Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, lines 1-2, " a polymeric multilayer optical film disposed on the first light absorbing layer opposite the source of light" should read - - a polymeric multilayer optical film disposed on the first light absorbing layer and on a side of the first light absorbing layer facing away from the source of light- -
In claim 7, line 7, " a polymeric multilayer optical film disposed on the lens layer opposite the source of light" should read - - a polymeric multilayer optical film disposed on the lens layer and on a side of the lens layer facing away from the source of light- -
In claim 12, lines 12-13, " a first light absorbing layer disposed on, and spaced apart from, the structured first major surface opposite the multilayer optical film" should read - - a first light absorbing layer disposed on, and spaced apart from, the structured first major surface and on a side of the structured first major surface facing away from the multilayer optical film- -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12, line 4 recite the limitation “for each of a first and an orthogonal second,” is indefinite insofar as unclear for each of a first “what” and an orthogonal second “what”. For examination purposes, this limitation has been interpreted as “for each of a first polarization state and an orthogonal second polarization state,”
Dependent claims 13-15 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (WO 2020/035768A1) in view of Zhan (US 2022/0122374).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches an optical system (the electronic device 1101 in Fig. 11, Pages 1-21 of WO2020/035768A1) comprising:
an optical construction (the optical element 1100 in Fig. 11, Pages 13-14) comprising:
a lens layer (the layer corresponding the first layer 1160 in Fig. 11) comprising a structured first major surface (the top surface of 1160 corresponding to 1150 in Fig. 11) comprising an array of at least first (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and second (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1107 in Fig. 11) microlenses;
a first light absorbing layer (the pinhole mask layer 1180 in Fig. 11) disposed on (Fig. 11), and spaced apart from (Fig. 11), the structured first major surface (the top surface of 1160 corresponding to 1150 in Fig. 11) and defining an array of at least first (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and second (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1107/1108 in Fig. 11) through openings therein, there being a one-to-one correspondence (Fig. 11) between the first microlenses (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and the first through openings (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and between the second microlenses (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1107/1108 in Fig. 11) and the second through openings (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1107/1108 in Fig. 11), each pair of corresponding first microlens (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and first through opening (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) centered (Fig. 11) on a first optical axis (the axis corresponding to the center axis of 1105 in Fig. 11) making a same first angle (Fig. 11, the first angle is substantially zero) with a normal to the first light absorbing layer (the normal to the pinhole mask layer 1180 in Fig. 11), each pair of corresponding second microlens (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1107 in Fig. 11) and second through opening (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1107/1108 in Fig. 11) corresponding to a second optical axis (the axis corresponding to the center axis of 1107 in Fig. 11) making a same second angle (the angle between the center axis of 1107 and the normal to the pinhole mask layer 1180 in Fig. 11), different than the first angle (Fig. 11), with the normal to the first light absorbing layer (the normal to the pinhole mask layer 1180 in Fig. 11); and
a source of light (the light source for 1105 and 1107/1108 in Fig. 11, which is corresponding to 1102 in Fig. 11) emitting light incident on the structured first major surface side (the top surface side of 1160 in Fig. 11) of the optical construction (Fig. 11), the emitted light (Fig. 11) comprising a first light beam (the light beam corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) carrying a first information (Fig. 11) and propagating substantially parallel (Fig. 11) to the first optical axis (the axis corresponding to the center axis of 1105 in Fig. 11) and a second light beam (the light beam corresponding to 1107 in Fig. 11) propagating substantially parallel to (Fig. 11) the second optical axis (the axis corresponding to the center axis of 1107 in Fig. 11).
The embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang teaches that each of the second microlens (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1107 in Fig. 11) of each pair of corresponding second microlens and second through opening is centered (Fig. 11) on the second optical axis (the axis corresponding to the center axis of 1107 in Fig. 11), and the incident light beams (the beams corresponding to 1107 and 1108 in Fig. 11) have different incident angles (Fig. 11, Page 14, lines 7-7) and pass through the pinholes (Fig. 11, Page 14, lines 4-7). The embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang does not teach that the second light beam carrying a different second information, and the second light beam propagating through each of the second microlens passes through a center of each of the corresponding second through opening; therefore, each pair of corresponding second microlens and second through opening centered on a second optical axis making the same second angle, different than the first angle, with the normal to the first light absorbing layer.
