DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/15/2023. Claims 1-4,6-7,9-10,12-16,18-22 and 26-27 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawing
The drawing submitted on 12/15/2023 is acknowledged and accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20190280586, hereinafter ‘586).
Claim 1, ‘586 teaches a soft-switching solid-state power transformer (e.g., see Fig. 5-6) comprising: a transformer comprising (e.g., 103) first and second winding connections; a first auxiliary resonant circuit (e.g., 112) coupled to the first winding connection of the transformer, the first auxiliary resonant circuit comprising: a resonant capacitor (e.g., the primary side capacitor of 112) coupled across the first winding connection; and a resonant inductor (e.g., the primary side inductor of 112) coupled across the first winding connection in parallel with the resonant capacitor; a first current-source inverter (CSI) bridge (e.g., the primary side 106) coupled to the first auxiliary resonant circuit, the first CSI bridge comprising reverse blocking switches (e.g., the reverse blocking switches of the primary side 106) configured to conduct current in one direction and block voltage in both directions; a second auxiliary resonant circuit (e.g., the secondary side 112) coupled to the second winding connection of the transformer; and a second CSI bridge (e.g., the secondary side 106) coupled to the second auxiliary resonant circuit, the second CSI bridge comprising reverse blocking switches (e.g., the reverse blocking switches of the secondary side 106) configured to conduct current in one direction and block voltage in both directions (e.g., see Fig. 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 9, 26, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20190280586, hereinafter ‘586), in view of TAKEDA et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20220270816, hereinafter ‘816).
Claim 2, ‘586 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. ‘586 does not explicitly disclose that a first transformer capacitor coupled to a high voltage side of the first winding connection and a ground; wherein the first transformer capacitor is configured to divert current away from one or more semiconductors of the first CSI bridge.
‘816 discloses a soft-switching solid-state power transformer (e.g., see Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46) having a first transformer capacitor (e.g., Cpa) coupled to a high voltage side of the first winding connection and a ground (e.g., 6); wherein the first transformer capacitor is configured to divert current away from one or more semiconductors of a first CSI bridge (e.g., see [0106][0112], Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘586 by include the transformer and the transformer capacitor as taught by ‘816 in order of being able to reduce the common mode noise (e.g., see [0109][0112], Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46).
Claim 3, ‘586 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. ‘586 does not explicitly disclose that a first transformer capacitor coupled to a high voltage side of the first winding connection and a ground; and a second transformer capacitor coupled to a low voltage side of the of the first winding connection and the ground; wherein the first and second transformer capacitors are configured to first divert current away from one or more semiconductors of the first CSI bridge.
‘816 discloses a soft-switching solid-state power transformer (e.g., see Fig. 5-6) having a first transformer capacitor (e.g., Cpa) coupled to a high voltage side of the first winding connection and a ground (e.g., 6); and a second transformer capacitor (e.g., Cpa) coupled to a low voltage side of the of the first winding connection and the ground (e.g., 6); wherein the first transformer capacitor is configured to divert current away from one or more semiconductors of a first CSI bridge (e.g., s1, [0106][0112], Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46).
‘816 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 2 rejection above.
Claim 4, the combination of ‘586 and ‘816 teaches the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. ‘586 does not explicitly disclose that wherein the first transformer capacitor has a capacitance equal to a capacitance of the second transformer capacitor.
‘816 further discloses that wherein the first transformer capacitor has a capacitance equal to a capacitance of the second transformer capacitor (e.g., the same Cpa for both the first and the second transformer capacitors, [0106][0112], Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46).
‘816 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 2 rejection above.
Claim 6, the combination of ‘586 and ‘816 teaches the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. ‘586 does not explicitly disclose that a third transformer capacitor coupled to a high voltage side of the second winding connection and the ground.
‘816 further discloses that a third transformer capacitor coupled to a high voltage side of the second winding connection and the ground (e.g., the Csa, [0106], Fig. 1, 8, 14, 46).
‘816 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 2 rejection above.
Claim 7, the combination of ‘586 and ‘816 teaches the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above. ‘586 does not explicitly disclose that a fourth transformer capacitor coupled to a low voltage side of the second winding connection and the ground; wherein the fourth transformer capacitor has a capacitance equal to a capacitance of the third transformer capacitor.
