DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2024 and 09/30/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 10-14, drawn to a product, a polyacetal resin composition in the reply filed on 04/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-9 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, directed to a method for producing a polyacetal resin composition, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Therefore, claims 1-7 and 10-14 are currently under examination on the merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 13 recites “190[Symbol font/0x7F]C” in line 2, Examiner interprets this as a typographical error, this will be “190°C”, similar as claim 6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 1-7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the following recites the term,
"(A)" in line 3,
"(B)" in line 4 and 6,
“(C)” in line 5 and 8,
in parenthesis, renders the claim indefinite, because it is not clear whether the term in the parenthesis is optional or required by the claim.
Claim 2-7 and 10-13 all recites either of these “(A), “(B)” and “(C)” terms in the parenthesis, renders the claims indefinite, because it is not clear whether the term in the parenthesis is optional or required by the claim.
Claim 6 and 13 further recites the phrase “(2.16 kg, 190°C)” in line in parenthesis, renders the claims indefinite, because it is not clear whether the term in the parenthesis is optional or required by the claim.
Claim 14 recites a term “(D)” in parenthesis, renders the claim indefinite, because it is not clear whether the term in the parenthesis is optional or required by the claim.
Claims 2-7 and 10-14 are being dependent on claim 1 and are also rejected for the same reason applied to claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Yunyong et.al. (CN103865229B) (machine translation, original provided in the IDS) (Li hereafter) and further in view of Nobuyuki Hamakura, et.al. [US20130133481A1] (Hamakura hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, and 7, Li teaches a polyacetal resin composition, the polyacetal resin composition comprising:
100 parts by weight of a polyacetal resin (A) (100 parts by weight of polyoxymethylene resin (see Li’s claim 1 and [0052]));
0.3 parts by weight of a fatty acid metal salt (B) (0.3 parts by weight of a formic acid absorbent (see Li’s claim 1, [0052]), and Li’s example of the formic acid absorbent is any one of zinc stearate (fatty acid metal salt) etc. (see Li’s claim 7, [0052])), and ;
0.2 to 10.0 parts by weight of a fatty acid ester compound (C) (0.5 parts by weight of lubricant and Li’s example of the lubricant is pentaerythritol tetrastearate glyceryl ester (fatty acid ester compound) (see Li’s claim 7, [0052])).
Li’s disclosed parts by weight of fatty acid metal salt, and fatty acid ester compound, all are within the as recited range in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have selected and produced a polyacetal resin composition from the teachings of Li that falls within the instantly-claimed ranges, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Li further teaches the fatty acid metal salt (B) is fatty acid zinc (Li’s example formic acid absorbent is zinc stearate (fatty acid metal salt) (see Li’s claim 7, [0052])); and
the fatty acid ester compound (C) is a compound having 4 ester bonds in a single molecule thereof (Li’s example of lubricant pentaerythritol tetrastearate glyceryl ester, (a fatty acid ester compound having 4 ester bonds in a single molecule) (see Li’s claim 7, [0052])”.
Li’s disclosed ester bond of fatty acid ester compound is within as recited range in the instant claim.
Li teaches polyacetal resin composition is being kneaded (raw materials, polyoxymethylene resins are added to the high-speed mixer and continue mixing and finally uses in a twin-screw extruder for melt mixing) and extrusion granulation (see Li’s claim 2, [0028]).
Although, Li is silent about the “metal powders”, claim recites “polyacetal resin composition is used by being kneaded with metal powders”, an intended use without defining or limiting any structure. As because, as shown above, Li’s disclosed polyacetal resin composition is similar to the claimed composition and resin composition is being kneaded, and Li’s disclosed resin has good thermal stability and can be used in applications with extremely stringent requirements for thermal stability, which is conducive to the widespread promotion of the resin (see Li’s Abstract), and Li further teaches the binder has excellent comprehensive performance and is used to replace metals and alloys in many fields such as automobiles, electronics and electrical appliances, for various precision machinery and components because of its convenient processing and molding, inexpensive and readily available raw materials, especially its unique mechanical properties, oil resistance, chemical resistance, low water absorption and good thermal and electrical properties (see Li’s [0004]), therefore, with all these teachings of Li, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, Li’s polyacetal resin composition expected to be used with metal powders for intended use of the application.
However, Hamakura teaches a metal resin composition, comprising the polyacetal resin composition and a metal powder (a composition for injection molding includes a binder containing a polyacetal-based resin, an inorganic powder composed of at least one of a metal material, (see Hamakura’s Abstract)). Hamakura’s metal powder examples includes a wide variety of metals, alloy, and a mixture of two or more metals and can be used in a wide range of application (see Hamakura’s [0040]-[0048]). Hamakura teaches the binder is a component for binding inorganic powder particles to one another, and contains a polyacetal based resin as a component A, a lubricant as a component C (see Hamakura’s [0037]), examples of the component C further include a fatty acid metal salt (see Hamakura’s [0068]), particularly, magnesium stearate, zinc stearate, etc. (see Hamakura’s [0072]) and another component, such examples of another component include fatty acid esters (see Hamakura’s [0084])).
