DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-16 and 24-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19, 21-22, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele US 20180009982A1 in view of Abbott US 20180147777A1.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Steele teaches a polyamide powder (Title). Steele teaches the polyamide powder of embodiment 1 and 13 comprises 94-99% polyamide (Paragraph [0115] and Paragraph [0146]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 60-99% by weight polyamide. Steele also teaches the composition comprises less than 10% of an electro-magnetic radiation absorber (Paragraph [0090]. However, Steele is silent on the identity of the electromagnetic radiation absorber.
Abbott teaches 3D printing using a powder build material that may be a polyamide (Paragraph [0018]). Abbott also teaches that this polyamide powder may include magnetite as an EMR absorber (Paragraph [0064]). Steele teaches the polyamide powders are used in 3D printing applications (Paragraph [0003] and [0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Steele and Abbott to use magnetite as the EMR absorber because this represents an EMR absorber identified by Abbott as being suitable for use in applications similar to Steele. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07
Magnetite reads on the claimed magnetic detection additive. The amount of less than 10% overlaps with the claimed range of 1-40% of magnetic detection additive.
Steele also teaches the composition comprises 2.5-40 wt% of a flow agent (Paragraph [0118]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1-4.5wt% of a flow agent. Steele also teaches the polyamide powder comprises a D10 20-35 microns, a D50 of 45-70 microns and a D90 of less than 120 microns (Paragraph [0135]). This overlaps with the claimed range of D50 of 35-55 microns, D10 of 15-25 microns, D90 of less than 80-100 microns.
Regarding claim 19, Steele teaches a method of forming polyamide powder where a natural polyamide powder is compounded with a carbon black polyamide (Table 3). Carbon black is a pigment so this reads on the claimed detection additive. This reads on the limitations of claim 19.
Regarding claim 21, Steele teaches a relative solution viscosity of 1.4-2.0 measured according to the same ISO standard as is recited in the claim, ISO307 (Paragraph [0060]). The range of 1.4-2.0 overlaps with the claimed range of 0.9-1.4. This reads on the limitations of claim 21. Alternatively, Steele in view of Abbott results in a composition identical to the claimed composition and will therefore necessarily possess the claimed physical property. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 22, Steele teaches that the delta T of the composition is greater than 45C (Paragraph [0042]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 30-50C.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 is defined in terms of product-by-process, specifying a previous intended use of a portion of the polyamide-based powder. The claim does not appear to impart any physical or compositional distinction between the fresh polyamide powder and recovered polyamide powder.
When a product recited in product-by-process format reasonably appears to be the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show that the prior art product is in fact different from the claimed product, even though the products may be made by different processes. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
The product-by-process limitation in question does not appear to contribute additional structure to the claimed product and therefore need not be explicitly taught by the prior art in order to be taught by Steele in view of Abbott.
Steele teaches a relative solution viscosity of 1.4-2.0 measured according to the same ISO standard as is recited in the claim, ISO307 (Paragraph [0060]). The range of 1.4-2.0 overlaps with the claimed range of 0.9-1.4. This reads on the limitations of claim 21. Alternatively, Steele in view of Abbott results in a composition identical to the claimed composition and will therefore necessarily possess the claimed physical property. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele US 20180009982A1 in view of Abbott US 20180147777A1 in further view of Diekman US 20180093925 A1 as evidenced by Cobalt Blue: Technical Analysis and Applications of a High-Performance Composite Inorganic Pigment (retrieved on: <https://www.zpigments.com/cobalt-blue-technical-analysis-and-applications-of-a-high-performance-composite-inorganic-pigment/#:~:text=and%20Chemical%20Stability-,I.,for%20outdoor%20and%20harsh%20environments> retrieved from: 1/5/2026).
Regarding claims 20 and 23, Steele teaches the composition can comprise a colorant or pigment but Steele is silent on the type of color imparting compound (Paragraph [0117]). Steele teaches the amount of colorant ranges from 0-5wt%. This overlaps with the claimed range of 0.05-5%.
Diekman teaches a polyamide powder used for sintering applications (Title). Steele teaches the polyamide powder can be used in sintering applications (Paragraph [0032]). Diekman teaches the composition can comprise from 0.05-5% of flow aids (Paragraph [0026]). Diekman teaches the polyamide powder can also comprise pigments and dyes (Paragraph [0024-0025). Diekman also teaches the composition can comprise metal powders that enhance magnetic properties (Paragraph [0027]).
Diekman teaches a similar polymer powder composition used in similar applications. Diekman teaches a colorant can be cobalt blue (Paragraph [0025]). Cobalt blue is a compound that comprises a spinel structure (Cobalt Blue: A Technical Analysis, Page 1). Diekman teaches a suitable colorant used in similar applications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select cobalt blue as the pigment in Steele’s composition as Diekman recognizes it as being suitable for use in the same capacity in similar compositions with similar end uses. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
As addressed in claim 1, Steele in view of Kirschvink also teaches the composition comprises less than 10% of an electro-magnetic radiation absorber which is magnetite (Steele, Paragraph [0090] and Kirschvink, Abstract). This overlaps with the claimed range of 1-40%.
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762