DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications filed on December 15, 2023. This action is made Non-Final.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are independent claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS(s)) submitted on 12/15/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 16 recites “A method of making a device with reduced comprising:” The Examiner notes text appears to be omitted and is interpreting claim 16 to read “A method of making a device with reduced noise sensitivity, comprising:”
Claim 20 recites “The device of claim 16”. Claim 20 should recite “The method of claim 16”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al,. US 2016/0104813 (“Kim”), and further in view of Englund et al., US Publication 2010/0119193 (“Englund”).
Claim 1:
Kim teaches or suggests a device comprising:
electrical contacts (see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - a second electrode (e.g., an anode) 1. A first electrode (e.g., a cathode) 5.);
an atom-like system situated to interact with a first electrical field provided through the electrical contacts and produce a second electrical field responsive to the first electrical field (see Fig. 1; para. 0207 - the anode is proximate to and injects holes into the hole transport material while the cathode is proximate to and injects electrons into the electron transport material. The injected holes and injected electrons combine to form an exciton on the quantum dot and emit light.); and
an atom-like structure situated to interact with the first electrical field and the second electrical field (see Fig. 1; para. 0227 - emissive material can comprise one or more different quantum dots. The differences can be based, for example, on different composition, different size, different structure, or other distinguishing characteristic or property; para. 0228 - color of the light output of a light-emitting device can be controlled by the selection of the composition, structure, and size of the quantum dots included in a lightemitting device as the emissive material.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose such that the atom-like structure us less sensitive to charge noise in the device.
Englund teaches or suggests such that the atom-like structure us less sensitive to charge noise in the device (see Fig. 1a, 1b; para. 0029 - placement and design of electrodes can strongly affect the device operation and performance. the electrode that is closest to the cavity (i.e., electrode 106) to be disposed away from or between the angular lobes of the cavity mode. By positioning the close electrode in this manner, losses introduced by the proximity of electrode to cavity can be reduced compared to the case of an electrode located the same distance from the cavity but aligned with a mode pattern lobe.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include such that the atom-like structure us less sensitive to charge noise in the device for the purpose of efficiently increasing device performance by reducing losses introduced by electrode proximity to cavity, improving quantum device operation, as taught by Englund (0029-0031).
Claim 2:
Kim further teaches or suggests wherein the atom-like structure includes a quantum dot molecule, nitrogen vacancy centers in diamond, silicon atom dangling bond single atom quantum dots, strain-induced quantum dots in two-dimensional van der Waals materials, or a combination thereof (see Fig. 1; para. 0214.).
Claim 3:
Kim further teaches or suggests wherein the atom-like system includes a quantum dot molecule (see Fig. 1; para. see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - emissive layer including quantum dots; para. 0207 - the anode is proximate to and injects holes into the hole transport material while the cathode is proximate to and injects electrons into the electron transport material. The injected holes and injected electrons combine to form an exciton on the quantum dot and emit light.)
Englund further teaches or suggests and a controlled quantum tunneling event that takes place in the quantum dot molecule (see para. 0057 - coherently created excitons in the quantum dot. Due to the bias voltage, these electron- hole pairs could turmel out of the quantum dot and become free carriers that screened the electric field.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include and a controlled quantum tunneling event that takes place in the quantum dot molecule for the purpose of efficiently controlling the direction of the electron-hole pairs within quantum dots by directing tunnelling, improving quantum device control, as taught by Englund (0057).
Claim 4:
Englund further teaches or suggests wherein the atom-like system and the atom-like structure are separated by a linear distance at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like structure versus the applied electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line around the field at which the atom-like structure exhibits a tunnel resonance (see Fig. 6C; para. 0051 - a photoluminescence (PL) measurement was performed to identify a strongly coupled QD. The signature of strong coupling is the vacuum Rabi splitting, observed (as seen on FIG. 6c) as an avoided crossing of the eigenstates of the system when the quantum dot is tuned into resonance with the cavity. From the PL spectra one could identify two quantum dots with frequencies close to the cavity resonance, labeled as QDl and QD2 in FIG. 6c.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include wherein the atom-like system and the atom-like structure are separated by a linear distance at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like structure versus the applied electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line around the field at which the atom-like structure exhibits a tunnel resonance for the purpose of efficiently identifying quantum dot coupling and strength thereof and stabilizing quantum states, improving quantum device analysis, as taught by Englund (0051).
