DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant has amended claim 17 such that the magnetic detection additive is no longer listed in the alternative. The 112b rejection of claim 17 is withdrawn.
The Applicant argues that the 3D object is colored blue in mass by an optical detection additive added to the composition by locally raising the temperature of a polyamide-based powder by electromagnetic radiation in a heated enclosure causing a localized fusion of a layer of a predetermined thickness to form after cooling, a solid layer of polyamide.
The process for how the 3D object is colored blue in mass, is a product by process claim.
When a product recited in product-by-process format reasonably appears to be the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show that the prior art product is in fact different from the claimed product, even though the products may be made by different processes. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
The Applicant argues claim 17 requires a dry mixtures of two separately prepared powders where the first powder is a natural polyamide powder comprising 95-100% polyamide and the second powder is a polyamide powder containing an optical detection additive obtained by reducing a homogeneous liquid or solid mass comprising an optical detection additive into powder.
The Applicant also argues that Steele teaches the polyamide and additive mixture is made through melt mixing then cryogenic grinding and dry blending. However, this reads on the claimed “dry mixture.” The resulting mixture of polyamide and additive of Steele is a dry mixture (Paragraph [0043]). The process by which the dry blend is created is a product by process limitation. It is the burden of the Applicant to show the composition of Steele is different from the resulting claimed product that is the powder composition.
Steele teaches a powder composition, comprising a blended polyamide and a colorant. Steele teaches the polyamide is 60-99% of the composition and the colorant is 0-5% of the composition and the flow agent additives are 2.5% or more of the composition. The Instant Specification teaches a natural polyamide is 95-100% polyamide (Page 12). Therefore, a polyamide powder with a composition of 0-5% colorant and 2.5% or more flow additives and 60-99% polyamide reads on both the claimed “natural polyamide powder” and the claimed “polyamide powder containing an optical detection additive.” There is nothing in the claims that suggest the natural polyamide powder excludes the optical detection additive or that the "polyamide powder containing the optical detection additive" excludes exclude natural polyamides.
Claim 17 also recites that the polyamide powder containing the optical detection additive is obtained by reduction into powder of a homogeneous liquid or solid mass comprising polyamide and the optical detection additive. This is a product by process limitation.
When a product recited in product-by-process format reasonably appears to be the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show that the prior art product is in fact different from the claimed product, even though the products may be made by different processes. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Therefore, Steele in view of Diekmann reads on the limitations of claim 17.
The Applicant additionally argues that Diekmann teaches a pigment containing liquid to an existing polyamide powder. The Applicant argues that Diekman does not disclose or teach a polyamide powder containing an optical detection additive. The Applicant argues that the polyamide powder of Diekman was not obtained by reducing a homogenous liquid or solid mass comprising polyamide and an optical detection additive into a polyamide powder containing an optical detection additive.
The Examiner notes that the method of adding the optical detection additive of Diekmann is not applied in the rejection of Steele in view of Diekmann, only the type of colorant used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele US 20180009982A1 in view of Diekmann US 20180093925 A1 as evidenced by Cobalt Blue: Technical Analysis and Applications of a High-Performance Composite Inorganic Pigment (retrieved on: <https://www.zpigments.com/cobalt-blue-technical-analysis-and-applications-of-a-high-performance-composite-inorganic-pigment/#:~:text=and%20Chemical%20Stability-,I.,for%20outdoor%20and%20harsh%20environments> retrieved from: 1/5/2026).
Regarding claims 17-18, and 23, Steele teaches a polyamide powder (Title). Steele teaches the polyamide powder of embodiment 1 and 13 comprises 94-99% polyamide (Paragraph [0115] and Paragraph [0146]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 60-99% by weight polyamide.
Steele also teaches the composition comprises 2.5-40 wt% of a flow agent (Paragraph [0118]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1-4.5wt% of a flow agent.
Steele also teaches the polyamide powder comprises a D10 20-35 of microns, a D50 of 45-70 microns and a D90 of less than 120 microns (Paragraph [0135]). This overlaps with the claimed range of D50 of 35-55 microns, D10 of 15-25 microns, D90 of less than 80-100 microns.
Steele teaches the composition can comprise a colorant or pigment, but Steele is silent on the type of color imparting compound (Paragraph [0117]). Steele teaches the amount of colorant ranges from 0-5wt%. This overlaps with the claimed range of 0.05-5% and reads on the claimed “optical detection additive.”
Diekmann teaches a polyamide powder used for sintering applications (Title). Steele teaches the polyamide powder can be used in sintering applications (Paragraph [0032]). Diekmann teaches the composition can comprise from 0.05-5% of flow aids (Paragraph [0026]). Diekmann teaches the polyamide powder can also comprise pigments and dyes (Paragraph [0024-0025). Diekmann also teaches the composition can comprise metal powders that enhance magnetic properties (Paragraph [0027]).
