DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner thoroughly reviewed the applicant' s arguments but firmly believes that the cited reference reasonably and properly meets the claimed limitation as rejected.
Applicant’s argument: The applicant has argued that the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu fail to disclose noted limitations in amended claims 1, 10 and 16.
Examiner’s response: In the previous office action, the Examiner provided a detailed break down of how the limitations modified by the ‘at least one’ wording would be interpreted, and how prior art would be applied. The Applicant has chosen not to respond to this explanation, and has chosen not to address this explanation via any form of amendment. For the purposes of this response, that interpretation is maintained by the Examiner and provided below again for reference. The Examiner made clear that the scope of the claims based on the wording is that each trigger event is represented as an ‘or’ or alternative element, and that the scope of the claim does not provide patentable weight to all of the claimed elements, and prior art would need only to address at most one of the elements to adequately address the scope of the claims. The applicant has again not mentioned or argued or explained their position in any way regarding this. Rather the applicant has simply argued that elements, that do not hold patentable weight because of the ‘or’ nature of the claims, are not shown in the prior art references. The Examiner did cite the art as showing two (2) of the trigger events, of which the applicant has not argued or addressed either of the rejected limitations. The applicant has not provided ad clear response to the merits of the first office action, and has not addressed the grounds of rejection, rather the applicant has provided an argument towards elements that the scope of the claims does not require to have patentable weight, and has done nothing in either explanation or amendment to address attempting to give these elements patentable weight within the scope of the claims. As such, this argument has not addressed the rejection of the claims, and has not provided any evidence that the rejection of the claims is improper. Therefore, the grounds for rejection are maintained. Note, the prior office action will be adjusted to address the amendments to the claims, but the scope of the rejection will be maintained.
Applicant’s argument: Regarding the motivation to combine the Wu and Liu references.
Examiner’s response: The applicant has argued that the references lack the motivation to combine based on the lack of disclosure of limitations whose scope lacks patentable weight as noted above. The entire argument is that as the limitations are not shown they would not be obvious. This does not address the actual application of the art to the claimed scope or the motivation to combine the references as presented. As such the grounds for obviousness and therefore the grounds for rejection are maintained as previously presented.
Clarity of the Record – Claim Limitation Interpretation
[Previously provided]
Claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, 18 and 19 recite in paraphrase ‘at least one or more of the following: a, b, c’. Given that an ‘and’ is not used, and in review of the provided disclosure, the scope of the claim is interpreted through plain meaning (MPEP 2111.01) that these elements are claimed in the alternative, meaning prior art showing any one of a or b or c; or more (i.e. ‘a and b’); would encompass the scope of the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-13, 16-17, 19-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Pub 20140273943) in view of Liu (US Pub 20220124539).
Re claim 1, Wu discloses a charging method, comprising:
acquiring, by a user equipment (Fig 1 el 102/104; Par 32), charging information (Fig 5 el s505/s510/s515; Par 9, 31, 43) of a quality of service (QoS) (Par 29, 40, 48),
wherein the charging information (Fig 5 el s510/s515; Par 31, 40, 43) is generated based on a proximity based service (ProSe) provided by the user equipment (Fig 5 el s510/s515; Par 31, 40, 43); and
transmitting the charging information to a network-side equipment (Fig 5 el s520; Par 47-48),
wherein the charging information comprises information of the QoS (Par 29, 40, 43, 48); however, Wu fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein the information regarding the QoS comprises flow information regarding the QoS flow; (2) wherein the acquiring the charging information of the quality of service (QoS) flow comprises: acquiring the charging information of the QoS flow based on a charging trigger event; and (3) wherein the charging trigger event comprises at least one or more of the following: establishment of a ProSe link; establishment of the QoS flow; change in a QoS attribute parameter; a time condition of a ProSe link, wherein the time condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the ProSe link; a data volume condition of the ProSe link, wherein the data volume condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the ProSe link; a time condition of the QoS flow, wherein the time condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the QoS flow; a data volume condition of the QoS flow, wherein the data volume condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the QoS flow.
