DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/30/25 and 12/15/23 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-16, 33, 34, and 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (U.S. 2018/0323916) (hereinafter “Yang”) cited in Applicant’s submitted IDS. Yang teaches all of the limitations of the specified claims with the reasoning that follows.
Regarding claim 1, “An interference measurement method, wherein the method is performed by a first terminal device, and the method comprises: receiving a measurement signal by using a receiving beam in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of the first terminal device” is anticipated by a UE apparatus 510 (first terminal device) of Figure 5 that receives a CLI reference signal (measurement signal) in a first measurement slot 300 including a PDSCH as shown in Figure 3 as well as step 640 of Figure 6, and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0070]; where the CLI reference signal may comprise a CSI-RS as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0072]; and where a chosen reception beam (receiving beam) is used for receiving the CSI-RS as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065].
Lastly, “determining an interference measurement result of the measurement signal” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that performs a CLI measurement (interference measurement result) in the first measurement slot in response to receiving the CLI reference signal (measurement signal) as shown in step 650 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0071].
Regarding claim 2, “wherein determining an interference measurement result of the measurement signal comprises: determining, according to a measurement type configured by a network device, a measurement manner corresponding to the measurement type; performing channel quality measurement on the measurement signal according to the measurement manner to determine measurement data corresponding to the measurement type; and determining the interference measurement result according to the measurement data and a measurement threshold corresponding to the measurement type configured by the network device” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that determines SRS sequences according to SRS resources, measures the RSRP (measurement type) of each SRS, and reports (measurement manner) the SRS sequences and the RSRPs (measurement data) to its serving TRP as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0035]; where the reported RSRPs may exceed a pre-determined threshold value (measurement threshold) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 4, “determining reporting data of the measurement signal, wherein the interference measurement result of the measurement signal is that the measurement signal belongs to to-be-reported interference signals; and sending the reporting data to a network device” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that determines SRS sequences according to SRS resources, measures the RSRP (measurement type) of each SRS, and reports (measurement manner) the SRS sequences and the RSRPs (measurement reporting data) to its serving TRP (network device) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0035]; where the reported RSRPs may exceed a pre-determined threshold value (measurement threshold) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 5, “parsing the measurement signal to acquire a terminal device identifier, wherein a signal type of the measurement signal configured by the network device is an inter user equipment cross link interference reference signal (UE-CLI-RS); and generating the reporting data according to the terminal device identifier, a receiving time period of the measurement signal and the measurement data; or generating the reporting data according to a receiving time period of the measurement signal and the measurement data, wherein the network device does not configure a signal type of the measurement signal” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that receives a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0067]; where the CLI measurement configuration (parsed measurement signal) includes a node identity (terminal device identifier), a time-frequency location, and a slot number or symbol number (receiving time period) of a CLI RS (signal type), and the CLI RS includes an SRS, CSI-RS, and/or a DMRS as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0072]; and where the UE apparatus 510 measures the RSRP of the SRS and reports the SRS sequence and RSRP (reporting data) to a second node of the network as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0074].
Regarding claim 7, “wherein a channel for sending the reporting data is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that is configured to transmit the SRS (reporting data) after the data region of a PUSCH of an UL cell as shown in Figure 3 and spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0043].
Regarding claim 8, “wherein when the network device does not configure a signal type of the measurement signal, the measurement type configured by the network device is a received signal strength indicator (RSSI); or, the network device configures a signal type of the measurement signal as an inter-user equipment cross link interference reference signal (UE-CLI-RS), and the measurement type configured by the network device comprises at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to- interference plus noise ratio (SINR), or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI)” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that receives a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0067]; where the CLI measurement configuration includes a node identity, a time-frequency location, and a slot number or symbol number of a CLI RS (signal type), and the CLI RS includes an SRS, CSI-RS, and/or a DMRS as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0072]; and where the UE apparatus 510 measures the RSRP (measurement type) of the SRS and reports the SRS sequence and RSRP (reporting data) to a second node of the network as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0074].
