DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 filed on 06/30/2026 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 07/22/2026 has been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Specification
The abstract filed on 06/30/2026 has been reviewed and is considered acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amended claims, filed 06/30/2026 have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and § 103. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Nakada.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 11 details a specific formula to calculate the deviation between the center of a substrate and a standard center, which is not found in the prior art cited or any other prior art that was found.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakada et al. (JP 2017183605 A) (Note: a machine translation is used for mapping, attached to this action).
Regarding claim 1, Nakada discloses a deviation measurement device that measures the deviation between the center of a substrate and a standard center, comprising a reference arm, a moving arm and a first linear module ([0019]: “The clamping section 20 includes a first arm 22 and a second arm 23 for clamping the substrate 10, and a positioning section 28 for determining the center point of the substrate 10”),
wherein the moving arm is provided with a first positioning claw, and the first positioning claw is used to abut against two points on the edge of the substrate ([0047]: “The first arm 42 is configured to have cam followers (second rotating parts) 43 and 44 instead of the contact surface 22a of the first arm 22”), and
the reference arm is provided with a second positioning claw ([0047]: “The clamping section 40 comprises a first arm 42 and a second arm 23”),
the second positioning claw is used to abut against two points on the edge of the substrate ([0022]: “the second arm 23 is equipped with cam followers (first rotating parts) 26 and 27, and the cam followers 26 and 27 can rotate about an axis perpendicular to the X-Y plane”; [0050]: “This allows the substrate 10 to be moved toward the second arm 23 by the first arm 42, while the substrate 10 is held between the cam followers 26 and 27 and the cam followers 43 and 44”),
the moving arm and the reference arm are disposed on opposite sides of the substrate, the first positioning claw and the second positioning claw are disposed on the opposite sides of the substrate, a connecting line between the center of the first positioning claw and the center of the second positioning claw is a straight line L ([0047]: “The clamping section 40 comprises a first arm 42 and a second arm 23”; [0049]: “as shown in Figure 4, line segment A connecting cam followers 26 and 27, and line segment B connecting cam followers 43 and 44 are parallel to each other, and line segment C connecting the midpoint A1 of line segment A and the midpoint B1 of line segment B is perpendicular to line segments A and B”; [0050]: “This allows the substrate 10 to be moved toward the second arm 23 by the first arm 42, while the substrate 10 is held between the cam followers 26 and 27 and the cam followers 43 and 44”), and
the straight line L passes through the standard center ([0038]: “This simple operation allows the center point O1 of the substrate 10 to be positioned on the center point O3 of the rotating stage 31 (Figure 3(a))”; [0049]: “In this way, by arranging the cam followers 26 and 27, and the cam followers 43 and 44, the center point O1 of the substrate 10 can be placed on the line segment C. Furthermore, the clamping portion 40 can position the center point of the substrate 10 on the center point of the rotating stage 31 based on the size of the substrate 10 and the coordinates of its center point, which are determined by the positioning portion 28”), and
the first linear module is connected to the moving arm, and the moving arm is driven by the first linear module to translate along the straight line L ([0020]: “As shown in Figure 2(a), the first arm 22 comprises a specific part 24 and a drive part (not shown), and has a contact surface 22a that can contact the outer peripheral edge of the substrate 10”; [0039]: “Based on the distance R determined by the identification unit 24 in the position identification device 61, the drive unit 25a moves the first arm 22 in the clamping unit 20' toward the second arm 23 in the X direction”; [0048]: “The clamping portion 40 moves the substrate 10 toward the second arm 23 in the X direction by at least one of the cam followers 43 and 44 provided on the first arm 42”),
