DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 07/21/2021.
Drawings
Figure 4, 5, 6, and 12 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 5, 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 4, 5, 10 recite “when the laser processing device is viewed from a side-surface side of the steel sheet”. The phrase should be changed to either transverse or longitudinal. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
dust collection mechanism unit in claims 1, 3, 15, interpreted as port as described in paragraph [43 ] of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “only at one of an upstream side or a downstream side” (claim 3 depends on claim 1, claim 1 recites “only at one of an upstream side or a downstream side”), and the claim also recites "only on the downstream side" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshii et al., US 20170106471 (hereafter Yoshii).
Regarding claim 1, A laser processing device comprising: (Fig. 1)
a laser light source unit (40) that irradiates, with laser light, a surface (Fig. 4) …conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction; ( Paragraph [41] teaches “the chuck table 11 holding the plate-shaped workpiece W is moved in the feeding direction shown by an arrow X1 in FIG. 5A” )
Fig. 4 in Yoshii
…a first nozzle (43) that injects gas toward an irradiation site of the laser light (Fig. 4), parallel to an optical axis direction of the laser light;(Fig. 4)
and a dust collection mechanism unit (68) that is provided only at one of an upstream side or a downstream side of the irradiation site, in the conveyance direction, (Fig. 4) and that collects, from a dust collection port, laser sputter generated from the irradiation site. (Paragraph [8] teaches “debris removing means for removing the debris scattering from the plate-shaped workpiece due to the application of the laser beam passed through the laser beam passage;”)
of a steel sheet (the limitation is directed to a material or article worked upon by an apparatus. MPEP 2115 sets forth that “The courts have held that "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935), In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967).”)
Regarding claim 3,
The laser processing device according to claim 1 , wherein the dust collection mechanism unit is installed only on the downstream side in the conveyance direction. (Fig. 4 in Yoshii)
Regarding claim 6,
The laser processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a rectifying plate provided so as to face the dust collection port of the laser sputter in the dust collection mechanism unit. (Sidewall 63 in Fig. 4 in Yoshii)
Regarding claim 7,
The laser processing device according to claim 1 , further comprising a second nozzle that is provided so as to face the dust collection port of the laser sputter in the dust collection mechanism unit and that injects gas toward the dust collection port. (Air discharge port 66 in Fig. 4 in Yoshii)
Regarding claim 8,
The laser processing device according to claim 7, wherein an injection amount of the gas injected from the second nozzle is less than or equal to a suction amount of the dust collection mechanism unit. (Paragraph [49] in Yoshii teaches “ in the case that the flow rate of air by the air discharge port 66 was 25 L/minute and the flow rate of air by the suction port 67 was 150 L/minute to 250 L/minute, no debris stayed near the position directly above the work point P.”)
Regarding claim 10,
The laser processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when the laser processing device is viewed from a side-surface side of the steel sheet, an upper surface of the dust collection mechanism unit has a structure in which a distance from a surface of the steel sheet increases in a direction in which the laser sputter is sucked from the dust collection port. (Fig. 4 in Yoshii teaches a tapered suction port 68)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshii.
Regarding claim 2,
The laser processing device according to claim 1, wherein an injection amount of the gas injected from the first nozzle is less than or equal to a suction amount of the dust collection mechanism unit. (Paragraph [49] in Yoshii teaches “ in the case that the flow rate of air by the air discharge port 66 was 25 L/minute and the flow rate of air by the suction port 67 was 150 L/minute to 250 L/minute, no debris stayed near the position directly above the work point P.”)
Even though Yoshii is silent about the flow rate of first nozzle, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to design the flow rate of first nozzle to be less than that of the suction amount. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to have a suction flow rate higher or equal to injected air flow rate from both nozzles to create a desired air flow.