Regarding claim 9, “an interference measurement method, wherein the method is performed by a second terminal device, and the method comprises: generating a measurement signal; and sending the measurement signal by using a sending beam in a sending beam set” is anticipated by a UE apparatus 510 (first terminal device) of Figure 5 that receives a CLI reference signal (generated measurement signal) in a first measurement slot 300 including a PDSCH as shown in Figure 3 as well as step 640 of Figure 6, and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0070]; where the CLI reference signal may comprise a CSI-RS as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0072]; where a chosen transmission beam (of sending beam set) and reception beam (receiving beam) are used for transmitting/receiving the CSI-RS as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065]; and where TRP-TRP, UE-UE (via second terminal device), and TRP-UE interference measurements may be performed in relation to the CLI reference signal as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0024].
Regarding claim 10, “generating the measurement signal with a signal type of an inter-user equipment cross link interference reference signal (UE-CLI-RS) according to a terminal device identifier of the second terminal device, wherein a network device configures the signal type of the measurement signal as the UE-CLI-RS; or, generating the measurement signal with any signal type, wherein a network device does not configure the signal type of the measurement signal” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that receives a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0067]; where the CLI measurement configuration (measurement signal) includes a node identity (terminal device identifier), a time-frequency location, and a slot number or symbol number (receiving time period) of a CLI RS (configured signal type), and the CLI RS includes an SRS, CSI-RS, and/or a DMRS as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0072]; and where the UE apparatus 510 measures the RSRP of the SRS and reports the SRS sequence and RSRP (reporting data) to a second node (network device) of the network as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0074].
Regarding claim 11, “wherein the sending beam set is determined by: determining, according to a reference synchronization signal block (SSB) configured by a network device, a receiving beam for receiving the reference SSB; or, determining, according to a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configured by a network device, a receiving beam of the CSI-RS; and generating the sending beam set according to a sending beam corresponding to the receiving beam” is anticipated by the processor 522 of network apparatus 520 of Figure 5 that determines whether to transmit or measure the CSI-RS in a measurement slot, transmits the CSI-RS by choosing one of the transmission beams (of sending beam set), and determines to measure the CSI-RS by choosing one of the reception beams (receiving beam) as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065].
Regarding claim 12, “an interference measurement method, wherein the method is performed by a network device, and the method comprises: receiving reporting data sent by a first terminal device; wherein the reporting data comprises: measurement data and a receiving time period of a measurement signal, wherein the measurement signal is received by the first terminal device by using a receiving beam of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a second terminal device, the measurement data corresponding to a measurement type of the measurement signal is greater than or equal to a measurement threshold corresponding to the measurement type” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that determines SRS sequences according to SRS resources, measures the RSRP (measurement type) of each SRS, and reports the SRS sequences (indicating receiving time period) and the RSRPs (measurement data) to its serving TRP (network device) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0035]; where the reported RSRPs may exceed (greater than) a pre-determined threshold value (measurement threshold) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0037]; and where TRP-TRP, UE-UE (via second terminal device), and TRP-UE interference measurements may be performed in relation to the CLI reference signal as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0024].
Regarding claim 13, “configuring a sending beam set for sending the measurement signal for the second terminal device; or configuring a sending beam set for sending the measurement signal for the second terminal device, and a signal type of the measurement signal” is anticipated by the TRP that exchanges information about the CSI-RS resources as well as the transmission beam and the reception beam (configuring of beam set), and chooses one of the transmission beams for transmission of the CSI-RS as spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0044].
Regarding claim 14, “configuring a reference synchronization signal block (SSB), so as to determine the sending beam set according to a sending beam corresponding to a receiving beam of the reference SSB; or configuring a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), so as to determine the sending beam set according to a sending beam corresponding to a receiving beam of the CSI-RS” is anticipated by the TRP that exchanges information about the CSI-RS resources as well as the transmission beam and the reception beam (configuring of beam set), and chooses one of the transmission beams for transmission of the CSI-RS as spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0044].
