DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/10/25 and 12/15/23 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 11, 14-16, 21-23, 25, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (U.S. 2015/0215831) (hereinafter “Jung”). Jung teaches all of the limitations of the specified claims with the reasoning that follows.
Regarding claim 1, “a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: identifying that the UE is operating in a high mobility environment, that a first reference signal received power associated with a first cell is decreasing, and that a second reference signal received power associated with a second cell is increasing” is anticipated by UE 200 of Figure 2 that measures downlink signal strengths for the source eNB 210 and the target eNB 220 and detects a handover event through the measured downlink signal strengths, and where the handover event indicates a state where an RSRP (second reference signal received power) for the target eNB (second cell) is larger than (increasing) a sum of RSRP (decreasing first reference signal received power) for the serving eNB (first cell) and a predetermined offset as shown in steps 201-203 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0035]-[0036]; where the UE 200 also identifies whether a movement speed of the UE is larger than a preset first threshold (in a high mobility environment) and performs subsequent configuration steps as a result of the movement speed identification as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0152].
“Transmitting a request for a handover from the first cell to the second cell based at least in part on the identifying, the transmitting performed at a time that is based at least in part on one or more network-configured handover timing parameters having one or more values adjusted by the UE” is anticipated by the UE 200 that transmits a measurement report message (request for handover) to the source eNB 210 to inform the source eNB of the detection of the handover event in response to the handover event indicating the above RSRP state as shown in step 207 of Figure 2; and the source eNB 210 (first cell) that subsequently transmits a handover request message (request for handover) to the target eNB 220 (second cell) as shown in step 211 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0037]-0038]; where the handover event indicates that the RSRP state is maintained for a Time-to-Trigger (TTT) value (network-configured handover timing parameter) as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0036]; and where the UE 200 sets the TTT (adjusts value) in relation to the RSRP state as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0153].
“Receiving a handover command in response to transmitting the request for handover” is anticipated by the source eNB 210 that transmits a handover command message (handover command) to the UE 200 in response to transmitting the handover request message (request for handover) to the target eNB 220 as shown in steps 211 and 219 of Figure 2 and spoken of on pages 2-3, paragraph [0040].
Lastly, “performing a handover from the first cell to the second cell in response to the handover command” is anticipated by the UE 200 that performs the remaining handover operations based on the information included in the handover command message as shown in steps 221, 223, and 225 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0041].
Regarding claim 2, “adjusting a value of a first network-configured handover timing parameter of the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters, wherein: the first network-configured handover timing parameter corresponds to a delay between a first time at which a difference between the second reference signal received power and the first reference signal received power satisfies a threshold and a second time at which the request for handover is transmitted; and the time at which the UE transmits the request for handover is based at least in part on the adjusted value of the first network-configured handover timing parameter” is anticipated by the UE 200 that identifies whether a RSRP for source eNB 210 is larger than a threshold and sets a TTT (adjusts value) to a long TTT or a short TTT (handover timing parameter) based on the identification as shown in steps 620, 630, 640 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0153].
Regarding claim 7, “wherein transmitting the request for the handover is based at least in part on the first reference signal received power becoming less than or equal to the second reference signal received power” is anticipated by the UE 200 that transmits a measurement report message (request for handover) to the source eNB 210 to inform the source eNB of the detection of the handover event in response to the handover event indicating the above RSRP state as shown in step 207 of Figure 2; where the RSRP state indicates that an RSRP (second reference signal received power) for the target eNB (second cell) is larger than a sum of RSRP (first reference signal received power becoming less than second RSRP) for the serving eNB (first cell) and a predetermined offset as shown in steps 201-203 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0035]-[0036].
