DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "preferably" is interpreted to indicate exemplary language, thus the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4, and 6 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication Number WO 2017198221 A1 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’221; cited on the ISR form 237; English translation used).
Regarding claims 1 – 2, 4, and 6 – 9, Chen’221 teach compounds of formula (I) of structure
(Chen’221 original document page 1)and (II) of structure
(Chen’221 original document page 1) as a new class of pyrimidine derivatives (Chen’221 translation page 6 paragraph 1). More specifically, Chen’221 teach compound 5 of structure
(Chen’221 original document page 4 Table row 5). Furthermore, Chen’221 teach that the compounds of the disclosures, which include compound 5 can be formulated to form pharmaceutically usable salts using a suitable acid, which includes ethanesulfonic acid and methanesulfonic acid (Chen’221 translation page 42 paragraph 1).
Moreover, Chen’221 teach that in recent years, increasing evidence has shown that FGFR1, FGFR2, FGFR3, and FGFR4 gene amplification (claim 7) mutations exist in many types of cancers (Chen’221 translation page 4 paragraph 1). Furthermore, Chen’221 teach that FGFR4 has mutations and overexpression in lung cancer, ovarian cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and bile duct cancer, and is also overexpressed in thyroid cancer and ovarian cancer (Chen’221 translation page 4 paragraph 1). Additionally, Chen’221 teach that compounds of this disclosure can be used in methods for treating disease with FGFR4 overexpression (claim 6) (Chen’221 translation page 21 paragraph 2) and FGF19 amplification (Chen’221 translation page 21 paragraph 3).
Also, Chen’221 teach that compounds of the disclosure as useful in methods for treating cancer, comprising administering to a patient in need of treatment an effective dose of a compound of general formula (I) or (II) or a stereoisomer, tautomer, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition thereof, wherein the cancer (claim 8) is selected from non-small cell lung cancer, gastric cancer, multiple myeloma, liver cancer, and cholangiocarcinoma, preferably liver cancer and cholangiocarcinoma (claim 9) (Chen’221 translation page 22 paragraph 2). Additionally, Chen’221 teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective dose of a compound of general formula (I) or (II) or a stereoisomer, tautomer or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient or combination thereof (claim 4) (Chen’221 translation page 20 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 7, recitation for a method of treating a disease resulting from FGFR4 amplification, as taught above by, Chen’221 FGFR1, FGFR2, FGFR3, and FGFR4 gene amplification mutations exist in many types of cancers including lung cancer, ovarian cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and bile duct cancer, and is also overexpressed in thyroid cancer and ovarian cancer (Chen’221 translation page 4 paragraph 1). Therefore, by administering the mesylate or ethanesulfonate salt of compound 5 for the treatment of lung cancer, ovarian cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and bile duct cancer would treat patients wherein the cancer results of FGFR4 amplification.
Regarding claim 1, while Chen’221 does not explicitly teach compound 5 as either an mesylate salt or an ethanesulfonate salt; Chen’221 does teach that the compounds of the disclosures, which include compound 5 can be formulated to form pharmaceutically usable salts using a suitable acid, which includes ethanesulfonic acid and methanesulfonic acid (Chen’221 translation page 42 paragraph 1). Therefore, it is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to take compound 5 and make it into either the mesylate salt or an ethanesulfonate salt.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication Number WO 2017198221 A1 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’221; cited on the ISR form 237) in view of Engel et. al. ((2000), Salt form selection and characterization of LY333531 mesylate monohydrate, International Journal of Pharmaceutics, 198, 239 – 247).
The teachings of Chen’221 as they relate to claims 1, from which claim 3 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, Chen’221 fails to teach a method for preparing the salt according to claim 1, comprising a step of forming a salt in a mixed solution of acetone: water= ( 40-10): 1 containing the free base as represented by formula (I) and methanesulfonic acid or ethanesulfonic acid (claim 3).
