DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 5, 19, 21-22, 24, 50-52, 54, 56, 58-59, and 62 are amended. Claims 3-4, 6-18, 25-49, 53, 55 and 60-61 are cancelled. Claims 63 and 64 are added. Claims -----1-2, 4, 19-24, 50-52, 54, 56-59, and 62-64 are currently pending and under examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The claims have an earliest effective filing date of 06/18/2021, corresponding to application 63/212,409.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19, 22-24, 56, 57, and 62-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject matter claimed. To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116.
Claim 64 is drawn to an isolated antibody that binds human fibrin yC or fibrinogen yC domain, comprising:
(a) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(b) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 8 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(c) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 9 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(d) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 10 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(e) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 11 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(f) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 12 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(g) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 13 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(h) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 14 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(i) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(j) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 16 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(k) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 17 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(1) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 18 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21;
(n) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 19 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21; or
(o) a VH sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 20 and a VL sequence having 90% or more sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 21.
The claims encompass a large number of anti-fibrin antibodies having diverse heavy and light chain CDR amino acid sequences. Following a review of the specification, it appears that Applicant has adequately described numerous species comprised within the claimed genus, including the antibodies of parts (a)-(o) of claim 64, wherein the antibodies share 100% sequence homology with the recited VHs and VLs; however in view of this disclosure, Applicant is claiming a broad genus of molecules that would be expected to encompass multiple anti- fibrin binding domains having diverse heavy and light chain CDR sequences. Even though Applicant has disclosed multiple species within said genus, the specification does not provide adequate written description for the entire claimed genus, because one skilled in the art would be unable to immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish at least most of the members comprised within the genus claimed, specifically, which light and heavy chain CDR sequences (and combinations of said CDR sequences) give rise to antibody molecules capable of binding fibrin. As detailed below Applicant’s disclosure is not sufficient to demonstrate possession of the entire claimed genus, and as such Applicant’s disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. In the instant case, Applicant has disclosed multiple species within the genus claimed; however given the substantial antibody structure variation within the genus, as well as the high level of unpredictability in the art, the disclosure of said species comprised within the claimed genus is not sufficiently representative of the entire genus.
Furthermore Applicant has not disclosed relevant, identifying characteristics of CDR region amino acid sequences (or combinations thereof) that confer upon an antibody the ability to bind fibrin, because the instant specification does not provide structural antibody features that correlate with a functional ability to bind fibrin. To elaborate on why the claimed antibodies lack adequate written description, Mariuzza (Annu. Rev. Biophys. Biophys. Chem., 16: 139-159, 1987) reviews the structural basis of antigen-antibody recognition and teach that naturally occurring conventional antibodies comprise two polypeptides, the so-called light and heavy chains. The antigen-combining site of an antibody is a three-dimensional structure that fully comprises six CDRs, three each from the light and heavy chains. The amino acid sequences of the CDRs are hypervariable, as the amino acid residues contained within the CDRs determine much of the antibody’s antigen-binding specificity. In view of Mariuzza, it is apparent that antibodies having less than all six CDRs that form the antigen binding site of a conventional antibody in their proper context of heavy and light chain variable domains do not describe the particularly identifying structural feature of the antibody that correlates with the antibody’s ability to bind antigen. Absent a description of the at least minimal structural features correlating with a functional ability to bind fibrin which are shared by members of a genus commonly sharing this function, it is submitted that the skilled artisan could not immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish which heavy and light chain CDR amino acid sequences (or combinations thereof) may be combined such that the resultant heavy and light chain variable regions comprise six CDRs that confer the ability to bind fibrin.
