DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed 03/02/26, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claims 2, 13 and 15-16 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. 12075456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in the U.S. 12075456 with obvious wording variations.
Instant Application
U.S. 12075456
1. (Original) A method receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station, configuration information for a channel state information (CSI);
receiving, by the UE from the base station, at least one channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) based on the configuration information; and
transmitting, by the UE to the base station, (i)CSI calculated based on the at least one CSI-RS and (ii) priority information related to at least one of frequency-domain (FD) basis or spatial-domain (SD) basis for the CSI, wherein the priority information is determined, by the UE, based on a strongest coefficient calculated by the UE for the CSI, and wherein the priority information identifies basis information corresponding to the strongest coefficient as having a highest reporting priority among a plurality of basis.
1. A method of reporting channel state information (CSI), by a user equipment (UE), in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving bandwidth part (BWP) configuration information related to a BWP; receiving information for activating a specific bandwidth part among one or more bandwidth parts based on the BWP configuration information; receiving a reference signal; obtaining CSI based on the reference signal; and
transmitting the CSI by omitting a part of the CSI in the activated specific bandwidth part, based on a priority rule, wherein the CSI includes information related with coefficients, and each of elements of the information related to the coefficients is classified as a first group and a second group based on a priority value, wherein the priority value is determined based on i) a layer index ii) an index of a spatial domain related to each of the elements and iii) an index of a frequency domain related to each of the elements, wherein the priority value is determined as an order in which a higher index and a lower index of indexes of a frequency domain related to the elements are sequentially crossed based on a predefined specific index, and wherein a priority of the first group is defined as higher than a priority of the second group in the priority rule.
For claims 12 and 14, the claims have features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim can be compared as above.
Claims 1, 12 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. 12225398. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in the U.S. 12225398 with obvious wording variations.
Instant Application
U.S. 12225398
1. (Original) A method receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station, configuration information for a channel state information (CSI);
receiving, by the UE from the base station, at least one channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) based on the configuration information; and
transmitting, by the UE to the base station, (i)CSI calculated based on the at least one CSI-RS and (ii) priority information related to at least one of frequency-domain (FD) basis or spatial-domain (SD) basis for the CSI, wherein the priority information is determined, by the UE, based on a strongest coefficient calculated by the UE for the CSI, and wherein the priority information identifies basis information corresponding to the strongest coefficient as having a highest reporting priority among a plurality of basis.
1. A method of reporting channel state information (CSI) through physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), by a user equipment (UE), in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information, wherein the configuration information includes (i) a CSI related configuration and (ii) a configuration related to transmission power control of the PUSCH; receiving, from the base station, a CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) based on the CSI related configuration;
obtaining CSI based on the CSI-RS, wherein the CSI includes information related to coefficients, wherein each of elements of the information related to the coefficients is classified as a plurality of groups based on a priority value, wherein the priority value is determined based on i) a layer index, ii) an index of a spatial domain related to each of the element and iii) an index of a frequency domain related to each of the elements, and wherein the priority value increases as an order in which a higher index and a lower index of indexes of a frequency domain related to the elements are sequentially crossed based on a predefined specific index; and transmitting, to the base station, a CSI report configured by omitting, among the plurality of groups, a portion of the plurality of groups based on a pre-defined priority of the plurality of groups, through the PUSCH, wherein a transmission power of the PUSCH is determined based on the configuration information.
For claims 12 and 14, the claims have features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim can be compared as above.
Claims 1-12 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable claims 1-7 Co-Pending application 18/83310. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in the Co-Pending application 18/833101 with obvious wording variations.
Instant Application
Co-Pending application 18/833101
1. (Original) A method receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station, configuration information for a channel state information (CSI);
receiving, by the UE from the base station, at least one channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) based on the configuration information; and
transmitting, by the UE to the base station, (i)CSI calculated based on the at least one CSI-RS and (ii) priority information related to at least one of frequency-domain (FD) basis or spatial-domain (SD) basis for the CSI, wherein the priority information is determined, by the UE, based on a strongest coefficient calculated by the UE for the CSI, and wherein the priority information identifies basis information corresponding to the strongest coefficient as having a highest reporting priority among a plurality of basis.