Regarding claim 8, “wherein transmitting the request for the handover comprises transmitting a measurement report based at least in part on the first reference signal received power associated with the first cell, the second reference signal received power associated with the second cell, or any combination thereof” is anticipated by the UE 200 that transmits a measurement report message (request for handover) to the source eNB 210 to inform the source eNB of the detection of the handover event in response to the handover event indicating the above RSRP state as shown in step 207 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 9, “identifying a sequence of cells associated with a mobility path of the UE, wherein transmitting the request for the handover from the first cell to the second cell is based at least in part on the second cell being subsequent to the first cell within the sequence of cells” is anticipated by the UE 510 that receives (identifies) cell type information from eNB 500, where the cell type information is defined as a range or physical cell IDs, and where a cell type list may be defined as a sequence of cell types including one or more ranges of physical cell IDs (sequence of cells) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0089]; where the UE applies different TTTs according to the received cell type as spoken of on page 4, paragraphs [0060]-[0061].
Regarding claim 11, “storing, at the UE, an indication of the high mobility environment based at least in part on identifying that the UE is operating in the high mobility environment” is anticipated by the UE 510 that receives mobility information transmitted from eNB 500 as shown in step 520 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0084]; where the movement speed of the UE in relation to a threshold is identified based on the received mobility state parameters as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0152].
Regarding claim 14, “receiving one or more first values of the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters from a network entity; and setting, after receiving the one or more first values, the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters to have one or more second values, wherein the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters have the one or more values adjusted by the UE based at least in part on the UE setting the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters to have the one or more second values” is anticipated by the UE 510 that receives TTT information (first value(s)) transmitted from eNB 500 as shown in step 520 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0084]; where the UE sets a handover parameter (to have one or more second values) in relation to the received TTT information as spoken of on page 1, paragraph [0014].
Regarding claim 15, “an apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: a processor of a user equipment (UE); a transceiver coupled with the processor; and memory coupled with the processor, the memory and the processor configured to cause the apparatus to: identify that the UE is operating in a high mobility environment, that a first reference signal received power associated with a first cell is decreasing, and that a second reference signal received power associated with a second cell is increasing” is anticipated by UE 200 of Figure 2 that measures downlink signal strengths for the source eNB 210 and the target eNB 220 and detects a handover event through the measured downlink signal strengths, and where the handover event indicates a state where an RSRP (second reference signal received power) for the target eNB (second cell) is larger than (increasing) a sum of RSRP (decreasing first reference signal received power) for the serving eNB (first cell) and a predetermined offset as shown in steps 201-203 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0035]-[0036]; where the UE 200 also identifies whether a movement speed of the UE is larger than a preset first threshold (in a high mobility environment) and performs subsequent configuration steps as a result of the movement speed identification as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0152]; and where the UE 200 may include a memory, control unit (processor) and a receiver as spoken of on page 15, paragraph [0182] (as well as claim 7).
“Transmit, via the transceiver, a request for a handover from the first cell to the second cell based at least in part on the identifying, the transmitting performed at a time that is based at least in part on one or more network-configured handover timing parameters having one or more values adjusted by the UE” is anticipated by the UE 200 that transmits a measurement report message (request for handover) to the source eNB 210 to inform the source eNB of the detection of the handover event in response to the handover event indicating the above RSRP state as shown in step 207 of Figure 2; and the source eNB 210 (first cell) that subsequently transmits a handover request message (request for handover) to the target eNB 220 (second cell) as shown in step 211 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0037]-0038]; where the handover event indicates that the RSRP state is maintained for a Time-to-Trigger (TTT) value (network-configured handover timing parameter) as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0036]; and where the UE 200 sets the TTT (adjusts value) in relation to the RSRP state as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0153].
“Receive, via the transceiver, a handover command in response to transmitting the request for handover” is anticipated by the source eNB 210 that transmits a handover command message (handover command) to the UE 200 in response to transmitting the handover request message (request for handover) to the target eNB 220 as shown in steps 211 and 219 of Figure 2 and spoken of on pages 2-3, paragraph [0040].
Lastly, “perform a handover from the first cell to the second cell in response to the handover command” is anticipated by the UE 200 that performs the remaining handover operations based on the information included in the handover command message as shown in steps 221, 223, and 225 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0041].