.
Regarding items (1), (2) and (3) above, this design is however disclosed by Liu. Liu discloses wherein the information regarding the QoS comprise flow information regarding the QoS flow (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1 which details QoS flow usage-based charging); and wherein the acquiring the charging information of the quality of service (QoS) flow (Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1) comprises: acquiring the charging information of the QoS flow based on a charging trigger event (Par 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – usage threshold triggering reporting); wherein the charging trigger event comprises at least one or more of the following:
establishment of a ProSe link; establishment of the QoS flow; change in a QoS attribute parameter;
a time condition of a ProSe link, wherein the time condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the ProSe link (Par 47, 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting period configuration);
a data volume condition of the ProSe link, wherein the data volume condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the ProSe link (Par 47, 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – usage threshold triggering reporting);
a time condition of the QoS flow, wherein the time condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the QoS flow;
a data volume condition of the QoS flow, wherein the data volume condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the QoS flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Wu in order to incorporate the QoS flow considerations of Liu based on the rationale of the use of a known technique to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by specifying the consideration of QoS flow allows for a specific and focused evaluation of the service usage and allows for a more accurate and/or specific determination of charges to applied for the use of the service.
Re claim 16, Wu discloses a user equipment (Fig 1 el 102/104; Par 32), comprising: a memory (Fig 2 Par 32-33), a transceiver (Fig 2 Par 32-33) and a processor (Fig 2 Par 32-33), wherein: the memory is configured to store a computer program (Fig 2 Par 32-33); the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (Fig 2 Par 32-33); and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory (Fig 2 Par 32-33) to perform the following operation:
acquiring charging information (Fig 5 el s505/s510/s515; Par 9, 31, 43) of a quality of service (QoS) (Par 29, 40, 48),
wherein the charging information (Fig 5 el s510/s515; Par 31, 40, 43) is generated based on a proximity based service (ProSe) provided by the user equipment (Fig 5 el s510/s515; Par 31, 40, 43);
the transceiver is configured to transmit the charging information to a network-side equipment (Fig 5 el s520; Par 32, 47-48), wherein the charging information comprises information of the QoS (Par 29, 40, 43, 48); however, Wu fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein the information regarding the QoS comprises flow information regarding the QoS flow; (2) wherein the acquiring the charging information of the quality of service (QoS) flow comprises: acquiring the charging information of the QoS flow based on a charging trigger event; and (3) wherein the charging trigger event comprises at least one or more of the following: establishment of a ProSe link; establishment of the QoS flow; change in a QoS attribute parameter; a time condition of a ProSe link, wherein the time condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the ProSe link; a data volume condition of the ProSe link, wherein the data volume condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the ProSe link; a time condition of the QoS flow, wherein the time condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the QoS flow; a data volume condition of the QoS flow, wherein the data volume condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the QoS flow.
Regarding items (1), (2) and (3) above, this design is however disclosed by Liu. Liu discloses wherein the information regarding the QoS comprise flow information regarding the QoS flow (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1 which details QoS flow usage-based charging); and wherein the acquiring the charging information of the quality of service (QoS) flow (Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1) comprises: acquiring the charging information of the QoS flow based on a charging trigger event (Par 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – usage threshold triggering reporting); wherein the charging trigger event comprises at least one or more of the following:
establishment of a ProSe link; establishment of the QoS flow; change in a QoS attribute parameter;
a time condition of a ProSe link, wherein the time condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the ProSe link (Par 47, 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting period configuration);
a data volume condition of the ProSe link, wherein the data volume condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the ProSe link (Par 47, 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – usage threshold triggering reporting);
a time condition of the QoS flow, wherein the time condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the QoS flow;
a data volume condition of the QoS flow, wherein the data volume condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the QoS flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Wu in order to incorporate the QoS flow considerations of Liu based on the rationale of the use of a known technique to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by specifying the consideration of QoS flow allows for a specific and focused evaluation of the service usage and allows for a more accurate and/or specific determination of charges to applied for the use of the service.