1. A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information related to a channel state information (CSI) report from a network; receiving at least one CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) from the network based on the configuration information; and
transmitting at least one CSI report to the network based on the at least one CSI-RS, wherein the at least one CSI report includes indication information for a port group related to a strongest power among a plurality of port groups.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein: CSI for a port group corresponding to a power less than or equal to a predetermined threshold is omitted from the at least one CSI report.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein: the omitted CSI is at least one of a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a rank indicator (RI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI), or a precoding matrix indicator (PMI).
For claims 12 and 14, the claims have features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim can be compared as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grobmann et al. (U.S. 12494827) in view of Hindy et al. (U.S. 20230254026).
For claim 1, Grobmann et al. disclose a method comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station, configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) (col. 7, lines 6-55. Another embodiment may have a communication device for providing a channel state information, CSI, feedback in a wireless communication system, wherein the communication device is configured to receive a reference signal resource configuration, e.g., a CSI-RS resource configuration, including a parameter, like a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter, e.g., referred to as CSI-RS-BurstDuration, the parameter indicating a time-domain-repetition of the downlink reference signals, e.g., in terms of a number of consecutive slots the downlink reference signals are repeated in, and wherein the communication device is configured to determine the CSI feedback based on the repeated downlink reference signals and to report the determined CSI feedback.);
receiving, by the UE from the base station, at least one channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) based on the configuration information (col. 7, lines 6-55. Another embodiment may have a communication device for providing a channel state information, CSI, feedback in a wireless communication system, wherein the communication device is configured to receive a reference signal resource configuration, e.g., a CSI-RS resource configuration, including a parameter, like a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter, e.g., referred to as CSI-RS-BurstDuration, the parameter indicating a time-domain-repetition of the downlink reference signals, e.g., in terms of a number of consecutive slots the downlink reference signals are repeated in, and wherein the communication device is configured to determine the CSI feedback based on the repeated downlink reference signals and to report the determined CSI feedback.); and
transmitting, by the UE to the base station, CSI calculated based on the at least one CSI-RS (col. 7, lines 6-55. Another embodiment may have a communication device for providing a channel state information, CSI, feedback in a wireless communication system, wherein the communication device is configured to receive a reference signal resource configuration, e.g., a CSI-RS resource configuration, including a parameter, like a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter, e.g., referred to as CSI-RS-BurstDuration, the parameter indicating a time-domain-repetition of the downlink reference signals, e.g., in terms of a number of consecutive slots the downlink reference signals are repeated in, and wherein the communication device is configured to determine the CSI feedback based on the repeated downlink reference signals and to report the determined CSI feedback.) However, Grobmann et al. do not disclose transmitting, by the UE to the base station, priority information for omission of the corresponding CSI related to at least one of frequency-domain (FD) basis or spatial-domain (SD) basis for the CSI, wherein the priority information is determined, by the UE, based on a strongest coefficient calculated by the UE for the CSI, and wherein the priority information identifies basis information corresponding to the strongest coefficient as having a highest reporting priority among a plurality of basis.
In the same field of endeavor, Hindy et al. disclose transmitting, by the UE to the base station, priority information for omission of the corresponding CSI related to at least one of frequency-domain (FD) basis or spatial-domain (SD) basis for the CSI (at least [0008] and [0101]-[0109]. The user equipment includes a transceiver that receives a set of reference signals transmitted from a network entity, and a controller that computes a plurality of entries that are included in the channel state information feedback report based on the received set of reference signals, where the entries of the channel state information feedback report include at least a set of coefficients. Each coefficient is associated with at least one or more of a spatial domain basis index, a frequency domain basis index, and a layer index. The plurality of entries of the channel state information feedback report are arranged by the controller in an order known to both the user equipment and the network entity, where higher prioritized entries are positioned toward a beginning of the order of the arranged entries, and lower prioritized entries are positioned toward an end of the order of the arranged entries. At least a portion of the channel state information feedback report includes one or more concatenated groups. The plurality of entries of the channel state information feedback report are prioritized using predefined permutations of the indices for one or more of the frequency domain basis indices, the spatial domain basis indices, and the layer indices of the plurality of entries.),
