DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The status of the claims for this application is as follows.
Claims 1-3, 7-13, and 15-22 are currently pending.
Claims 4, 5, and 17-22 are currently withdrawn.
Claims 6 and 14 and are cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: the limitation "retention feature" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder "feature"; (B) the generic placeholder "feature" is modified by functional language e.g., "retention"; and (C) the generic placeholder "feature" is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure is formed with a beam having a fixed end attached to the adapter body and a free end extending from the fixed end with an angle from a flow direction of the second outlet (represented by applicant’s element 118 in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation “retention feature” will be interpreted as being formed with a beam having a fixed end attached to the adapter body and a free end extending from the fixed end with an angle from a flow direction of the second outlet and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claim 1: the limitation "mating feature" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder "feature"; (B) the generic placeholder "feature" is modified by functional language e.g., "mating"; and (C) the generic placeholder "feature" is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure is formed as a groove on an inner surface of the channel to receive the beam of the adapter body (represented by applicant’s element 208 in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation “mating feature” will be interpreted as being formed as a groove on an inner surface of the channel to receive the beam of the adapter body and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendment to the claim(s) has made moot the previous claim objection(s).
Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the claim(s) has made moot the previous specification objection(s).
Drawings
Applicant’s amendment to the claim(s) has made moot the previous drawing objection(s).
The drawings were received on 07/23/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendment to the claim(s) has made moot the previous 112 rejection(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gunderson (US 2008/0224467).
At the outset the applicant is reminded that:
1. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
2. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Re Clm 1: Gunderson discloses a connection arrangement device (see Figs. 1-11 and above) for making a secure connection with at least one tube in a fluid line, the connection arrangement device comprising:
at least one adapter body (212, 216, and 217) having a passage bore (1001) forming a fluid channel (see Fig. 1) with at least two outlets including a first outlet (2001) and a second outlet (2002), the adapter body including a retention feature (280 and 284) formed outside the adapter body (see Fig. 1); and
a mating block (214) having an upper surface (3001), a lower (lower has been defined as relatively low in position) surface (3002) and at least one channel (the central passage of 214 that extends between 3001 and 3002) extending between the upper surface and the lower surface (see above) to receive the adapter body (see Figs. 1 and 2), the mating block including a mating feature (242 and 238) formed in the channel (see Figs. 1 and 2); wherein the retention feature of the adapter body is configured to interact with the mating feature of the mating block when the adapter body is coupled to the channel of the mating block such that the adapter body is securely retained within the channel of the mating block (see Figs. 1 and 2),
wherein the first outlet (2001) of the at least one adapter body (212, 216, and 217) is in a form of a hollow-cylindrical reception (see above) configured to receive a tube to be connected by a firmly bonded matter such that the tube is inserted into the first outlet, and is securely connected to the adapter body (note that the first outlet at 2001 of the at least one adapter body, which includes elements 212, 216, and 217, is in a form of a hollow-cylindrical reception, as illustrated above, and is thus, made to or is capable of receiving a tube to be connected by a firmly bonded matter such that the tube can be inserted into the first outlet and securely connected to the adapter body).
Re Clm 2: Gunderson discloses wherein the retention feature of the adapter body is formed with a beam (the beam is the structure that 280 is attached to) having a fixed end (the end attached to 265) attached to the adapter body (see Figs. 1 and 2) and a free end (the end opposite 265) extending from the fixed end (see Figs. 1 and 2) with an angle (see the titled surface of 280 and 284) from a flow direction of the second outlet such that the beam is engaged with the mating feature when the adapter body is retained within the channel of the mating block.
Re Clm 3: Gunderson discloses wherein the mating feature of the mating block is formed as a groove (the groove at 242) on an inner surface of the channel to receive the beam of the adapter body such that the adapter body is securely retained within the channel of the mating block (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Re Clm 7: Gunderson discloses wherein the second outlet (2002) of the adapter body includes a first end (the end that contains 222) and a second end (the end containing 215) extending from the first end along a second flow direction of the second outlet, and further includes an adapter bead (222) formed around the first end of the second outlet.
Re Clm 8: Gunderson discloses wherein the channel of the mating block includes a stepped annular surface (233, 243, and 237) being faced perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the channel (see Fig. 1) and having a larger diameter than the channel to receive and support the adapter bead of the adapter body when the adapter body is coupled to the channel of the mating block (see Fig. 2).
