DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 12/15/2023.
The Claims 1-53 have been canceled by the applicant.
The Claims 54-73 have been newly added by the applicant.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 54-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pelletier et al. (U.S. Pub. 20120281566).
Regarding claim 65 Pelletier teaches, an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor para. 37, “a processor 118”; and at least one memory para. 37, “memory 106” storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit, to a user equipment, a configuration for physical downlink control channel monitoring para. 180, “may perform an uplink transmissions on a PUSCH resource in the special subframe according to PDCCH control signaling,”;
receive, from the user equipment, a data transmission para. 55, “A WTRU is granted radio resources by the eNB for a transmission on a PUSCH, indicated in a grant received on the PDCCH or on configured resources”;
select a physical downlink control channel monitoring pattern based, at least on the configuration and at least one of: information of the data transmission, or a physical random access channel preamble received from the user equipment; and perform a transmission to the user equipment based on the selected physical downlink control channel monitoring pattern para. 56, “a WTRU determines whether or not it needs to act on control signaling in a given sub-frame by monitoring the PDCCH for specific downlink control information (DCI) messages… using different combinations of physical resources (i.e., control channel elements (CCEs)) based on aggregation levels (ALs). Each AL corresponds to either 1, 2, 4, or 8 CCEs”.
Regarding claim 66 Pelletier teaches, wherein the transmission comprises one of:
an acknowledgement of the data transmission para. 68, “WTRU may be configured with dedicated uplink resources for SPS, as well as with an uplink PUCCH resource for HARQ acknowledgement (ACK) for a corresponding DL SPS configuration”,
a scheduling grant for a subsequent transmission, or
a radio resource control release message.
Regarding claim 67 Pelletier teaches, wherein the configuration for physical downlink control channel monitoring comprises an indication of at least one of:
one or more small data transmission specific search spaces,
one or more small data transmission specific search space groups, or
one or more small data transmission specific physical downlink control channel monitoring skipping configurations para. 57, “The PDCCH is separated in two distinct regions. The set of CCE locations in which a WTRU may find DCIs it needs to act on is referred to as a search space”,
wherein the indication is associated with at least one trigger, wherein selecting the physical downlink control channel monitoring pattern is based on the at least one trigger.
Regarding claim 68 Pelletier teaches, wherein the at least one trigger comprises at least one of:
whether the data transmission includes a buffer status report or a buffer status report index, a content of the data transmission, the physical random access channel preamble received from the user equipment para. 67, “The WTRU then receives a random access response (RAR). The RAR contains a grant for an uplink transmission and a timing advance command (TAC). For the CBRA, for contention resolution, the WTRU determines whether or not it successfully completed the RACH procedure based on either C-RNTI on a PDCCH or WTRU contention resolution identity on a DL-SCH.”,
reference signal received power information included with the data transmission,
reference signal received quality information included with the data transmission, a power headroom report included with the data transmission, one or more random access resources used for the data transmission, a physical downlink control channel monitoring pattern indicated with the user equipment to the apparatus,
whether the apparatus previously served the user equipment,
an amount of pending data for small data transmission,
a type of the pending data for small data transmission,
a size of a buffer of the data transmission,
a size of a buffer of at least one predetermined logical channel group of the data transmission, or
a signaling radio bearer or data radio bearer associated with the pending data for data transmission.
Regarding claim 69 Pelletier teaches, wherein the at least one predetermined logical channel group comprises at least one of:
at least one logical channel group with a priority above a threshold level,
at least one logical channel group having at least one predetermined priority,
at least one logical channel allowed for small data transmission para. 116, “This may be applied to the buffer status for a subset of the configured logical channel groups (LCGs) and/or logical channels (LCHs) and some data, (e.g., data for one or more LCH(s) that correspond to a specific QoS/service) may be excluded”, or
at least one network configured logical channel group.
Regarding claim 70 Pelletier teaches, wherein the configuration for physical downlink control channel monitoring is transmitted via one of:
a system information block, dedicated radio resource control signaling para. 164, “he WTRU may use an L3 (e.g., RRC) configured occasion that may differ from the WTRU-specific paging occasion. For example, the WTRU may monitor a PDCCH for its C-RNTI on a scheduling occasion. One scheduling frame may correspond to one radio frame, which may contain one or more scheduling occasions.”, or a radio resource release message.
Regarding claim 71 Pelletier teaches, wherein the selected physical downlink control channel monitoring pattern includes a back-off timer para. 164, “, until the relevant timer(s) expires such that the WTRU may disable reception of control signaling at least until the next wake-up occasion”.
Regarding claim 72 Pelletier teaches, wherein the data transmission comprises at least one of: an initial transmission in a small data transfer procedure, or a subsequent transmission in the small data transfer procedure para. 164, “on a condition that the WTRU successfully decodes a DCI, it may extend the PDCCH monitoring activity for a number of subsequent subframes, (e.g., based on a timer which may be restarted upon successful decoding of control signaling and/or using an L2 DRX if configured)”.
Regarding claim 73 Pelletier teaches, wherein the performing of the transmission comprises:
transmitting the transmission with a time and/or frequency resource selected based on the selected physical downlink control channel monitoring pattern para. 159, “the WTRU may transmit an SRS in subframes for which it monitors control signaling. Alternatively, the WTRU may transmit an SRS in a special subframe”.
Claim 54 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 65 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 65.
Regarding claims 55-61 the limitations of claims 55-61, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 66-72, respectively.
Regarding claim 62 the limitations of claim 62 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 65.
Regarding claims 63-64 the limitations of claims 63-64, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 55-56, respectively.
Conclusion
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471