the moving arm is used to drive the first positioning claw to push the substrate toward the second positioning claw along the straight line L, until the first positioning claw and the second positioning claw contact the edge of the substrate at the same time, at this time, the center of the substrate is located on the straight line L ([0048]: “The clamping portion 40 moves the substrate 10 toward the second arm 23 in the X direction by at least one of the cam followers 43 and 44 provided on the first arm 42… As a result, as shown in Figure 4, the clamping portion 40 guides the substrate 10 by the cam follower 26 and cam follower 43 so that the outer peripheral edge of the substrate 10 comes into contact with the cam followers 27 and 44”; [0049]: “In this way, by arranging the cam followers 26 and 27, and the cam followers 43 and 44, the center point O1 of the substrate 10 can be placed on the line segment C”; [0050]: “This allows the substrate 10 to be moved toward the second arm 23 by the first arm 42, while the substrate 10 is held between the cam followers 26 and 27 and the cam followers 43 and 44”), and
the deviation between the substrate center and the standard center is calculated according to coordinates of the reference arm and the moving arm ([0021]: “the identification unit (distance identification unit) 24 is capable of determining the distance the first arm 22 has moved in the X direction”; [0022]: “The second arm 23 is equipped with a drive unit 25 and can move along the X direction, but
before gripping the substrate 10, it is fixed in a predetermined position within the positioning
device 61”; [0025]: “The positioning unit 28 determines the actual diameter of the substrate 10 based on the distance R, and determines the coordinates in the X-axis direction of the center point O1 of the substrate 10 located on the line segment C”; [0026]: “The clamping portion 20 may be configured to determine the size of the substrate 10 and its center point O1 from the coordinates of the contact points between the cam followers 26 and 27, the first arm 22, and the outer peripheral edge of the substrate 10”; [0062]: “in the clamping step, the center point O1 of the substrate 10 may be identified based on the distance between a pair of clamping parts 20' when the substrate 10 is clamped”), and
the substrate is a circular substrate or an oval substrate ([0017]: “Although not limited thereto, in the substrate processing apparatus 100 according to this embodiment, the shape of the substrate to be processed, as seen from above, is circular”).
Regarding claim 6, Nakada discloses the deviation measurement device according to claim 1.
Nakada further discloses wherein the first positioning claw and the second positioning claw are respectively provided with two rolling elements ([0047]: “The first arm 42 is configured to have cam followers (second rotating parts) 43 and 44 instead of the contact surface 22a of the first arm 22”; [0022]: “the second arm 23 is equipped with cam followers (first rotating parts) 26 and 27, and the cam followers 26 and 27 can rotate about an axis perpendicular to the X-Y plane”; [0048]: “the clamping section 40 can guide the substrate 10 to clamp more smoothly than the clamping section 20 equipped with the first arm 22 by rotating not only the cam followers 26 and 27 but also the cam followers 43 and 44”), and
the rolling surfaces of the rolling elements are used to abut against the edge of the substrate ([0065]: “the substrate 10 is clamped in the clamping step via two cam followers (first rotating parts) 26 and 27 and two cam followers (second rotating parts) 43 and 44, which are provided on the first arm 22 of a pair of clamping parts so as to face the outer peripheral edge of the substrate 10 and rotate when they come into contact with the outer peripheral edge of the substrate 10”).
Regarding claim 7, Nakada discloses the deviation measurement device according to claim 6.
Nakada further discloses wherein the rolling elements are rollers ([0047]: “The first arm 42 is configured to have cam followers (second rotating parts) 43 and 44 instead of the contact surface 22a of the first arm 22”; [0022]: “the second arm 23 is equipped with cam followers (first rotating parts) 26 and 27, and the cam followers 26 and 27 can rotate about an axis perpendicular to the X-Y plane”; [0048]: “the clamping section 40 can guide the substrate 10 to clamp more smoothly than the clamping section 20 equipped with the first arm 22 by rotating not only the cam followers 26 and 27 but also the cam followers 43 and 44”).
Regarding claim 8, Nakada discloses the deviation measurement device according to claim 1.