Hamakura further teaches a method for producing a sintered compact, including: kneading metal powder and a binder containing a polyacetal-based resin, and a lubricant to obtain a kneaded material; molding the kneaded material to obtain a molded body; and degreasing the molded body, followed by firing, to obtain a sintered compact (see Hamakura’s [0028]) and Hamakura’s composition for injection molding capable of producing a molded body having high shape retainability when degreasing is obtained. As a result, the sintered compact which is less deformed, chipped, or the like and a high quality product is obtained (see Hamakura’s [0011]).
Hamakura is in the same field of a polyacetal-based resin binder including fatty acid metal salts and fatty acid ester and thus considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as well as Li.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to combine Hamakura’s teachings of using metal powder with the polyacetal resin of Li for producing a molded and sintered compact body for having high shape retainability, less deformed, chipped, and thus obtaining a high quality product.
Regarding claim 2, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 2, as shown above, wherein Li already discloses a fatty acid of the fatty acid metal salt is a fatty acid having 18 carbon atoms, as Li’s example of the formic acid absorbent, zinc stearate (fatty acid metal salt) (see Li’s claim 7) contains stearic acid (C₁₈H₃₆O₂).
Regarding claim 3, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 3, as shown above, wherein Li already discloses the fatty acid metal salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of zinc stearate, (Li’s example of zinc stearate etc. (see Li’s claim 7, [0052])).
Regarding claim 4, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 4, as shown above, wherein Li already discloses a fatty acid of the fatty acid ester compound is a fatty acid having 18 carbon atoms (Li’s example of the lubricant pentaerythritol tetrastearate glyceryl ester, containing a fatty acid, stearic acid, (C₁₈H₃₆O₂) (see Li’s claim 7, [0052])).
Regarding claim 5, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 5, as shown above, wherein Li already discloses the fatty acid ester compound (C) is pentaerythritol tetrastearate (Li’s example of the lubricant is pentaerythritol tetrastearate ester (see Li’s claim 7, [0052])).
Regarding claim 6, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 6, in addition, Li discloses a melt index of the polyacetal resin (A) is 20 to 500 g/10 minutes (2.16 kg, 190°C) (the melt index of the polyoxymethylene is 2.0-500.0 g/10 min, (see Li’s claim 7) and the melt index is measured according to standard ISO 1133, 190℃, 2.16kg (see Li’s [0039]).
Li’s disclosed melt index is overlapping with as recited range in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have selected and produced melt index of a polyacetal resin composition from the teachings of Li that falls within the instantly-claimed ranges, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Regarding claim 10, all the above discussions regarding claim 2 are applicable to claim 10, as shown above, wherein Li already discloses the fatty acid metal salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of zinc stearate, (Li’s example of zinc stearate etc. (see Li’s claim 7)).
Regarding claim 11, all the above discussions regarding claim 10 are applicable to claim 11, as shown above, wherein Li already discloses a fatty acid of the fatty acid ester compound is a fatty acid having 18 carbon atoms (Li’s example of the lubricant pentaerythritol tetrastearate glyceryl ester, containing a fatty acid, stearic acid, (C₁₈H₃₆O₂) (see Li’s claim 7)).
Regarding claim 12, all the above discussions regarding claim 11 are applicable to claim 12, as shown above, wherein Li already discloses the fatty acid ester compound (C) is pentaerythritol tetrastearate (Li’s example of the lubricant is pentaerythritol tetrastearate ester (see Li’s claim 7).
Regarding claim 13, all the above discussions regarding claim 11 are applicable to claim 12, as shown above, wherein Li already discloses Li discloses a melt index of the polyacetal resin (A) is 20 to 500 g/10 minutes (2.16 kg, 190°C) (the melt index of the polyoxymethylene is 2.0-500.0 g/10 min, (see Li’s claim 7) and the melt index is measured according to standard ISO 1133, 190℃, 2.16kg (see Li’s [0039]).
Li’s disclosed melt index is overlapping with as recited range in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have selected and produced melt index of a polyacetal resin composition from the teachings of Li that falls within the instantly-claimed ranges, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Regarding claim 14, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 and 13 are applicable to claim 14, but Li is silent about a metal resin composition comprises a metal powder.
