FINAL ACTION
Amendments and Status of the Claims
2. This action is in response to papers filed 28 September 2026 in which claims 1 and 3 were amended, claims 16 and 20-21 were canceled, and no new claims were added. All of the amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
Any previous rejections not reiterated below are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments have been thoroughly reviewed and are addressed following the rejections necessitated by the amendments.
3 Claims 1 and 3 are under prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sioss et al. (Langmuir, vol. 23, pages 11334-11341, published online 19 September 2007).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Sioss et al. teach a device comprising an elongated member, in the form of a nanowire, having a DNA binding portion on one end, in the form of a silica coating that functionalizes the end (Figure 1).
In addition, it is noted that the courts have held that “while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In addition, “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). Therefore, the various uses recited in the claims (e.g., capturing nucleic acids) fail to define additional structural elements of the claimed device. Because Sioss et al. teaches the structural elements of the claim, the claims are anticipated. See MPEP § 2114.
It is further noted that Sioss et al. explicitly teach the silica binds to DNA (Abstract); DNA is a nucleic acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
8. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Erbacher et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2011/0171656 A1, published 14 July 2011).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Erbacher et al. teach a device comprising an elongated member, in the form of a pipette tip, having a coating of tetraethoxysilane thereon (paragraph 0162), wherein tetraethoxysilane is used to form silica (i.e., silicon dioxide; paragraphs 0162-0164), which therefore functionalizes the end. Thus, all of the claimed limitations are taught by Erbacher et al, and the claims are either anticipated by, or obvious over, Erbacher et al.
It is reiterated that the courts have held that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Therefore, the various uses recited in the claims (e.g., capturing nucleic acids) fail to define additional structural elements of the claimed device. Because Erbacher et al. teach the structural elements of the claim, the claims are anticipated or, alternatively, obvious. See MPEP § 2114.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous art rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been considered; the non-art related rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Conclusion
10. No claim is allowed.
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13.
Robert T. Crow
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/Robert T. Crow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683