Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 207803091 U) in view of Bruni et al. (US 5498948 A).
Regarding claim 1: Yang teaches a system for removing manure from a floor in a barn for animals (Fig.1), said system comprising: an autonomous manure removing vehicle (Fig.3), comprising: a drive system for driving the manure removing vehicle (6,7,15; Fig.3), said drive system being provided with at least one electric drive motor (6; Fig.3); an electronic control system, said electronic control system being connected to the drive system for control thereof (12; Fig.3); and a battery system for storing electrical energy (14; Fig.3), said battery system being connected to the drive system and the control system (see attached EPO translation; Para.[0041]); and a charging station for charging the battery system of the manure removing vehicle (Fig.2), wherein the charging station comprises a transmitting body with a primary coil (2-8; Fig.2), wherein the manure removing vehicle comprises a receiving body with a secondary coil (Fig.3 and Para.[0040], lines 9-11), wherein the receiving body is fastened rigidly to the manure removing vehicle (Fig.3), and the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body are mutually aligned in a charging state in order to transfer electrical energy wirelessly from the primary coil to the secondary coil for wireless charging of the battery system of the manure removing vehicle (Para.[0040], lines 3-5). Yang does not teach wherein the transmitting body of the charging station is pretensioned to a waiting state, and is movable from the waiting state against the action of the pretension, through engagement with the receiving body of the vehicle that travels into the charging station, in such a way that the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body are mutually aligned in a charging state.
However, Bruni teaches wherein the transmitting body (12; Fig.2) of the charging station (10; Fig.1) is pretensioned to a waiting state (state shown in Fig.2), and is movable from the waiting state against the action of the pretension (moveable according to arrows within Figs.2 and 4), through engagement with the receiving body of the vehicle that travels into the charging station, in such a way that the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body are mutually aligned in a charging state (Col.3, lines 35-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the moveable transmitting body of Bruni to ensure proper charging system alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2: Yang further teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the receiving body and the transmitting body are adapted to each other in such a way that, as the manure removing vehicle travels into the charging station in a direction of travel, the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle engages on the transmitting body of the charging station (Para.[0040], lines 3-5). Yang does not teach wherein the receiving body of the vehicle engages on the transmitting body of the charging station to entrain said transmitting body from the waiting state in the direction of travel, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station in such a way that on entrainment of the transmitting body in the direction of travel, the transmitting body is movable relative to the charging station in a direction transverse to the direction of travel and/or in the vertical direction.
However, Bruni teaches wherein the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle engages on the transmitting body of the charging station to entrain said transmitting body from the waiting state in the direction of travel, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station in such a way that on entrainment of the transmitting body in the direction of travel, the transmitting body is movable relative to the charging station in a direction transverse to the direction of travel and/or in the vertical direction (Figs.2,4 and Col.3 lines 20-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the moveable transmitting body of Bruni to ensure proper charging system alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4: Yang does not teach wherein the transmitting body of the charging station in the waiting state abuts against a front stop, the front stop defining a front position, wherein the transmitting body is movable from said front position over a length in a direction of travel to a rearmost position, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station substantially freely movably between the front position and the rearmost position.
However, Bruni teaches wherein the transmitting body of the charging station in the waiting state abuts against a front stop (extended positions of 33; Fig.2), the front stop defining a front position, wherein the transmitting body is movable from said front position over a length in a direction of travel to a rearmost position, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station substantially freely movably between the front position and the rearmost position (Col.3, lines 20-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the moveable transmitting body of Bruni to ensure proper charging system alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5: Yang further teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the transmitting body of the charging station comprises a transmitting plate with the primary coil (2-8; Fig.2), wherein the transmitting plate is arranged adjacent to a flat surface of the transmitting body (apparent from Fig.2), and wherein the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle comprises a receiving plate with the secondary coil (Round plate on Fig.3 and Para.[0040], lines 9-11), wherein the receiving plate is arranged adjacent to a flat surface of the receiving body (apparent from Fig.3), and/or wherein the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body, in the charging state, are a distance apart that is less than 5 cm (Para.[0040], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 6: Yang further teaches the system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the receiving body and the transmitting body are configured in such a way that in the charging state, the flat surfaces of the transmitting body and of the receiving body press against each other (Para.[0040], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 7: Yang does not teach wherein the receiving body comprises, on a front side thereof, a centering edge, which projects substantially transversely from an outermost wall of the manure removing vehicle, wherein the centering edge surrounds the receiving plate of the receiving body at least partially, and wherein the receiving plate defines a central axis, which runs parallel to the direction of travel, and the centering edge deviates transversely from the central axis backwards on either side of the central axis, and wherein the transmitting body is configured in such a way that the transmitting body and the centering edge engage on each other as the manure removing vehicle travels into the charging station.
