DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statements filed 12/15/2023 and 12/30/2024 have been considered as noted and are included in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 6, “first cavity on a thickness-direction cross-section” should be changed to --first cavity in a thickness-direction cross-section--.
In claim 1, line 9, “second cavity on a thickness-direction cross-section” should be changed to --second cavity in the thickness-direction cross-section--.
In claim 10, line 2, “the first extension portion” and the second extension portion” should be changed to --the plurality of first extension portions-- and --the plurality of second extension portions-- respectively.
In claim 13, line 2, “the first extension portion” and the second extension portion” should be changed to --the plurality of first extension portions-- and --the plurality of second extension portions-- respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “contacts the partition member during a predetermined section”. It is unclear how the term “during” is being used in the phrase. For examining purposes, the term will be examined as --along--.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “contacts the second side sill frame during a predetermined section”. It is unclear how the term “during” is being used in the phrase. For examining purposes, the term will be examined as --along--.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a concave-convex portion in a longitudinal cross-sectional shape of the side sill frame. It is unclear when referring to a longitudinal “shape”. For examination purposes, the phrase will be read as in a longitudinal cross-sectional direction of the side sill frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 200198923, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a side sill (Fig. 3) of a vehicle (abstract) comprising: a side sill frame (Fig. 3) formed to have a cavity portion (internal portion of side sill in Fig. 3); a partition member (50)/(30c) that passes through the cavity portion and partitions the cavity portion into a first cavity (left side of Fig. 3) and a second cavity (right side of Fig. 3); a first reinforcing frame (30b) which is positioned in the first cavity and contacts the side sill frame (at (20)) and the partition member (50)/(30c) to form a closed section in the first cavity on a thickness-direction cross-section of the side sill frame (Fig. 3); and a second reinforcing frame (30a) which is positioned in the second cavity and contacts the side sill frame (at (10)) and the partition member (50)/(30c) to form a closed section in the second cavity on a thickness-direction cross-section of the side sill frame (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 200198923, machine translation attached) in view of Honda et al. (JP 2012111246, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the side sill for a vehicle of claim 1. However, does not explicitly disclose the material used for the side sill.
Honda et al., like Kim, teaches a side sill (Fig. 7), and teaches components of the side sill can be made from steel (paragraphs [0037] and [0055] teach the components are formed of steel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the side sill of Kim to include a steel material as taught by Honda et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, as a common metal used for vehicle components and a material that is strong for reinforcing purposes.
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified by Honda et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 2, and teaches (references to Kim) wherein the side sill frame comprises: a first side sill frame (20) having the first cavity therein (Fig. 3); and a second side sill frame (10) bonded to the first side sill frame and having the second cavity therein (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Honda et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 3, and teaches (references to Kim) wherein a shape of a thickness-direction cross-section of the first reinforcing frame (30b) comprises: a plurality of first lower flange portions formed by bending both ends and bonded to an internal surface of the first side sill frame (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bending of both ends, and bonded (fused/fixed) to the internal surface of the first side sill frame (20)); a plurality of first extension portions connected to the plurality of first lower flange portions, respectively, and extending in a direction of the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the extension portions between the first side sill frame and the partition member); and a first upper flange portion connected to the plurality of first extension portions and bonded to the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bonding (fused/fixed) of the top portion of (30b) to the partition member).
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 200198923, machine translation attached) in view of Honda et al. (JP 2012111246, machine translation attached) as applied to claim 4 and claim 3 above respectively, and further in view of Bodin et al. (US 2022/0363318).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Honda et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 4, and teaches (references to Kim) wherein a shape of a thickness-direction cross-section of the second reinforcing frame (30a) comprises: a plurality of second lower flange portions formed by bending both ends and bonded to an internal surface of the second side sill frame (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bending of both ends, and bonded (fused/fixed)); a plurality of second extension portions connected to the plurality of second lower flange portions and extending in a direction of the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the extension portions between the second side sill frame and the partition member); and a second upper flange portion connected to the plurality of second extension portions and bonded to the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bonding (fused/fixed) of the top portion of (30a) to the partition member).