‘816 further discloses that a fourth transformer capacitor (e.g., Csa) coupled to a low voltage side of the second winding connection and the ground (e.g., Csa, [0106], Fig. 1, 8, 14); wherein the fourth transformer capacitor has a capacitance equal to a capacitance of the third transformer capacitor. (e.g., the Csa, [0087][0109], Fig. 1, 8, 14, 46).
‘816 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 2 rejection above.
Claim 9, the combination of ‘586 and ‘816 teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. ‘586 further disclose that a power transformer comprising: a first power transformer comprising the power transformer of claim 2 (e.g., 100, see Fig. 5-6, 9A, 9B, 15); and a second soft switching solid state power transformer comprising the power transformer of claim 2 (e.g., see Fig. 5-6, 9A, 9B); wherein the first and second power transformers are coupled in parallel (e.g., 100s, see Fig. Fig. 9A, 9B, 15).
Claim 26, ‘586 teaches a soft-switching solid-state power transformer (e.g., see Fig. 5-6) comprising: a transformer (e.g., 103) comprising first and second winding connections e.g., the terminals of the primary and the secondary windings, see Fig. 5-6); an auxiliary resonant circuit (e.g., 112) coupled to the first winding connection of the transformer (e.g., see Fig. 5-6); a current-source inverter (CSI) bridge (e.g., the secondary side 106) coupled to the auxiliary resonant circuit, the CSI bridge comprising reverse blocking switches (e.g., the reverse blocking switches of 106) configured to conduct current in one direction and block voltage in both directions (e.g., see Fig. 5-6);
‘586 does not explicitly disclose that a transformer capacitor coupled to a high voltage side of the first winding connection and a ground; and wherein the transformer capacitor is configured to divert current away from one or more semiconductors of the CSI bridge.
‘816 discloses a soft-switching solid-state power transformer (e.g., see Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46) having a first transformer capacitor (e.g., Cpa) coupled to a high voltage side of the first winding connection and a ground (e.g., 6); wherein the first and second transformer capacitors are configured to divert current away from one or more semiconductors of the first CSI bridge (e.g., SW11-SW14, see [0106][0112], Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46);
‘816 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 2 rejection above.
Claim 27, ‘586 teaches a soft-switching solid-state power transformer (e.g., see Fig. 5-6) comprising: a transformer (e.g., 103) comprising first and second winding connections e.g., the terminals of the primary and the secondary windings, see Fig. 5-6); an auxiliary resonant circuit (e.g., 112) coupled to the first winding connection of the transformer (e.g., see Fig. 5-6); a current-source inverter (CSI) bridge (e.g., the secondary side 106) coupled to the auxiliary resonant circuit, the CSI bridge comprising reverse blocking switches (e.g., the reverse blocking switches of 106) configured to conduct current in one direction and block voltage in both directions (e.g., see Fig. 5-6);
‘586 does not explicitly disclose that a first transformer capacitor coupled to a high voltage side of the first winding connection and a ground; a second transformer capacitor coupled to a low voltage side of the of the first winding connection and the ground;
‘816 discloses a soft-switching solid-state power transformer (e.g., see Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46) having a first transformer capacitor (e.g., Cpa) coupled to a high voltage side of the first winding connection and a ground (e.g., 6); a second transformer capacitor (e.g., Csa) coupled to a low voltage side of the of the first winding connection and the ground (e.g., 6); and a rectifier filter (e.g., L51, C51) coupled to the CSI bridge; and a CSI bridge/ground capacitor (e.g., Cpa, Csa, C11/C12, C13/C14 ): coupled to the CSI bridge and the ground (e.g., see Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46); and in parallel with the rectifier filter (e.g., see Fig. 3); wherein the first and second transformer capacitors are configured to divert current away from one or more semiconductors of the first CSI bridge (e.g., SW11-SW14, see [0106][0112], Fig. 1, 5, 8, 14, 46);
‘816 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 2 rejection above.
Claims 10, 12, 13, 15, 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20190280586, hereinafter ‘586, in view of Wei et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20060227582, hereinafter ‘582).