Re claim 10, Wu discloses a charging method, comprising:
acquiring, by a network-side equipment (Fig 5 el s520; Par 47-48), charging information of a QoS (Par 31, 40, 43, 47-78) transmitted by a user equipment (Fig 5 el s520; Par 47-48), wherein the charging information is generated based on a proximity based service (ProSe) (Fig 5 el s510/s515; Par 31, 40, 43) provided by the user equipment (Fig 5 el s520; Par 47-48); and
transmitting the charging information (Fig 1 el 106 to 110, Par 25, 29; Fig 7 el s750, Par 59-60),
wherein the charging information comprises information of the QoS (Par 29, 40, 43, 48); however Wu fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein the information regarding the QoS comprises flow information regarding the QoS flow; and (2) transmitting the charging information to a charging function (CHF); and (3) wherein the charging information of the quality of service (QoS) flow is acquired based on a charging trigger event; and wherein the charging trigger event comprises at least one or more of the following: establishment of a ProSe link; establishment of the QoS flow; change in a QoS attribute parameter; a time condition of a ProSe link, wherein the time condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the ProSe link; a data volume condition of the ProSe link, wherein the data volume condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the ProSe link; a time condition of the QoS flow, wherein the time condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the QoS flow; a data volume condition of the QoS flow, wherein the data volume condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the QoS flow..
Regarding items (1), (2) and (3) above, this design is however disclosed by Liu. Liu discloses (1) wherein the information regarding the QoS comprises flow information regarding the QoS flow (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1 which details QoS flow usage-based charging); and (2) transmitting the charging information to a charging function (CHF) (Fig 1-2 ‘CHF’, Par 47); and (3) wherein the charging information of the quality of service (QoS) flow (Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1) is acquired based on a charging trigger event (Par 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – usage threshold triggering reporting); wherein the charging trigger event comprises at least one or more of the following:
establishment of a ProSe link; establishment of the QoS flow; change in a QoS attribute parameter;
a time condition of a ProSe link, wherein the time condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the ProSe link (Par 47, 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting period configuration);
a data volume condition of the ProSe link, wherein the data volume condition of the ProSe link is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the ProSe link (Par 47, 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – usage threshold triggering reporting);
a time condition of the QoS flow, wherein the time condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set time is met within a life period of the QoS flow;
a data volume condition of the QoS flow, wherein the data volume condition of the QoS flow is used to represent that a charging event is triggered in a case that a set data volume is met within a life period of the QoS flow.
.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Wu in order to incorporate the QoS flow considerations of Liu based on the rationale of the use of a known technique to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by specifying the consideration of QoS flow allows for a specific and focused evaluation of the service usage and allows for a more accurate and/or specific determination of charges to applied for the use of the service.
Re claim 24, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 10, Wu further discloses a network-side equipment, comprising: a memory (Fig 2 Par 32-33), a transceiver (Fig 2 Par 32-33) and a processor (Fig 2 Par 32-33), wherein: the memory is configured to store a computer program (Fig 2 Par 32-33); the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (Fig 2 Par 32-33); and the processor is configured to read the computer program (Fig 2 Par 32-33); wherein the transceiver is configured to perform the operations of the charging method according to claim 10 [see the rejection of clam 10 above].
Re claim 2, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 1, Liu further discloses wherein the acquiring the charging information of the quality of service (QoS) flow (Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1) comprises: triggering to acquire the charging information of the QoS flow based on configuration information (Par 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting period configuration).
Re claim 17, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the user equipment according to claim 16, Liu further discloses wherein the processor (Fig 10, Par 194-197) is configured to read the computer program in the memory (Fig 10, Par 194-197) to perform the following operations: acquiring the charging information of the quality of service (QoS) flow (Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1) comprises: triggering to acquire the charging information of the QoS flow based on configuration information (Par 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting period configuration).