Regarding claim 16, “adjust a value of a first network-configured handover timing parameter of the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters, wherein: the first network-configured handover timing parameter corresponds to a delay between a first time at which a difference between the second reference signal received power and the first reference signal received power satisfies a threshold and a second time at which the request for handover is transmitted; and the time at which the UE transmits the request for handover is based at least in part on the adjusted value of the first network-configured handover timing parameter” is anticipated by the UE 200 that identifies whether a RSRP for source eNB 210 is larger than a threshold and sets a TTT (adjusts value) to a long TTT or a short TTT (handover timing parameter) based on the identification as shown in steps 620, 630, 640 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0153].
Regarding claim 21, “transmit the request for the handover based at least in part on the first reference signal received power becoming less than or equal to the second reference signal received power” is anticipated by the UE 200 that transmits a measurement report message (request for handover) to the source eNB 210 to inform the source eNB of the detection of the handover event in response to the handover event indicating the above RSRP state as shown in step 207 of Figure 2; where the RSRP state indicates that an RSRP (second reference signal received power) for the target eNB (second cell) is larger than a sum of RSRP (first reference signal received power becoming less than second RSRP) for the serving eNB (first cell) and a predetermined offset as shown in steps 201-203 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0035]-[0036].
Regarding claim 22, “transmit, via the transceiver, a measurement report based at least in part on the first reference signal received power associated with the first cell, the second reference signal received power associated with the second cell, or any combination thereof” is anticipated by the UE 200 that transmits a measurement report message (request for handover) to the source eNB 210 to inform the source eNB of the detection of the handover event in response to the handover event indicating the above RSRP state as shown in step 207 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 23, “identify a sequence of cells associated with a mobility path of the UE, wherein transmitting the request for the handover from the first cell to the second cell is based at least in part on the second cell being subsequent to the first cell within the sequence of cells” is anticipated by the UE 510 that receives (identifies) cell type information from eNB 500, where the cell type information is defined as a range or physical cell IDs, and where a cell type list may be defined as a sequence of cell types including one or more ranges of physical cell IDs (sequence of cells) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0089]; where the UE applies different TTTs according to the received cell type as spoken of on page 4, paragraphs [0060]-[0061].
Regarding claim 25, “store, at the UE, an indication of the high mobility environment based at least in part on identifying that the UE is operating in the high mobility environment” is anticipated by the UE 510 that receives mobility information transmitted from eNB 500 as shown in step 520 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0084]; where the movement speed of the UE in relation to a threshold is identified based on the received mobility state parameters as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0152].
Regarding claim 28, “receive, via the transceiver, one or more first values of the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters from a network entity; and set, after receiving the one or more first values, the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters to have one or more second values, wherein the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters have the one or more values adjusted by the UE based at least in part on the UE setting the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters to have the one or more second values” is anticipated by the UE 510 that receives TTT information (first value(s)) transmitted from eNB 500 as shown in step 520 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0084]; where the UE sets a handover parameter (to have one or more second values) in relation to the received TTT information as spoken of on page 1, paragraph [0014].
Regarding claim 29, “an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE),comprising: means for identifying that the UE is operating in a high mobility environment, that a first reference signal received power associated with a first cell is decreasing, and that a second reference signal received power associated with a second cell is increasing” is anticipated by UE 200 of Figure 2 that measures downlink signal strengths for the source eNB 210 and the target eNB 220 and detects a handover event through the measured downlink signal strengths, and where the handover event indicates a state where an RSRP (second reference signal received power) for the target eNB (second cell) is larger than (increasing) a sum of RSRP (decreasing first reference signal received power) for the serving eNB (first cell) and a predetermined offset as shown in steps 201-203 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0035]-[0036]; where the UE 200 also identifies whether a movement speed of the UE is larger than a preset first threshold (in a high mobility environment) and performs subsequent configuration steps as a result of the movement speed identification as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0152]; and where the UE 200 may include a memory, control unit (means) and a receiver as spoken of on page 15, paragraph [0182] (as well as claim 7).