Nevertheless, Engel et. al. teach that the although the hydrochloride salts of pharmaceutical bases have advantages over other salt forming moieties because of their low molecular weight and low toxicity, they can have potential issues (page 240 column 1 paragraph 1). Engel et. al. teach that the primary concern is from a decrease in solubility as a result of chloride anion common ion effects in the stomach (page 240 column 1 paragraph 1). Moreover, Engel et. al. teach the formation of the mesylate salt of the free base of LY333531 (page 240 column 2 paragraph 2). Furthermore, Engel et. al. teach that the mesylate salt was formed by dissolving the free base in an acetone/water mixture (9/1 v/v) over a methanol/water system to avoid the formation of methyl methanesulfonate a known mutagen (page 241 column 1 paragraph 1). Even though claim 3 recites the acetone/water mixture as 40 – 10 to 1; the value of 9 is close to the lower limit of 10. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985)(MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify compound 5 of Chen’221 to make either the mesylate salt or the ethanesulfonate salt in view of Engel et. al., that is to dissolve the free base prior art compound 5 in a mixture of acetone/water at 10/1 v/v and the respective acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification and have a reasonable expectation of success to avoid some of the potential issues of HCl salt as well as avoid the formation of methyl methanesulfonate.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 4, and 6 – 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10654836 B2 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’836) in view of International Publication Number WO 2017198221 A1 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’221; cited on the ISR form 237; English translation used) and Engel et. al. ((2000), Salt form selection and characterization of LY333531 mesylate monohydrate, International Journal of Pharmaceutics, 198, 239 – 247).
Chen’836 recite a compound represented by formula (I) or a stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof:
(reference claim 1) wherein R1 is selected from halogen or alkoxy (reference claim 3); wherein R2 is –NHC(O)CH=CH2 (reference claim 4); wherein R3 is a monospiroheterocyclyl, wherein the monospiroheterocyclyl is further substituted by an alkyl (reference claim 5); wherein R3 is 3-memenered/6-memebered (reference claims 6 and 7). Furthermore, Chen’836 recite the compound or the stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof according to (reference) claim 1, which is a compound of formula (II) or a stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof:
(reference claim 2). Specifically, Chen’836 recite the compound or the stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof according to (reference) claim 1, wherein the compound is selected from:
(reference claim 8; instant claim 1); pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of the compound or the stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof according to (reference) claim 1, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient or a combination thereof (reference claim 9; instant claim 4); a method for inhibiting FGFR4 (instant claims 6 – 7), which comprises contacting the receptor with the compound or the stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof according to (reference) claim 1 (reference claim 10); and a method for inhibiting FGFR4, which comprises contacting the receptor with the pharmaceutical composition according to (reference) claim 9.
However, Chen’836 fails to recite the formation of the mesylate salt or the ethanesulfonate salt of the compound (instant claims 1). Moreover, Chen’836 fails to recite a method for preparing the salt according to instant claim 1 (instant claim 3). Furthermore, Chen’836 fails to recite a method of treating cancer (instant claims 8 – 9).
The teachings of Chen’221 and Engel et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 4 and 6 – 9, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the invention of Chen’836 in view of Chen’221 that is to make the mesylate or ethanesulfonate salt in further view of Engel et. al. that is to dissolve the free base said compound in a mixture of acetone/water at 10/1 v/v and the respective acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification and have a reasonable expectation of success to avoid some of the potential issues of HCl salt as well as avoid the formation of methyl methanesulfonate.
Claims 1 – 4, and 6 – 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11001572 B2 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’572) in view of International Publication Number WO 2017198221 A1 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’221; cited on the ISR form 237; English translation used) and Engel et. al. ((2000), Salt form selection and characterization of LY333531 mesylate monohydrate, International Journal of Pharmaceutics, 198, 239 – 247).
Chen’572 recite a method of treating cancer (instant claim 8) comprising administering to a patient in need of treatment an effective amount of a compound represented by formula (I) or a stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof:
(reference claim 1) wherein R1 is selected from halogen or alkoxy (reference claim 3); wherein R2 is –NHC(O)CH=CH2 (reference claim 4); wherein R3 is a monospiroheterocyclyl, wherein the monospiroheterocyclyl is further substituted by an alkyl (reference claim 5); wherein R3 is 3-memenered/6-memebered (reference claims 6 and 7). Furthermore, Chen’572 recite the method of (reference) claim 1, wherein the compound is a compound of formula (II):
(reference claim 2). Specifically, Chen’572 recite the method of (reference) claim 1, wherein the compound is selected from:
(reference claim 8; instant claim 1); pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of the compound or the stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof according to (reference) claim 1, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient or a combination thereof (reference claim 9; instant claim 4); the method of (reference) claim 1, wherein the cancer (instant claim 8) is selected from the group consisting of a hepatocellular carcinoma and cholangiocarcinoma (reference claim 9; instant claim 9).
However, Chen’572 fails to recite the formation of the mesylate salt or the ethanesulfonate salt of the compound (instant claims 1). Moreover, Chen’572 fails to recite a method for preparing the salt according to instant claim 1 (instant claim 3). Furthermore, Chen’572 fails to recite a method of treating a disease with FGFR4 overexpression (instant claim 6) or FGFR4 amplification (instant claim 7).
