Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-12, 14-15, 18-21, 30-42, 45-50, 54, and 57-65 are pending. Claims 3-5, 7-12, 14-15, 18-21, 30-34, 38-39, 45-47, 50, 54, and 57-65 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 6, 35-37, 40-42, and 48-49 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS’s) from 12/15/2023 (six) were considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the species:
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein X = N; R1 = -Q-heterocyclyl, Q = bond:
, R2 = oxo and C1 alkyl (methyl); R12= H; R3 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R8 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R4 = aryl:
, R5 = halogen and haloalkyl, in the reply filed on 4/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 35-37, 40-42, and 48-49 embrace Applicant’s elected species and are therefore under examination. The elected species is allowable. As per MPEP 803.02, “Following election, the Markush claim will be examined fully with respect to the elected species and further to the extent necessary to determine patentability.” The examination of the Markush-type claims has been extended to include the non-elected species cited below under 35 USC 102 and 103 and double patenting, which are not allowable.
Claims 3-5, 7-12, 14-15, 18-21, 30-34, 38-39, 45-47, 50, 54, and 57-65 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 48 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 on p. 18 should read: “A compound selected from the group consisting of” and the last line on p. 21 should read: “or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 42 defines the “R4” variable and is not further limiting from claim 1, from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 42 depends from claim 1 and in line 3 includes “solvate thereof”, wherein claim 1 does not teach solvates. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 35, 40-42, and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Toshiyuki et al. (WO2007066615).
Regarding instant claims 1, 35, and 40-42, Toshiyuki teaches the following compound in para. [0019]:
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein X = CH; R3= heterocyclyl:
; R1, R12 = H; R8 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R4 = aryl:
.
Regarding instant claim 49, Toshiyuki teaches the following in para. [0014]:
.
Claim(s) 1, 35, 40-42 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fiorelli et al. (US20240002371-earliest priority date of 11/27/2020).
Regarding instant claims 1, 35, and 40-42, Fiorelli discloses the following compound in Table 1, p. 7:
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein X = CH; R1 = heteroaryl:
; R12 = H; R3 = cycloalkyl:
; R8 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R4 = heteroaryl, R5 = C1 alkyl:
.
Regarding instant claim 49, Fiorelli teaches the following in para. [0034]:
.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 35-37, 40-42, and 49, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (WO2022017339-earliest priority date of 7/20/2020).
Regarding instant claims 1, 6, 35-37, and 40-42, Li et al. discloses the following compound in claim 17:
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein X = C, R7 = alkoxy (-O-CH3); R1 = Q-heterocyclyl:
, R2 = -C(O)C1 alkyl, Q = bond; R12 = H; R3, R8 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R4 = aryl:
, R5 = halogen and haloalkyl.
Regarding instant claim 49, see Eng. Translation p. 36 of Li (second para. from bottom):
.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 35-37, 40-42 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haling et al. (US20220395507- earliest priority date is 5/27/2021).
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, 6, 35-37, and 40-42, Haling discloses the following compound in claim 20:
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein X = N; R12 = H; R1 = -Q-heterocyclyl:
, Q = bond; R3, R8 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R4 = aryl:
, R5 = cyano and methyl.
Regarding instant claim 49, Haling discloses the following in para. [0101]:
.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 35-37, 40-42 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haling et al. (US12280055- earliest priority date is 5/27/2021).
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, 6, 35-37, and 40-42, Haling discloses the following compound in claim 14:
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein X = N; R12 = H; R1 = -Q-heterocyclyl:
, Q = bond; R3, R8 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R4 = aryl:
, R5 = cyano and methyl.
Regarding instant claim 49, Haling discloses the following in column 90, lines 5-10:
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haling et al. (US20220395507- earliest priority date is 5/27/2021).
**The 102 rejection supra over Haling et al. (US20220395507- earliest priority date is 5/27/2021) of claims 1, 2, 6, 35-37, 40-42 and 49, is incorporated herein by reference.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
The compound taught by Haling is designated to treat KRAS G12C cancers (see abstract).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art compound shown above has a hydrogen in place of a methyl of instant compound on bottom left of p. 20, instant claim 48 (arrow added by Examiner):
.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Regarding instant claim 48, the compounds of the instant claims (see instant claim 60) are also useful in treating KRAS G12C cancers. The prior art compound differs from a compound of the instant claims in a hydrogen vs. methyl difference, rendering the compounds analogs. The compounds as taught by the prior art and the compounds in the instant claims are considered structural analogs and hydrogen and methyl are deemed obvious variants. It is well established that the substitution of hydrogen for methyl on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Wood, Whittaker, Stirling, and Ohta, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S.P.Q 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978). In the instant case, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to synthesize the instantly claimed analogs with the reasonable expectation that it would have the same utility as the closest structurally related compounds taught by the prior art and with the motivation of obtaining additional useful compounds. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to be useful in the same utilities and been motivated to apply them in the same methods.
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haling et al. (US12280055- earliest priority date is 5/27/2021).