“Means for transmitting a request for a handover from the first cell to the second cell based at least in part on the identifying, the transmitting performed at a time that is based at least in part on one or more network-configured handover timing parameters having one or more values adjusted by the UE” is anticipated by the UE 200 that transmits (via a means for transmitting) a measurement report message (request for handover) to the source eNB 210 to inform the source eNB of the detection of the handover event in response to the handover event indicating the above RSRP state as shown in step 207 of Figure 2; and the source eNB 210 (first cell) that subsequently transmits a handover request message (request for handover) to the target eNB 220 (second cell) as shown in step 211 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0037]-0038]; where the handover event indicates that the RSRP state is maintained for a Time-to-Trigger (TTT) value (network-configured handover timing parameter) as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0036]; and where the UE 200 sets the TTT (adjusts value) in relation to the RSRP state as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0153].
“Means for receiving a handover command in response to transmitting the request for handover” is anticipated by the source eNB 210 that transmits a handover command message (handover command) to the UE 200 in response to transmitting the handover request message (request for handover) to the target eNB 220 as shown in steps 211 and 219 of Figure 2 and spoken of on pages 2-3, paragraph [0040]; and where the UE 200 may include a memory, control unit and a receiver (means) as spoken of on page 15, paragraph [0182] (as well as claim 7).
Lastly, “means for performing a handover from the first cell to the second cell in response to the handover command” is anticipated by the UE 200 that performs the remaining handover operations based on the information included in the handover command message as shown in steps 221, 223, and 225 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0041]; and where the UE 200 may include a memory, control unit (means) and a receiver as spoken of on page 15, paragraph [0182] (as well as claim 7).
Regarding claim 30, “a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to: identify that the UE is operating in a high mobility environment, that a first reference signal received power associated with a first cell is decreasing, and that a second reference signal received power associated with a second cell is increasing” is anticipated by UE 200 of Figure 2 that measures downlink signal strengths for the source eNB 210 and the target eNB 220 and detects a handover event through the measured downlink signal strengths, and where the handover event indicates a state where an RSRP (second reference signal received power) for the target eNB (second cell) is larger than (increasing) a sum of RSRP (decreasing first reference signal received power) for the serving eNB (first cell) and a predetermined offset as shown in steps 201-203 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0035]-[0036]; where the UE 200 also identifies whether a movement speed of the UE is larger than a preset first threshold (in a high mobility environment) and performs subsequent configuration steps as a result of the movement speed identification as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0152]; and where the UE 200 may include a program for code implementing the apparatus and method and a non-transitory machine for storage of the program as spoken of on page 15, paragraph [0182].
“Transmit a request for a handover from the first cell to the second cell based at least in part on the identifying, the transmitting performed at a time that is based at least in part on one or more network-configured handover timing parameters having one or more values adjusted by the UE” is anticipated by the UE 200 that transmits a measurement report message (request for handover) to the source eNB 210 to inform the source eNB of the detection of the handover event in response to the handover event indicating the above RSRP state as shown in step 207 of Figure 2; and the source eNB 210 (first cell) that subsequently transmits a handover request message (request for handover) to the target eNB 220 (second cell) as shown in step 211 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0037]-0038]; where the handover event indicates that the RSRP state is maintained for a Time-to-Trigger (TTT) value (network-configured handover timing parameter) as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0036]; and where the UE 200 sets the TTT (adjusts value) in relation to the RSRP state as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0153].
“Receive a handover command in response to transmitting the request for handover” is anticipated by the source eNB 210 that transmits a handover command message (handover command) to the UE 200 in response to transmitting the handover request message (request for handover) to the target eNB 220 as shown in steps 211 and 219 of Figure 2 and spoken of on pages 2-3, paragraph [0040].
Lastly, “perform a handover from the first cell to the second cell in response to the handover command” is anticipated by the UE 200 that performs the remaining handover operations based on the information included in the handover command message as shown in steps 221, 223, and 225 of Figure 2 and spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Shrestha et al. (U.S. 2020/0383022) (hereinafter “Shrestha”).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Jung teaches claims 2 and 16 as described above. Jung does not explicitly teach “wherein the adjusted value of the first network-configured handover timing parameter is zero”.