Kim as modified by Honda et al. does not explicitly teach the plurality of second lower flange portions bonded to the partition member; the plurality of second extension portions extending in the direction of the second side sill frame; and the second upper flange portion bonded to the second side sill frame.
Bodin et al., like Kim, teaches a side sill for a vehicle, and teaches the direction of the first and second reinforcing frames can be in opposite directions or the same direction (Figs. 6 and 12 embodiments, paragraph [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the side sill of Kim modified by Honda et al. to reorient the second reinforcing frame to match the direction of the first reinforcing frame as taught by Bodin et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, considering there is a finite number of orientations that can be tried for the combined reinforcing frames, and it would be obvious to try with predictable potential solutions (Bodin et al.: paragraph [0099]). Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 5, and teaches (references to Kim) wherein the first upper flange portion continuously contacts the partition member during a predetermined section and is bonded to the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bonding (fused/fixed) of the top portion of (30b) to the partition member at a specific location along the partition member).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 5, and teaches wherein the second upper flange portion continuously contacts the second side sill frame during a predetermined section and is bonded to the second side sill frame (Kim teaches the second upper flange portion bonded to the partition member, and as modified by Bodin et al., the partition member is the second side sill frame in combination).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by Honda et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 3, and teaches (references to Kim) wherein a shape of a thickness-direction cross-section of the first reinforcing frame (30b) comprises: a plurality of first lower flange portions formed by bending both ends and bonded to an internal surface of the first side sill frame (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bending of both ends, and bonded (fused/fixed)); a plurality of first extension portions connected to the plurality of first lower flange portions, respectively, and extending in a direction of the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the extension portions between the first side sill frame and the partition member); and a first upper flange portion connected to the plurality of first extension portions and bonded to the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bonding (fused/fixed) of the top portion of (30b) to the partition member).
Kim as modified by Honda et al. does not explicitly teach the plurality of first lower flange portions bonded to the partition member; the plurality of first extension portions extending in the direction of the first side sill frame; and the first upper flange portion bonded to the first side sill frame.
Bodin et al., like Kim, teaches a side sill for a vehicle, and teaches the direction of the first and second reinforcing frames can be in opposite directions or the same direction (Figs. 6 and 12 embodiments, paragraph [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the side sill of Kim modified by Honda et al. to reorient the first reinforcing frame as taught by Bodin et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, considering there is a finite number of orientations that can be tried for the combined reinforcing frames, and it would be obvious to try with predictable potential solutions (Bodin et al.: paragraph [0099]). Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 8, and teaches (references to Kim) wherein a shape of a thickness-direction cross-section of the second reinforcing frame (30a) comprises: a plurality of second lower flange portions formed by bending both ends and bonded to an internal surface of the second side sill frame (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bending of both ends, and bonded (fused/fixed) to the internal surface of the second side sill frame (10)); a plurality of second extension portions connected to the plurality of second lower flange portions and extending in a direction of the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the extension portions between the second side sill frame and the partition member); and a second upper flange portion connected to the plurality of second extension portions and bonded to the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bonding (fused/fixed) of the top portion of (30a) to the partition member).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 5. As so far discussed, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. has been silent as to wherein a length of the first extension portion and a length of the second extension portion are different from each other.
In addition to the above, Bodin et al. teaches wherein a length of the first extension portion and a length of the second extension portion are different from each other (Fig. 6 shows the first extension portions and second extension portion are of different lengths (122)/(126) and (124)/(128)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lengths of the first and second extension portions of Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, for when the orientation of the first and second extension portions are in the same direction, and for the upper extension portions handling smaller forces, while in combination, the upper and lower extension portions help to handle increased forces.
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 10. As so far discussed, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. has been silent as to wherein in the thickness-direction cross-section of the side sill frame, the first cavity and the second cavity are asymmetrical with each other.