Zhan teaches that (Fig. 14, Fig. 5, 8 and 12, [0065, 0073-0080, 0162-0165]) a second light beam (the first or second light signal corresponding to 221 or 211 in Fig. 14 and Fig. 5, [0074, 0077-0078]) carrying a different second information ([0074, 0077-0078]), and the second light beam (the first or second light signal corresponding to 221 or 211 in Fig. 14 and Fig. 5, [0074, 0077-0078]) is propagating through each of the second microlens (the microlens of 410 corresponding to the subpixels 221 or 211 in Fig. 14) and passes through a center of each of the corresponding second through opening (the opening 420 corresponding to 221 or 211 in Fig. 14, [0162-0164]) of each pair of corresponding second microlens (the microlens of 410 corresponding to the second subpixels 221 or 211 in Fig. 14) and second through opening (the opening 420 corresponding to 221 or 211 in Fig. 14, [0162-0164]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Zhan for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang, the second light beam carrying a different second information, and the second light beam propagating through each of the second microlens passes through a center of each of the corresponding second through opening; therefore, each pair of corresponding second microlens and second through opening centered on a second optical axis making the same second angle, different than the first angle, with the normal to the first light absorbing layer; since Yang already teaches the incident light beams have different incident angle and pass through the pinholes (Fig. 11, Page 14, lines 4-7), and it helps to provide the light signals with different characteristics, and improve quality of fingerprint images to meet requirements of different scenes (Zhan, [0005, 0077]).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang does not teach the following elements.
Zhan teaches the following elements:
(Claim 2) a first light beam has a first wavelength and a second light beam has a different second wavelength ([0077-0078]).
(Claim 6) first and second information comprise one or more of a wavelength ([0077-0080]), an angle ([0077-0080]), an oxygen level of a human or an animal body portion, an image of a human or an animal body portion, an image of finger print ([0076]), an image of a human or an animal vein, a light absorption by a human or an animal body portion, a temporal information, a spatial information, a hydration state of a living being, and a blood content of a living being.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Zhan for the system of Yang in view of Zhan such that in the system of Yang in view of Zhan,
(Claim 2) the first light beam has a first wavelength and the second light beam has a different second wavelength.
(Claim 6) the first and second information comprise one or more of a wavelength, an angle, an oxygen level of a human or an animal body portion, an image of a human or an animal body portion, an image of finger print, an image of a human or an animal vein, a light absorption by a human or an animal body portion, a temporal information, a spatial information, a hydration state of a living being, and a blood content of a living being.
The motivation is to improve performance and reliability of the detection apparatus (Zhan, [0065, 0009]).
Regarding claim 5, the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang teaches the following elements.
(Claim 5) an optical sensor (1199 in Fig. 11) configured to receive and sense at least the first and second light beams (the light beams corresponding to 1105, 1107 and 1108) emitted by the source of light (the light source for 1105 and 1107/1108 in Fig. 11, which is corresponding to 1102 in Fig. 11) and transmitted through the first and second through openings (Fig. 11).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Zhan as applied to claims 2 and 1 above, and further in view of Wheatley (US 2019/0137669).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Yang teaches that a polymeric multilayer optical film (the multilayer optical film 1110 in Fig. 11, which is corresponding to 510 in Fig. 5, Page 12-14) disposed on the first light absorbing layer (the pinhole mask layer 1180 in Fig. 11) and on a side of the first light absorbing layer facing away from the source of light (the light source for 1105 and 1107/1108 in Fig. 11, which is corresponding to 1102 in Fig. 11), the polymeric multilayer optical film (the multilayer optical film 1110 in Fig. 11, which is corresponding to 510 in Fig. 5, Page 10 and 12-14) comprising a plurality of polymeric microlayers numbering at least 10 in total (Page 10, lines 16-27). Yang does not explicitly teach the following elements.