However, Bruni teaches wherein the receiving body comprises, on a front side thereof, a centering edge, which projects substantially transversely from an outermost wall (edges of rollers 21; Fig.3) of the vehicle, wherein the centering edge surrounds the receiving plate of the receiving body at least partially, and wherein the receiving plate defines a central axis, which runs parallel to the direction of travel, and the centering edge deviates transversely from the central axis backwards on either side of the central axis (edges of rollers 21 extending around corners transversely on either side of central axis; Fig.3), and wherein the transmitting body is configured in such a way that the transmitting body and the centering edge engage on each other as the vehicle travels into the charging station (Col.3, lines 23-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the centering capabilities of Bruni to ensure proper charging alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8: Yang does not teach wherein the centering edge is curved substantially symmetrically on the front of the receiving body.
However, Bruni teaches wherein the centering edge is curved substantially symmetrically on the front of the receiving body (curved edges of rollers 21 projecting around each edge of receiving body; Fig.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the centering capabilities of Bruni to ensure proper charging alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12: Yang further teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the manure removing vehicle comprises a manure slider for moving manure over the floor (13; Fig.3).
Regarding claim 15: Yang further teaches in combination, a barn for keeping animals, and the system as claimed in claim 1 (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 16: Yang further teaches a method for removing manure from a floor in a barn for animals, wherein use is made of the system as claimed in claim 1, and wherein the method comprises: moving the autonomous manure removing vehicle over the floor of the barn in order to remove manure from the floor; moving the manure removing vehicle to the charging station; travelling of the manure removing vehicle into the charging station (Para.[0033]), through engagement with the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle, in such a way that the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body are mutually aligned in the charging state; and wireless charging of the battery system of the manure removing vehicle in the charging station through wireless transfer of electrical energy in the charging state from the primary coil of the transmitting body of the charging station to the secondary coil of the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle (Para.[0040], lines 9-11). Yang does not teach wherein the transmitting body of the charging station is moved from the waiting state against the action of the pretension.
However, Bruni teaches wherein the transmitting body of the charging station is moved from the waiting state against the action of the pretension (Col.3, lines 35-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the moveable transmitting body of Bruni to ensure proper charging system alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17: Yang further teaches the system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the receiving body and the transmitting body are configured in such a way that in the charging state, the flat surfaces of the transmitting body and of the receiving body press against each other, under the effect of gravity (Para.[0040], lines 9-11).
Regarding claim 18: Yang does not teach wherein the centering edge is curved substantially symmetrically on the front of the receiving body, and has the shape of an arc of a circle.
However, Bruni teaches wherein the centering edge is curved substantially symmetrically on the front of the receiving body, and has the shape of an arc of a circle (symmetrical roller edges 21; Fig.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the centering capabilities of Bruni to ensure proper charging alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19: Yang does not teach wherein the transmitting body of the charging station in the waiting state abuts against a front stop, the front stop defining a front position, wherein the transmitting body is movable from said front position over a length in a direction of travel to a rearmost position, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station substantially freely movably between the front position and the rearmost position.
However, Bruni teaches wherein the transmitting body of the charging station in the waiting state abuts against a front stop (extended positions of 33; Fig.2), the front stop defining a front position, wherein the transmitting body is movable from said front position over a length in a direction of travel to a rearmost position, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station substantially freely movably between the front position and the rearmost position (Col.3, lines 20-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the centering capabilities of Bruni to ensure proper charging alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 207803091 U) in view of Kuki et al. (US 5850135 A).
Regarding claim 1: Yang teaches a system for removing manure from a floor in a barn for animals (Fig.1), said system comprising: an autonomous manure removing vehicle (Fig.3), comprising: a drive system for driving the manure removing vehicle (6,7,15; Fig.3), said drive system being provided with at least one electric drive motor (6; Fig.3); an electronic control system, said electronic control system being connected to the drive system for control thereof (12; Fig.3); and a battery system for storing electrical energy (14; Fig.3), said battery system being connected to the drive system and the control system (see attached EPO translation; Para.[0041]); and a charging station for charging the battery system of the manure removing vehicle (Fig.2), wherein the charging station comprises a transmitting body with a primary coil (2-8; Fig.2), wherein the manure removing vehicle comprises a receiving body with a secondary coil (Fig.3 and Para.[0040], lines 9-11), wherein the receiving body is fastened rigidly to the manure removing vehicle (Fig.3), and the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body are mutually aligned in a charging state in order to transfer electrical energy wirelessly from the primary coil to the secondary coil for wireless charging of the battery system of the manure removing vehicle (Para.[0040], lines 3-5). Yang does not teach wherein the transmitting body of the charging station is pretensioned to a waiting state, and is movable from the waiting state against the action of the pretension, through engagement with the receiving body of the vehicle that travels into the charging station, in such a way that the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body are mutually aligned in a charging state.