Claim 5:
Englund further teaches or suggests wherein the first electric field is set to a value at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like system versus the first electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line about the value (see Fig. 8a-8c; para. 0055 – The dependence of the energy shift with electric field is shown in FIG. 8b. The shift was quadratic in electric field, since the perturbation of the energy levels due to electric field is a second order effect.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include wherein the first electric field is set to a value at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like system versus the first electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line about the value for the purpose of efficiently identifying quantum dot coupling and strength thereof and stabilizing quantum states, improving quantum device analysis, as taught by Englund (0051, 0055).
Claim 6:
Englund further teaches or suggests wherein the quantum device is a sensor, a quantum emitter, a quantum strain gauge, or a quantum information processor (see para. 0008 - electrical control of the emitter of a coupled quantum emitter-resonant cavity structure is provided.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include wherein the quantum device is a sensor, a quantum emitter, a quantum strain gauge, or a quantum information processor for the purpose of efficiently controlling the emission of photons using an emitter, improving quantum device performance and analysis, as taught by Englund (0008).
Claim 7:
Kim further teaches or suggests a field effect structure; and wherein the atom-like system and the atom-like structure are embedded in the field effect structure (see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - the light-emitting device 10; para. 0207 - the anode is proximate to and injects holes into the hole transport material while the cathode is proximate to and injects electrons into the electron transport material. The injected holes and injected electrons combine to form an exciton on the quantum dot and emit light; para. 0227 - emissive material can comprise one or more different quantum dots. The differences can be based, for example, on different composition, different size, different structure, or other distinguishing characteristic or property; para. 0228 - color of the light output of a light-emitting device can be controlled by the selection of the composition, structure, and size of the quantum dots included in a light-emitting device as the emissive material.).
Claim 8:
Kim further teaches or suggests wherein the field effect structure includes diamond, a semiconductor, an oxide, or a combination thereof (see para. 0213, 0214.).
Claim 9:
Kim teaches or suggests a charge control system comprising:
a field effect estructure (see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - the light-emitting device 10; para. 0207 - the anode is proximate to and injects holes into the hole transport material while the cathode is proximate to and injects electrons into the electron transport material. The injected holes and injected electrons combine to form an exciton on the quantum dot and emit light; para. 0227 - emissive material can comprise one or more different quantum dots. The differences can be based, for example, on different composition, different size, different structure, or other distinguishing characteristic or property; para. 0228 - color of the light output of a light-emitting device can be controlled by the selection of the composition, structure, and size of the quantum dots included in a light-emitting device as the emissive material.);
electrical contacts situated on, or at least partially in, the field effect structure (see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - a second electrode (e.g., an anode) 1. A first electrode (e.g., a cathode) 5.);
an electrical field generator electrically coupled between the electrical contacts; an atom-like structure situated in the field effect structure and situated to interact with the first electric field provided through the electrical contacts and produce a second electrical field responsive to the first electrical field (see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - a second electrode (e.g., an anode) 1. A first electrode (e.g., a cathode) 5; para. 0207 - the anode is proximate to and injects holes into the hole transport material while the cathode is proximate to and injects electrons into the electron transport material. The injected holes and injected electrons combine to form an exciton on the quantum dot and emit light.);
an atom-like structure situated in the field effect structure and situated to interact with the first electrical field and the second electrical field (see Fig. 1; para. 0227 - emissive material can comprise one or more different quantum dots. The differences can be based, for example, on different composition, different size, different structure, or other distinguishing characteristic or property; para. 0228 - color of the light output of a light-emitting device can be controlled by the selection of the composition, structure, and size of the quantum dots included in a lightemitting device as the emissive material.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose such that the atom-like structure is less sensitive to charge noise in the device.
Englund teaches or suggests such that the atom-like structure is less sensitive to charge noise in the device (see Fig. 1a, 1b; para. 0029 - placement and design of electrodes can strongly affect the device operation and performance. the electrode that is closest to the cavity (i.e., electrode 106) to be disposed away from or between the angular lobes of the cavity mode. By positioning the close electrode in this manner, losses introduced by the proximity of electrode to cavity can be reduced compared to the case of an electrode located the same distance from the cavity but aligned with a mode pattern lobe.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include such that the atom-like structure is less sensitive to charge noise in the device for the purpose of efficiently increasing device performance by reducing losses introduced by electrode proximity to cavity, improving quantum device operation, as taught by Englund (0029-0031).