Wheatley teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 12, Fig. 19-26, [0052-0057, 0087-0093, 0098-0099]):
(Claim 3) a polymeric multilayer optical film (Fig. 12 and Fig. 19-26, [0087-0093, 0098-0099]) comprising a plurality of polymeric microlayers (Fig. 12, [0087-0093]) numbering at least 10 in total ([0088, 0098-0099], Fig. 19 and Fig. 22), each of the polymeric microlayers (Fig. 12 and Fig. 19-26, [0087-0093, 0098-0099]), having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm (Fig. 19 and Fig. 22, [0098-0099]), such that for light incident on the polymeric multilayer optical film ([0098-0099]) and for at least a first polarization state ([0091, 0088, 0093, 0098-0099]), the plurality of polymeric microlayers (Fig. 12 and Fig. 19-26, [0087-0093, 0098-0099]) has: for an incident angle substantially equal to a first angle (Fig. 20 and Fig. 24, [0098-0099], Picture 1 and Picture 2), an optical transmittance T1 (T1 in Picture 1 and Picture 2) for a first wavelength (λ1 in Picture 1 and Picture 2) and an optical transmittance T2 (T2 in Picture 1 and Picture 2) for a second wavelength (λ2 in Picture 1 and Picture 2), T1>T2 (Picture 1 and Picture 2); and for an incident angle substantially equal to a second angle (Fig. 21 and Fig. 26, [0098-0099], Picture 1 and Picture 2), an optical transmittance T1′ (T1’ in Picture 1 and Picture 2) for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2′ (T2’ in Picture 1 and Picture 2) for the second wavelength, T2′>T1′ (Picture 1 and Picture 2).
(Claim 4) for the incident angle substantially equal to the first angle (Fig. 20 and Fig. 24, [0098-0099], Picture 1 and Picture 2), an optical transmittance of the plurality of microlayers versus wavelength (Fig. 20 and Fig. 24, [0098-0099], Picture 1 and Picture 2) comprises a transmission pass band (Fig. 20 and Fig. 24, Picture 1 and Picture 2) comprising the first (λ1 in Picture 1 and Picture 2), but not the second (λ2 in Picture 1 and Picture 2), wavelength, such that changing the incident angle from the first angle to the second angle (Fig. 21 and Fig. 26, Picture 1 and Picture 2) shifts the transmission pass band (Fig. 21 and Fig. 26, Picture 1 and Picture 2) so that the shifted transmission pass band (Fig. 21 and Fig. 26, Picture 1 and Picture 2) comprises the second (λ2 in Picture 1 and Picture 2), but not the first (λ1 in Picture 1 and Picture 2), wavelength.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Wheatley for the system of Yang in view of Zhan such that in the system of Yang in view of Zhan,
(Claim 3) each of the polymeric microlayers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm, such that for light incident on the polymeric multilayer optical film and for at least a first polarization state, the plurality of polymeric microlayers has: for an incident angle substantially equal to the first angle, an optical transmittance T1 for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2 for the second wavelength, T1>T2; and for an incident angle substantially equal to the second angle, an optical transmittance T1′ for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2′ for the second wavelength, T2′>T1′.
(Claim 4) for the incident angle substantially equal to the first angle, an optical transmittance of the plurality of microlayers versus wavelength comprises a transmission pass band comprising the first, but not the second, wavelength, such that changing the incident angle from the first angle to the second angle shifts the transmission pass band so that the shifted transmission pass band comprises the second, but not the first, wavelength.
The motivation is to provide optical filers utilized to selectively transmit light of different wavelengths or different polarizations, and the optical filters are useful in a variety of optical systems (Wheatley, [0001, 0087]).
Picture 1, from Fig. 20-21 of Wheatley (US 2019/0137669)
Picture 2, from Fig. 24 and 26 of Wheatley (US 2019/0137669)
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (WO 2020/035768A1) in view of Zhan (US 2022/0122374) and Wheatley (US 2019/0137669).
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches an optical system (the electronic device 1101 in Fig. 11, Pages 1-21 of WO2020/035768A1) comprising:
a source of light (the light source for 1105 and 1107/1108 in Fig. 11, which is corresponding to 1102 in Fig. 11) configured to emit a first light (the light beam corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) beam having a first wavelength (the inherent wavelength of 1105 in Fig. 11) and propagating substantially along a first direction (the direction corresponding to the center axis of 1105 in Fig. 11) and a second light beam (the light beam corresponding to 1107 and/or 1108 in Fig. 11) and propagating substantially along a different second direction (the direction corresponding to 1107 or 1108 in Fig. 11);
a lens layer (the layer corresponding the first layer 1160 in Fig. 11) comprising a structured first major surface (the top surface of 1160 corresponding to 1150 in Fig. 11) comprising an array of microlenses (the microlenses 1150 in Fig. 11) facing the source of light (Fig. 11); and
a polymeric multilayer optical film (the multilayer optical film 1110 in Fig. 11, which is corresponding to 510 in Fig. 5, Page 12-14) disposed on the lens layer and on a side of the lens layer facing away from the source of light (Fig. 11), the polymeric multilayer optical film (the multilayer optical film 1110 in Fig. 11, which is corresponding to 510 in Fig. 5, Page 10 and 12-14) comprising a plurality of polymeric microlayers numbering at least 10 in total (Page 10, lines 16-27).
The embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang does not teach that the second light beam having a different second wavelength; and each of the polymeric microlayers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm, such that for light incident on the polymeric multilayer optical film and for at least a first polarization state, the plurality of polymeric microlayers has: for the light incident on the optical film along the first direction, an optical transmittance T1 for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2 for the second wavelength, T1>10T2; and for the light incident on the optical film along the second direction, an optical transmittance T1′ for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2′ for the second wavelength, T2′>10T1′.
Zhan teaches that (Fig. 14, Fig. 5, 8 and 12, [0065, 0073-0080, 0162-0165]) a second light beam (the first or second light signal corresponding to 221 or 211 in Fig. 14 and Fig. 5, [0074, 0077-0078]) having a different second wavelength ([0074, 0077-0078]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Zhan for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang, the second light beam having a different second wavelength. The motivation is to provide the light signals with different characteristics, and improve quality of fingerprint images to meet requirements of different scenes (Zhan, [0005, 0077]).
Wheatley teaches that (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 12, Fig. 19-26, [0052-0057, 0087-0093, 0098-0099]) a polymeric multilayer optical film (Fig. 12 and Fig. 19-26, [0087-0093, 0098-0099]) comprising a plurality of polymeric microlayers (Fig. 12, [0087-0093]) numbering at least 10 in total ([0088, 0098-0099], Fig. 19 and Fig. 22), each of the polymeric microlayers (Fig. 12 and Fig. 19-26, [0087-0093, 0098-0099]), having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm (Fig. 19 and Fig. 22, [0098-0099]), such that for light incident on the polymeric multilayer optical film ([0098-0099]) and for at least a first polarization state ([0091, 0088, 0093, 0098-0099]), the plurality of polymeric microlayers (Fig. 12 and Fig. 19-26, [0087-0093, 0098-0099]) has: for an incident angle substantially equal to a first angle (Fig. 20 and Fig. 24, [0098-0099], Picture 1 and Picture 2), an optical transmittance T1 (T1 in Picture 1 and Picture 2) for a first wavelength (λ1 in Picture 1 and Picture 2) and an optical transmittance T2 (T2 in Picture 1 and Picture 2) for a second wavelength (λ2 in Picture 1 and Picture 2), T1>10T2 (Picture 1 and Picture 2); and for an incident angle substantially equal to a second angle (Fig. 21 and Fig. 26, [0098-0099], Picture 1 and Picture 2), an optical transmittance T1′ (T1’ in Picture 1 and Picture 2) for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2′ (T2’ in Picture 1 and Picture 2) for the second wavelength, T2′>10T1′ (Picture 1 and Picture 2).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Wheatley for the system of Yang in view of Zhan such that in the system of Yang in view of Zhan, each of the polymeric microlayers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm, such that for light incident on the polymeric multilayer optical film and for at least a first polarization state, the plurality of polymeric microlayers has: for the light incident on the optical film along the first direction, an optical transmittance T1 for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2 for the second wavelength, T1>10T2; and for the light incident on the optical film along the second direction, an optical transmittance T1′ for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2′ for the second wavelength, T2′>10T1′. The motivation is to provide optical filers utilized to selectively transmit light of different wavelengths or different polarizations, and the optical filters are useful in a variety of optical systems (Wheatley, [0001, 0087]).