However, Kuki teaches wherein the transmitting body (30; Fig.3) of the charging station (Fig.1) is pretensioned to a waiting state (centered state within Fig.1), and is movable from the waiting state against the action of the pretension (moveable according to arrows within Figs.2 and 3), through engagement with the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle that travels into the charging station (10; Fig.4), in such a way that the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body are mutually aligned in a charging state (shown in Fig.4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the moveable transmitting body of Kuki to ensure proper charging system alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2: Yang further teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the receiving body and the transmitting body are adapted to each other in such a way that, as the manure removing vehicle travels into the charging station in a direction of travel, the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle engages on the transmitting body of the charging station (Para.[0040], lines 3-5). Yang does not teach wherein the receiving body of the vehicle engages on the transmitting body of the charging station to entrain said transmitting body from the waiting state in the direction of travel, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station in such a way that on entrainment of the transmitting body in the direction of travel, the transmitting body is movable relative to the charging station in a direction transverse to the direction of travel and/or in the vertical direction.
However, Kuki teaches wherein the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle engages on the transmitting body of the charging station to entrain said transmitting body from the waiting state in the direction of travel, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station in such a way that on entrainment of the transmitting body in the direction of travel, the transmitting body is movable relative to the charging station in a direction transverse to the direction of travel and/or in the vertical direction (movements shown of 30 within Figs.2 and 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the moveable transmitting body of Kuki to ensure proper charging system alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3: Yang does not teach wherein on entrainment of the transmitting body in the direction of travel the transmitting body is rotatable relative to the charging station about a substantially vertical rotation axis and/or about a substantially horizontal rotation axis that runs parallel to the direction of travel and/or about a substantially horizontal rotation axis that runs in a direction transverse to the direction of travel.
However, Kuki teaches wherein on entrainment of the transmitting body in the direction of travel the transmitting body is rotatable relative to the charging station about a substantially vertical rotation axis (movements of 30 within Fig.2) and/or about a substantially horizontal rotation axis that runs in a direction transverse to the direction of travel (movements of 30 within Fig.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the moveable transmitting body of Kuki to ensure proper charging system alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20: Yang does not teach wherein the transmitting body of the charging station in the waiting state abuts against a front stop, the front stop defining a front position, wherein the transmitting body is movable from said front position over a length in a direction of travel to a rearmost position, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station substantially freely movably between the front position and the rearmost position.
However, Kuki teaches wherein the transmitting body of the charging station in the waiting state abuts against a front stop (extended position of 80; Fig.16), the front stop defining a front position, wherein the transmitting body is movable from said front position over a length in a direction of travel to a rearmost position, and wherein the transmitting body is arranged to the charging station substantially freely movably between the front position and the rearmost position (movement of 80 between extended position and retracted position against spring 93 shown within Fig.16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the moveable transmitting body including a front position as in Kuki to ensure proper charging system alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Bruni and Hui (US 20200094700 A1).
Regarding claim 10: Yang further teaches wherein the transmitting body of the charging station is located at a height that is adapted to the height of the flat surface of the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle in such a way that said flat surfaces are movable over and on each other in the charging state (Figs.2-3 and Para.[0040]). Yang does not teach wherein the receiving body is arranged on an upper side of the manure removing vehicle and the flat surface of the receiving body faces upward, and wherein the flat surface of the transmitting body of the charging station is downward facing and is located at a height that is adapted to the height of the upward facing flat surface of the receiving body.
However, Hui teaches wherein the receiving body is arranged on an upper side of the vehicle and the flat surface of the receiving body faces upward, and wherein the flat surface of the transmitting body of the charging station is downward facing (Figs. 8A-8D) and is located at a height that is adapted to the height of the upward facing flat surface of the receiving body (Figs.8A-8D). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the upward facing receiving body and downward facing transmitting body to provide wireless charging on top of the vehicle to keep the receiving body out of the manure during operation to ensure effective charging with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Bruni and Hillforth et al. (US 20140124000 A1).