Nakada further discloses further comprising a second linear module, the second linear module being connected with the reference arm, the reference arm being driven by the second linear module to translate along the straight line L, the reference arm and the moving arm moving synchronously with the substrate to align the center of the substrate with the standard center ([0022]: “The second arm 23 is equipped with a drive unit 25 and can move along the X direction, but before gripping the substrate 10, it is fixed in a predetermined position within the positioning device 61”; [0038]: “it can move the first arm 22 and the second arm 23 in the X direction based on the data determined by the positioning section 28, and clamp the substrate 10”; [0039]: “the clamping portion 20' can move over a wider range than the clamping portion 20 in the positioning device 61, thanks to the drive unit 25a provided in the first arm 22 and the drive unit 25b provided in the second arm 23”; [0027]: “as shown in Figure 2(c), the clamping portion 20 moves in the X direction while clamping the substrate 10, thereby moving the substrate 10 so that its center point O1 is positioned on the center point O2 of the stage 21”; [0049]: “the clamping portion 40 can position the center point of the substrate 10 on the center point of the rotating stage 31 based on the size of the substrate 10 and the coordinates of its center point, which are determined by the positioning portion 28”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada et al. (JP 2017183605 A), in view of Kung Chris Wu (US 2004/0005212 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Nakada discloses the deviation measurement device according to claim 1.
Nakada does not explicitly teach “wherein the substrate has a notch or a flat edge.”
Kung Chris Wu further teaches wherein the substrate has a notch or a flat edge ([0010]: “It is the primary object of the prealigner of the present invention to, with high accuracy, center and rotationally orient a disc-like work piece, such as a semiconductor wafer (wafer), containing a small cut out (notch) at its periphery”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the device of Nakada to incorporate the teachings of Kung Chris Wu so as to include the substrate having a notch or a flat edge. Doing so would allow substrates with a notch to be properly aligned with the aim of preventing damage (Kung Chris Wu, [0009-0010]: “It would be advantageous to provide a prealigner which only contacts the wafer at the periphery and does not cause any inward radial pressure. It is the primary object of the prealigner of the present invention to, with high accuracy, center and rotationally orient a disc-like work piece, such as a semiconductor wafer (wafer), containing a small cut out (notch) at its periphery. The present invention has a novel approach to centering and rotationally orienting a wafer in that it supports the wafer on an air-bearing plate, then spins the wafer with a plurality of wafer rollers which automatically center the wafer”).
Regarding claim 3, Nakada discloses the deviation measurement device according to claim 1.
While Nakada teaches detecting force applied to the first arm ([0021]: “The specific unit 24 is configured to detect the force applied to the first arm 22 when the clamping unit 20 clamps the substrate 10”), Nakada does not explicitly teach “further comprising a pressure sensor being disposed on the moving arm, the pressure sensor being connected to the first positioning claw for measuring the pressure between the edge of the substrate and the first positioning claw.”
Kung Chris Wu further teaches further comprising a pressure sensor being disposed on the moving arm, the pressure sensor being connected to the first positioning claw for measuring the pressure between the edge of the substrate and the first positioning claw ([0012]: “When the plurality of wafer rollers contact the silicon wafer, the tension in the positioning belt will increase and a tension sensor will send a signal to a microprocessor. The microprocessor will then instruct the wafer rollers to desist their inward progression and then move outward slightly in order to not cause any continued radial pressure on the wafer”; [0031]: “The spinning belt 32, the positioning belt 20, the support frame 10 and the wafer roller 6 are all connected to a T-bar assembly 36 which is the mechanical linkage between all these parts”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the device of Nakada to incorporate the teachings of Kung Chris Wu so as to include a pressure sensor being disposed on the moving arm, the pressure sensor being connected to the first positioning claw for measuring the pressure between the edge of the substrate and the first positioning claw. Doing so would allow the pressure on a substrate to be detected with the aim of preventing damage (Kung Chris Wu, [0012]: “It is an object of the prealigner of the present invention to be able to pre-align several different diameters of silicon wafer. Hence a number of optical switches equal to the number of different diameters of wafer that are intended to be used are placed at appropriate positions on the air-bearing plate to detect the notch in the corresponding diameter wafer. To detect the diameter of a wafer, the prealigner of the present invention is equipped with a plurality of wafer rollers which swing inward simultaneously when they are actuated by a timing belt, hereinafter called the positioning belt, with a tension sensor attached thereto… When the plurality of wafer rollers contact the silicon wafer, the tension in the positioning belt will increase and a tension sensor will send a signal to a microprocessor. The microprocessor will then instruct the wafer rollers to desist their inward progression and then move outward slightly in order to not cause any continued radial pressure on the wafer”).