Furthermore while the prior art teaches some understanding of the structural basis of antigen-antibody recognition, it is noted that the art is characterized by a high level of unpredictability, since the skilled artisan still cannot accurately and reliably predict the consequences of amino acid substitutions, insertions, and deletions in the antigen-binding domains. For example in a series of experiments involving a monoclonal antibody to Legionella pneumophilia serotype 1, McCarthy et al. (J. Immunol. Methods, 251(1-2): 137-149, 2001) demonstrated that a single VH CDR3 substitution of tyrosine to serine at position 95 resulted in the total loss of antigen recognition in an ELISA. Lin et al. (African Journal of Biotechnology, 10(79):18294-18302, 2011) teach that a single amino acid substitution in the VL CDR3 of an anti-avian infectious bronchitis virus (IBV) single-chain antibody (ZL.80) may abrogate binding. For example at Figure 3, Lin et al. demonstrate that replacing either the Cys105 or Asp106 residue in the VL CDR3 of ZL.80 with an alanine residue reduces binding to near negative control levels. Lin et al. also teach that some single amino acid substitutions in the VL CDR3 of ZL.80 may significantly improve binding. For example replacing the Val108 residue in the VL CDR3 of ZL.80 with a tyrosine residue results in a 12.9-fold increase in affinity compared to parental ZL.80. Accordingly absent empirical determination, one skilled in the art would be unable to predict or envision which CDR residues could be changed such that the resultant variant CDR residues form an antigen-binding site capable of binding fibrin. The general knowledge and level of skill in the art does not adequately supplement the omitted description, because specific, not general, guidance is needed. Since the disclosure fails to describe relevant, identifying structural characteristics, in the form of heavy and light chain CDR amino acid sequences, that correlate with the ability to bind fibrin, and because the adequately disclosed species detailed above are not sufficient to describe the claimed genus, it is submitted that the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has not been met.
Although screening techniques can be used to isolate CDR variant antibodies that possess the ability to bind fibrin, Applicant is reminded that the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from the enablement provision. As stated in Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar (CA FC) 19 USPQ2d 1111, 935 F2d 1555, “The purpose of the ‘written description’ requirement is broader than to merely explain how to ‘make and use’; the applicant must also convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.”
Accordingly given the unpredictability associated with antibody CDR region changes on antigen binding and given the lack of particularity with which the claimed antibodies are described in the specification, it is submitted that the skilled artisan could not immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish at least most of the members of the genus to which the claims are directed, and therefore the specification would not reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Claims 19 and 22-24 encompass human antibodies that bind to human fibrin γC or fibrinogen γC. Example 1 of the specification details the humanization of a murine monoclonal anti-fibrin antibody (5B8). The Federal Circuit in Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1875, 1877-78 (Fed. Cir. 2011) has found that possession of an antibody having mouse heavy and light chain variable regions provides a structural “stepping stone” to the corresponding humanized or chimeric antibody. Therefore even though one skilled in the art could readily envision humanized or chimeric antibodies that bind to human fibrin γC or fibrinogen γC, the specification does not demonstrate possession of a human antibodies that bind to human fibrin γC or fibrinogen γC, and as such, the human antibodies of claims 19 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Applicant is informed that the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) may be overcome by amending claim 19 to remove the recitation of a human antibody.
Claims 56, 57, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating a degenerative disorder of the nervous system (claim 56) or treating colitis (claim 62), does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing a degenerative disorder of the nervous system or preventing colitis. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
MPEP § 2164.01 states:
The standard for determining whether the specification meets the enablement requirement was cast in the Supreme Court decision of Mineral Separation v. Hyde, 242 U.S. 261, 270 (1916) which postured the question: is the experimentation needed to practice the invention undue or unreasonable? That standard is still the one to be applied. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Accordingly, even though the statute does not use the term “undue experimentation,” it has been interpreted to require that the claimed invention be enabled so that any person skilled in the art can make and use the invention without undue experimentation. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue.” These factors include but are not limited to:
The breadth of the claims;
The nature of the invention;
The state of the prior art;
The level of one of ordinary skill;
The level of predictability in the art;
The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
The existence of working examples; and
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). The factors most relevant to this rejection are 1) the amount of direction provided by the inventor and 2) the existence of working examples. In the instant case, the amount of direction provided by the inventor and existence of working examples disclosed in the specification, as filed, would not be sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to make and/or use the claimed invention at the time the application was filed without undue experimentation.