Re claim 11, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 10, Liu further discloses wherein before acquiring the charging information of the QoS flow transmitted by the user equipment (Par 53-55, 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting configuration is put in place prior to sending of usage reports), the method further comprises: configuring configuration information about the charging information for the user equipment (Par 53-55, 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting configuration).
Re claim 4, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 2, Liu further discloses wherein the configuration information comprises at least one or more of the following:
a collection period for generating a usage information report based on the charging information (Par 82, 92-94; Table 1 – collection period configuration);
a reporting period for reporting the charging information (Par 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting period configuration);
a first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether to report the charging information based on the QoS flow (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1 which details QoS flow usage-based charging);
a second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate whether to report a data volume of received data (Par 47, 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – data received threshold triggering reporting);
a third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to indicate whether to report a data volume of transmitted data (Par 47, 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – data transmitted threshold triggering reporting).
Re claim 19, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the user equipment according to claim 17, Liu further discloses wherein the configuration information comprises at least one or more of the following:
a collection period for generating a usage information report based on the charging information (Par 82, 92-94; Table 1 – collection period configuration);
a reporting period for reporting the charging information (Par 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting period configuration);
a first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether to report the charging information based on the QoS flow (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1 which details QoS flow usage-based charging);
a second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate whether to report a data volume of received data (Par 47, 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – data received threshold triggering reporting);
a third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to indicate whether to report a data volume of transmitted data (Par 47, 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – data transmitted threshold triggering reporting).
Re claim 12, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 11, Liu further discloses wherein the configuration information comprises at least one or more of the following: a collection period for generating a usage information report based on the charging information (Par 82, 92-94; Table 1 – collection period configuration); a reporting period for reporting the charging information (Par 82, 92, 120; Table 1 – reporting period configuration); a first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether to report the charging information based on the QoS flow (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1 which details QoS flow usage-based charging); a second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate whether to report a data volume of received data (Par 47, 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – data received threshold triggering reporting); a third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to indicate whether to report a data volume of transmitted data (Par 47, 84-86, 92, 120; Table 1 – data transmitted threshold triggering reporting).
Re claim 5, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 1, Liu further discloses further comprising:
after acquiring the charging information (Fig 5 steps 3-4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1), generating a usage information report comprising the charging information according to a collection period (Fig 5 steps 3-4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1) for generating the usage information report comprised in configuration information (Fig 5 steps 3-4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1);
wherein the transmitting the charging information to the network-side equipment comprises: transmitting the usage information report to the network-side equipment (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1) according to a reporting period in the configuration information (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1).
Re claim 20, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the user equipment according to claim 16, Liu further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to read the computer program in the memory (Fig 10, Par 194-197) to perform the following operations:
after acquiring the charging information (Fig 5 steps 3-4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1), generating a usage information report comprising the charging information according to a collection period (Fig 5 steps 3-4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1) for generating the usage information report comprised in configuration information (Fig 5 steps 3-4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1);
the transceiver the transmitting the charging information to the network-side equipment comprises: transmitting the usage information report to the network-side equipment (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1) according to a reporting period in the configuration information (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1).
Re claim 13, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 11, Liu further discloses wherein the acquiring the charging information of the QoS flow transmitted by the user equipment comprises:
acquiring a usage information report transmitted by the user equipment (Fig 5 steps 3-4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1) according to a reporting period of the charging information (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1), wherein the usage information report comprises the charging information (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 82, 92-94, Table 1).
Re claim 8, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 1, Liu further discloses wherein the flow information of the QoS flow comprises at least one or more of the following: a QoS attribute parameter; a QoS characteristic parameter; a QoS flow identifier (PFI) (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1 ‘QoS flow identity or type’);a transmission time of a first packet of a service data flow that matches the PFI; a transmission time of a last packet of the service data flow that matches the PFI; a time when the QoS flow occurs (Fig 5 step 4; Par 47, 90, 92-94, Table 1 time information related to identified QoS); an identifier of a serving network function.
