Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/102031 (06/28/2022)
and claims foreign priority to CHINA 202110722003.6 (06/28/2021)
CHINA 202111673614.2 (12/31/2021)
CHINA 202210693548.3 (06/17/2022).
Applicant has filed a certified copy of the foreign priority document – however the Examiner requires a certified English translation as per 37 C.F.R. 1.55 to perfect the priority claim. See MPEP 706.02.
Status
Claims 1, 11-14, 19, 21, 23-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 11, 23, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO2021110168, published 2021-06-10, citations to English equivalent US20230044606) (hereafter “Li’168”) in view of Li et al. (WO2019223632, published 2019-11-28) (hereafter “Li’632”).
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Li’168 teaches ERK inhibitors as pharmaceutical compounds for treating tumors (Abstract, Fig. 1; [0060]; Example 4 p. 19-20)
Li’168 teaches the compound is useful in both assay and in vivo testing showing high activity (p. 17-20).
Li’168 differs from instant claim 1’s Formula (I) by the right-hand side phenyl vs. 2-pyridyl.
Li’632 teaches ERK inhibitors as pharmaceutical compounds for treating cancer (Abstract, claim 21) of formula (I) (claim 1):
including Examples 2 and 3:
2:
; 3:
(p. 66)
demonstrated as useful and tested in ERK2 assays (p. 80).
One of ordinary skill in the art of pharmaceutical development following the teaching of Li’168 would have considered the teaching of Li’632 in the same field of endeavor and recognize that the right-hand side phenyl of WX007 could be interchanged with 2-pyridyl and maintain ERK activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the structural similarities of the compounds, identical utility, and experimental demonstrations among all of the compounds. Such modifications to pharmaceutical compounds is routine in the art as is demonstrated by the variations in the structure of the compounds in the cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to develop the pharmaceutical for improved efficacy in treating tumors in the same manner and arrive at the claimed invention (i.e., Formula (I) with R7 as Cl) with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, claims 1, 2, 11, 23, 28 are prima facie obvious.
Claims 12-14, 19, 21, 24-27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO2021110168, published 2021-06-10, citations to English equivalent US20230044606) (hereafter “Li’168”) in view of Li et al. (WO2019223632, published 2019-11-28) (hereafter “Li’632”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 11, 23, 28 above and further in view of Patani et al. (Chem. Rev., 1996, Vol. 96, No. 8, P. 3147-3176).
Regarding claims 12, 26, and 29 to a compound of formula WX001, further differs from Li’168’s WX007 by a Cl vs. CH3 substitution on the right-hand side ring. However, Li’168 Li’168 teaches the genus:
where R6 can vary among Cl and CH3 (claim 11). In addition, Li’168 teaches active species such as WX006 which differs from WX007 only by the substitution at the R6 position.
Patani teaches the well-known technique of bioisosterism in pharmaceutical development where Cl is substituted with CH3 with an expectation of similar biological activity (p. 3153-54).
Thus, in view of the
One of ordinary skill in the art of pharmaceutical development following the teaching of Li’168 would have also considered replacing the Cl group with a CH3 group at the same position because Li’168 teaches the substitution within the genus, both Li references teach compounds with substitutions at the same position were effective (Cl, F, CF3), and because it was a straightforward application of the well-known technique of bioisosterism as taught by Patani. One of ordinary skill in the art routinely makes such modifications and it is well within their technical grasp. Thus, the claims are prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 13, 14, 19, 21, 24, 25, 27, and 30 having language of the “crystal form” and “characterized by”, although the Li references teach crystal forms generically and the preparation of the compound including a solid, the references do not disclose the spectroscopic data (XRPD, DSC) of the instant claims. However, such properties are inherent in the product and are inseparable as stated in MPEP 2112.01:
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
…
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
In this case, the prior art renders obvious the same compound and based on the disclosure would be in a solid form. This obvious compound has the identical structure as that of the instant claims. All solid forms possess an inherent X-ray diffraction pattern that only depends upon the manner in which the molecules are packed together. Similarly, all solid forms possess inherent DSC spectrum that depends on a variety of factors beyond how the molecules are packed together. The instantly claimed product is characterized by X-ray powder diffraction pattern data, and DSC data. Said data is inherent properties of the solid form.
The solid form of the prior art also possesses the inherent properties recited in the instant claims. The obvious compound and that in the instant claims are presumed to be the same compound because they have the same structure and chemical formula. The presumption allows a reasonable inference that they have identical inherent properties.
The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999); see MPEP 2112. Thus, the claiming of an unknown property inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Further, “the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product." Id. See also In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“[W]hen the PTO shows sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”)
For the reasons identified above, the Examiner has shown a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the obvious prior art compound are the same, and met the burden of proving a prima facie case of inherency. The burden properly shifts to Applicants to prove that the prior art solid and the instantly claimed solid are not the same. Thus, claims 13, 14, 19, 21, 24, 25, 27, and 30 are prima facie obvious as per MPEP 2112.01 (“Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11-14, 19, 21, 23-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12398153 in view of Li et al. (WO2021110168, published 2021-06-10, citations to English equivalent US20230044606) (hereafter “Li’168”), Li et al. (WO2019223632, published 2019-11-28) (hereafter “Li’632”), and Patani et al. (Chem. Rev., 1996, Vol. 96, No. 8, P. 3147-3176) as applied in the 35 USC 103 rejection above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent shares a disclosure with Li’168 and also claims WX007 which renders the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1, 11-14, 19, 21, 23-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12133841 in view of Li et al. (WO2021110168, published 2021-06-10, citations to English equivalent US20230044606) (hereafter “Li’168”), Li et al. (WO2019223632, published 2019-11-28) (hereafter “Li’632”), and Patani et al. (Chem. Rev., 1996, Vol. 96, No. 8, P. 3147-3176) as applied in the 35 USC 103 rejection above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent shares a disclosure with Li’632 and also claims Examples 2 and 3 which renders the instant claims obvious.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626