DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leibetseder (US 20200269714)
Regarding claim 1, Leibetseder teaches a device for contact-connecting an electric vehicle to a charging station (figure 1 item 14 defined in paragraph [0129] as a vehicle connection device for contact-connecting an electric vehicle, item 10, to a charging station, item 12 a ground contact unit), comprising:
a first group (10) of contact elements, the first group (10) of contact elements comprising a first power connection (11) and a first measurement connection (12) (figure 5 shows the underside of the vehicle connection device within the vehicle. Figure 5 shows a first group of contact elements item 84, defined in paragraph [0199] as contact electrodes. Paragraph [0027] disclose measuring units connected to a first contact electrode to measure connection);
a second group (20) of contact elements, said second group (20) of contact elements comprising a second power connection (21), a protective conductor connection (23) and a second measurement connection (22) (figure 5 shows the underside of the vehicle connection device within the vehicle. Figure 5 shows a second group of contact elements item 84, defined in paragraph [0199] as contact electrodes. Paragraph [0027] disclose measuring units connected to a second contact electrode to measure connection. Paragraph [0200] discloses wherein the contact electrodes are a protective conductor connection, interpreted as earthing contact electrodes); and
a positioning device (30) which is configured to contact-connect the contact elements of the first group (10) of contact elements to a first contact pad (101) of a charging point and to contact-connect the contact elements of the second group (20) of contact elements to a second contact pad (102) of a charging point (figure 4 shows an aligning actuator item 60 with contact elements items 84, 86, 88, and 90 contacting elements 20, 22, 28 and 30 on a first contact pad item 12).
Leibetseder Figure 1 shows an electric vehicle with a connection device to connect with a charging pad
Regarding claim 6, Leibetseder teaches the device (1) according to claim l, comprising a protective device (40) adapted to enclose an area between the electric vehicle and the charging station in which the first group (10) of contact elements and the second group (20) of contact elements are arranged when the first and second group (10, 20) of contact elements are in contact with the second contact pads (101, 102) of the charging point (figure 4 item 72 defined in paragraph [0187] teaches a protection device interpreted as bellows item 72).
Regarding claim 7, Leibetseder teaches the device (1) according to claim 6, with a checking device (41) which is configured to approve the charging process only if the protective device (40) has enclosed the area between the electric vehicle and the charging station in which the first group (10) of contact elements and the second group (20) of contact elements are arranged (figure 1 and paragraph [0193] teaches wherein the protective device, bellows item 72, has an enclosed area wherein the contact elements are arranged).
Regarding claim 8, Leibetseder teaches the device (1) according to claim l, comprising a communication device (51) adapted to provide a communication link (51) between the electric vehicle and the charging station via the contact elements of the first measurement connection (12) and the second measurement connection (22) (paragraph [0109] teaches wherein data including measurements are exchanged between the vehicle and charging station).
Regarding claim 9, Leibetseder teaches a charging station for charging an electric vehicle (figure 1 item 10 an electric vehicle with charging station item 12),
with a first contact pad (101) adapted to be electrically connected to the first power connection (11) of a device (1) for contact-connecting an electric vehicle to the charging station (figure 2 item 20 shows a first contact area), and
a second contact pad (102) adapted to be electrically connected to a second power connection (21) of the device (1) for contact-connecting an electric vehicle to the charging station (figure 2 item 24 shows a second contact area),
wherein the second contact pad (102) is arranged concentrically around the first contact pad (101) (paragraph [0021] discloses wherein the electrodes may be arranged concentrically), and wherein an electrically insulating area (103) is arranged between the first contact pad (101) and the second contact pad (102) (figure 2b item 49and paragraph [0156] discloses insulating sections).
