DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on 9 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: P01, P02, P04, HV03, C01, C02, C03, C04. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the digestion stage of the Bayer alumina process" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mach (US 2023/0064514).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Mach discloses an apparatus (100, 200) for calcining aluminum trihydroxide (AI(OH)3) in a steam-rich atmosphere to produce alumina (Al2O3), the apparatus (100, 200) comprising:
an AI(OH)3 preheater (124, 224a) configured to heat an AI(OH)3 feedstock by contacting it with steam, the AI(OH)3 preheater comprising at least one gas solid separator (240) for separating preheated AI(OH)3 from carrier steam (see paras. [0107]; [0133]-[0145]; Figs. 3 and 4);
a calciner (112, 212) configured to accept preheated AI(OH)3 from the AI(OH)3 preheater (124, 224a) and to produce heated AI2O3 by steam calcination (see paras. [0107]; [0133]-[0145]; Figs. 3 and 4);
an Al2O3 cooler (128, 228a) configured to remove heat from the heated Al2O3 and produce Al2O3 product (117, 217), the Al2O3 cooler comprising at least one gas solid separator (244) (see paras. [0107]; [0133]-[0145]; Figs. 3 and 4); and
a steam circulation line (118, 120; 220) in fluid communication with the AI(OH)3 preheater (124, 224a), the calciner (212) and the Al2O3 cooler (128, 228a) for circulating steam through the AI(OH)3 preheater (124, 224a), the Al2O3 cooler (128, 228a), and the calciner (212) (see paras. [0107]; [0149]-[0150] (Figs. 3 and 4). The reference Mach further teaches that the steam in the steam circulation line may be used to facilitate transfer of AI(OH)3 feedstock (116, 216) to the AI(OH)3 preheater (124, 224a) (see para. [0149]; Figs. 3 and 4). The reference Mach further teaches that the steam in the steam circulation line may also be used to facilitate transfer of preheated AI(OH)3 from the AI(OH)3 preheater (124, 224a) to the calciner (112, 212) (see paras. [0107]; [0146]) and transfer of heated Al2O3 from the calciner (212) to the Al2O3 cooler (128, 228a) (see paras. [0107]; [0150]; Figs. 3 and 4).
The reference Mach is, however, silent with respect to the provision of a steam compressor in the steam circulation line such that the steam compressor is in fluid communication with the AI(OH)3 preheater, the calciner and the Al2O3 cooler as claimed by applicant. However, the reference Mach teaches that the steam used for processes in the plant may be upgraded to higher pressures using a mechanical or thermal vapor recompression device (see paras. [0027]; [0029]; [0111]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a steam compressor in fluid communication with the AI(OH)3 preheater, the calciner and the Al2O3 cooler of Mach in configuration as claimed by applicant so as to pressurize the steam circulated through the steam circulation line to a pressure sufficient to fluidize and transport the alumina and aluminum hydroxide through the apparatus of Mach, since the reference Mach teaches that the steam circulated through the steam circulation line may suitably be utilized to fluidize and transport the alumina and aluminum hydroxide through the disclosed apparatus (see paras. [0017]; [0025]; [0107]; [0150]; Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Mach discloses that the apparatus further comprises a steam heater (212) configured to accept cooled steam from the Al2O3 cooler (see paras. [0143]; [0150]; Figs. 3 and 4), to heat the cooled steam to a temperature of up to 1200oC and to deliver heated steam to the calciner (see paras. [0146]; [0164]).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Mach discloses the apparatus, wherein the calciner comprises a calcining chamber capable of heating AI(OH)3 to a temperature of between about 600oC and about 1200oC to produce heated Al2O3 (see paras. [0146]; [0164]).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Mach discloses the apparatus, wherein the calciner is configured to be heated by combustion of hydrogen and oxygen gases, by high temperature steam, by high temperature particles, by a heat transfer medium, and/or by radiative heating (see paras. [0009]; [0146]).
Regarding claim 9, the reference Mach discloses that the apparatus may further comprise a second steam compressor in fluid communication with the steam compressor and configured to accept excess steam from the steam compressor and to pressurize the excess steam and transfer the pressurized excess steam to a digestion stage of a Bayer alumina process and/or to another application for pressurized steam (see paras. [0028]; [0110]).
