DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the Applicants' file amendment on 9/4/25 and withdrawn Notice of allowance mailed on 12/29/25 after further search. Therefore, claims 5,7,10,23-26,28-29 are withdrawn and claims 1-4,6,8-9,11-22 and 27 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,6,8-9,11-22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Forbis et al (US Pub. No:2022/0307660).
With respect to claims 1, 22, and 27, Forbis et al. discloses a method of operating a lighting system comprising: transmitting, by a first data communication module of a lighting control system, data to a plurality of lighting apparatuses 122 over an electrical power line [paragraphs 109 and 233 - wired network/signal], the data comprising a synchronization signal 172 for synchronizing a plurality of clocks of the plurality of lighting apparatuses [paragraph [99] for methods and systems are provided wherein a static imagery effect is distributed over a plurality of modular ceiling fixtures with partial display on each. This may include a synchronization module 172 for managing multiple lighting systems 100, including tracking information about the absolute and relative position and orientation of such systems 10 and paragraphs 196-199 and 212 – light sources are controlled such that the distinct areas and boundary region on the light walls shifts throughout the day to emulate the movement of the sun]; receiving, from the lighting control system, the data by second data communication modules of the plurality of lighting apparatuses [paragraphs 109 and 233 - wired network/signal]; receiving, by a lighting microcontroller of at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses, an electrical power signal indicating operation of a light switch [paragraph 103 – lighting system include a user interface 108]; causing, based on receiving the electrical power signal, an electric light source to be turned on [paragraph 103 – lighting system include a user interface 108]; determining, by the lighting microcontroller of the at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses, a light source output for a driver of an the electric light source based on the data received from the lighting control system [paragraph 111 – configured for daylight emulation, includes generating dynamic daylight quality spectrum with at least one of intensity, directionality and color temperature tuned to sun position based on at least one of geography and time of day]; and determining, by the lighting microcontroller of the at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses, a timing schedule based upon diurnal motion of a sun at a geographical location of the lighting system 150,158 and stored at the at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses [Fig. 1; paragraphs 104 & 106 – lighting system for daylight emulation may also collet or receive weather/geolocation data…paragraphs 96 – lighting system may include, be integrated with, or interact with various technologies…paragraph 98 databases include geolocation data….].
With respect to claim 2, Forbis et al. discloses wherein the data transmitted by the first data communication module (paragraphs 109 and 233 - wired network/signal) includes a synchronisation signal (172)to the plurality of lighting apparatuses over the electrical power line. Paragraphs [99,189].
With respect to claim 3, Forbis et al. discloses wherein the lighting microcontroller of the at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses is further configured to determine the light source output for the driver of the electric light source based on a timing schedule stored at the at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses. Paragraph [20] and paragraph [103] for lighting system include a user interface 108]; causing, based on receiving the electrical power signal, an electric light source to be turned on.
With respect to claim 4, Forbis et al. discloses wherein the timing schedule is based upon diurnal motion of the sun at the geographical location. Paragraphs [12-14].
With respect to claim 6, Forbis et al. discloses, wherein the data transmitted by the lighting control system over the electrical power line comprises one of the timing schedule or second data for the lighting microcontroller to determine the timing schedule. [Fig. 1; paragraphs 104 & 106 – lighting system for daylight emulation may also collet or receive weather/geolocation data…paragraphs 96 – lighting system may include, be integrated with, or interact with various technologies…paragraph 98 databases include geolocation data….].
With respect to claim 8, Forbis et al. discloses wherein the electrical power line forms part of an electrical power system for the lighting system of a building. Paragraphs [100,136,142].
With respect to claim 9, Forbis et al. discloses wherein at least one of the lighting control system or one or more of the plurality of lighting apparatuses includes a control microcontroller configured to receive an-the electrical signal indicating the operation of the light switch and, in response to determining a particular operation pattern of the light switch, at least one of the first data communication module or the second data communications communication module is configured to receive configuration data. Paragraph [103] for one or more networked processors 120, one or more custom optics 118 and a control system, such as for algorithm execution 116. The artificial lighting system 100 may include a user interface 108, such as for controlling lighting, inputting settings, selecting modes, and controlling air, sound, scent, display, cooling, heating or the like.
With respect to claim 11, Forbis et al. discloses, wherein the control microcontroller is configured to determine a timing schedule based on the configuration data. Paragraphs [12-14].
With respect to claim 12, Forbis et al. discloses, wherein the first data communication module is configured to transmit the timing schedule to the plurality of lighting apparatuses over the electrical power line. [Fig. 1; paragraphs 104 & 106 – lighting system for daylight emulation may also collet or receive weather/geolocation data…paragraphs 96 – lighting system may include, be integrated with, or interact with various technologies…paragraph 98 databases include geolocation data….].
With respect to claim 13, Forbis et al. discloses wherein the first data communication module is configured to transmit the configuration data to the plurality of lighting apparatuses over the electrical power line. [Fig. 1; paragraphs 104 & 106 – lighting system for daylight emulation may also collet or receive weather/geolocation data…paragraphs 96 – lighting system may include, be integrated with, or interact with various technologies…paragraph 98 databases include geolocation data….].
With respect to claim 14, Forbis et al. discloses wherein the second data communication module is configured, in response to the lighting microcontroller determining a particular operation pattern of the light switch, to receive the configuration data or the timing schedule from the first data communication module. Paragraph [103], lighting system include a user interface 108.
With respect to claim 15, Forbis et al. discloses, wherein the lighting microcontroller is configured to determine the timing schedule based on the configuration data. [Fig. 1; paragraphs 104 & 106 – lighting system for daylight emulation may also collet or receive weather/geolocation data…paragraphs 96 – lighting system may include, be integrated with, or interact with various technologies…paragraph 98 databases include geolocation data….].
With respect to claim 16, Forbis et al. discloses further comprising a light sensor configured to detect ambient outdoor light conditions, and wherein the lighting microcontroller is further configured to determine the light source output based on the ambient outdoor light conditions. Paragraphs [105,136].
With respect to claim 17, Forbis et al. discloses, wherein the lighting apparatus of the plurality of lighting apparatuses includes the electric light source. Paragraphs [19,38].
With respect to claim 18, Forbis et al. discloses wherein the light source output is associated with a setting comprising at least one of a brightness setting, a color temperature setting, or a spectral composition. Paragraph [38].
With respect to claim 19, Forbis et al. discloses, wherein at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses comprises a clock, and wherein the lighting microcontroller of the at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses is further configured to determine the light source output based on a timing signal from the clock. Paragraphs 196-199 and 212 – light sources are controlled such that the distinct areas and boundary region on the light walls shifts throughout the day to emulate the movement of the sun.
With respect to claim 20, Forbis et al. discloses wherein the at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses is further configured to update the clock based on a synchronisation signal received by the second data communication module.
With respect to claim 21, Forbis et al. discloses wherein the at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses further comprises an electrical energy store configured to provide electrical power to at least one of the clock or the second data communication module when the at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses is switched off. Paragraphs 196-199 and 212 – light sources are controlled such that the distinct areas and boundary region on the light walls shifts throughout the day to emulate the movement of the sun.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844