Regarding claim 10, Leibetseder teaches a method for contact-connecting an electric vehicle to a charging station (shown in figure 1),
comprising the steps of: contact-connecting of a first group (10) of contact elements to a first contact pad (101) of the charging station, the first group (10) of contact elements comprising a first power connection (11) and a first measurement connection (12) (figure 5 shows the underside of the vehicle connection device within the vehicle. Figure 5 shows a first group of contact elements item 84, defined in paragraph [0199] as contact electrodes. Paragraph [0027] disclose measuring units connected to a first contact electrode to measure connection);
contact-connecting (S2) of a second group (20) of contact elements to a second contact pad (102) of the charging station, the second group (20) of contact elements comprising a second power connection (21), a protective conductor connection (23) and a second measurement connection (22) (figure 5 shows the underside of the vehicle connection device within the vehicle. Figure 5 shows a second group of contact elements item 84, defined in paragraph [0199] as contact electrodes. Paragraph [0200] discloses wherein the contact electrodes are a protective conductor connection, interpreted as earthing contact electrodes);
checking (S3) contact resistances between the first power connection (11) and the first measurement connection (12), between the second power connection (21) and the second measurement connection (22) and between the protective conductor connection (23) and the second measurement connection (22) (Paragraph [0027] disclose measuring units connected to the first and second contact electrode to measure connection. Paragraph [0065] discloses measuring units checking the electrodes to determine connection); and
release of a charging process if the checked contact resistance falls below a predefined limit value (paragraph [0272] discloses wherein when contact is determined to have fallen below a predefined limit or the contact has been broken, charging is switched off).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leibetseder (US 20200269714) view of Fuehrer (US 20220250491).
Regarding claim 2, Leibetseder teaches the device (1) according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach comprising a control device (50) configured to determine a first contact resistance between the first power connection (11) and the first measurement connection (12) of the first group (10) of contact elements when the first group (10) of contact elements are in contact with the first contact pad (101) of the charging point to determine a second contact resistance between the second power connection (21) and the second measurement connection (22) of the second group (20) of contact elements and to determine a third contact resistance between the protective conductor connection (23) and the second measurement connection (22) of the second group (20) of contact elements when the second group (20) of contact elements are in contact with the second contact pad (102) of the charging point, and to approve a charging process if the first contact resistance, the second contact resistance and the third contact resistance each fall below a predefined limit value.
Fuehrer teaches a control device (50) configured to determine a first contact resistance between the first power connection (11) and the first measurement connection (12) of the first group (10) of contact elements when the first group (10) of contact elements are in contact with the first contact pad (101) of the charging point (paragraph [0036] discloses an insulation monitoring device item 51, which measures an electrical resistance of a contact element 11A, interpreted as a load contact. Fuehrer teaches a vehicle charging system which uses contact charging via a charging connector part, figure 1 item 3, and a vehicle connector part item 1. A connection state is determined by the monitoring device measuring resistance)
to determine a second contact resistance between the second power connection (21) and the second measurement connection (22) of the second group (20) of contact elements and to determine a third contact resistance between the protective conductor connection (23) and the second measurement connection (22) of the second group (20) of contact elements when the second group (20) of contact elements are in contact with the second contact pad (102) of the charging point (as disclosed above in regards a first contact, Fuehrer teaches the same system for a second contact 11B and a protective conductor contact item 11. Paragraph [0036] discloses an insulation monitoring device item 51, which measures an electrical resistance of a contact element, interpreted as a load contact. Fuehrer teaches a vehicle charging system which uses contact charging via a charging connector part, figure 1 item 3, and a vehicle connector part item 1. A connection state is determined by the monitoring device measuring resistance), and to approve a charging process if the first contact resistance, the second contact resistance and the third contact resistance each fall below a predefined limit value (paragraph [0039] discloses wherein charging initiated when it has been determined if the insulation is intact, by comparing measured values with a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Leibetseder reference with monitoring system of the Fuehrer reference so that the performance of the plug or contactor parts are maintained even during several years of use with a large number of charging cycles.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fuehrer reference in paragraph [0003] wherein performance is maintained over several years.
Regarding claim 3, Leibetseder teaches the device (1) according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control device (50) is configured to check the contact resistances during a charging process and to interrupt the charging process if at least one of the determined contact resistances exceeds the respective predetermined limit value.