Claim 10, ‘586 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. ‘586 further disclose that a first transformer capacitor (e.g., the capacitor of primary side 109) coupled to a high voltage side of the first winding connection and a ground (e.g., the GND, see Fig. 15); a first CSI bridge/ground capacitor (e.g., the other capacitor of primary side 109 connecting with GND, see Fig. 15); and a LC filter (e.g., the secondary side 112) coupled to the first CSI bridge comprising: a filter capacitor (e.g., the capacitor of the secondary side 112); wherein the first CSI bridge/ground capacitor is: coupled to the first CSI bridge and the ground (e.g., see Fig. 15); and in parallel with the filter (e.g., in parallel with secondary side 109 and the AC output, see Fig. 15).
‘586 does not explicitly disclose that a rectifier filter comprising: a rectifier capacitor; a rectifier inductor in parallel with the rectifier capacitor; and a dampening resistor in parallel with the rectifier inductor; wherein the first CSI bridge/ground capacitor is in parallel with the rectifier filter.
‘582 discloses a rectifier circuit having a rectifying bridge 62 coupled to AC input 12 and the output connected with a rectifier filter comprising: a rectifier capacitor (e.g., 112); a rectifier inductor (e.g., 114) in parallel with the rectifier capacitor (e.g., see Fig. 4); and a dampening resistor (e.g., 116) in parallel with the rectifier inductor (e.g., see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘586 by include the reciter circuit comprising the rectifier filter having the parallel connected the rectifier capacitor 112, the rectifier inductor 114, and the dampening resistor 116 as taught by ‘582 in order of being able to reduce the low order harmonics generated in the source current (e.g., see [0057], Fig. 4).
Claim 12, the combination of ‘586 and ‘582 teaches the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above. ‘586 does not explicitly disclose that wherein the dampening resistor is configured to dampen LC oscillation between the rectifier filter and inductances in a grounding loop of the transformer.
‘582 further teaches that wherein the dampening resistor is configured to dampen LC oscillation (e.g., at the low order harmonics generated in the source current) between the rectifier filter and inductances in a grounding loop of the transformer (e.g., see [0051][0057]).
‘582 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 10 rejection above.
Claim 13, the combination of ‘586 and ‘582 teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. ‘586 further teaches that wherein the first CSI bridge/ground capacitor is configured to increase an equivalent capacitance of the first CSI bridge and the transformer (e.g., the input capacitance between the middle note of the first bridge and the third bridge of 106 is increased by the corresponding parallel connected capacitor of primary side 109, see Fig. 15).
Claim 15, the combination of ‘586 and ‘582 teaches the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above. ‘586 does not explicitly disclose that wherein the dampening resistor is configured to dampen LC oscillation between the rectifier filter and inductances in a grounding loop of the transformer.
‘582 further teaches that wherein the dampening resistor is configured to dampen LC oscillation (e.g., at the low order harmonics generated in the source current) between the rectifier filter and inductances in a grounding loop of the transformer (e.g., see [0051][0057]).
‘582 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 10 rejection above.
Claim 18, ‘586 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
‘586 does not explicitly disclose that a first rectifier filter coupled to the first CSI bridge comprising: a rectifier capacitor; a rectifier inductor in parallel with the rectifier capacitor; and a dampening resistor in parallel with the rectifier inductor.
‘582 further teaches a first rectifier filter (e.g., 110) coupled to a bridge comprising: a rectifier capacitor (e.g., 114); a rectifier inductor (e.g., 112) in parallel with the rectifier capacitor; and a dampening resistor (e.g., 116) in parallel with the rectifier inductor.
‘582 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 12 rejection above.
Claim 19, ‘586 teaches the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above.
‘586 further teaches that a first CSI bridge/ground capacitor (e.g., the capacitors of the primary side 109, see Fig. 15) coupled to the first CSI bridge and the ground.
‘586 does not explicitly disclose that the first CSI bridge/ground capacitor coupled in parallel with the first rectifier filter.
‘582 further teaches that the first CSI bridge/ground capacitor coupled in parallel with the first rectifier filter (e.g., coupled through 60 and 12, see Fig. 4)
‘582 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 12 rejection above.
Claim 20, ‘586 teaches the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above.
