DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. 2017/0370781 (“Yoshihara”).
Claim 1
Yoshihara discloses a temperature sensor comprising: a sensor element including a heat-sensitive body (sensor element 1 and heat sensitive body 11), a pair of lead wires that is electrically connected with the heat-sensitive body (lead wires 13A and 13B), a sealing layer that covers the heat-sensitive body and a part of the pair of lead wires (paragraph [0025], sealing layer 20), and a pair of lead terminals that is electrically connected with the pair of lead wires (lead terminals 12A and 12B); and a holder that holds the sensor element, wherein the holder includes a heat-sensitive surface configured to receive heat from a measurement object (holder 10 with detecting surface 25), a reference surface provided on a back side of the heat-sensitive surface (Fig. 3B, opposite surface of detecting surface 25), and a pressing body that is provided on the reference surface and presses the heat- sensitive body against the reference surface through the sealing layer (Fig. 2B, surface 31C).
Claim 5
Yoshihara discloses the temperature sensor according to claim 1, wherein the holder includes an accommodating space that is provided so as to face the reference surface and accommodates the sensor element, and the sensor element is sealed by a resin mold with which the accommodating space is filled (cavity 31; paragraph [0025], resin mold of cover 20).
Claim 6
Yoshihara discloses the temperature sensor according to claim 5, wherein the holder includes a facing surface that opposes a support body on which the holder is placed when a temperature of the measurement object is detected, the facing surface includes a first facing surface of the resin mold and a second facing surface of an accommodating frame that encloses a circumference of the resin mold, and the first facing surface is dented to a side of the heat-sensitive surface relative to the second facing surface (Yoshihara, Figs. 2B and 3B).
Claim 7
Yoshihara in view of Bessho discloses the temperature sensor according to claim 5, wherein the holder includes a partition that serves for positioning of the pair of lead terminals in an interior of the accommodating space (Yoshihara, partition 31D), and the partition includes a base that stands from the reference surface and extends in a length direction orthogonal to a width direction in which the heat-sensitive body is sandwiched (Yoshihara, Fig. 2B), and a terminal pressing member that projects from a top portion of the base in the width direction (Yoshihara, walls 42).
Claim 8
Yoshihara discloses a rotary electric machine comprising the temperature sensor according to claim 1 (paragraph [0025], rotary electric machine).
Claim 10
Yoshihara in view of Bessho discloses the temperature sensor according to claim 6, wherein the holder includes a partition that serves for positioning of the pair of lead terminals in an interior of the accommodating space (Yoshihara, partition 31D), and the partition includes a base that stands from the reference surface and extends in a length direction orthogonal to a width direction in which the heat-sensitive body is sandwiched (Yoshihara, Fig. 2B), and a terminal pressing member that projects from a top portion of the base in the width direction (Yoshihara, walls 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2017/0370781 (“Yoshihara”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2015/0155760 (“Bessho”).
Claim 2
Yoshihara discloses the temperature sensor according to claim 1, wherein the holder includes a forward side on which the heat-sensitive body is arranged and a rearward side on which the pair of lead wires is drawn out (Fig. 2B, surfaces 32 and 34).
Yoshihara does not appear to explicitly disclose the pressing body includes a pair of pressing pieces in a width direction in which the heat-sensitive body is sandwiched, each of the pair of pressing pieces includes a flange that presses the heat-sensitive body against the reference surface, and a dimension of the flange from the reference surface is decreased from the rearward side toward the forward side of the heat-sensitive body.
Bessho discloses a similar rotary electric machine with temperature sensor including a pressing body with pair of pressing pieces (paragraphs [0087-0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as disclosed by Bessho, into the device of Yoshihara, such that the pressing body includes a pair of pressing pieces in a width direction in which the heat-sensitive body is sandwiched, each of the pair of pressing pieces includes a flange that presses the heat-sensitive body against the reference surface, and a dimension of the flange from the reference surface is decreased from the rearward side toward the forward side of the heat-sensitive body, for the purpose of providing a stable contact between the temperature sensor and stator coil (Bessho, paragraph [0089]).
Claim 3
Yoshihara in view of Bessho discloses the temperature sensor according to claim 2, wherein a gap between the pair of pressing pieces is narrowed from the rearward side toward the forward side of the heat-sensitive body (Bessho, Fig. 10).
Claim 4
Yoshihara in view of Bessho discloses the temperature sensor according to claim 2, comprising a pair of positioning pieces provided on the rearward side relative to the pair of pressing pieces, with a predetermined gap therebetween (Bessho, Fig. 10).
Claim 9
Yoshihara in view of Bessho discloses the temperature sensor according to claim 3, comprising a pair of positioning pieces provided on the rearward side relative to the pair of pressing pieces, with a predetermined gap therebetween (Bessho, Fig. 10).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853