Regarding claim 9,
The laser processing device according to claim 1, wherein a suction flow velocity by the dust collection mechanism unit is 15 m/s or more and 50 m/s or less. (Yoshii teaches “it is preferable to adjust the balance between the flow rate of air by the air discharge port 66 and the flow rate of air by the suction port 67, in order to prevent the stay of the debris directly above the work point P (in order to ensure a proper flow velocity)” in paragraph [49]. Thus, Yoshii teaches that suction flow velocity is a result effective variable optimized based on the injection air velocity.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the suction flow velocity as taught in Yoshii. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to prevent the stay of debris in the irradiation area as taught in paragraph [49] in Yoshii. Additionally, MPEP 2144.05-II sets forth that ““[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)”.
Claim(s) 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshii as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masuda et al., US 20210245299 (hereafter Masuda).
Regarding claim 4, The laser processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when the laser processing device is viewed from a side-surface side of the steel sheet, a separation distance in the conveyance direction between the irradiation site of the laser light on the steel sheet and the dust collection port of the dust collection mechanism unit is 25 mm or less. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Masuda teaches opening 48 on bottom wall 43 in Fig. 3. Paragraph [34] teaches “the opening 48 is of a substantially square or rectangular shape having a size ranging from 20 to 30 mm.” Thus, if the size of the opening is 20 mm, then the distance from the irradiation site to the dust collection port is less than 25 mm.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to design the distance from the irradiation site to the dust collection port is less than 25 mm as taught in Masuda to the device in Yoshii. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The transmitting portion 47 defined in the slanted portion 41 and the opening 48 defined in the bottom wall 43 are generally vertically opposite each other, and they both allow the laser beam 25 to pass therethrough” as taught in paragraph [34] in Masuda.
Regarding claim 5,
The laser processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when the laser processing device is viewed from a side-surface side of the steel sheet, a minimum value of a height from the irradiation site of the laser light on the steel sheet to a lower end of the dust collection port of the dust collection mechanism unit is 10 mm or less. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Masuda teaches “the vertical distance between the bottom wall 43 and the holding surface 11 of the chuck table 10 is set to approximately 5 mm” in paragraph [33].
Fig. 3 in Masuda
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to design the height from the irradiation site to the dust collection port to be less than 10 mm as taught in Masuda to the device in Yoshii. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The bottom wall 43 and the holding surface 11 of the chuck table 10 are spaced from each other by a vertical distance that is equal to the vertical distance between the first side 45 and the holding surface 11 of the chuck table 10” as taught in paragraph [33] in Masuda.
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshii as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koichi et al., JP H10202452 (hereafter Koichi).
Regarding claim 11, The laser processing device according to claim 1, wherein a carbon-made plate is disposed on a vertical direction upper portion of an inner wall of the dust collection mechanism unit. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Koichi teaches a heat resistant plate 1 made of carbon to block spatters generated during laser processing on page 4, paragraph 10-11.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the carbon plate as taught in Koichi to in any or all sections of suction port in Yoshii. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Even when sputters 5 are produced from a work W during laser machining, the sputters 5 are blocked by the heat resistant plate 1. Consequently, the sputters 5 do not intrude to on an upper surface of a die D provided on a lower part turret 12, and stable quality of a punched, especially molded product is secured” as taught in abstract in Koichi.
Regarding claim 12,
The laser processing device according to claim 1, wherein a wall surface of the dust collection mechanism unit is configured of a carbon-made plate. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Koichi teaches a heat resistant plate 1 made of carbon to block spatters generated during laser processing on page 4, paragraph 10-11.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the carbon plate as taught in Koichi to in any or all sections of suction port in Yoshii. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Even when sputters 5 are produced from a work W during laser machining, the sputters 5 are blocked by the heat resistant plate 1. Consequently, the sputters 5 do not intrude to on an upper surface of a die D provided on a lower part turret 12, and stable quality of a punched, especially molded product is secured” as taught in abstract in Koichi.
Claim(s) 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshii as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hong et al., KR 20190077730 (hereafter Hong).