Claim 10:
Kim further teaches or suggests wherein the atom-like system includes a quantum dot molecule, nitrogen vacancy centers in diamond, silicon atom dangling bond single atom quantum dots, stain-induced quantum dots in two-dimensional van der Waals materials, or a combination thereof (see Fig. 1; para. 0205, 0207, 0214; para. 0215 - material capable of transporting electrons also is capable of injecting electrons. In certain embodiments, the inorganic material included in the layer capable or transporting and injection electrons comprises an inorganic semiconductor material).
Claim 11:
Kim further teaches or suggests wherein the atom-like system includes a quantum dot molecule (see Fig. 1; para. see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - emissive layer including quantum dots; para. 0207 - the anode is proximate to and injects holes into the hole transport material while the cathode is proximate to and injects electrons into the electron transport material. The injected holes and injected electrons combine to form an exciton on the quantum dot and emit light.)
Englund further teaches or suggests and a controlled quantum tunneling event takes place in the quantum dot molecule (see para. 0057 - coherently created excitons in the quantum dot. Due to the bias voltage, these electron- hole pairs could turmel out of the quantum dot and become free carriers that screened the electric field.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include and a controlled quantum tunneling event takes place in the quantum dot molecule for the purpose of efficiently controlling the direction of the electron-hole pairs within quantum dots by directing tunnelling, improving quantum device control, as taught by Englund (0057).
Claim 12:
Englund further teaches or suggests wherein the atom-like system and the atom-like structure are separated by a linear distance at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like structure versus the applied electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line around the field at which the atom-like structure exhibits a tunnel resonance (see Fig. 6C; para. 0051 - a photoluminescence (PL) measurement was performed to identify a strongly coupled QD. The signature of strong coupling is the vacuum Rabi splitting, observed (as seen on FIG. 6c) as an avoided crossing of the eigenstates of the system when the quantum dot is tuned into resonance with the cavity. From the PL spectra one could identify two quantum dots with frequencies close to the cavity resonance, labeled as QDl and QD2 in FIG. 6c.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include wherein the atom-like system and the atom-like structure are separated by a linear distance at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like structure versus the applied electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line around the field at which the atom-like structure exhibits a tunnel resonance for the purpose of efficiently identifying quantum dot coupling and strength thereof and stabilizing quantum states, improving quantum device analysis, as taught by Englund (0051).
Claim 13:
Englund further teaches or suggests wherein the first electric field is set to a value at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like system versus the first electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line about the value (see Fig. 8a-8c; para. 0055 – The dependence of the energy shift with electric field is shown in FIG. 8b. The shift was quadratic in electric field, since the perturbation of the energy levels due to electric field is a second order effect.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include wherein the first electric field is set to a value at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like system versus the first electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line about the value for the purpose of efficiently identifying quantum dot coupling and strength thereof and stabilizing quantum states, improving quantum device analysis, as taught by Englund (0051, 0055).
Claim 14:
Englund further teaches or suggests wherein the quantum device is a sensor, a quantum emitter, a quantum strain gauge, or a quantum information processor (see para. 0008 - electrical control of the emitter of a coupled quantum emitter-resonant cavity structure is provided.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include wherein the quantum device is a sensor, a quantum emitter, a quantum strain gauge, or a quantum information processor for the purpose of efficiently controlling the emission of photons using an emitter, improving quantum device performance and analysis, as taught by Englund (0008).
Claim 15:
Kim further teaches or suggests wherein the field effect structure includes diamond, a semiconductor, an oxide, or a combination thereof (see para. 0213, 0214.).
Claim 16:
Kim teaches or suggests a method of making a device with reduced comprising:
assembling an atom-like system and an atom-like structure in a field effect structure (see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - a schematic representation of an example of a preferred light emitting device that can be processed or made in accordance with the present invention. the light-emitting device 10; para. 0207 - the anode is proximate to and injects holes into the hole transport material while the cathode is proximate to and injects electrons into the electron transport material. The injected holes and injected electrons combine to form an exciton on the quantum dot and emit light; para. 0227 - emissive material can comprise one or more different quantum dots. The differences can be based, for example, on different composition, different size, different structure, or other distinguishing characteristic or property; para. 0228 - color of the light output of a light-emitting device can be controlled by the selection of the composition, structure, and size of the quantum dots included in a light-emitting device as the emissive material.);
situating electrical contacts on the field effect structure, the atom-like system situate to interact with a first electrical field provided through the electrical contacts and produce a second electrical field responsive to the first electrical field and the atom-like structure situated to interact with the first electrical field and the second electrical field (see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - a schematic representation of an example of a preferred light emitting device that can be processed or made in accordance with the present invention. the light-emitting device 10; para. 0207 - the anode is proximate to and injects holes into the hole transport material while the cathode is proximate to and injects electrons into the electron transport material. The injected holes and injected electrons combine to form an exciton on the quantum dot and emit light; para. 0227 - emissive material can comprise one or more different quantum dots. The differences can be based, for example, on different composition, different size, different structure, or other distinguishing characteristic or property; para. 0228 - color of the light output of a light-emitting device can be controlled by the selection of the composition, structure, and size of the quantum dots included in a light-emitting device as the emissive material.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose such that the atom-like structure is less sensitive to charge noise in the device.
