DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 12/15/2023.
The claims 5-6, 14, 20-21, 24-29 and 31 have been canceled by the applicant.
The claims 32 have been newly added by the applicant.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 16-19, 22-23, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210297913).
Regarding claim 1 Wang disclose, an information processing method, executed by a user equipment (UE), and comprising:
reporting extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) ability information of the UE, wherein the eDRX ability information is used by a network to determine a minimum eDRX cycle supported by the UE, para. 10, Fig. 6, “A terminal sends at least one of first indication information or first configuration information to a first base station. The first indication information indicates the terminal uses or supports an eDRX operation”.
Regarding claim 2 Wang disclose, wherein the eDRX ability information comprises at least one of:
first ability information indicating a minimum idle-state eDRX cycle supported by the UE para. 118, “a minimum DRX configuration parameter of a UE-dedicated DRX configuration parameter”;
or, second ability information indicating a minimum inactive-state eDRX cycle supported by the UE.
Regarding claim 3 Wang disclose, wherein reporting the extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) ability information of the UE comprises:
reporting UE ability information indicating the eDRX ability information to a base station para. 150, “The first indication information indicates the terminal uses or supports an eDRX operation in an inactive state, and the first configuration information includes an eDRX configuration parameter configured by the terminal”;
or reporting auxiliary information indicating the eDRX ability information to the base station;
or wherein reporting the extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) ability information of the UE comprises:
reporting a UE ability information notification indicating the eDRX ability information to a core network;
or, reporting a non-access stratum (NAS) message indicating the eDRX ability information to the core network. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the last of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 4 Wang disclose, wherein a minimum inactive-state eDRX cycle supported by the UE is used by the base station to configure an inactive-state eDRX cycle for the UE para. 94, “The first base station may configure the first eDRX configuration parameter for the terminal when determining to release the terminal to enter the inactive state”;
or wherein a minimum idle-state eDRX cycle supported by the UE is used by the core network to configure an idle-state eDRX cycle for the UE. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 7 Wang disclose, further comprising: determining a minimum eDRX cycle supported by a base station para. 118, “a minimum DRX configuration parameter of a UE-dedicated DRX configuration parameter and a cell default DRX configuration parameter is used to send the first paging scheduling information and/or the first paging message”.
Regarding claim 8 Wang disclose, wherein determining the minimum eDRX cycle supported by the base station comprises one of: receiving indication information, wherein the indication information indicates at least one of a minimum inactive-state eDRX cycle para. 105, “the first eDRX configuration parameter may at least include: an eDRX cycle and/or a paging window length”
or a minimum idle-state eDRX cycle supported by the base station;
or determining at least one of a minimum inactive-state eDRX cycle
or a minimum idle-state eDRX cycle supported by the base station according to a protocol agreement. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 9 Wang disclose, wherein the indication information is carried in common signaling or dedicated signaling para. 10, “a terminal sends at least one of first indication information or first configuration information to a first base station after entering a connected state”.
Regarding claim 16 the limitations of claim 16 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claims 17-19 the limitations of claims 17-19, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 2-4, respectively.
Regarding claim 22 Wang disclose, wherein the network device is a base station, and the method further comprises: transmitting indication information, wherein the indication information indicates at least one of a minimum inactive-state eDRX cycle para. 118, “one target base station in an RAN paging region to send first paging scheduling information and/or a first paging message… the DRX configuration parameter may at least include: a DRX cycle and/or a paging window length”, or a minimum idle-state eDRX cycle supported by the base station. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 23 the limitations of claim 23 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 30, Wang teaches, a processor, a transceiver, a memory, para. 158-159, read as: “processor 610, transceiver 630, memory 620”; furthermore claim 30 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 32, Wang teaches, a processor, a transceiver, a memory, para. 158-159, read as: “processor 610, transceiver 630, memory 620”; furthermore claim 32 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 16 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210297913) in view Nagasaka et al. (U.S. Pub. 20180014347).
Regarding claim 10 Wang do not specifically disclose, further comprising:
monitoring, in response to determining that the UE is in an idle state and an idle-state eDRX cycle is configured as a first cycle, a paging message according to the first cycle, wherein the first cycle is a minimum eDRX cycle of an eDRX mode. However, Nagasaka teach, para. 24-25, “the eNB 200 can grasp that the UE 100 uses the extended DRX cycle. Therefore, the eNB 200 can transmit the paging message at the timing based on the extended DRX cycle”;
or, monitoring, in response to determining that the UE is in an inactive state, an idle- -4-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured as a first cycle and an inactive-state eDRX cycle is not configured as the first cycle, a paging message according to the first cycle;
or, monitoring, in response to determining that the UE is in an inactive state, an idle- state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured as a first cycle and an inactive-state eDRX cycle is not configured as the first cycle, a paging message according to a shorter one of the first cycle and a second cycle;
or, monitoring, in response to determining that the UE is in an inactive state, an idle- state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured as a first cycle, and an inactive-state eDRX cycle is not configured as the first cycle, a paging message according to a minimum inactive-state eDRX cycle supported by a base station;
or, monitoring, in response to determining that the UE is in an inactive state and an inactive-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured as a first cycle, a paging message according to an idle-state eDRX cycle configured for the UE by a network. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Wang and Nagasaka are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to managing system information in discontinuous reception mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagasaka in the system of Wang so to negotiate the appropriate sleep cycles and reachability parameters between the network and the terminal. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the user terminal can remain in its low power states for much longer improving the power consumption and extending battery life.