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches an optical construction (the electronic device 1101 in Fig. 11, Pages 1-21 of WO2020/035768A1) comprising:
a multilayer optical film (the multilayer optical film 1110 in Fig. 11, which is corresponding to 510 in Fig. 5, Page 12-14) comprising a plurality of microlayers numbering at least 10 in total (Page 10, lines 16-27),
a lens layer (the layer corresponding the first layer 1160 in Fig. 11) comprising a structured first major surface (the top surface of 1160 corresponding to 1150 in Fig. 11) comprising an array of at least first (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and second (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1107 in Fig. 11) microlenses; and
a first light absorbing layer (the pinhole mask layer 1180 in Fig. 11) disposed on (Fig. 11), and spaced apart from (Fig. 11), the structured first major surface (the top surface of 1160 corresponding to 1150 in Fig. 11), and defining an array of at least first (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and second through openings (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1107/1108 in Fig. 11) therein, there being a one-to-one correspondence (Fig. 11) between the first microlenses (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and the first through openings (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and between the second microlenses (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1107/1108 in Fig. 11) and the second through openings (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1107/1108 in Fig. 11), each pair of corresponding first microlens (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) and first through opening (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1105 in Fig. 11) centered (Fig. 11) on a first optical axis (the axis corresponding to the center axis of 1105 in Fig. 11) substantially parallel to the first direction (the direction corresponding to the center axis of 1105 in Fig. 11), each pair of corresponding second microlens (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1107 in Fig. 11) and second through opening (the pinholes 1180 corresponding to 1107/1108 in Fig. 11) corresponding to a second optical axis (the axis corresponding to the center axis of 1107 in Fig. 11) substantially parallel to the second direction (the direction corresponding to the center axis of 1107 in Fig. 11).
The embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang teaches that each of the second microlens (the microlenses 1150 corresponding to 1107 in Fig. 11) of each pair of corresponding second microlens and second through opening is centered (Fig. 11) on the second optical axis (the axis corresponding to the center axis of 1107 in Fig. 11), and the incident light beams (the beams corresponding to 1107 and 1108 in Fig. 11) have different incident angles (Fig. 11, Page 14, lines 7-7) and pass through the pinholes (Fig. 11, Page 14, lines 4-7); and the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang does not teach that the second light beam propagating through each of the second microlens passes through a center of each of the corresponding second through opening; therefore, each pair of corresponding second microlens and second through opening centered on the second optical axis. The embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang further does not teach that each of the microlayers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm, such that for light incident on the multilayer optical film and for each of a first and an orthogonal second, the plurality of microlayers has: for the light incident on the optical film along a first direction, an optical transmittance T1 for a first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2 for a different second wavelength, T1>10T2; and for the light incident on the optical film along a second direction, an optical transmittance T1′ for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2′ for the second wavelength, T2′>10T1′; and the first light absorbing layer is disposed on a side of the structured first major surface facing away from the multilayer optical film.
Zhan teaches that (Fig. 14, Fig. 5, 8 and 12, [0065, 0073-0080, 0162-0165]) a second light beam (the first or second light signal corresponding to 221 or 211 in Fig. 14 and Fig. 5, [0074, 0077-0078]) is propagating through each of the second microlens (the microlens of 410 corresponding to the subpixels 221 or 211 in Fig. 14) and passes through a center of each of the corresponding second through opening (the opening 420 corresponding to 221 or 211 in Fig. 14, [0162-0164]) of each pair of corresponding second microlens (the microlens of 410 corresponding to the second subpixels 221 or 211 in Fig. 14) and second through opening (the opening 420 corresponding to 221 or 211 in Fig. 14, [0162-0164]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Zhan for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang, the second light beam propagating through each of the second microlens passes through a center of each of the corresponding second through opening; therefore, each pair of corresponding second microlens and second through opening centered on the second optical axis; since Yang already teaches the incident light beams have different incident angle and pass through the pinholes (Fig. 11, Page 14, lines 4-7), and it helps to provide the light signals with different characteristics, and improve quality of fingerprint images to meet requirements of different scenes (Zhan, [0005, 0077]).