**The 102 rejection supra over Haling et al. (US12280055- earliest priority date is 5/27/2021) of claims 1, 2, 6, 35-37, 40-42 and 49, is incorporated herein by reference.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
The compound taught by Haling is designated to treat KRAS G12C cancers (see abstract).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art compound shown above has a hydrogen in place of a methyl of instant compound on bottom left of p. 20, instant claim 48 (arrow added by Examiner):
.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Regarding instant claim 48, the compounds of the instant claims (see instant claim 60) are also useful in treating KRAS G12C cancers. The prior art compound differs from a compound of the instant claims in a hydrogen vs. methyl difference, rendering the compounds analogs. The compounds as taught by the prior art and the compounds in the instant claims are considered structural analogs and hydrogen and methyl are deemed obvious variants. It is well established that the substitution of hydrogen for methyl on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Wood, Whittaker, Stirling, and Ohta, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S.P.Q 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978). In the instant case, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to synthesize the instantly claimed analogs with the reasonable expectation that it would have the same utility as the closest structurally related compounds taught by the prior art and with the motivation of obtaining additional useful compounds. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to be useful in the same utilities and been motivated to apply them in the same methods.
Double Patenting
(1 of 3) Claim 1, 2, 6, 35-37, 40-42, and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 12280055. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, 6, 35-37, and 40-42, U.S. Patent No. 12280055 discloses the following compound in claim 14, as useful in a method for inhibiting KRAS G12C activity in a cell and used in combination with adagrasib:
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein X = N; R12 = H; R1 = -Q-heterocyclyl:
, Q = bond; R3, R8 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R4 = aryl:
, R5 = cyano and methyl. While the claims of US12280055 are drawn to use of the compound shown supra in combination with another drug, the instant disclosure allows for combinations (see para. [0173]). Additionally, the instant disclosure recites the following in para. [0007]: “Thus, the compounds of the present invention that block the interaction between SOS1 and Ras-family members prevent the recycling of KRas into the active GTP-bound form and, therefore, may provide therapeutic benefit for a wide range of cancers, particularly Ras family member-associated cancers”.
Regarding instant claim 48, the compounds of the instant claims (see instant claim 60) are also useful in treating KRAS G12C cancers. The prior art compound differs from a compound of the instant claims in a hydrogen vs. methyl difference, rendering the compounds analogs. The compounds as taught by the prior art and the compounds in the instant claims are considered structural analogs and hydrogen and methyl are deemed obvious variants. It is well established that the substitution of hydrogen for methyl on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Wood, Whittaker, Stirling, and Ohta, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S.P.Q 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978). In the instant case, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to synthesize the instantly claimed analogs with the reasonable expectation that it would have the same utility as the closest structurally related compounds taught by the prior art and with the motivation of obtaining additional useful compounds. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to be useful in the same utilities and been motivated to apply them in the same methods.
(2 of 3) Claim 1, 2, 6, 35-37, 40-42, and 48-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-81 of U.S. Patent No. 12304915. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, 6, 35-37, and 40-42, U.S. Patent No. 12304915 discloses the following compound in claim 68, as useful in a method for treating cancer in a cell:
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein X = N; R12 = H; R1 = -Q-heterocyclyl:
, Q = bond; R3, R8 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R4 = aryl:
, R5 = cyano and methyl. Regarding instant claim 49, the end of claim 68 from US12304915 recites the following:
. The instant disclosure recites the following in para. [0007]: “Thus, the compounds of the present invention that block the interaction between SOS1 and Ras-family members prevent the recycling of KRas into the active GTP-bound form and, therefore, may provide therapeutic benefit for a wide range of cancers, particularly Ras family member-associated cancers”.
Regarding instant claim 48, the compounds of the instant claims (see instant claim 60) are also useful in treating cancers. The prior art compound differs from a compound of the instant claims in a hydrogen vs. methyl difference, rendering the compounds analogs. The compounds as taught by the prior art and the compounds in the instant claims are considered structural analogs and hydrogen and methyl are deemed obvious variants. It is well established that the substitution of hydrogen for methyl on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Wood, Whittaker, Stirling, and Ohta, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S.P.Q 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978). In the instant case, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to synthesize the instantly claimed analogs with the reasonable expectation that it would have the same utility as the closest structurally related compounds taught by the prior art and with the motivation of obtaining additional useful compounds. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to be useful in the same utilities and been motivated to apply them in the same methods.
(3 of 3) Claim 1, 2, 6, 35-37, 40-42, and 48-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-72 of U.S. Patent No. 11702418. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, 6, 35-37, and 40-42, U.S. Patent No. 11702418 discloses the following compound in claim 70, as a SOS1 inhibitor (see abstract):
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein X = N; R12 = H; R1 = -Q-heterocyclyl:
, Q = bond; R3, R8 = C1 alkyl (methyl); R4 = aryl:
, R5 = cyano and methyl. Regarding instant claim 49, claim 69 from the patent recites the following:
.
Regarding instant claim 48, the compounds of the instant claims are also SOS1 inhibitors (See title). The prior art compound differs from a compound of the instant claims in a hydrogen vs. methyl difference, rendering the compounds analogs. The compounds as taught by the prior art and the compounds in the instant claims are considered structural analogs and hydrogen and methyl are deemed obvious variants. It is well established that the substitution of hydrogen for methyl on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Wood, Whittaker, Stirling, and Ohta, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S.P.Q 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978). In the instant case, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to synthesize the instantly claimed analogs with the reasonable expectation that it would have the same utility as the closest structurally related compounds taught by the prior art and with the motivation of obtaining additional useful compounds. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to be useful in the same utilities and been motivated to apply them in the same methods.
Conclusion
/MEGHAN C HEASLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1626