The teachings of Chen’221 and Engel et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 4 and 6 – 9, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the invention of Chen’572 in view of Chen’221 that is to make the mesylate or ethanesulfonate salt in further view of Engel et. al. that is to dissolve the free base said compound in a mixture of acetone/water at 10/1 v/v and the respective acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification and have a reasonable expectation of success to avoid some of the potential issues of HCl salt as well as avoid the formation of methyl methanesulfonate.
Claims 1 – 4, and 6 – 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11827625 B2 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’625) in view of International Publication Number WO 2017198221 A1 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’221; cited on the ISR form 237; English translation used) and Engel et. al. ((2000), Salt form selection and characterization of LY333531 mesylate monohydrate, International Journal of Pharmaceutics, 198, 239 – 247).
Chen’625 recite a method for treating diseases of FGFR4 over-expression comprising administering to a patient in need of treatment an effective amount of a compound represented by formula (I) or a stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof:
(reference claim 1) wherein R1 is selected from halogen or alkoxy (reference claim 3); wherein R2 is –NHC(O)CH=CH2 (reference claim 4); wherein R3 is a monospiroheterocyclyl, wherein the monospiroheterocyclyl is further substituted by an alkyl (reference claim 5); wherein R3 is 3-memenered/6-memebered (reference claims 6 and 7). Furthermore, Chen’625 recite the method of (reference) claim 1, wherein the compound is a compound of formula (II):
(reference claim 2). Specifically, Chen’625 recite the method of (reference) claim 1, wherein the compound is selected from:
(reference claim 8; instant claim 1).
However, Chen’625 fails to recite the formation of the mesylate salt or the ethanesulfonate salt of the compound (instant claims 1). Moreover, Chen’625 fails to recite a method for preparing the salt according to instant claim 1 (instant claim 3). Furthermore, Chen’625 fails to recite a method of treating a disease with FGFR4 amplification (instant claim 7). Additionally, Chen’625 fails to recite a method of treating cancer (instant claims 8 – 9).
The teachings of Chen’221 and Engel et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 4 and 6 – 9, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the invention of Chen’625 in view of Chen’221 that is to make the mesylate or ethanesulfonate salt in further view of Engel et. al. that is to dissolve the free base said compound in a mixture of acetone/water at 10/1 v/v and the respective acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification and have a reasonable expectation of success to avoid some of the potential issues of HCl salt as well as avoid the formation of methyl methanesulfonate.
Claims 1 – 4, and 6 – 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12358898 B2 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’898) in view of International Publication Number WO 2017198221 A1 to Chen et. al. (herein after Chen’221; cited on the ISR form 237; English translation used) and Engel et. al. ((2000), Salt form selection and characterization of LY333531 mesylate monohydrate, International Journal of Pharmaceutics, 198, 239 – 247).
Chen’898 recite a method for treating diseases of FGF19 amplification comprising administering to a patient in need of treatment an effective amount of a compound represented by formula (I) or a stereoisomer, tautomer thereof or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof:
(reference claim 1) wherein R1 is selected from halogen or alkoxy (reference claim 3); wherein R2 is –NHC(O)CH=CH2 (reference claim 4); wherein R3 is a monospiroheterocyclyl, wherein the monospiroheterocyclyl is further substituted by an alkyl (reference claim 5); wherein R3 is 3-memenered/6-memebered (reference claims 6 and 7). Furthermore, Chen’898 recite the method of (reference) claim 1, wherein the compound is a compound of formula (II):
(reference claim 2). Specifically, Chen’898 recite the method of (reference) claim 1, wherein the compound is selected from:
(reference claim 8; instant claim 1).
However, Chen’898 fails to recite the formation of the mesylate salt or the ethanesulfonate salt of the compound (instant claims 1). Moreover, Chen’898 fails to recite a method for preparing the salt according to instant claim 1 (instant claim 3). Furthermore, Chen’898 fails to recite a method of treating a disease with FGFR4 overexpression (instant claim 6) or FGFR4 amplification (instant claim 7). Additionally, Chen’898 fails to recite a method of treating cancer (instant claims 8 – 9).
The teachings of Chen’221 and Engel et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 4 and 6 – 9, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the invention of Chen’898 in view of Chen’221 that is to make the mesylate or ethanesulfonate salt in further view of Engel et. al. that is to dissolve the free base said compound in a mixture of acetone/water at 10/1 v/v and the respective acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification and have a reasonable expectation of success to avoid some of the potential issues of HCl salt as well as avoid the formation of methyl methanesulfonate.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 4, and 6 – 9 are rejected.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627