DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 20 and 21, Applicant argued the newly added limitation is not disclosed by the applied prior arts.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the new limitation of interlocking engagement may refer to the present figure 7E, 7J or 7I (also see claim 9), this feature is disclosed by WANG (figures 5 and 6) interlocking engagement between the two frame layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-9, 18-19 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prest (US 20190045642 A1) in view of WANG (US 20150021065 A1).
For claim 1. Prest discloses A housing assembly comprising:
an elongated side-frame element ([0115], figure 3F, shell 312), the elongated side-frame element including at least one elongated slot disposed on an inner surface thereof, the elongated slot oriented parallel to a longitudinal axis of the elongated side-frame element and extending along a length of the elongated side-frame element, the elongated slot including at least one undercut (figure 3F, slot through shell 312; figure 5E), the elongated side-frame element comprising a first metal ([0111]: shell 312 formed of stainless steel); and
a cast internal-frame element ([0012]: the machinable layer may include an aluminum material cast into an interior portion of the shell; [0073], [0115] machinable material cast interface 328), the cast internal-frame element including an elongated interlock flange extending from an internal frame body, the internal frame body defines a longitudinal length and a transverse width, the elongated interlock flange received into the elongated slot of the elongated side-frame element (figure 3F, flange of 328 into shell 312 via undercut 324; figure 5E), the elongated interlock flange including a seat, the seat engaging the undercut (flange of 328 having an outer surface as a seat engaging the undercut 324 of shell 312), the internal-frame element comprising a second metal ([0117], [0132], [0145], internal chassis formed of aluminum), the second metal is a different metal than the first metal, and a melting point of the first metal (stainless steel or titanium) is higher than a melting point of the second metal (aluminum).
Prest fails to mention the at least one elongated slot extending into but not through the elongated side-frame element, the undercut is oriented orthogonally to the longitudinal length of the internal frame body, and the undercut further comprises a recessed surface that prevents withdrawal of the internal-frame element from engagement with the side-frame element.
This teaching is disclosed by WANG ([0019], [0020], figures 5-6, side-frame element 20, internal-frame element 40, protrusion block 46 located within the undercut; further aperture/open of first channel 442, second channel 446, the interlocking of figure 5 can be reversed in view of figure 6, such that the shell 20 to have the slot/groove 44, inner member 40 to have latching hook 242).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG into the art of Prest as to add the interlocks to improve bonding between the shell and the inner layer.
For claim 2. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 1, Prest discloses wherein the first metal is stainless steel, and wherein the elongated side-frame element formed through machining ([0111], [0127], [0130]).
For claim 3. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 2, Prest discloses wherein the second metal is at least one of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, magnesium, or a magnesium alloy ([0012]: the machinable layer may include an aluminum material cast into an interior portion of the shell; [0073], [0115]).
For claim 4. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 1, WANG discloses wherein the elongated side-frame element is forged stainless steel ([0017] the outer case 20 is made of stainless steel by forging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG into the art of Prest as modified by WANG as to use the known technique forging as an available alternative.
For claim 5. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 4, Prest discloses wherein the second metal is at least one of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, magnesium, or a magnesium alloy ([0012], [0073], [0115]).
For claim 6. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 1, Prest discloses wherein the elongated slot comprises an open first channel, the open first channel defining an aperture in a sidewall face of the elongated side-frame element (figures 3F and 5E).
WANG discloses wherein the undercut further comprises at least one second channel connected to the open first channel ([0019], [0020], figures 5-6, aperture/open of first channel 442, second channel 446; the interlock of figure 5 can be reversed in view of figure 6, such that the shell 20 to have the slot/groove 44, inner member 40 to have latching hook 242, therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG as to use the reversed interlock as an alternative embodiment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG into the art of Prest as modified by WANG as to use the interlock technique to improve bonding between the shell and the inner layer.
For claim 7. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 6, WANG discloses wherein the aperture has a width smaller than a width of the second channel (figures 5-6, aperture of first channel 442, second channel 446).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG into the art of Prest as modified by WANG as to use the interlock technique to improve bonding between the shell and the inner layer.
For claim 8. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 1, WANG discloses wherein the elongated interlock flange extends orthogonally from the internal frame body (figures 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG into the art of Prest as modified by WANG as to use the interlock technique to improve bonding between the shell and the inner layer.
For claim 9. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 1, WANG discloses wherein the elongated slot has the form in cross section of at least one of a T-shape, a lobed shape, or a hook shape (figures 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG into the art of Prest as modified by WANG as to use the interlock technique to improve bonding between the shell and the inner layer.
For claim 18. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 1, Prest discloses further comprising: a panel element, wherein the cast internal-frame element further comprises: at least one support extending from the internal-frame element, the support configured for attaching to the panel element (figures 2H, 5C, 5I, 7C, 7G).
For claim 19. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 18, Prest discloses wherein the panel element comprises: a front-panel element; and a back-panel element, and wherein the at least one support extending from the internal-frame element comprises: a first support configured for attaching to the front-panel element; and a second support configured for attaching to the back-panel element (figures 2H, 5C, 5I, 7C, 7G).