In addition to the above, Bodin et al. teaches wherein in the thickness-direction cross-section of the side sill frame, the first cavity (space within ()) and the second cavity (space within ()) are asymmetrical with each other (Fig. 6 shows the first cavity and second cavity are asymmetrical).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cavity sizes of the first cavity and second cavity of Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to help with the size modification of the reinforcing frames (Bodin et al.: paragraph [0099]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 8, and teaches (references to Kim) wherein a shape of a thickness-direction cross-section of the second reinforcing frame (30a) comprises: a plurality of second lower flange portions formed by bending both ends and bonded to an internal surface of the second side sill frame (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bending of both ends, and bonded (fused/fixed)); a plurality of second extension portions connected to the plurality of second lower flange portions and extending in a direction of the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the extension portions between the second side sill frame and the partition member); and a second upper flange portion connected to the plurality of second extension portions and bonded to the partition member (Fig. 3, p. 3, lines 11-17 of the machine translation teaches the bonding (fused/fixed) of the top portion of (30a) to the partition member).
Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. does not explicitly teach the plurality of second lower flange portions bonded to the partition member; the plurality of second extension portions extending in the direction of the second side sill frame; and the second upper flange portion bonded to the second side sill frame.
Bodin et al., like Kim, teaches a side sill for a vehicle, and teaches the direction of the first and second reinforcing frames can be in opposite directions or the same direction (Figs. 6 and 12 embodiments, paragraph [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the side sill of Kim modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. to reorient the second reinforcing frame to match the direction of the first reinforcing frame as taught by Bodin et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, considering there is a finite number of orientations that can be tried for the combined reinforcing frames, and it would be obvious to try with predictable potential solutions (Bodin et al.: paragraph [0099]). Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 12, and teaches (references to Kim) wherein a length of the first extension portion and a length of the second extension portion are identical to each other (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified by Honda et al. and Bodin et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 13, and teaches (references to Kim) wherein in the thickness-direction cross-section of the side sill frame, the first cavity and the second cavity are symmetrical with each other (Fig. 3).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 200198923, machine translation attached) in view of Bodin et al. (US 2022/0363318).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the side sill for a vehicle of claim 1. However, does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the side still frame, the partition member, the first reinforcing frame, and the second reinforcing frame includes a curved region.
Bodin et al., like Kim, teaches a side sill for a vehicle, and further teaches the first reinforcing frame ((118) or (120)) and the second reinforcing frame (the other of (118) or (120)) include a curved region (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the side sill of Kim as taught by Bodin et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, because, as noted in Bodin et al., U-shaped, V-shaped, wave and other shapes are possible for the reinforcing frames (Bodin et al.: paragraph [0068]). Further, it has been held that a configuration of a component is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed component was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 16, Kim as modified by Bodin et al. teaches the side sill for a vehicle of claim 15, and teaches (references to Bodin et al.) wherein at least one of the first reinforcing frame and the second reinforcing frame includes a concave-convex portion in a longitudinal cross-sectional shape of the side sill frame (as best understood, Fig. 4, shows a concave-convex portion along a longitudinal direction of the side sill frame).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the side sill for a vehicle of claim 1. However, does not explicitly disclose wherein the first reinforcing frame and the second reinforcing frame are bonded to the side sill frame or the partition member by at least one of welding and adhesive bonding.
Bodin et al., like Kim, teaches a side sill for a vehicle, and further teaches the first reinforcing frame ((118) or (120)) and the second reinforcing frame (the other of (118) or (120)) along with the other components in the side sill can be attached by welding, and adhesive or other fastening means, see paragraphs [0071] as an example of reference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the side sill of Kim to bond by welding or adhesive bonding as taught by Bodin et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a long lasting suitable fastening means among common means already used.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Takahashi et al. (US 2020/0114973) teaches a side sill with a first reinforcing frame and a second reinforcing frame.
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643