Regarding claim 10, the reference Mach discloses the apparatus, wherein the AI(OH)3 preheater (124, 224a) comprises from one to six gas/solid separators (240) (see paras. [0119]; [0144]).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Mach discloses the apparatus, wherein the or each gas/solid separator (240) is a cyclone separator (see paras. [0119]; [0144]).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Mach discloses the apparatus, wherein the Al2O3 cooler (128, 228a) comprises from one to six gas/solid separators (244) (see paras. [0119]; [0150]).
Regarding claim 13, the reference Mach discloses the apparatus, wherein the or each gas/solid separator (244) is a cyclone separator (see paras. [0119]; [0150]).
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mach as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Schmitz et al. (US 4,671,497).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Mach is silent with respect to the calciner further comprising a holding vessel configured to accept heated Al2O3 from the calcining chamber and maintain the heated Al2O3 at a temperature of between about 600oC and about 1200oC. The reference Schmitz et al. teaches an apparatus for the continuous calcination of aluminum hydroxide to produce alumina (see Abstract; Fig. 1). The reference Schmitz et al. teaches that the apparatus includes an aluminum hydroxide preheater (1) configured to heat an aluminum hydroxide feedstock; a calciner (3) configured to accept preheated aluminum hydroxide from the aluminum hydroxide preheater (1) and to produce heated alumina; and an alumina cooler (18) configured to remove heat from the heated alumina and produce alumina product (see col. 3, lines 49-68). The reference Schmitz et al. further teaches that the calciner (3) comprises a holding vessel (9) configured to accept heated Al2O3 from the calcining chamber (3) and maintain the heated Al2O3 at a temperature of between about 600oC and about 1200oC (see col. 4, lines 29-65; col. 5, lines 11-21; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach and Schmitz et al., and modified the apparatus of Mach to including a holding vessel as taught by Schmitz et al., and claimed by applicant, to accept heated alumina from the calcining chamber and maintain the heated alumina at a temperature suitable to attain a desired degree of calcination, including at a temperature of between about 600oC and about 1200oC, as taught by Schmitz et al. (see col. 4, lines 49-65; col. 5, lines 11-23).
Regarding claim 6, the references Mach and Schmitz et al. disclose the apparatus, wherein the holding vessel has a holding capacity to allow a residence time for heated Al2O3 of from about 1 minute to about 240 minutes (see Schmitz et al.: col. 4, lines 29-50; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the references Mach and Schmitz et al. are silent with respect to utilizing the heated Al2O3 from the holding vessel to pre-heat pressurized carrier steam provided to the Al2O3 cooler. However, the reference Mach teaches that following calcination in the calcination chamber, heated alumina recovered from the calcination chamber may suitably be transferred to a heat recovery apparatus to recover heat from the alumina and utilize the rerecovered heat elsewhere in the apparatus to reduce the amount of energy required for heating purposes (see paras. [0026]; [0105]; [0107]; [0116]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the heated alumina in the holding vessel of Mach and Schmitz et al. to pre-heat pressurized carrier steam provided to the Al2O3 cooler (128, 228a), since the reference Mach teaches that the heated alumina from the calcination chamber may suitably be transferred to a heat recovery apparatus to recover heat from the alumina and utilize the rerecovered heat elsewhere in the apparatus to reduce the amount of energy required for heating purposes (see paras. [0026]; [0105]; [0107]; [0116]).
Regarding claim 8, the references Mach and Schmitz et al. are silent with respect to utilizing the heated Al2O3 from the holding vessel to pre-heat AI(OH)3 feedstock provided to the AI(OH)3 preheater. However, the reference Mach teaches that following calcination in the calcination chamber, heated alumina recovered from the calcination chamber may suitably be transferred to a heat recovery apparatus to recover heat from the alumina and utilize the rerecovered heat elsewhere in the apparatus to reduce the amount of energy required for heating purposes (see paras. [0026]; [0105]; [0107]; [0116]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the heated alumina in the holding vessel of Mach and Schmitz et al. to pre-heat AI(OH)3 feedstock provided to the AI(OH)3 preheater (124, 224a), since the reference Mach teaches that the heated alumina from the calcination chamber may suitably be transferred to a heat recovery apparatus to recover heat from the alumina and utilize the rerecovered heat elsewhere in the apparatus to reduce the amount of energy required for heating purposes (see paras. [0026]; [0105]; [0107]; [0116]).
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774