Re claim 9, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 1, Liu further discloses wherein the charging information further comprises link information associated with the QoS flow (Table 1; Par 96, 133), wherein the link information comprises at least one or more of the following: a source IP address (Table 1; Par 96, 133); a target IP address (Table 1; Par 96, 133); a relay IP address; an IP multicast address of a ProSe group; an identifier of a device participating in the ProSe; a link identifier of a ProSe link.
Claims 6, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu and Liu as applied to claims 1, 10 and 16 above, and further in view of Li (US Pub 20220322202).
Re claim 6, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 1, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the transmitting the charging information to the network-side equipment comprises: transmitting the charging information to a charging trigger function (CTF) or a charging enablement function (CEF) of the network-side equipment, wherein the charging information is forwarded to a CHF by the CTF or the CEF, wherein the charging information is used for the CHF to charge for the ProSe that occurs.
This design is however disclosed by Li. Li discloses wherein the transmitting the charging information to the network-side equipment comprises: transmitting the charging information to a charging trigger function (CTF) (Par 67, 78, Table 1) or a charging enablement function (CEF) of the network-side equipment, wherein the charging information is forwarded to a CHF (Par 67, 78, Table 1) by the CTF (Par 67, 78, Table 1) or the CEF, wherein the charging information is used for the CHF to charge for the ProSe that occurs (Par 67, 78, Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Wu in order to incorporate the charging information communication of Li based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance the specific use of the CTF processing to collect and process charging data allows for a more accurate and efficient communication with the CHF elements to finalize the charging processing in a way that reducing billing errors and improvise billing accuracy at the benefit of both the user and service provider.
Re claim 21, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole disclose the user equipment according to claim 16, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the transceiver transmitting the charging information to the network-side equipment comprises: transmitting the charging information to a charging trigger function (CTF) or a charging enablement function (CEF) of the network-side equipment, wherein the charging information is forwarded to a CHF by the CTF or the CEF, wherein the charging information is used for the CHF to charge for the ProSe that occurs.
This design is however disclosed by Li. Li discloses wherein the transmitting the charging information to the network-side equipment comprises: transmitting the charging information to a charging trigger function (CTF) (Par 67, 78, Table 1) or a charging enablement function (CEF) of the network-side equipment, wherein the charging information is forwarded to a CHF (Par 67, 78, Table 1) by the CTF (Par 67, 78, Table 1) or the CEF, wherein the charging information is used for the CHF to charge for the ProSe that occurs (Par 67, 78, Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Wu in order to incorporate the charging information communication of Li based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance the specific use of the CTF processing to collect and process charging data allows for a more accurate and efficient communication with the CHF elements to finalize the charging processing in a way that reducing billing errors and improvise billing accuracy at the benefit of both the user and service provider.
Re claim 14, the combined disclosure of Wu and Liu as a whole discloses the method according to claim 10, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the transmitting the charging information to the charging function (CHF) comprises: transmitting the charging information to the CHF through a charging trigger function (CTF) or a charging enablement function (CEF) by using a service-based interface exhibited by charging function (Nchf), wherein the charging information is used for the CHF to charge for the ProSe that occurs.
This design is however disclosed by Li. Li discloses wherein the transmitting the charging information to the charging function (CHF) comprises: transmitting the charging information to the CHF (Par 67, 78, Table 1) through a charging trigger function (CTF) (Par 67, 78, Table 1) or a charging enablement function (CEF) by using a service-based interface exhibited by charging function (Nchf), wherein the charging information is used for the CHF to charge for the ProSe that occurs (Par 67, 78, Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Wu in order to incorporate the charging information communication of Li based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance the specific use of the CTF processing to collect and process charging data allows for a more accurate and efficient communication with the CHF elements to finalize the charging processing in a way that reducing billing errors and improvise billing accuracy at the benefit of both the user and service provider.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R NEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631