Regarding claim 13: Yang does not teach wherein the manure removing vehicle is provided with a manure storage container, a manure discharge opening for discharging manure from the manure storage container, and a manure feed device for feed of manure from the floor and for moving the fed-in manure to the manure storage container.
However, Hillforth teaches wherein the manure removing vehicle (1; Fig.3) is provided with a manure storage container (2; Fig.3), a manure discharge opening for discharging manure from the manure storage container (15; Fig.3), and a manure feed device for feed of manure from the floor and for moving the fed-in manure to the manure storage container (7; Fig.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the manure storage and discharge features of Hillforth to provide efficient manure collection and discharge with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14: Yang does not teach wherein the charging station is provided with a dump opening in the floor for dumping manure from the manure discharge opening of the manure storage container through the dump opening into a manure reservoir that extends underneath the floor.
However, Hillforth teaches wherein the charging station is provided with a dump opening in the floor (29; Fig.3) for dumping manure from the manure discharge opening (15; Fig.3) of the manure storage container (2; Fig.3) through the dump opening into a manure reservoir (28; Fig.3) that extends underneath the floor (30; Fig.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Yang with the manure storage and discharge features of Hillforth to provide efficient manure collection and discharge with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach the combination of limitations recited in the dependent claims 9 and 11.
More specifically, the prior art fails to teach wherein the centering edge of the receiving body is provided with a groove, and wherein the transmitting body is provided with at least two centering bosses, the centering bosses being configured to engage in the groove of the centering edge on either side of the central axis as the manure removing vehicle travels into the charging station as claimed within claim 9. It would require an improper level of hindsight to modify the charging system of Yang in view of Bruni since the movements of Bruni are completed utilizing centering plates cooperating with rollers. The combination of these limitations would also change the principle of operation of the reference. Further, it would require an improper level of hindsight to combine the above limitations in view of Yang and Kuki since the charging system of Kuki utilizes a receiving body internal to the vehicle to align with a projecting transmitting body. The combination of the above limitations would change the principle of operation of the reference.
Further, the prior art fails to teach after the water reservoir is filled, the manure removing vehicle travels back in the charging station over a distance such that the water feed connection is decoupled automatically from the water supply connection while the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body remain aligned in the charging state as claimed within claim 11. Yang in view of Bruni teaches the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body reaching the charging state (Yang; Para.[0040], lines 3-5) and the transmitting body being further movable against the action of the pretension through engagement with the receiving body of the manure removing vehicle that travels further into the charging station (Bruni; Col.3, lines 20-22 and 35-38). Yang in view of Bruni fails to teach the use of a water system for spraying water on the floor, said water system being provided with at least one water reservoir for receiving water, at least one spray head for spraying water on the floor, and a water feed connection for supplying water to the water system, wherein the charging station comprises a water supply connection, which is couplable to the water feed connection of the water system for supplying water to the water system in order to fill the water reservoir; and wherein the water feed connection of the manure removing vehicle is coupled automatically to the water supply connection of the charging station, and wherein the control system of the manure removing vehicle is configured so that, after the water reservoir is filled, the manure removing vehicle travels back in the charging station over a distance such that the water feed connection is decoupled automatically from the water supply connection while the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body remain aligned in the charging state.
The closest prior art to these limitations, Luo et al. (CN 112470946 A), teaches the use of a water system for spraying water on the floor (Fig.6A), said water system being provided with at least one water reservoir for receiving water (33; Fig.6A), at least one spray head for spraying water on the floor (31; Fig.6A), and a water feed connection for supplying water to the water system (232; Fig.6D), wherein the charging station comprises a water supply connection (200; Fig.6D), which is couplable to the water feed connection of the water system for supplying water to the water system in order to fill the water reservoir; and wherein the water feed connection of the manure removing vehicle is coupled automatically to the water supply connection of the charging station (shown filling within Fig.6D while charging). There is no suggestion to include the configuration wherein, after the water reservoir is filled, the manure removing vehicle travels back in the charging station over a distance such that the water feed connection is decoupled automatically from the water supply connection while the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body remain aligned in the charging state since the charging contacts of the vehicle within Luo are conductive contacts requiring a set position to allow charging of the manure removing vehicle and the combination of these limitations to the system of Yang in view of Bruni and Luo would require an improper level of hindsight.
Conclusion
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615