Re Clm 9: Gunderson discloses wherein the adapter body further includes at least one circular bead (215) radially formed around the adapter body such that the at least one circular bead is spaced apart from the adapter bead (see Figs. 1 and 2) along a second the flow direction of the second outlet (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Re Clm 10: Gunderson discloses wherein the adapter body further includes at least one rib (at 217) formed and connected between the adapter bead and the circular bead to prevent creep of the adapter body (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Re Clm 11: Gunderson discloses wherein the channel of the mating block further includes a side opening (the lateral opening that forms the larger diameter portion of 254) formed on a lateral wall (see Figs. 1 and 2) of the channel to receive a first outlet (the end of 212 within 248) of the adapter body when the adapter body is coupled to the channel of the mating block (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Re Clm 12: Gunderson discloses wherein a seal washer (218) is engaged by an interference-fit with a second outlet of the adapter body (the end of 212 within 248) and configured for sealing in the fluid line when the second outlet is connected with one of the tubes (the second outlet and the seal can be arranged to seal a fluid line when the second outlet is connected with one of the tubes, and not that the tubes are not positively recited elements of the claim).
Re Clm 15: Gunderson discloses wherein the adapter body is made from a plastic material (see [0080]).
Claim(s) 1, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakajima et al. (US 5556138), (hereinafter, Nakajima).
At the outset the applicant is reminded that:
1. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
2. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Re Clm 1: Nakajima discloses a connection arrangement device (see Figs. 1-4 for making a secure connection with at least one tube in a fluid line, the connection arrangement device comprising:
at least one adapter body (15) having a passage bore (the passage through 15) forming a fluid channel (see Fig. 3, the channel defined by 15) with at least two outlets including a first outlet (the outlet to the right of 16a, see Fig. 3) and a second outlet (the outlet to the left of 16a, see Fig. 3), the adapter body including a retention feature (18) formed outside the adapter body (see Fig. 3, the feature is external); and
a mating block (30 and 14b) having an upper surface (the surface opposite the surface that abuts 20), a lower surface (the surface adjacent 20) and at least one channel extending between the upper surface and the lower surface (see the bore) to receive the adapter body (see Fig. 3), the mating block including a mating feature (the surface of 14b) formed in the channel (see Fig. 3); wherein the retention feature of the adapter body is configured to interact with the mating feature of the mating block when the adapter body is coupled to the channel of the mating block such that the adapter body is securely retained within the channel of the mating block (see Fig. 3),
wherein the first outlet (the outlet to the right of 16a, see Fig. 3) of the at least one adapter body (15) is in a form of a hollow-cylindrical reception (see Figs. 1-3) configured to receive a tube to be connected by a firmly bonded matter such that the tube is inserted into the first outlet, and is securely connected to the adapter body (note that the first outlet (the outlet to the right of 16a, see Fig. 3) of the at least one adapter body (15) is in a form of a hollow-cylindrical reception, as illustrated Figs. 1-4, and is thus, made to or is capable of receiving a tube to be connected by a firmly bonded matter such that the tube can be inserted into the first outlet and securely connected to the adapter body).
Re Clm 13: Gunderson discloses wherein the mating block further includes at least one through hole (39) for receiving a fastening element (35) to fix the mating block to the fluid line system (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 16: Gunderson discloses wherein the mating block is formed of a metallic (Col.5, lns. 1-5) or polymer material (Col.5, lns. 1-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 9 in line 21 through the end of page 11, that each of Gunderson and Nakajima does not wherein the first outlet of the at least one adapter body is in a form of a hollow-cylindrical reception configured to receive a tube to be connected by a firmly bonded matter such that the tube is inserted into the first outlet, and is securely connected to the adapter body.
This is not persuasive.
Applicant is reminded: 1) that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), and, 2) that a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Note that: Gunderson discloses that the first outlet at 2001 of the at least one adapter body, which includes elements 212, 216, and 217, is in a form of a hollow-cylindrical reception, as illustrated above, and is thus, made to or is capable of receiving a tube to be connected by a firmly bonded matter such that the tube can be inserted into the first outlet and securely connected to the adapter body and Nakajima discloses that the first outlet (the outlet to the right of 16a, see Fig. 3) of the at least one adapter body (15) is in a form of a hollow-cylindrical reception, as illustrated Figs. 1-4, and is thus, made to or is capable of receiving a tube to be connected by a firmly bonded matter such that the tube can be inserted into the first outlet and securely connected to the adapter body.
Applicant’s amended claim language appears to recite the intended use structure and/or the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed. According, the intended use structure and/or the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed are/is not positively recited elements of the claim(s).
Any claim(s) not specifically argued will stand or fall with the claim(s) from which they depend.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES ALBERT LINFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
10/01/2026
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679