‘586 does not explicitly disclose that wherein the dampening resistor is configured to dampen LC oscillation between the first rectifier filter and inductances in a grounding loop of the transformer.
‘582 further teaches that wherein the dampening resistor is configured to dampen LC oscillation (e.g., at the low order harmonics generated in the source current) between the first rectifier filter and inductances in a grounding loop of the transformer (e.g., see [0051][0057]).
‘582 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 10 rejection above.
Claim 21, the combination of ‘586 and ‘582 teaches the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. ‘586 further teaches that wherein the first CSI bridge/ground capacitor is configured to increase an equivalent capacitance of the first CSI bridge and the transformer (e.g., the input capacitance between the middle note of the first bridge and the third bridge of 106 is increased by the corresponding parallel connected capacitor of primary side 109, see Fig. 15).
Claim 22, the combination of ‘586 and ‘582 teaches the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above. ‘586 further teaches that wherein the first CSI bridge comprises phase legs (e.g., the phase legs of the secondary side 106, see Fig. 15);
‘586 does not explicitly disclose that one or more additional rectifier filters; wherein the first rectifier filter is coupled to a first phase leg of the phase legs; wherein a respective one or more of the additional rectifier filters is coupled to a respective one or more additional phase legs in the plurality of the phase legs exclusive of the first phase leg; and wherein the dampening resistors of each of rectifier filters are configured to dampen LC oscillation between the respective rectifier filter and inductances in a grounding loop of the transformer.
‘582 further teaches that one or more additional rectifier filters (e.g., 110, 100, 120);
wherein the first rectifier filter is coupled to a first phase leg of the phase legs (e.g., 110 coupled through 62, 60 and 12 to an AC phase input 70, see Fig. 4);
wherein a respective one or more of the additional rectifier filters (e.g., 100, 120) is coupled to a respective one or more additional phase legs in the plurality of the phase legs (e.g., 100, 120 exclusive of the first phase leg coupled through 62, 60 and 12 to an AC phase input 72 and 74, see Fig. 4); and
wherein the dampening resistors of each of rectifier filters are configured to dampen LC oscillation (e.g., at the low order harmonics generated in the source current) between the rectifier filter and inductances in a grounding loop of the transformer (e.g., see [0051] [0057]).
‘582 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 10 rejection above.
Claims 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20190280586, hereinafter ‘586), in view of TAKEDA et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20220270816, hereinafter ‘816), further in view of Wei et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20060227582, hereinafter ‘582).
Claim 14, the combination of ‘586 and ‘816 teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. ‘586 further discloses that wherein the first CSI bridge comprises phase legs (e.g., the phase legs of 106, see Fig. 5-6, 15);
None of ‘586 and ‘816 explicitly disclose that comprising rectifier filters, each of the rectifier filters comprising: a rectifier capacitor; a rectifier inductor in parallel with the rectifier capacitor; and a dampening resistor in parallel with the rectifier inductor; wherein the first CSI bridge comprises phase legs; and wherein a respective one of the rectifier filters is coupled to a respective one of the phase legs.
‘582 further teaches that comprising rectifier filters (e.g., 110, 120, 100) each of the rectifier filters comprising: a rectifier capacitor (e.g., 104, 114, 124 respectively); a rectifier inductor (e.g., 102, 112, 122 respectively) in parallel with the rectifier capacitor; and a dampening resistor (e.g., 106, 116, 126 respectively) in parallel with the rectifier inductor; wherein a respective one of the rectifier filters is coupled to a respective one of the phase legs (e.g., coupled through 60 and 12, see Fig. 4).
‘582 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 12 rejection above.
Claim 16, the combination of ‘586, ‘816, and ‘582 teaches the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above. ‘586 further discloses that comprising distinct capacitors; wherein a respective one of the distinct capacitors is coupled to a respective one of the phase legs and the ground (e.g., the respective capacitors of 109, see Fig. 15).
None of ‘586 and ‘816 explicitly disclose that wherein a respective one of the distinct capacitors is in parallel with a respective one of the rectifier filters.
‘582 further teaches that wherein a respective one of the distinct capacitors is in parallel with a respective one of the rectifier filters (e.g., coupled through 60 and 12).
‘582 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 12 rejection above.
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUE ZHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838