(1) The amount of direction provided by the inventor - The amount of guidance or direction needed to enable an invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The “amount of guidance or direction” refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. See, e.g., Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Due to the high level of unpredictability in the area of preventing disorders of the nervous system or colitis, the skilled artisan would need significant guidance in preventing these conditions by practicing the claimed method. For example the recitation of degenerative disorders of the nervous system encompasses widely heterogeneous diseases, having widely varying pathologies and etiologies, and with causes that are multifactorial and as yet only partially characterized and poorly understood. It is generally recognized that a disease cannot be prevented unless and until its causes are fully appreciated and understood to a degree that it becomes possible to intercede effectively to block its onset or development by any cause.
(2) The existence of working examples - As stated above the specification provides enablement for treating a degenerative disorder of the nervous system (claim 56) or treating colitis (claim 62); however there is no showing in the specification of any means by which one skilled in the art could use the claimed methods to prevent a degenerative disorder of the nervous system or prevent colitis. Therefore one skilled in the art would be subject to undue experimentation to practice the instant invention as it is currently claimed.
In conclusion upon careful consideration of the Wands factors that are used to determine whether undue experimentation is required to practice an invention, the amount of direction provided by the inventor and the working examples provided, as filed, is not deemed sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with the instant claims at the time the application was filed without undue experimentation.
Applicant is informed that the instant rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) may be overcome by amending claims 56 and 62 to remove the recitation of “or preventing.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 19-23, 50-52, 54, and 56-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akassoglou (WO2011041518; published 04/07/2011).
Akassoglou et al teach an anti-fibrin antibody comprising HCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 6-8 (respectively 100% sequence identity instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-3) and LCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 2-4 (respectively 100% sequence identity instant SEQ ID NOs 4-6) (Akassoglou et al, pg. 2, paragraph 0009).
Regarding claims 19, 20, and 50-52 Akassoglou et al teach a method of making a humanized antibody comprising a polynucleotide encoding the antibody, a vector, and a host cell (Akassoglou et al, pg. 20. Paragraph 0075).
Regarding claims 21-23, Akassoglou et al teach production of human antibodies wherein the Xenomouse is used. The production of IgG1 antibodies is inherent to the method (Akassoglou et al, pg. 21, paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 54 Akassagolou et al teach a pharmaceutical composition (Akassogolou et al, pg. 4, paragraph 0016).
Regarding claims 56-57 Akassagolou et al teach a method of treating multiple sclerosis, a neurodegenerative disease (Akassagolou et al, pg. 3-4, paragraph 0015).
Regarding claims 58-59, Akassagolou et al teach a method of treating microglia in mammals (Akassagolou et al, pg. 39, paragraph 0155-0156)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akassagolou et al, as applied to claims 1, 19-23, 50-52, 54, and 56-59, in view of Göbel et al (Frontiers in Immunology, volume 9, article 1731; published 2018).
Akassoglou et al teach an anti-fibrin antibody comprising HCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 6-8 (respectively 100% sequence identity instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-3) and LCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 2-4 (respectively 100% sequence identity instant SEQ ID NOs 4-6) (Akassoglou et al, pg. 2, paragraph 0009).
Akassogolou et al do not teach a method of using an anti-fibrin antibody in colitis. This deficiency is remedied by Göbel et al.