Diekmann teaches a similar polymer powder composition used in similar applications. Diekmann teaches that a colorant can be cobalt blue (Paragraph [0025]). Cobalt blue is a compound that comprises a spinel structure (Cobalt Blue: A Technical Analysis, Page 1). Diekmann teaches a suitable colorant used in similar applications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select cobalt blue as the pigment in Steele’s composition as Diekmann recognizes it as being suitable for use in the same capacity in similar compositions with similar end uses. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. This reads on the claimed “3-dimensional object colored blue.”
Steele also teaches the resulting composition is a dry mixture (Paragraph [0043]). This reads on the claimed “dry blend.”
Steele teaches a powder composition, comprising a blended polyamide and a colorant. Steele teaches the polyamide is 60-99% of the composition and the colorant is 0-5% of the composition and the flow agent additives are 2.5% or more of the composition. The Instant Specification teaches a natural polyamide is 95-100% polyamide (Page 12). The “natural polyamide powder” does not exclude additives including flow additives and optical detection additives; and the “polyamide powder” does not exclude “natural polyamide powder”. Therefore, the same powder can read on both components. A polyamide powder with a composition of 0-5% colorant and 2.5% or more flow additives reads on a mixture containing both the claimed “natural polyamide powder” and the claimed “polyamide powder containing an optical detection additive”.
Claim 17 recites that the polyamide powder containing the optical detection additive is obtained by reduction into powder of a homogeneous liquid or solid mass comprising polyamide and the optical detection additive. This is a product by process limitation.
When a product recited in product-by-process format reasonably appears to be the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show that the prior art product is in fact different from the claimed product, even though the products may be made by different processes. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Steele and Diekmann are silent on the detection wavelength range of cobalt blue. However, cobalt blue spinel structure is known to have notable UV vis absorption from 500-650 nm. This overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5-0.12 microns. Therefore, this reads on the claimed “optical detection additive” which allows for optical detection between 0.5-0.12 microns.
Steele teaches the composition comprises copolyamides. Steele teaches the copolyamides can be copolyamides of nylon 6.12, nylon 6I, and nylon 6T (Paragraph [0059]). A copolyimide comprised of those components would be 100% polyamide. This overlaps with the claimed range of 95-100% polyamide.
Regarding claim 22, Steele teaches that the delta T of the composition is greater than 45C (Paragraph [0082]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 30-50C.
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele US 20180009982A1 in view of Abbott US 20180147777A1 and Diekmann US 20180093925 A1 as evidenced by Cobalt Blue: Technical Analysis and Applications of a High-Performance Composite Inorganic Pigment (retrieved on: <https://www.zpigments.com/cobalt-blue-technical-analysis-and-applications-of-a-high-performance-composite-inorganic-pigment/#:~:text=and%20Chemical%20Stability-,I.,for%20outdoor%20and%20harsh%20environments> retrieved from: 1/5/2026).
Regarding claim 20, Abbott teaches 3D printing using a powder build material that may be a polyamide (Paragraph [0018]). Abbott also teaches that this polyamide powder may include magnetite as an EMR absorber (Paragraph [0064]). Steele teaches the polyamide powders are used in 3D printing applications (Paragraph [0003] and [0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Steele and Abbott to use magnetite as the EMR absorber because this represents an EMR absorber identified by Abbott as being suitable for use in applications similar to Steele. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07
Magnetite reads on the claimed magnetic detection additive. The amount of less than 10% overlaps with the claimed range of 1-40% of magnetic detection additive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21, and 33-35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 21, Steele in view of Diekmann does not teach the internal viscosity of the composition. As indicated below, Steele in view of Diekmann no longer read on the limitations of claim 33, therefore Steele in view of Diekmann does not inherently possess the claimed viscosity.
Previously claim 33 was rejected because claim 33 was defined in terms of product-by-process, specifying a previous intended use of a portion of the polyamide-based powder. The claim previously did not impart any physical or compositional distinction between the fresh polyamide powder and recovered polyamide powder.
However, the amended claim 33 does present a physical distinction between fresh and recovered polyamide powder.
Therefore, Steele in view of Diekmann does not teach the limitations of claim 33.
Steele is silent on whether the polyamide powder is fresh or recovered. Cammage US 12509581B2 teaches a polyimide powder (Title). Cammage also teaches the polyamide powder comprises pigments or dyes (Col. 6 Line 38-45). Cammage also teaches that the polyamide powder is used in sintering applications (Col. 7 Lines 20-28). Cammage teaches a similar polyimide powder used in the same application. Cammage teaches that the polyimide powder used in the application comprises at least 50% recycled powder (Col. 7 Lines 54-62). This overlaps with the claimed range of 30-70% fresh powder and the 30-70% sintered powder. However, Cammage and Steele are silent on the internal viscosity of the fresh powder, therefore Steele in view of Cammage does not read on the limitations of claim 33. Steele in view of Diekmann and Cammage results in a composition identical to the claimed composition and will therefore necessarily possess the claimed physical property. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 34, claims 34 and 35 comprise the limitations of claim 33. Therefore, Steele in view of Diekmann does not teach the limitations of claims 34 and 35.
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762