However, Hamakura teaches a metal resin composition, comprising the polyacetal resin composition and a metal powder (a composition for injection molding includes a binder containing a polyacetal-based resin, an inorganic powder composed of at least one of a metal material, (see Hamakura’s Abstract)). Hamakura’s metal powder examples includes a wide variety of metals, alloy, and a mixture of two or more metals (see Hamakura’s [0040]-[0048]). Hamakura teaches the binder is a component for binding inorganic powder particles to one another, and contains a polyacetal based resin as a component A, a lubricant as a component C (see Hamakura’s [0037]), examples of the component C further include a fatty acid metal salt (see Hamakura’s [0068]), particularly, magnesium stearate, zinc stearate, etc. (see Hamakura’s [0072]) and another component, such examples of another component include fatty acid esters (see Hamakura’s [0084])).
Hamakura further teaches a method for producing a sintered compact, including: kneading metal powder and a binder containing a polyacetal-based resin, and a lubricant to obtain a kneaded material; molding the kneaded material to obtain a molded body; and degreasing the molded body, followed by firing, to obtain a sintered compact (see Hamakura’s [0028]) and Hamakura’s composition for injection molding capable of producing a molded body having high shape retainability when degreasing is obtained. As a result, the sintered compact which is less deformed, chipped, or the like and a high quality product is obtained (see Hamakura’s [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to combine Hamakura’s teachings of using metal powder with the polyacetal resin of Li for producing a molded and sintered body for having high shape retainability, less deformed, chipped, or the like and a high quality product is obtained.
Claim 1-5, 7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikio Oka et.al. (US5948844A) (Oka hereafter) and further in view of Nobuyuki Hamakura, et.al. [US20130133481A1] (Hamakura hereafter).
Regarding claim 1 and 7, Oka teaches a polyacetal resin composition, the polyacetal resin composition comprising:
100 parts by weight of a polyacetal resin (A) (A polyacetal resin composition comprising 100 parts by weight, (see Oka’s claim 1));
0.01 to 3.0 parts by weight of a fatty acid metal salt (B) (0.01 to 3.0 parts by weight of at least one aliphatic carboxylic acid metal salt (see Oka’s claim 1)) and Oka further teaches when the amount of fatty acid metal salt is less than 0.01 parts by weight, the thermal aging resistance of a polyacetal resin composition becomes poor, on the other hand, when the amount is more than 3.0 parts by weight, not only does the polyacetal resin composition undergo vigorous discoloration during aging, leading to a problem that the appearance of a molded product obtained from the polyacetal resin composition becomes poor, but also the anti-mold deposit properties of the polyacetal resin composition are lowered (see Oka’s Col. 6, line 65-67, Col. 7, line 1-9), and ;
0.1 to 5.0 parts by weight of a fatty acid ester compound (C) (0.1 to 5.0 parts by weight of at least one additive (see Oka’s claim 5), wherein said mold release agent of Oka’s claim 5 is at least one member selected from the group consisting of a fatty acid ester (see Oka’s claim 10)).
Oka’s disclosed parts by weight of fatty acid metal salt, and fatty acid ester compound, are overlapping with as recited range in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have selected and produced a polyacetal resin composition from the teachings of Oka that falls within the instantly-claimed ranges, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Oka further teaches the fatty acid metal salt (B) is fatty acid zinc, fatty acid magnesium, or a combination thereof (carboxylic acid metal salt is selected from the group consisting of different metals, of these metals, magnesium, zinc etc. are especially preferred (see Oka’s Col. 6, line 34-59); and
the fatty acid ester compound (C) is a compound having 4 ester bonds in a single molecule thereof (Oka’s example of a fatty acid ester compound having 1-4 ester bonds (monoester, a diester and a triester, tetraester) in a single molecule, some examples of Oka’s triester, tetraester are pentaerythritol tetrastearate, sorbitan tristearate, sorbitan tribehenate etc.) (see Oka’s Col. 14, line 67, Col. 15, line 5-7).
Oka’s disclosed ester bond of fatty acid ester compound, is overlapping with as recited range in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have selected and produced a fatty acid ester compound in a polyacetal resin composition from the teachings of Oka that falls within the instantly-claimed ranges, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Oka teaches polyacetal resin composition is being kneaded (generally, the polyacetal resin composition can be obtained by melt kneading in an extruder (see Oka’s Col. 15, line 62-64)).
But Oka is silent about the “metal powders”, and thus, “polyacetal resin composition is used by being kneaded with metal powders”.
However, Hamakura teaches a metal resin composition, comprising the polyacetal resin composition and a metal powder (a composition for injection molding includes a binder containing a polyacetal-based resin, an inorganic powder composed of at least one of a metal material, (see Hamakura’s Abstract)). Hamakura’s metal powder examples includes a wide variety of metals, alloy, and a mixture of two or more metals (see Hamakura’s [0040]-[0048]). Hamakura teaches the binder is a component for binding inorganic powder particles to one another, and contains a polyacetal based resin as a component A, a lubricant as a component C (see Hamakura’s [0037]), examples of the component C further include a fatty acid metal salt (see Hamakura’s [0068]), particularly, magnesium stearate, zinc stearate, etc. (see Hamakura’s [0072]) and another component, such examples of another component include fatty acid esters (see Hamakura’s [0084])).
