inverted U-shaped cross-section even though it appears the bobbin “formed into a symmetrical bifurcated structure” (para. [0044]) may meet the claimed limitations.
Nonetheless, Hwang teaches a bobbin 100 and 130 (FIG. 2A), wherein the bobbin comprises:
a lower part 100B having a U-shaped cross-section; and
an upper part 100A having an inverted U-shaped cross-section (para. [0046]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the lower and upper parts as taught by Hwang to the bobbin of Geol to facilitated manufacturing.
With respect to claim 10, Geol in view of Hwang teaches the bobbin according to claim 9, wherein the upper part and the lower part overlap each other to be coupled to each other (Hwang, para. [0046]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837