Regarding claim 15, “configuring the measurement type and the measurement threshold of the measurement signal of the first terminal device; or configuring the measurement type, the measurement threshold and the signal type of the measurement signal of the first terminal device” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that determines SRS sequences according to SRS resources, measures the RSRP (configured measurement type) of each SRS, and reports (measurement manner) the SRS sequences and the RSRPs (measurement data) to its serving TRP as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0035]; where the reported RSRPs may exceed a pre-determined threshold value (configured measurement threshold) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 16, “when a signal type of the measurement signal is not configured, the method comprises: configuring the measurement type as a received signal strength indication (RSSI), and configuring the measurement threshold corresponding to the measurement type; or when a signal type of the measurement signal is configured as an inter-user equipment cross link interference reference signal (UE-CLI-RS), the method comprises: configuring the measurement type comprising at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR), or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), and configuring the measurement threshold corresponding to the measurement type” is anticipated by the UE apparatus 510 that receives a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0067]; where the CLI measurement configuration includes a node identity, a time-frequency location, and a slot number or symbol number of a CLI RS (signal type), and the CLI RS includes an SRS, CSI-RS, and/or a DMRS as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0072]; where the UE apparatus 510 measures the RSRP (measurement type) of the SRS and reports the SRS sequence and RSRP (reporting data) to a second node of the network as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0074]; and where the reported RSRPs (measurement type) may exceed a pre-determined threshold value (configured measurement threshold) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 33, “An interference measurement device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory so as to cause the device to perform the method according to claim 1” is anticipated by UE apparatus 510 of Figure 5 including a processor 512 coupled to memory 514, where memory 514 stores data (e.g. computer program) therein and is capable of being accessed by the processor 512 as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049].
Regarding claim 34, “an interference measurement device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory so as to cause the device to perform the method according to claim 12” is anticipated by network apparatus 520 of Figure 5 including a processor 522 coupled to memory 524, where memory 524 stores data (e.g. computer program) therein and is capable of being accessed by the processor 522 as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049].
Regarding claim 37, “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store an instruction, wherein when the instruction is executed, the method according to claim 1 is implemented” is anticipated by UE apparatus 510 of Figure 5 including a processor 512 coupled to memory 514 (medium), where memory 514 stores data (e.g. instruction) therein and is capable of being accessed by the processor 512 as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049].
Regarding claim 38, “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store an instruction, wherein when the instruction is executed, the method according to claim 12 is implemented” is anticipated by network apparatus 520 of Figure 5 including a processor 522 coupled to memory 524 (medium), where memory 524 stores data (e.g. instruction) therein and is capable of being accessed by the processor 522 as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049].
Regarding claim 39, “an interference measurement device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory so as to cause the device to perform the method according to claim 9” is anticipated by UE apparatus 510 of Figure 5 corresponding to UE 1 or UE 2 of Figure 1 including a processor 512 coupled to memory 514, where memory 514 stores data (e.g. computer program) therein and is capable of being accessed by the processor 512 as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Xu et al. (U.S. 2023/0188229) (hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches claim 2 as described above. While Yang also teaches where reported RSRPs may exceed a pre-determined threshold value as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0037], Yang does not explicitly teach “wherein determining the interference measurement result according to the measurement data and the measurement threshold corresponding to the measurement type configured by the network device comprises: determining that the measurement signal belongs to to-be-reported interference signals, wherein the measurement data is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold; and determining that the measurement signal does not belong to to-be-reported interference signals, wherein the measurement data is less than the measurement threshold”.
However, Xu teaches a method and system for cross-link interference measurement over multiple beams where a UE 615a may include only CLI measurement values that satisfy a threshold in a corresponding CLI report (to-be-reported interference signals) as spoken of on page 16, paragraph [0152].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the selective measurement value reporting in relation to a threshold as taught in Xu to the system of Yang in order to reduce the signaling overhead in the communication system by limiting the measurement value reporting to only measurement values satisfying a threshold, thereby improving the effective data rate of the communication system as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0129], as well as page 16, paragraph [0152] of Xu.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467