Wheatley teaches that (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 12, Fig. 19-26, [0052-0057, 0087-0093, 0098-0099]) a polymeric multilayer optical film (Fig. 12 and Fig. 19-21, [0087-0093, 0098]) comprising a plurality of polymeric microlayers (Fig. 12, [0087-0093]) numbering at least 10 in total ([0088, 0098], Fig. 19), each of the polymeric microlayers (Fig. 12 and Fig. 19-21, [0087-0093, 0098]), having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm (Fig. 19, [0098]), such that for light incident on the polymeric multilayer optical film ([0098]) and for each of a first polarization state and an orthogonal second polarization state ([0023, 0091, 0088, 0093, 0098], the unpolarized light beams comprise light beams with a first polarization state and light beams with an orthogonal second polarization state), the plurality of polymeric microlayers (Fig. 12 and Fig. 19-21, [0087-0093, 0098]) has: for an incident angle substantially equal to a first angle (Fig. 20, [0098], Picture 1), an optical transmittance T1 (T1 in Picture 1) for a first wavelength (λ1 in Picture 1) and an optical transmittance T2 (T2 in Picture 1) for a second wavelength (λ2 in Picture 1), T1>10T2 (Picture 1); and for an incident angle substantially equal to a second angle (Fig. 21, [0098], Picture 1), an optical transmittance T1′ (T1’ in Picture 1) for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2′ (T2’ in Picture 1) for the second wavelength, T2′>10T1′ (Picture 1).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Wheatley for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang in view of Zhan such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang in view of Zhan, each of the polymeric microlayers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm, such that for light incident on the polymeric multilayer optical film and for each of a first polarization state and an orthogonal second polarization state, the plurality of polymeric microlayers has: for the light incident on the optical film along the first direction, an optical transmittance T1 for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2 for the second wavelength, T1>10T2; and for the light incident on the optical film along the second direction, an optical transmittance T1′ for the first wavelength and an optical transmittance T2′ for the second wavelength, T2′>10T1′. The motivation is to provide optical filers utilized to selectively transmit light of different wavelengths or different polarizations, and the optical filters are useful in a variety of optical systems (Wheatley, [0001, 0087]).
The embodiment of Fig. 7 of Yang teaches that the first light absorbing layer (788 in Fig. 7) is disposed on a side of the structured first major surface (the top surface corresponding to 750 in Fig. 7) facing away from the multilayer optical film (Page 12, Lines 15-22; Page 13, Lines 31-37; the optical filter is corresponding to the multilayer optical film 1110 in Fig. 11, and the optical filter can be disposed at an outer major surface, e.g., adjacent either array of microlenses 750 or 757).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 7 of Yang for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang in view of Zhan and Wheatley such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang in view of Zhan and Wheatley, the first light absorbing layer is disposed on a side of the structured first major surface facing away from the multilayer optical film. The motivation is to provide an optical element may including any suitable number of arrays of microlenses in an optical path through the optical element, and can be used for a variety of different applications (Yang, Page 11, Lines 27-33, Page 14, Lines 24-28).
Regarding claims 8 and 13, the embodiment of Fig. 11 of Yang teaches the following elements.
(Claims 8 and 13) the first (the direction corresponding to the center axis of 1105 in Fig. 11) and second (the direction corresponding to 1107 or 1108 in Fig. 11) directions form an angle of greater than about 5 degrees therebetween (Fig. 11, Page 11, Lines 1-3).
Regarding claims 9-11 and 14-15, Yang does not explicitly teach the following elements.
Wheatley teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 12, Fig. 19-26, [0052-0057, 0087-0093, 0098-0099]):
(Claim 9) each of the first and second wavelengths (λ1 and λ2 in Fig. 24, Fig. 26, Picture 2) is a visible wavelength between about 420 nm and about 680 nm (Fig. 24, Fig. 26, Picture 2).
(Claims 10 and 14) one (W1 in Picture 3, which is between about 420 nm and about 680 nm, Fig. 3, [0052-0057]) of first and second wavelengths (W1 and W2 in Picture 3) is a visible wavelength between about 420 nm and about 680 nm (Picture 3), and the other one (W2 in Picture 3, which is between about 420 nm and about 680 nm, Fig. 3, [0052-0057]) of the first and second wavelengths (W1 and W2 in Picture 3) is an infrared wavelength between about 750 nm and about 1300 nm (Picture 3, [0057], W2 is adjacent to the end of the wavelength range 363, which is from 800 nm to at least 1000 nm).
(Claims 11 and 15) T1−T2 is greater than about 20% (Picture 1 and Picture 2) and T2′−T1′ is greater than about 20% (Picture 1 and Picture 2).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Wheatley for the system of Yang in view of Zhan such that in the system of Yang in view of Zhan,
(Claim 9) each of the first and second wavelengths is a visible wavelength between about 420 nm and about 680 nm.
(Claims 10 and 14) one of the first and second wavelengths is a visible wavelength between about 420 nm and about 680 nm, and the other one of the first and second wavelengths is an infrared wavelength between about 750 nm and about 1300 nm.
(Claims 11 and 15) T1−T2 is greater than about 20% and T2′−T1′ is greater than about 20%.
The motivation is to provide optical filers utilized to selectively transmit light of different wavelengths or different polarizations, and the optical filters are useful in a variety of optical systems (Wheatley, [0001, 0087]).
Picture 3, from Fig. 3A of Wheatley (US 2019/0137669)
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871