wherein the priority information is determined, by the UE, based on a strongest coefficient calculated by the UE for the CSI (at least [0008] and [0101]-[0109]. The user equipment includes a transceiver that receives a set of reference signals transmitted from a network entity, and a controller that computes a plurality of entries that are included in the channel state information feedback report based on the received set of reference signals, where the entries of the channel state information feedback report include at least a set of coefficients. Each coefficient is associated with at least one or more of a spatial domain basis index, a frequency domain basis index, and a layer index. The plurality of entries of the channel state information feedback report are arranged by the controller in an order known to both the user equipment and the network entity, where higher prioritized entries are positioned toward a beginning of the order of the arranged entries, and lower prioritized entries are positioned toward an end of the order of the arranged entries. At least a portion of the channel state information feedback report includes one or more concatenated groups. The plurality of entries of the channel state information feedback report are prioritized using predefined permutations of the indices for one or more of the frequency domain basis indices, the spatial domain basis indices, and the layer indices of the plurality of entries., and
wherein the priority information identifies basis information corresponding to the strongest coefficient as having a highest reporting priority among a plurality of basis (at least [0008] and [0101]-[0109]. The user equipment includes a transceiver that receives a set of reference signals transmitted from a network entity, and a controller that computes a plurality of entries that are included in the channel state information feedback report based on the received set of reference signals, where the entries of the channel state information feedback report include at least a set of coefficients. Each coefficient is associated with at least one or more of a spatial domain basis index, a frequency domain basis index, and a layer index. The plurality of entries of the channel state information feedback report are arranged by the controller in an order known to both the user equipment and the network entity, where higher prioritized entries are positioned toward a beginning of the order of the arranged entries, and lower prioritized entries are positioned toward an end of the order of the arranged entries. At least a portion of the channel state information feedback report includes one or more concatenated groups. The plurality of entries of the channel state information feedback report are prioritized using predefined permutations of the indices for one or more of the frequency domain basis indices, the spatial domain basis indices, and the layer indices of the plurality of entries.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Grobmann et al. taught by Hindy et al. for purpose of generating a channel state information report, including the generation of a channel state information report where the contents of the information report have been organized in a descending order of significance in order to more readily support a partial transmission.
For claims 12 and 14, the claims have features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grobmann et al. (U.S. 12494827) in view of Hindy et al. (U.S. 20230254026) and further in view of Athley et al. (U.S. 20240063854)
For claim 3, the combination of Grobmann et al. and Hindy et al. do not disclose the basis information is SD basis information for a specific CSI-RS port among one or more CSI-RS ports based on port selection related to the CSI.
In the same field of endeavor, Athley et al. disclose disclose the basis information is SD basis information for a specific CSI-RS port among one or more CSI-RS ports based on port selection related to the CSI (at least [0053]-[0056]. The gNB selects dominant clusters according to the estimated angle-delay power spectrum profile, based on which a set of spatial-domain and frequency-domain (SD-FD) precoding vector pairs are computed by gNB for CSI-RS beamforming. Each CSI-RS port can contain one or multiple SD-FD precoding vector pairs. gNB precodes all the CSI-RS ports in a configured CSI-RS resource to the UE. gNB has configured the UE to measure CSI-RS, and the UE measures the received CSI-RS ports and then determines a type II CSI including RI, PMI for each layer and CQI. The precoding matrix indicated by the PMI includes the selected SD-FD precoding vector pairs/precoded CSI-RS ports, and the corresponding best phase and amplitude for co-phasing the selected pairs/ports. The phase and amplitude for each pair/port are quantized and fed back to the gNB.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Grobmann et al. taught by Athley et al. for purpose of producing a modified signal and increasing performance.
For claim 4, the combination of Grobmann et al. and Hindy et al. do not disclose method of claim 1, wherein the basis information is FD basis information for a FD basis vector among one or more frequency domain-related basis vectors related to the CSI.
In the same field of endeavor, Athley et al. disclose the basis information is FD basis information for a FD basis vector among one or more frequency domain-related basis vectors related to the CSI (at least [0053]-[0056]. The gNB selects dominant clusters according to the estimated angle-delay power spectrum profile, based on which a set of spatial-domain and frequency-domain (SD-FD) precoding vector pairs are computed by gNB for CSI-RS beamforming. Each CSI-RS port can contain one or multiple SD-FD precoding vector pairs. gNB precodes all the CSI-RS ports in a configured CSI-RS resource to the UE. gNB has configured the UE to measure CSI-RS, and the UE measures the received CSI-RS ports and then determines a type II CSI including RI, PMI for each layer and CQI. The precoding matrix indicated by the PMI includes the selected SD-FD precoding vector pairs/precoded CSI-RS ports, and the corresponding best phase and amplitude for co-phasing the selected pairs/ports. The phase and amplitude for each pair/port are quantized and fed back to the gNB.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Grobmann et al. taught by Athley et al. for purpose of producing a modified signal and increasing performance.