However, Shrestha teaches an apparatus, system, and method to signal and execute conditional handover where a value of a TTT timer is set to zero which is equivalent to not configuring or using the TTT timer for conditional handover as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0068].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the setting of a TTT timer to zero as taught in Shrestha to the system of Jung in order to provide support for situations where the TTT value is not used for a handover determination as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0068] of Shrestha.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Jung teaches claims 1 and 15 as described above. Jung does not explicitly teach “adjust(ing) a value of a third network-configured handover timing parameter of the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters after performing the handover, wherein the adjusted value of the third network-configured handover timing parameter decreases a likelihood of the UE initiating a second handover from the second cell to the first cell”.
However, Shrestha teaches an apparatus, system, and method to signal and execute conditional handover where multiple triggering events may be used for conditional handover, where the multiple triggering events may be any combination of quantities such as RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, offsets, thresholds, hysteresis, etc. (third network-configured handover timing parameter) as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0046]-[0047].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of multiple triggering events for conditional handover as taught in Shrestha to the system of Jung in order to make a more robust conditional handover decision while avoiding a ping-pong effect of repeated handovers, thereby improving the effectiveness of the handover process as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0024] of Shrestha.
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Braun (U.S. 9,398,509).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Jung teaches claims 1 and 15 as described above. Jung does not explicitly teach “adjust(ing) a value of a second network-configured handover timing parameter of the one or more network-configured handover timing parameters, wherein: the second network-configured handover timing parameter corresponds to a threshold difference between the second reference signal received power and the first reference signal received power; and the time at which the UE transmits the request for handover is based at least in part on a difference between the second reference signal received power and the first reference signal received power satisfying the adjusted value of the second network-configured handover timing parameter.
However, Braun teaches a method of dynamic handover parameter control where a dynamic parameter controller 30 adjusts a parameter associated with handover measurement reporting such as a trigger event initiation (second network-configured handover timing parameter) such as event A3 based on a reference signal strength identified by a UE in a condition measurement report as spoken of on column 5, lines 23-29.
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of an additional parameter for handover measurement as taught in Braun to the system of Jung in order to utilize multiple parameters rather than a single parameter to configure the conditional handover process, thereby improving the accuracy of the handover as spoken of on column 5, lines 23-29 of Braun.
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Braun and Shrestha.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Jung in view of Braun does not explicitly teach “wherein the adjusted value of the second network-configured handover timing parameter is zero”.
However, Shrestha teaches an apparatus, system, and method to signal and execute conditional handover where a value of a TTT timer is set to zero which is equivalent to not configuring or using the TTT timer for conditional handover as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0068].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the setting of a TTT timer (or other trigger parameter) to zero as taught in Shrestha to the system of Jung in order to provide support for situations where the TTT value (or other trigger parameter) is not used for a handover determination as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0068] of Shrestha.
Claim(s) 10 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Viering et al. (U.S. 2023/0199590) (hereinafter “Viering”).
Regarding claims 10 and 24, Jung teaches claims 1 and 15 as described above. Jung does not explicitly teach “receiving downlink control information that comprises the handover command.
However, Viering teaches a method for using a variable time-to-trigger value for measurement report transmission in a wireless network where a handover command may be received via a DCI transmission as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0040].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the usage of DCI transmission as taught in Viering to the handover command transmission of Jung in order to provide reduced signaling overhead and more efficient control resource allocation by using a DCI format standardized in the 5G NR standard.
Claim(s) 12, 13, 26, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Palenius et al. (U.S. 2016/0360537) (hereinafter “Palenius”).
Regarding claims 12, 13, 26, and 27, Jung teaches claims 1 and 15 as described above. Jung does not explicitly teach “wherein the high mobility environment is associated with a high-speed train” or “wherein the high mobility environment is associated with a motor vehicle”.
However, Palenius teaches a method of operating wireless terminals and network nodes using high speed vehicle network indicators where handover is supported in a connected state mobility scenario of a high speed train (motor vehicle) environment as spoken of on page 1, paragraphs [0002] and [0005]-[0007]; and where a high-speed indication may be received for a cell of a network node indicating that the cell is adapted to operate in a high-speed environment as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0025].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the high-speed train environment taught in Palenius as the high mobility environment of Jung in order to provide a method for effective handover to users traveling by high-speed train transit as spoken of on page 12, paragraph [0146] of Jung.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467