DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0057910, filed on 05/11/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/15/2023, 12/11/2024, 02/25/2025, 03/16/2026, and 09/03/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 12/15/2023. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In the preliminary amendments, the claims, specification, and abstract were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
Claims 1-12 were originally filed.
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, and 12 are instantly amended.
Claims 1-12 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2023/0083073 A1).
With respect to claims 1-8, Lee discloses compound 3-147 (page 387), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 1 when Ar1 and Ar2 are each a C10 naphthyl(ene) group, R1-R7 are each hydrogen, and both Ar1 and Ar2 are deuterated with 7 deuterium atoms or the combination of 6 deuterium atoms and a C6D5 group.
With respect to claim 9, Lee teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound of Chemical Formula 1 is represented by the structure below when a is 0, b is 7, c is 6, and d is 5.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2023/0083073 A1).
With respect to claims 1-8, Lee discloses compound 3-147 (page 387), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 1 when Ar1 and Ar2 are each a C10 naphthyl(ene) group, R1-R7 are each hydrogen, and both Ar1 and Ar2 are deuterated with 7 deuterium atoms or the combination of 6 deuterium atoms and a C6D5 group.
With respect to claim 9, Lee teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound of Chemical Formula 1 is represented by the structure below when a is 0, b is 7, c is 6, and d is 5.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0083073 A1) as applied above.
With respect to claims 10-11, Lee teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Compound 3-147, pictured and discussed above, is derived from Lee Chemical Formula B (paragraph 0021).
Lee also teaches that compounds of Chemical Formula B are intended for use in the organic material layer of an organic light emitting device comprising a first and second electrode (paragraphs 0020-0021), and that the specific layer comprising the compound may be the light emitting layer (paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device with the claimed device structure, as taught by Lee.
With respect to claim 12, Lee teaches the device of claim 11, and Lee also teaches that the light emitting layer also includes a compound of Chemical Formula 1 (paragraph 0021), such as Compound 1-1 (paragraph 0148 and page 11), which is pictured below.
Compound 1-1 meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 2 when A1-A3 are each a C6 aryl (phenyl) group, L1 is a C16 heteroarylene (benzonaphthofuran), L2 is a single bond, and L3 is a C6 arylene (phenylene).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an arylamine compound such as compound 1-1 in combination with the compound of instant Chemical Formula 1 in the light emitting layer of a device with the claimed device structure, as taught by Lee.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/760,803 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 1 is met by Chemical Formula 1 of claim 1 of ‘803 when L3 of ‘803 is a single bond, and one of Ar1 and Ar2 is a polycyclic aromatic group. Additionally, the deuterium requirement of the instant claim is not only within the scope of Formula 1 of ‘803, but is clearly a preferred embodiment through the compounds of claim 7 of ‘803. Instant Chemical Formula 2 is met by Chemical Formula 2 of ‘803.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/275,390 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 1 is met by Chemical Formula 1 of claim 1 of ‘390 when L1 of ‘390 is a single bond, and one of Ar1 and Ar2 is a polycyclic aromatic group. Additionally, the deuterium requirement of the instant claim is not only within the scope of Formula 1 of ‘390, but is clearly a preferred embodiment through the compounds of claim 9 of ‘390. Instant Chemical Formula 2 is met by Chemical Formulae 2 and 3 of ‘390.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/566,998 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 1 is met by Chemical Formula 1 of claim 1 of ‘998 when L of ‘998 is a single bond, and one of Ar1 and Ar2 is a polycyclic aromatic group. Additionally, the deuterium requirement of the instant claim is not only within the scope of Formula 1 of ‘390, but is clearly a preferred embodiment through the compounds of claim 8 of ‘998. Instant Chemical Formula 2 is met by Chemical Formulae 2 and 3 of ‘998.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/277,524 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 1 is met by Chemical Formula 1 of claim 1 of ‘524. Additionally, the deuterium requirement of the instant claim is not only within the scope of Formula 1 of ‘390, but is clearly a preferred embodiment through the compounds of claim 6 of ‘390.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/038,788 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 1 is met by Chemical Formula 1 of claim 1 of ‘788 when L1 of ‘788 is a single bond, and one of Ar1 and Ar2 is a polycyclic aromatic group. Additionally, the deuterium requirement of the instant claim is not only within the scope of Formula 1 of ‘788, but is clearly a preferred embodiment through the compounds of claim 5 of ‘788. Instant Chemical Formula 2 is met by Chemical Formulae 2 and 3 of ‘788.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/038,369 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 1 is met by Chemical Formula 1 of claim 1 of ‘369 when L1 of ‘369 is a single bond, and one of Ar1 and Ar2 is a polycyclic aromatic group. Additionally, the deuterium requirement of the instant claim is not only within the scope of Formula 1 of ‘369, but is clearly a preferred embodiment through the compounds of claim 5 of ‘369. Instant Chemical Formula 2 is met by Chemical Formula 2 of ‘369.
This are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al. (US 2023/0371374 A1) – teaches relevant arylamine compounds.
Kang et al. (US 2022/0123223 A1) – teaches relevant triazine compounds.
Jung et al. (US 2018/0337348 A1) – teaches relevant triazine compounds.
Lee et al. (KR 2019/0007789 A) – teaches relevant arylamine compounds.
Jung et al. (US 2021/0320263 A1) – teaches relevant triazine compounds.
Jung et al. (US 2018/0186764 A1) – teaches relevant arylamine compounds.
Lee et al. (WO 2020/080693 A1) – teaches relevant triazine compounds.
Ha et al. (KR 2017/0096770 A) – teaches relevant arylamine compounds.
Kim et al. (US 2023/0354706 A1) – teaches relevant arylamine and triazine compounds.
Parham et al. (US 2023/0080974 A1) – teaches relevant triazine compounds.
Lee et al. (US 2022/0123233 A1) – teaches relevant arylamine compounds.
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786