Göbel et al teach that “[t]he interaction of coagulation factors has been shown to go beyond their traditional roles in hemostasis and to affect the development of inflammatory diseases. Key molecular players, such as fibrinogen, thrombin, or factor XII have been mechanis tically and epidemiologically linked to inflammatory disorders like multiple sclerosis (MS), rheumatoid arthritis (RA), and colitis.” See p. 1. At p. 11, Göbel et al teach that “[i]n addition to RA, potential drugability of the coagulation system and its factors is under consideration for the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease. Interestingly, it was shown that patients with Crohn’s disease have significantly higher levels of C1-inhibitor and intestinal tissue kallikrein, while plasma levels of prekallikrein, FXI, and HMWK are unaltered. Furthermore, inflammatory bowel disease in humans is associated with higher plasma levels of fibrinogen, prothrombin, factor V, factor VIII, plasminogen, and platelets. In line with these findings, animal models of colitis have demonstrated reduced inflammation in animals with a genetic disruption to the binding of fibrinogen to the CD11b/ CD18 integrin receptor (see Table 3). Since a link between chronic inflammation and tumor development, e.g., colitis and colorectal cancer, could be established, it is interesting that both fibrinogen-deficient mice and mice with a genetic disruption of the interaction between fibrinogen and the CD11b/CD18 integrin receptor develop significantly fewer adenomas (emphasis added).” Based upon these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would reason that interfering with the binding of fibrinogen to its receptors is a means of reducing inflammation in colitis, and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat colitis by administering an agent, such as an anti-fibrinogen antibody, that blocks the binding of fibrinogen to its receptors.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Akassogolou et al and Göbel et al et al to arrive at the claimed invention, because Akassogolou et al teach an anti-fibrin antibody. Furthermore based upon the teachings of Göbel et al, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat colitis by administering an agent, such as an anti-fibrinogen antibody, that blocks the binding of fibrinogen to its receptors. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at the time of effective filing to treat colitis with the antibody of Akassogolou et al.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1, 19-23, 50-52, 54, 56-59, and 62-64 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 24, 25, 61-63, 65, and 67-70 of copending Application No. 18/571,096 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because the claims recite identical antibodies, humanized antibodies, Fc regions, nucleic acids, vectors, host cells, pharmaceutical compositions, and methods of treatment.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 19-23, 50-52, 54, 58, 59, 63, and 64 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 26-30, 101-105, 108, 109, and 111 of copending Application No. 19/117,756 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because the claims recite identical antibodies, humanized antibodies, Fc regions, nucleic acids, vectors, host cells, pharmaceutical compositions, and methods of treatment.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 19-23, 50-52, 54, 56-58, 59, 63, and 64 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 26-30, 101-105, 108, 109, and 111 of copending Application No. 19/117,756 in view of Akassoglou (WO2011041518; published 04/07/2011).
Akassagolou et al teach a method of treating multiple sclerosis, a neurodegenerative disease (Akassagolou et al, pg. 3-4, paragraph 0015).
Based upon these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the antibody of the conflicting claims to treat multiple sclerosis, because in view of the teachings of Akassagolou et al, there would have been a reasonable expectation that said antibody is effective in the treatment of multiple sclerosis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 19-23, 50-52, 54, 58, 59, and 62-64 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 26-30, 101-105, 108, 109, and 111 of copending Application No. 19/117,756 in view of Göbel et al (Frontiers in Immunology, volume 9, article 1731; published 2018).
Göbel et al teach that “[t]he interaction of coagulation factors has been shown to go beyond their traditional roles in hemostasis and to affect the development of inflammatory diseases. Key molecular players, such as fibrinogen, thrombin, or factor XII have been mechanis tically and epidemiologically linked to inflammatory disorders like multiple sclerosis (MS), rheumatoid arthritis (RA), and colitis.” See p. 1. At p. 11, Göbel et al teach that “[i]n addition to RA, potential drugability of the coagulation system and its factors is under consideration for the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease. Interestingly, it was shown that patients with Crohn’s disease have significantly higher levels of C1-inhibitor and intestinal tissue kallikrein, while plasma levels of prekallikrein, FXI, and HMWK are unaltered. Furthermore, inflammatory bowel disease in humans is associated with higher plasma levels of fibrinogen, prothrombin, factor V, factor VIII, plasminogen, and platelets. In line with these findings, animal models of colitis have demonstrated reduced inflammation in animals with a genetic disruption to the binding of fibrinogen to the CD11b/ CD18 integrin receptor (see Table 3). Since a link between chronic inflammation and tumor development, e.g., colitis and colorectal cancer, could be established, it is interesting that both fibrinogen-deficient mice and mice with a genetic disruption of the interaction between fibrinogen and the CD11b/CD18 integrin receptor develop significantly fewer adenomas (emphasis added).” Based upon these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would reason that interfering with the binding of fibrinogen to its receptors is a means of reducing inflammation in colitis, and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat colitis by administering an agent, such as an anti-fibrinogen antibody, that blocks the binding of fibrinogen to its receptors.