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grobmann et al. (U.S. 12494827) in view of Hindy et al. (U.S. 20230254026) and in view of Rahman et al. (U.S. 20200295812).
For claim 5, the combination of Grobmann et al. and Hindy et al. do not disclose the method of wherein the CSI is configured into a plurality of uplink control information (UCI) groups, and wherein a priority between the plurality of UCI groups is determined based on the priority-related priority information.
In the same field of endeavor, Rahman et al. disclose the CSI is configured into a plurality of uplink control information (UCI) groups, and wherein a priority between the plurality of UCI groups is determined based on the priority-related priority information (at least [0005]-[0006]. The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive, from a base station (BS), configuration information for a CSI report. The UE further includes a processor operably connected to the transceiver. The processor is configured to determine the CSI report comprising a first CSI part and a second CSI part, the second CSI part including a total of K.sup.NZ non-zero coefficients across v layers, wherein v≥1 is a rank value. The processor is further configured to determine a priority value for each of the total of K.sup.NZ non-zero coefficients, and partition the second CSI part into Group 0, Group 1, and Group 2 such that, based on the determined priority values of the total of K.sup.NZ non-zero coefficients, indicators to non-zero coefficients having higher priority values are included in Group 1 and indicators to non-zero coefficients having lower priority values are included in Group 2, wherein an indicator to a non-zero coefficient includes an amplitude coefficient indicator and a phase coefficient indicator that indicate an amplitude and a phase of the non-zero coefficient, respectively. The transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the BS over an uplink (UL) channel, UL control information (UCI) including Group 0 or (Group 0, Group 1) or (Group 0, Group 1, Group 2) of the second CSI part based on a resource allocation for the UCI transmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Grobmann et al. as taught by Rahman et al. for purpose of selecting appropriate communication parameters to efficiently and effectively perform wireless data communication with the UE.
For claim 6, the combination of Grobmann et al., Hindy et al. and Rahman et al. disclose the method of claim 5. Rahman et al. disclose a UCI group corresponding to the strongest coefficient has a highest priority among the plurality of UCI groups (at least [0005]-[0006]. The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive, from a base station (BS), configuration information for a CSI report. The UE further includes a processor operably connected to the transceiver. The processor is configured to determine the CSI report comprising a first CSI part and a second CSI part, the second CSI part including a total of K.sup.NZ non-zero coefficients across v layers, wherein v≥1 is a rank value. The processor is further configured to determine a priority value for each of the total of K.sup.NZ non-zero coefficients, and partition the second CSI part into Group 0, Group 1, and Group 2 such that, based on the determined priority values of the total of K.sup.NZ non-zero coefficients, indicators to non-zero coefficients having higher priority values are included in Group 1 and indicators to non-zero coefficients having lower priority values are included in Group 2, wherein an indicator to a non-zero coefficient includes an amplitude coefficient indicator and a phase coefficient indicator that indicate an amplitude and a phase of the non-zero coefficient, respectively. The transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the BS over an uplink (UL) channel, UL control information (UCI) including Group 0 or (Group 0, Group 1) or (Group 0, Group 1, Group 2) of the second CSI part based on a resource allocation for the UCI transmission.)
For claim 7, the combination of Grobmann et al., Hindy et al. and Rahman et al. disclose the method of claim 5. Rahman et al. disclose each of the plurality of UCI groups includes at least one report value corresponding to a combination of SD basis information and FD information (at least [0396]. an indicator included in Group 0 that indicates a set of L spatial domain basis vectors comprising columns of A=[a.sub.0 a.sub.1 . . . a.sub.L−1] is determined, and for each layer l=1, . . . , v, an indicator included in Group 1 that indicates a set of M frequency domain (FD) basis vectors comprising columns of B.sub.l=[b.sub.l,0b.sub.l,1 . . . b.sub.l,M−1] is determined.)