Englund teaches or suggests such that the atom-like structure is less sensitive to charge noise in the device (see Fig. 1a, 1b; para. 0029 - placement and design of electrodes can strongly affect the device operation and performance. the electrode that is closest to the cavity (i.e., electrode 106) to be disposed away from or between the angular lobes of the cavity mode. By positioning the close electrode in this manner, losses introduced by the proximity of electrode to cavity can be reduced compared to the case of an electrode located the same distance from the cavity but aligned with a mode pattern lobe.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include such that the atom-like structure is less sensitive to charge noise in the device for the purpose of efficiently increasing device performance by reducing losses introduced by electrode proximity to cavity, improving quantum device operation, as taught by Englund (0029-0031).
Claim 17:
Kim further teaches or suggests wherein the atom-like system includes a quantum dot molecule, nitrogen vacancy centers in diamond, silicon atom dangling bond single atom quantum dots, stain-induced quantum dots in two-dimensional van der Waals materials, or a combination thereof (see Fig. 1; para. 0205, 0207, 0214; para. 0215 - material capable of transporting electrons also is capable of injecting electrons. In certain embodiments, the inorganic material included in the layer capable or transporting and injection electrons comprises an inorganic semiconductor material).
Claim 18:
Kim further teaches or suggests wherein the atom-like system includes a quantum dot molecule (see Fig. 1; para. see Fig. 1; para. 0205 - emissive layer including quantum dots; para. 0207 - the anode is proximate to and injects holes into the hole transport material while the cathode is proximate to and injects electrons into the electron transport material. The injected holes and injected electrons combine to form an exciton on the quantum dot and emit light.)
Englund further teaches or suggests and a controlled quantum tunneling event takes place in the quantum dot molecule (see para. 0057 - coherently created excitons in the quantum dot. Due to the bias voltage, these electron- hole pairs could turmel out of the quantum dot and become free carriers that screened the electric field.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include and a controlled quantum tunneling event takes place in the quantum dot molecule for the purpose of efficiently controlling the direction of the electron-hole pairs within quantum dots by directing tunnelling, improving quantum device control, as taught by Englund (0057).
Claim 19:
Englund further teaches or suggests wherein the atom-like system and the atom-like structure are separated by a linear distance at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like structure versus the applied electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line around the field at which the atom-like structure exhibits a tunnel resonance (see Fig. 6C; para. 0051 - a photoluminescence (PL) measurement was performed to identify a strongly coupled QD. The signature of strong coupling is the vacuum Rabi splitting, observed (as seen on FIG. 6c) as an avoided crossing of the eigenstates of the system when the quantum dot is tuned into resonance with the cavity. From the PL spectra one could identify two quantum dots with frequencies close to the cavity resonance, labeled as QDl and QD2 in FIG. 6c.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include wherein the atom-like system and the atom-like structure are separated by a linear distance at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like structure versus the applied electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line around the field at which the atom-like structure exhibits a tunnel resonance for the purpose of efficiently identifying quantum dot coupling and strength thereof and stabilizing quantum states, improving quantum device analysis, as taught by Englund (0051).
Claim 20:
Englund further teaches or suggests wherein the first electric field is set to a value at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like system versus the first electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line about the value (see Fig. 8a-8c; para. 0055 – The dependence of the energy shift with electric field is shown in FIG. 8b. The shift was quadratic in electric field, since the perturbation of the energy levels due to electric field is a second order effect.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Kim, to include wherein the first electric field is set to a value at which a plot of electric field dispersed eigen energy of the atom-like system versus the first electric field includes a localized substantially horizontal line about the value for the purpose of efficiently identifying quantum dot coupling and strength thereof and stabilizing quantum states, improving quantum device analysis, as taught by Englund (0051, 0055).
Conclusion
/ANDREW T MCINTOSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144