Based upon these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the antibody of the conflicting claims to treat colitis, because in view of the teachings of Göbel et al, there would have been a reasonable expectation that said antibody is effective in the treatment of colitis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 19-23, 50-52, 54, 58, 59, 63, and 64 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 74, 76, 103, 105, 109, and 110 of copending Application No. 19/117,771 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because the claims recite identical antibodies, humanized antibodies, Fc regions, nucleic acids, vectors, host cells, pharmaceutical compositions, and methods of treatment.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 19-23, 50-52, 54, 56-58, 59, 63, and 64 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 74, 76, 103, 105, 109, and 110 of copending Application No. 19/117,771 in view of Akassoglou (WO2011041518; published 04/07/2011).
Akassagolou et al teach a method of treating multiple sclerosis, a neurodegenerative disease (Akassagolou et al, pg. 3-4, paragraph 0015).
Based upon these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the antibody of the conflicting claims to treat multiple sclerosis, because in view of the teachings of Akassagolou et al, there would have been a reasonable expectation that said antibody is effective in the treatment of multiple sclerosis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 19-23, 50-52, 54, 58, 59, and 62-64 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 74, 76, 103, 105, 109, and 110 of copending Application No. 19/117,771 in view of Göbel et al (Frontiers in Immunology, volume 9, article 1731; published 2018).
Göbel et al teach that “[t]he interaction of coagulation factors has been shown to go beyond their traditional roles in hemostasis and to affect the development of inflammatory diseases. Key molecular players, such as fibrinogen, thrombin, or factor XII have been mechanis tically and epidemiologically linked to inflammatory disorders like multiple sclerosis (MS), rheumatoid arthritis (RA), and colitis.” See p. 1. At p. 11, Göbel et al teach that “[i]n addition to RA, potential drugability of the coagulation system and its factors is under consideration for the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease. Interestingly, it was shown that patients with Crohn’s disease have significantly higher levels of C1-inhibitor and intestinal tissue kallikrein, while plasma levels of prekallikrein, FXI, and HMWK are unaltered. Furthermore, inflammatory bowel disease in humans is associated with higher plasma levels of fibrinogen, prothrombin, factor V, factor VIII, plasminogen, and platelets. In line with these findings, animal models of colitis have demonstrated reduced inflammation in animals with a genetic disruption to the binding of fibrinogen to the CD11b/ CD18 integrin receptor (see Table 3). Since a link between chronic inflammation and tumor development, e.g., colitis and colorectal cancer, could be established, it is interesting that both fibrinogen-deficient mice and mice with a genetic disruption of the interaction between fibrinogen and the CD11b/CD18 integrin receptor develop significantly fewer adenomas (emphasis added).” Based upon these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would reason that interfering with the binding of fibrinogen to its receptors is a means of reducing inflammation in colitis, and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat colitis by administering an agent, such as an anti-fibrinogen antibody, that blocks the binding of fibrinogen to its receptors.
Based upon these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the antibody of the conflicting claims to treat colitis, because in view of the teachings of Göbel et al, there would have been a reasonable expectation that said antibody is effective in the treatment of colitis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/J.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/NELSON B MOSELEY II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642