Regarding claim 13,
The laser processing device according to claim 1, wherein the laser processing device is installed between adjacent conveyance rolls provided with a predetermined spacing along the conveyance direction. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Fig. 1 in Hong teaches laser beam 16 installed between rollers 8a and 8b.)
Fig. 1 in Hong
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add conveyance rolls and position them as taught in Hong to the device in Yoshii to process steel sheet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “a steel sheet support roll position adjustment step of controlling a vertical position of a steel sheet while supporting the steel sheet” as taught in abstract in Hong.
Regarding claim 14,
The laser processing device according to claim 1, wherein the laser processing device is installed above a roll surface of a steel sheet support roll that changes the conveyance direction. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Fig. 1 in Hong teaches laser beam 16 installed above roll 9.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add conveyance rolls and position them as taught in Hong to the device in Yoshii to process steel sheet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “a steel sheet support roll position adjustment step of controlling a vertical position of a steel sheet while supporting the steel sheet” as taught in abstract in Hong.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshii , and further in view Lim et al., US 20210129203 (hereafter Lim).
A laser processing method comprising: irradiating, with laser light from a laser light source unit, (Fig.4 in Yoshii)
…and injecting gas from a first nozzle (43) toward an irradiation site of the laser light, parallel to an optical axis direction of the laser light; (Fig. 4) and collecting laser sputter generated from the irradiation site from a dust collection port (68) of a dust collection mechanism unit (61) provided only at one of an upstream side or a downstream side of the irradiation site, in the conveyance direction.(Fig. 4)
a surface of a steel sheet conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction, (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Lim teaches in abstract “a groove forming unit for forming a groove in a cutting-scheduled area in front of the cutting unit with reference to the steel plate transfer direction;”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method in Yoshii to process steel plate as taught in Lim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “in the field of a cold-rolling process, the production of advanced high strength steel (AHSS) has increased, and the development of a high strength steel plate (S) having improved strength has been continuously conducted” as taught in paragraph [7] in Lim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12, respectively of copending Application No. 18/728075 (reference application, hereafter ‘075). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as described in Table 1 below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Table 1
Instant claim 18/571267 (12/18/2023)
Reference claim 1 (‘075, 07/10/2024)
Claim 1. A laser processing device comprising: a laser light source unit that irradiates, with laser light, a surface of a steel sheet conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction;
A laser processing device comprising: a laser light source that irradiates, with a laser light, a surface of a steel sheet being conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction;
a first nozzle that injects gas toward an irradiation site of the laser light, parallel to an optical axis direction of the laser light; and
a gas injector that injects a first gas in parallel with an optical axis direction of the laser light toward an irradiation site of the laser light;
a dust collection mechanism unit that is provided only at one of an upstream side or a downstream side of the irradiation site, in the conveyance direction, and that collects, from a dust collection port, laser sputter generated from the irradiation site.
a dust collector that is provided at either an upstream side or a downstream side of the irradiation site in the conveyance direction and that collects laser spatter generated from the irradiation site via a dust collection port;
Claim 15. A laser processing method comprising: irradiating, with laser light from a laser light source unit, a surface of a steel sheet conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction,
Claim 12. A laser processing method comprising : irradiating, with a laser light, a surface of a steel sheet being conveyed in a predetermined conveyance direction, using a laser light source;
and injecting gas from a first nozzle toward an irradiation site of the laser light, parallel to an optical axis direction of the laser light; and
stirring up, from the surface of the steel sheet, laser spatter generated from an irradiation site by injecting a first gas in parallel with an optical axis direction of the laser light toward the irradiation site of the laser light, using a gas injector;
collecting laser sputter generated from the irradiation site from a dust collection port of a dust collection mechanism unit provided only at one of an upstream side or a downstream side of the irradiation site, in the conveyance direction.
collecting the laser spatter via a dust collection port of a dust collector provided at either an upstream side or a downstream side of the irradiation site in the conveyance direction;
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761