Regarding claim 4, Nakada in view of Kung Chris Wu teaches the deviation measurement device according to claim 3.
Nakada does not explicitly teach “wherein the first positioning claw is connected to the pressure sensor through a spring.”
Kung Chris Wu further teaches wherein the first positioning claw is connected to the pressure sensor through a spring ([0012]: “the prealigner of the present invention is equipped with a plurality of wafer rollers which swing inward simultaneously when they are actuated by a timing belt, hereinafter called the positioning belt, with a tension sensor attached thereto”; [0037]: “this belt tension sensor assembly 22 consists of a pulley 23 positioned at the end of a linear spring assembly 26 with a deflection actuated transducer 27 attached. When the tension in positioning belt 20 increases, the pulley 23 will be drawn towards the spring 26 the slight motion will activate the transducer 27 which will then send a signal indicating positioning belt 20 tension has increased”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada et al. (JP 2017183605 A), in view of Kung Chris Wu (US 2004/0005212 A1), and in view of Liu (CN 210180369 U).
Regarding claim 5, Nakada in view of Kung Chris Wu teaches the deviation measurement device according to claim 4.
Nakada and Kung Chris Wu do not explicitly teach “wherein one strip protrusion is disposed on each side of the first positioning claw, and two parallel tracks are disposed on the moving arm, the two strip protrusions are connected to the two tracks in a one-to-one correspondence, and the first positioning claw slides along the tracks.”
Liu further teaches wherein one strip protrusion is disposed on each side of the first positioning claw ([0023]: “Two positioning claws 4 pass through the sliding groove 9 and are fixedly connected to the corresponding sliders 7”), and
two parallel tracks are disposed on the moving arm ([0023]: “The side wall of the positioning ruler 1 is provided with a sliding groove 9”), the two strip protrusions are connected to the two tracks in a one-to-one correspondence ([0023]: “Two positioning claws 4 pass through the sliding groove 9 and are fixedly connected to the corresponding sliders 7”), and
the first positioning claw slides along the tracks ([0023]: “the slider 7 slides under the transmission of the bidirectional threaded rod 5, thereby adjusting the distance between the two positioning claws 4 so that the positioning claws 4 can clamp and position the roller 10 from both sides”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the device of Nakada in view of Kung Chris Wu to incorporate the teachings of Liu so as to include one strip protrusion being disposed on each side of the first positioning claw, and two parallel tracks being disposed on the moving arm, the two strip protrusions being connected to the two tracks in a one-to-one correspondence, and the first positioning claw sliding along the tracks. Doing so would allow the positioning claw to be guided along a stable sliding path with the aim of improving positioning accuracy of the substrate (Liu, [0010]: “by setting the positioning ruler and measuring ruler on the same axis, using the positioning claw to clamp and position the roller, the central axis of the measuring ruler is aligned with the central axis of the roller, and then moving the two vernier scales to make the measuring claws close to the roller shaft, the center deviation value between the roller shaft and the roller can be calculated by comparing the measured values of the two measuring claws, which effectively ensures the assembly accuracy of the roller”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada et al. (JP 2017183605 A), in view of Liu (CN 210180369 U).
Regarding claim 9, Nakada discloses the deviation measurement device according to claim 8.