Hamakura further teaches a method for producing a sintered compact, including: kneading metal powder and a binder containing a polyacetal-based resin, and a lubricant to obtain a kneaded material; molding the kneaded material to obtain a molded body; and degreasing the molded body, followed by firing, to obtain a sintered compact (see Hamakura’s [0028]) and Hamakura’s composition for injection molding capable of producing a molded body having high shape retainability when degreasing is obtained. As a result, the sintered compact which is less deformed, chipped, or the like and a high quality product is obtained (see Hamakura’s [0011]).
Hamakura is in the same field of a polyacetal-based resin binder including fatty acid metal salts and fatty acid ester and thus considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as well as Oka.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to combine Hamakura’s teachings of using metal powder with the polyacetal resin of Oka for producing a molded and sintered body for having high shape retainability, less deformed, chipped, or the like and a high quality product is obtained.
Regarding claim 2, Oka teaches a fatty acid of the fatty acid metal salt (B) is a fatty acid having 10 to 36 carbon atoms (carboxylic acid metal salts to be used in the present invention are saturated or unsaturated aliphatic carboxylic acid metal salts having 10 to 36 carbon atoms (see Oka’s Col. 6, line 37-40)), which is overlapping with as recited range in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have selected and produced a fatty acid ester compound in a polyacetal resin composition from the teachings of Oka that falls within the instantly-claimed ranges, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Regarding claim 3 and 10, Oka teaches the fatty acid metal salt (B) is at least one selected from the group consisting of magnesium laurate, zinc laurate, magnesium stearate, zinc stearate, magnesium behenate, zinc behenate, magnesium montanate, and zinc montanate (Oka’s examples of saturated aliphatic carboxylic acids include lauric acid, stearic acid, behenic acid, montanic acid, etc. and carboxylic acid metal salt is selected from the group consisting of magnesium, zinc etc. are especially preferred (see Oka’s Col. 6, line 34-59)).
Regarding claim 4 and 11, Oka teaches a fatty acid of the fatty acid ester compound (C) is a fatty acid having 10 or more carbon atoms (as a mold release agent, selected from the group consisting of a fatty acid ester, preferably one which is obtained from fatty acid having 10 or more carbon atoms (see Oka’s Col. 14, line 23-30)), which is overlapping with as recited range in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have selected and produced a fatty acid ester compound in a polyacetal resin composition from the teachings of Oka that falls within the instantly-claimed ranges, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Regarding claim 5 and 12, Oka teaches the fatty acid ester compound (C) is pentaerythritol tetrastearate, sorbitan tristearate, sorbitan tribehenate, or a combination thereof (Oka’s some example of a fatty acid ester are pentaerythritol tetrastearate, sorbitan tristearate, sorbitan tribehenate etc. (see Oka’s Col. 14, line 67, Col. 15, line 5-7)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kobayashi Takahiro, et.al. [JP2008163324A] (machine translation, Kobayashi hereafter), Kobayashi teaches a metal resin composition comprising (a) a thermoplastic resin and (b) an inorganic filler (see Kobayashi’s [0009]), wherein the a) thermoplastic resin can be any of examples including polyoxymethylene resin (polyacetal resin) (see Kobayashi’s [0012]) and examples of inorganic fillers include metal powders, metal flakes, metal ribbons, metal fibers, (see Kobayashi’s [0037], [0039], [0040]). Kobayashi’s a metal resin composition further contains the following (c) fatty acid metal salts, fatty acid ester compounds, etc. for providing bonding properties at the filler interface and improving flow during processing. Examples of such additives include fatty acid metal salts such as magnesium stearate, zinc stearate, magnesium montanate, zinc montanate, etc. and their derivatives, (see Kobayashi’s [0057]) and examples of such fatty acid ester compounds are sorbitan tristearate etc. (see Kobayashi’s [0057]). Kobayashi also teaches the melt flow rate (MFR; ASTM D 1238, 190°C, 2.16 kg load) is preferably 0.01 to 70 g/10 min. If the MFR is less than 0.01 g/10 min, the fluidity is poor, and if it exceeds 70 g/10 min, the impact strength may be low depending on the shape of the molded product, so caution is necessary (see Kobayashi’s [0078]). Kobayashi further teaches the resin composition is useful for applications such as high heat dissipation, metal substitutes, ceramic substitutes, electromagnetic shielding, high-precision parts, and high conductivity, specifically for various automobile and electronic components (see Kobayashi’s [0086]).
/NAZMUN NAHAR SHAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1738