Regarding claim 11 Wang disclose, wherein monitoring the paging message according to the minimum inactive-state eDRX cycle supported by the base station comprises: monitoring, in response to determining that the base station supports an inactive- state eDRX cycle as the first cycle, the paging message according to the first cycle para. 131, “The UE 100 can determine whether or not the eNB 200 managing the cell in which the UE 100 exists supports the extended DRX, based on the extended DRX configuration information. If successfully receiving the extended DRX configuration information (paging message) from the eNB 200 managing the cell in which the UE 100 exists, the UE 100 determines that the eNB 200 supports the extended DRX”;
or, monitoring, in response to determining that the base station does not support an inactive-state eDRX cycle as the first cycle, the paging message according to a shorter one of the first cycle and a second cycle, wherein the second cycle is a radio access network (RAN) paging cycle. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Wang and Nagasaka are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to managing system information in discontinuous reception mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagasaka in the system of Wang to be able to monitor for communication withing the established window. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the user terminal do not waste energy outside the preestablished configuration improving the power consumption and extending battery life.
Regarding claim 12 Wang disclose, wherein monitoring the paging message according to the idle-state eDRX cycle configured for the UE by the network comprises:
monitoring the paging message according to the first cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be within a preset multiple of the first cycle para. 127, “If a case is assumed where the extended DRX cycle can be configured without being limited by the conventional paging cycle (multiples of 32 radio frames), it is thought that the UE 100 monitors the PDCCH at timing based on the first extended DRX cycle and monitors the PDCCH at timing based on the second extended DRX cycle”;
or, monitoring the paging message according to the first cycle outside a paging time window (PTW) of the idle-state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond a preset multiple of the first cycle; or, monitoring the paging message according to the first cycle within a paging time window (PTW) of the idle-state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond a preset multiple of the first cycle; or, monitoring the paging message according to a shortest one of a second cycle, a third cycle, and a fourth cycle within a paging time window (PTW) of the idle-state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond a preset multiple of the first cycle; and or, monitoring the paging message according to a shortest one of the first cycle, the third cycle, and the fourth cycle within a paging time window (PTW) of the idle-state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond a preset multiple of the first cycle; wherein the second cycle is an radio access network (RAN) paging cycle, the third cycle is a core network (CN) paging cycle, and the fourth cycle is a default cycle. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Wang and Nagasaka are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to managing system information in discontinuous reception mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagasaka in the system of Wang to be able to monitor for communication withing the established window. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the user terminal do not waste energy outside the preestablished configuration improving the power consumption and extending battery life.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210297913) in view Nagasaka et al. (U.S. Pub. 20180014347), further in view of Hu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230319784).
Regarding claim 13 Wang and Nagasaka does not specifically disclose, wherein monitoring the paging message according to the first cycle within the paging time window (PTW) of the idle-state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond the preset multiple of the first cycle comprises:
monitoring the paging message according to the first cycle within the paging time window (PTW) of the idle-state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond the preset multiple of the first cycle and the base station supports the first cycle. However, Hu teach, para. 86, Fig. 2, “At block 202, for a terminal device in an RRC_INACTIVE state, in response to that the terminal device does not use at least one of a paging time window (PTW) or a paging hyperframe (PH) for monitoring paging under a configuration of a first cycle parameter, the terminal device determines a cycle of monitoring paging according to the first cycle parameter”,
or monitoring the paging message according to a shortest one of the second cycle, the third cycle, and the fourth cycle within the paging time window (PTW) of the idle- state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond the preset multiple of the first cycle comprises:
monitoring the paging message according to the shortest one of the second cycle, the third cycle, and the fourth cycle within the paging time window (PTW) of the idle-state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond the preset multiple of the first cycle and the base station does not support the first cycle:
or monitoring the paging message according to the shortest one of the first cycle, the third cycle, and the fourth cycle within the paging time window (PTW) of the idle-state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond the preset multiple of the first cycle comprises: monitoring the paging message according to the shortest one of the first cycle, the third cycle, and the fourth cycle within the paging time window (PTW) of the idle-state eDRX cycle in response to determining that the idle-state eDRX cycle of the UE is configured to be beyond the preset multiple of the first cycle and the base station does not support the first cycle. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Wang, Nagasaka and Hu are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to managing system information in discontinuous reception mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu in the system of Wang so the terminal can accurately obtain the paging message(s) in the specified time window for the first cycle. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the timing relationship between the terminal and the base station from Wang and Nagasaka are in line with the behavior of monitoring paging during extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) configured UE disclosed by Hu.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210297913) in view of Nagasaka et al. (U.S. Pub. 20180014347), further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200404738).
Regarding claim 15 Wang and Nagasaka does not specifically disclose, wherein the first cycle is 2.56 s, However, Kim teach, para. 79, “when the set length of long DRX cycle is a first value, the UE performs a first operation. The first value can be a fixed value, e.g., 2.56 seconds”, see para. 79.
Wang, Nagasaka and Kim are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to managing system information in discontinuous reception mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim in the system of Wang and Nagasaka to allow legacy terminals to obtain the paging message(s) in the predefined default time for the DRX cycle. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the new technologies configurations to be compatible with the legacy technologies in order to achieve a high data transmission rates across different commercial systems.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Siomina (U.S. Pub. 20180091993) which disclose(s) methods and apparatuses for supporting MDT during EDRX.
/R.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471