DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendments filed on 12/16/2023 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 31-32, the applicant recites “the rotary head”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this feature in the claims.
The Examiner will assume that claim 29 depends on 28, and that claims 31 and 32 both depend on 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dehlin et al. (WO2005032929).
Regarding claim 36 Dehlin discloses Lashing system for vertically securing a container or a stack of at least two containers (3) arranged one above the other with a stop (13) on board a ship with at least two lashing elements (1) (fig 1) and at least two stops on at least one surface such as a deck , a hatch cover or a lashing bridge (5) (fig 1).
Regarding claim 37, Dehlin further discloses that at least one of the two stops is provided on at least one platform (11) on the at least one surface (fig 1).
Regarding claim 38, Dehlin further discloses that the at least one stop is arranged displaceably on the platform (page 10 line 19-page11, line 30).
Regarding claim 39, Dehlin further discloses the lashing elements are arranged upwards or downwards starting from the stops (fig 1,).
Regarding claim 40, Dehlin further discloses that the stops are arranged centrally in relation to the container to be secured or on the outside in relation to the container to be secured (fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-26 and 31-35, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehlin et al. (WO 2005032929) and Bean (US 20150360599).
Regarding claims 22-24 and 33-35, Dehlin discloses a Lashing element for vertically connecting a container (3) or a stack of at least two containers arranged one above the other to a stop (13) on a surface (abstract, page 1, 1st paragraph), in particular on board a ship (abstract, page 1, 1st paragraph), with at least one element (13) for producing a releasable movable connection to the stop (page 8 line 24- page 9 line 18, abstract, figs 1-3), with at least one element (15) for producing a releasable connection to a corner fitting of the container (page 8 line 24- page 9 line 18, abstract, figs 1-3), wherein a pressure-resistant and tension- resistant connection exists between the at least one element for producing a releasable movable connection with the stop and the at least one element for producing a releasable connection with a corner fitting of the container( page 2 line 1 – page 3 line 13, abstract, figs 1-3).
Delhin is silent regarding the presence of at least one element for changing a length of the lashing element for adapting the length of the lashing element and for tensioning the lashing element between the container corner and the stop.
Bean teaches at least one element (6, 10) for changing a length of the lashing element for adapting the length of the lashing element and for tensioning the lashing element between the container corner and the stop ([0064], figs 1-7).
(Claim 23)Bean further teaches that at least one element for changing the length of the lashing element is a screw element (10) (figs 1-7, [0064]).
(Claim 24) Bean further teaches that the screw element has at least one opening (opening of 10 receiving rod 6, figs 2 and 6), which is provided with a thread (33) into which a threaded section (32) of a lashing rod (6) or a connecting rod can be screwed in and out ([0064], figs 2 and 6).
(Claim 33) Bean further teaches that the lashing element has a threaded rod section (33) and a lashing rod section (32), which are detachably connected to one another (fig 6, [0064]).
(Claim 34) Bean further teaches that the threaded rod section has a receptacle (opening of 10 containing threads 33, figs 2, 6) for a connecting element (portion of 32 mating with 33 ) of the lashing rod section (figs 2, 6, [0064]).
(Claim 35) Bean further teaches that the receptacle is locked relative to the connecting element by means of a locking element (threads disclosed in [0064]).
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Delhin and Bean before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Delhin to include the element for changing the length of the lashing element as taught by Bean in order to make adjustments.
Regarding claim 25, Delhi further discloses that the at least one element for producing a releasable movable connection with the stop is a ball element or a receptacle for a ball element (23) (page 9 line 24-page 10 line 2).
Regarding claim 26, Delhi further discloses that in the at least one element for establishing a detachable connection with a corner fitting of the container is a lashing fitting (15) (page 9 lines 1- 24).
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehlin et al. (WO 2005032929) and Bean (US 20150360599)) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Behr et al. (DE4030140A1).
Regarding claim 27, Delhi is silent regarding the fact that the lashing fitting is a rotatable cone element for engaging in an opening of the corner fitting of the container to produce a positive connection.
Behr teaches that the lashing fitting is a rotatable cone element (17) for engaging in an opening of the corner fitting of the container to produce a positive connection (figs 1-5).
(Claim 28) Behr further teaches that the lashing fitting has a rotary head (12) which is arranged movably relative to a rod section of the lashing rod(figs 1-5).
(Claim 29) Behr further teaches that the lashing fitting has an insert element (14) which can be inserted into the opening of the corner fitting of the container (figs 1-5, page 2 ,last paragraph).
(Claim 30) Behr further teaches that the insert element has the dimension of the opening of the corner fitting of the container, so that after insertion of the insert element into the opening there is a positive connection in the plane of the opening (page 3, 4th paragraph).
(Claim 31 )Behr further discloses the cone element (17) is arranged rotatably on the rotary head (12) (figs 1-5).
(Claim 32) Behr further discloses that the insert element (14) is arranged between the cone element (17) and the rotary head (12) (fig 1).
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Delhin, Behr and Bean before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by the combination of Delhin and Bean to include the lashing fitting as taught Behr in order to achieve a secure and rigid connection between a bar and an extension (page 2)
Conclusion
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
1/14/2026