For claim 8, the combination of Grobmann et al., Hindy et al. and Rahman et al. disclose the method of claim 7. Rahman et al. disclose the at least one report value includes at least one of amplitude coefficient information, phase coefficient information, or non-zero coefficient indication information (at least [0006]. The BS includes a processor configured to generate CSI configuration information. The BS further includes a transceiver operably connected to the processor. The transceiver is configured to transmit, to a UE, the CSI configuration information for a CSI report, where the CSI report comprises a first CSI part and a second CSI part, and receive, from the UE over an uplink (UL) channel, UL control information (UCI) including Group 0 or (Group 0, Group 1) or (Group 0, Group 1, Group 2) of the second CSI part based on a resource allocation for the UCI transmission. The second CSI part includes a total of K.sup.NZ non-zero coefficients across v layers, each non-zero coefficient having a priority value, wherein v≥1 is a rank value. The second CSI part is partitioned into Group 0, Group 1, and Group 2 such that, based on priority values of each of the total of K.sup.NZ non-zero coefficients, indicators to non-zero coefficients having higher priority values are included in Group 1 and indicators to non-zero coefficients having lower priority values are included in Group 2, wherein an indicator to a non-zero coefficient includes an amplitude coefficient indicator and a phase coefficient indicator that indicate an amplitude and a phase of the non-zero coefficient, respectively.)
For claim 9, the combination of Grobmann et al., Hindy et al. and Rahman et al. disclose the method of claim 5. Rahman et al. disclose wherein, based on the CSI being for wideband, a value for a precoding matrix indicator is included in a first UCI group among the plurality of UCI groups(at least [0303]. In embodiment 2X, as shown in FIG. 19, the CSI part 2 comprised in the two-part UCI multiplexing process 1900 is segmented in two segments or three groups: [0304] CSI part 2 wideband or group G0: comprising LI, and SD rotation factors indicating (q1, q2, q3), SD basis indicator indicating L beam selection for W.sub.1, and SCI(s) (indicated via the first PMI i1); and [0305] CSI part 2 subband: comprising the bitmap B.sub.l and the second PMI i2, which are grouped into two groups: [0306] G1: comprising a first bitmap B.sub.l,1 for all layers l ∈ {1, . . . , v)} and a first group of second PMI components (for example, amplitude and phase of a first group of NZ coefficients), and FD indicator indicating M beam selection for W.sub.f (indicated via the first PMI i 1,2); [0307] G2: comprising a second bitmap B.sub.l,2 for all layers l ∈ {1, . . . , v} and a second group of second PMI components (for example, amplitude and phase of a second group of NZ coefficients).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grobmann et al. (U.S. 12494827) in view of Hindy et al. (U.S. 20230254026) further in view of Park et al. (U.S. 20220029682).
For claim 10, the combination of Grobmann et al. and Hindy et al. do not disclose transmitting, by the UE to the base station, information for a number of CSI-RS ports determined based on a uplink control information (UCI) payload size for the CSI, wherein the CSI is determined based on the number of CSI-RS ports.
In the same field of endeavor, Park et al. disclose transmitting, to the base station, information on the number of CSI-RS ports determined based on a uplink control information (UCI) payload size for the CSI, wherein the CSI is determined based on the number of CSI-RS ports (at least [0121]. The terminal may change the size of UCI payload for reporting channel state information according to the number of CSI-RS ports in the base station, codebook information, and the type of channel state information to be reported. For example, when a type I-SinglePanel codebook is used, the number of bits required for each of a CRI, an RI, an LI, and a CQI may be determined as shown in Table 4. Table 4 shows the numbers of bits of an RI, an LI, a CQI, and a CRI when the TypeI-SinglePanel codebook is used.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Grobmann et al. taught by Park et al. for purpose of decoding the channel state information report without blind decoding.
For claim 11, the combination Grobmann et al., Hindy et al. and Park et al. disclose the method of claim 10. Park et al. disclose the CSI includes a first CSI part and a second CSI part, and wherein information for the number of CSI-RS ports is included in the first CSI part (at least [0121] and [0131]. The base station may discover the RI by decoding the first part of the channel state information report and may then calculate the payload size of the second part of the channel state information report. Based on the payload size, the base station may decode the second part of the channel state information report without attempting blind decoding. The terminal may change the size of UCI payload for reporting channel state information according to the number of CSI-RS ports in the base station.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644