Fuehrer teaches wherein the control device (50) is configured to check the contact resistances during a charging process and to interrupt the charging process if at least one of the determined contact resistances exceeds the respective predetermined limit value (paragraph [0039] discloses wherein charging is aborted when it has been determined if the insulation is not intact, by comparing measured values with a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Leibetseder reference with monitoring system of the Fuehrer reference so that the performance of the plug or contactor parts are maintained even during several years of use with a large number of charging cycles.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fuehrer reference in paragraph [0003] wherein performance is maintained over several years.
Regarding claim 4, Leibetseder teaches the device (1) according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control device (50) is configured to determine an insulation resistance between the first measurement connection (12) of the first group (10) of contact elements and the second measurement connection (22) of the second group (20) of contact elements, and to approve the charging process if the determined insulation resistance exceeds a predetermined limit value.
Fuehrer teaches wherein the control device (50) is configured to determine an insulation resistance between the first measurement connection (12) of the first group (10) of contact elements and the second measurement connection (22) of the second group (20) of contact elements, and to approve the charging process if the determined insulation resistance exceeds a predetermined limit value (paragraph [0039] discloses wherein charging initiated when it has been determined if the insulation is intact, by monitoring insulation resistance and comparing the measured values with a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Leibetseder reference with monitoring system of the Fuehrer reference so that the performance of the plug or contactor parts are maintained even during several years of use with a large number of charging cycles.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Fuehrer reference in paragraph [0003] wherein performance is maintained over several years.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leibetseder (US 20200269714) view of Fuehrer (US 20220250491) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Badger (US 8373389)
Regarding claim 5, Leibetseder and Fuehrer teaches the device (1) according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control device (50) is configured to monitor a charging current during the charging process and to interrupt the charging process if the charging current falls below a predetermined minimum charging current.
Badger teaches wherein the control device (50) is configured to monitor a charging current during the charging process and to interrupt the charging process if the charging current falls below a predetermined minimum charging current (column 7 lines 11 – 32 teaches wherein a current sensor 86 and/or a voltage sensor, form part of a charge monitoring system disposed to sense progress of charging of batteries 84. The monitoring system may determine and report the state of charge of the battery 84, the rate of charge, and also may indicate the completion of charging. Colum 7 lines 42 – 46 teaches wherein the charging is interrupted or disconnected upon reaching a threshold or a completion of charge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Leibetseder and Fuehrer references with monitoring system of the Badger reference to limit voltages present during charging due to safety concerns presented by the relatively high operating voltage used in many electrically powered vehicles.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Badger reference in column 1 lines 49 - 51 wherein voltage is limited due to safety concerns.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20220250490 A1 Plug Connector Fuehrer; Thomas
Us 8890475 B1 Automobile Charging Becker; Gilbert Scott
Us 9873347 B2 Automatic Charging of an EV Brown; Wendell
Us 20200225275 A1 Insulation Detection Circuit Du; Baohai Et Al.
Us 20210394629 A1 Line Set For A Charging Station Haas; Martin Et Al.
Us 9643505 B2 Power Receiving Device Ichikawa; Shinji Et Al.
Us 20210215627 A1 Evaluation Method Kawahara; Hisato Et Al.
Us 20210213845 A1 Evaluation Jig Kawahara; Hisato Et Al.
Us 20180001777 A1 Charging Station Kilic; Ahmet
Us 20180056799 A1 Hands-Free Conductive Battery Charger Namou; Andrew J. Et Al.
Us 10604020 B2 Floating Armature Ricci; Christopher P.
Us 20210086644 A1 Method For Producing An Electrical Connection Of A Vehicle Contact Unit, Vehicle Connection Device, And Vehicle Stockinger; Hermann Et Al.
Us 20200303874 A1 Contacting System For Producing An Electrical Connection Between A Primary Device And A Secondary Device Stockinger; Hermann Et Al.
Us 20190263278 A1 Vehicle Connection Device Stockinger; Hermann Et Al.
Us 20110148350 A1 System For Charging A Battery Wegener; Fritz Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859