Nakada does not explicitly teach “wherein both the displacement amount of the moving arm on the first linear module and the displacement amount of the reference arm on the second linear module are directly read.”
Liu further teaches wherein both the displacement amount of the moving arm on the first linear module and the displacement amount of the reference arm on the second linear module are directly read ([0024]: “Both measuring scales 3 and vernier scales 11 are provided with graduations, with the graduations on measuring scale 3 being symmetrically arranged with its central axis as the starting point. After the central axis of the measuring scale 3 is aligned with the central axis of the roller 10, the two vernier scales 11 are moved so that the measuring claws 13 are pressed tightly against the roller shaft 14 from both sides. Then, the vernier scale 11 is locked and fixed by the locking bolt 12 to obtain the measurement values corresponding to the two measuring claws 13”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the device of Nakada to incorporate the teachings of Liu so as to include the displacement amount of the moving arm on the first linear module and the displacement amount of the reference arm on the second linear module being directly read. Doing so would allow displacement to be directly read with the aim of ensuring the displacement remains within an acceptable range (Liu, [0004]: “there is a need to provide an instrument that can measure the center deviation between the roller shaft and the roller cylinder to ensure that the coaxiality tolerance of the two is within the specified range”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada et al. (JP 2017183605 A), in view of Wenxue Wu et al. (CN 212705770 U).
Regarding claim 10, Nakada discloses the deviation measurement device according to claim 8.
Nakada does not explicitly teach “wherein the first linear module is fixed with a displacement sensor, and the displacement sensor is arranged opposite to the moving arm for measuring the moving distance of the moving arm, and the second linear module is fixed with a displacement sensor, and the displacement sensor is arranged opposite to the reference arm for measuring the moving distance of the reference arm.”
Wenxue Wu further teaches wherein the first linear module is fixed with a displacement sensor ([0015]: “the electrode blank processing position offset detection mechanism includes an Xaxis displacement measuring component, a Y-axis displacement measuring component, and a Z-axis displacement measuring component, each of which includes a bracket mounted on the worktable and a laser displacement measuring sensor fixed on the mounting surface of the bracket”), and
the displacement sensor is arranged opposite to the moving arm for measuring the moving distance of the moving arm ([0019]: “The X-axis displacement ranging component is attached to the end face of the first bracket facing the chuck”; [0035]: “The electrode blank processing position offset detection mechanism described above measures the spatial coordinate position data of the electrode blank through a displacement measuring component”), and
the second linear module is fixed with a displacement sensor ([0014]: “The X-axis displacement measuring component and the Y-axis displacement measuring component each include two components”), and
the displacement sensor is arranged opposite to the reference arm for measuring the moving distance of the reference arm ([0014]: “The X-axis displacement measuring component and the Y-axis displacement measuring component each include two components, and are symmetrically arranged on the worktable with respect to the projection of the chuck's axis on the worktable”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the device of Nakada to incorporate the teachings of Wenxue Wu so as to include the first linear module being fixed with a displacement sensor. Doing so would allow position detection with the aim of automating processing (Wenxue Wu, [0003-0004]: “the current practice is to clamp the electrode blanks onto a fixture, then use a digital dial indicator to measure the coordinate relationship between the machining position of the electrode blanks and the center of the fixture. This yields the offset between the machining position of the electrode blanks and the reference center. The offset is then manually input into the CNC equipment, which compensates for the offset in the machining coordinate system, thereby achieving machining accuracy and ensuring precision. This method is relatively inefficient, and manual input is prone to errors, resulting in lower processing accuracy. The technical problem to be solved by this utility model is to overcome the technical problems in the prior art, thereby providing an electrode blank processing position offset detection mechanism and processing device that can automatically detect the position data of mold electrode”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2005/0140960 A1: Substrate alignment based on detected position
US 6,327,517 B1: Aligning the center point and the orientation of a substrate
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117