For claim 21. Prest discloses A method of manufacturing a housing assembly for a computing device, the method comprising: forming an elongated side-frame element of a first metal material ([0115], figure 3F, shell 312; [0111], [0127], [0130]); machining at least one elongated slot (figures 3F and 5E, [0130] simple machining processes for forming openings), the elongated slot oriented parallel to a longitudinal axis of the elongated side-frame element and extending along a length of the elongated side-frame element, the elongated slot including at least one undercut (figures 3F and 5E); and casting a second metal material into the elongated slot and undercut to form an internal-frame element ([0012], [0073], [0115], [0117], [0132], [0145]), the second metal material (aluminum) a different material than the first metal material (stainless steel), the first metal material (stainless steel) having a higher melting point than the second metal material (aluminum).
Prest fails to mention machining at least one elongated slot into an inner surface of the elongated side-frame element, the at least one elongated slot extending into but not through the elongated side-frame element, an elongated interlock flange extending from an internal frame body defining a longitudinal length and a transverse width, the undercut machined orthogonally oriented to the longitudinal length of the internal frame body and to include a recessed surface that prevents withdrawal of the internal-frame element from engagement with the side-frame element.
This teaching is disclosed by WANG ([0019], [0020], figures 5-6, slot in inner surface of shell 20; aperture/open of first channel 442, second channel 446; the interlock of figure 5 can be reversed in view of figure 6, such that the shell 20 to have the slot/groove 44, inner member 40 to have latching hook 242, therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG as to use the reversed interlock as an alternative embodiment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG into the art of Prest as to use the interlock technique to improve bonding between the shell and the inner layer.
For claim 22. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the method of claim 21, Prest discloses wherein the first metal material comprises at least one of stainless steel or a stainless-steel alloy, and wherein the second metal material comprises at least one of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, magnesium, or a magnesium alloy ([0111], [0132]).
For claim 23. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the method of claim 21, Prest discloses further comprising: machining antenna split lines in the side frame element ([0187]-[0189]).
8. Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prest as modified by WANG above, further in view of Kuna (US 20200073445 A1).
For claim 16. Prest in combination with WANG substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 1, Prest discloses further comprising: at least one gap defined through the elongated side-frame element, the gap dividing the elongated side-frame element into a plurality of elongated sidewall elements, the elongated sidewall elements configured to allow for isolation for antenna of a computing device ([0187]-[0189]).
But fails to mention multiple antennas.
Kuna discloses elongated sidewall elements configured to allow for isolation between multiple antennas ([0053], [0054], [0065], [0066], [0069], [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Kuna into the art of Prest as modified by WANG as to improve antenna related functionality.
For claim 17. Prest in combination with WANG and Kuna substantially teaches the housing assembly of claim 16, Prest discloses further comprising: an antenna split line received into the gap, the antenna split line configured to permit radio frequency signals to pass through the housing assembly ([0187]-[0189]).
9. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prest (US 20190045642 A1) in view of WANG (US 20150021065 A1) and Kuna (US 20200073445 A1).
For claim 20. Prest discloses A housing assembly for a computing device, the housing assembly comprising: a stainless-steel elongated side-frame element formed through machining ([0115], figure 3F, shell 312; [0111], [0127], [0130]), the elongated side-frame element comprising:
at least one elongated slot disposed on an inner surface thereof, the elongated slot oriented parallel to a longitudinal axis of the elongated side-frame element and extending along a length of the elongated side-frame element (figure 3F, slot through shell 312; figure 5E), the elongated slot comprising: an open first channel, the open first channel defining an aperture in a sidewall face of the elongated side-frame element; at least one undercut (figures 3F and 5E), and
at least one gap defined through the elongated side-frame element, the gap dividing the elongated side-frame element into a plurality of elongated sidewall elements, the elongated sidewall elements configured to allow for isolation for antenna of the computing device ([0187]-[0189]); and
an internal-frame element formed through casting, the internal-frame element formed of at least one of an aluminum material, an aluminum alloy material, a magnesium material, or a magnesium alloy material ([0012], [0073], [0115], [0117], [0132], [0145]), the internal-frame element comprising: an internal frame body, the internal frame body defines a longitudinal length and a transverse width; an elongated interlock flange extending orthogonally from the internal frame body, the elongated interlock flange cast into the elongated slot of the elongated side-frame element, the elongated interlock flange including a seat, the seat engaging the undercut of the elongated side-frame element (figures 3F and 5E, flange of 328 into shell 312 via undercut 324; flange of 328 having an outer surface as a seat engaging the undercut 324 of shell 312).
Prest fails to mention the at least one elongated slot extending into but not through the elongated side-frame element, the undercut including at least one second channel connected to the open first channel, the undercut being oriented orthogonally to the longitudinal length of the internal frame body, and the undercut further comprises a recessed surface that prevents withdrawal of the internal-frame element from engagement with the side-frame element.
This teaching is disclosed by WANG ([0019], [0020], figures 5-6, aperture/open of first channel 442, second channel 446; the interlock of figure 5 can be reversed in view of figure 6, such that the shell 20 to have the slot/groove 44, inner member 40 to have latching hook 242, therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG as to use the reversed interlock as an alternative embodiment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by WANG into the art of Prest as to add the interlocks to improve bonding between the shell and the inner layer.
Prest and WANG fail to mention multiple antennas.
Kuna discloses elongated sidewall elements configured to allow for isolation between multiple antennas ([0053], [0054], [0065], [0066], [0069], [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Kuna into the art of Prest as modified by WANG as to improve antenna related functionality.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
May 15, 2026
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649