DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 12/18/2023. Claims 1, 4-11, 16-21 and 24-28 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-29 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/18/2023 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-17 and 19-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (US 20200169921 A1).
Consider claim 1, Zhu discloses an electronic device (read as the terminal device, figures 1 and 4, par [0061] and [0077]) comprising:
a display; and at least one circuitry (read as the display device 103 and processor 101, figures 1 and 4, par [0061], [0077] and [0061]),
wherein the at least one circuitry acquires, from a communication network theoretically divided into a plurality of slices each corresponding to a service type, identifiers each assigned to a respective one of the plurality of slices via a communication interface (read as the terminal receives allowed-NSSAI by using a registration accept message from network side via a network/communication interface, wherein the allow-NSSAI includes S-NSSAI-1, S-NSSAI-2 and S-NSSAI-3, each identifying a respective network slice, figure 4, see table 1 and par [0101]-[0103] and [0106] and [0131]), and
displays, based on the acquired identifiers, a first image indicating predetermined information about the communication network on the display (read as the terminal performs split-screen display on service feature information of different network slices, and display service feature information of the S-NSSAI-1, S-NSSAI-2 and S-NSSAI-3 on corresponding display interfaces, for example, “China Mobile – high network speed” constitute as text image, figure 5, par [0107]-[0109]).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses wherein the first image is an image indicating number of slices corresponding to the communication network (read as the terminal performs split-screen display, based on the method described in step 41 and step 42, on service feature information corresponding to three (3) different network slices that can be accessed by the terminal in a current location, which the image displayed on the split-screen display visually indicates three (3) slices (the number of slices) corresponding to the network, figures 5 and 7A, par [0108] and [0117]).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses wherein the first image is an image indicating a feature of the communication network (read as the service feature information displayed by the terminal include features of the communication network, such as network speed and service provider information, which are features of the communication network, figure 5, par [0091] and [0105]-[0106]).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses wherein the at least one circuitry displays, on the display, the first image together with a fourth image indicating quality of communication with the communication network (read as, for example, the top text image comprising text “China Mobile-high network speed” constitutes as a first image, and the bottom text image comprising text “Network slice 1” constitutes as a fourth image as shown in figure 5, par [0108]-[0111]).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses wherein the at least one circuitry displays the first image based on a predetermined operation (read as the terminal receives an input operation of the user by using the display device, responds to an event generated by input operation and performs the corresponding display behavior including slice-related display processing, par [0105]).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Zhu discloses wherein the at least one circuitry displays a third image different from the first image on the display, and displays the first image based on a predetermined operation associated with the third image displayed on the display (read as, for example, the bottom text image comprising text “Network slice 1” constitutes as a third image as shown in figure 5, and the top text image comprising text “China Mobile-high network speed” constitutes as the first image is displayed based on the speed determination operation associated with the bottom text image comprising text “Network slice 1” that constitutes as the third image, par [0108]-[0111]).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 2 above, Zhu discloses wherein the number of slices is number of slices satisfying a predetermined condition (read as display instruction information is used to instruct an operating system of the terminal to control to perform split-screen display, on a user interface (UI), on service feature information of different slice types that can be provided by the network side in a PLMN in which the terminal is currently located, figure 5, par [0104]).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Zhu discloses wherein the number of slices satisfying the predetermined condition is number of slices used before by the electronic device (read as display instruction information is used to instruct an operating system of the terminal to control to perform split-screen display, on a user interface (UI), on service feature information of different slice types that can be provided by the network side in a PLMN in which the terminal is currently located, and visually indicates three (3) slices (the number of slices) corresponding to the network, figures 5 and 7, par [0104], [0108] and [0117]).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 12 above, Zhu discloses wherein the number of slices satisfying the predetermined condition is number of slices that satisfies predetermined communication amount or communication frequency (read as the service feature information of the S-NSSAI that is displayed on the first display interface, the user may associate, based on a preference of the user and a requirement on a network speed, an application of video and game types frequently used by the user with the identifier of the first network slice corresponding to the first display interface, thereby achieving good user experience, par [0110]).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 12 above, Zhu discloses wherein the number of slices satisfying the predetermined condition is number of slices that satisfies predetermined quality of communication (read as the service feature information of the S-NSSAI that is displayed on the first display interface, the user may associate, based on a preference of the user and a requirement on a network speed (high, medium, low, which are quality of communication), an application of video and game types frequently used by the user with the identifier of the first network slice corresponding to the first display interface, thereby achieving good user experience, par [0106] and [0110]).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses wherein the at least one circuitry displays, on the display, a fifth image indicating the service types (read as the text image displayed for different types of applications, figures 5 and 7A, par [0110]-[0111] and [0117]-[0118]).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Zhu discloses wherein the at least one circuitry displays the fifth image based on a predetermined operation associated with the first image displayed on the display (read as the text image displayed for different types of applications, such as game type, figures 5 and 7A, par [0110]-[0111] and [0117]-[0118]).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 16 above, Zhu discloses wherein the at least one circuitry performs, based on a user operation to select one of the service types indicated on the fifth image, on/off control of use of communication via a slice corresponding to the selected service type (read as the use of user interface to select application (par [0064] and [0066]), and the prompt information of “whether to immediately associate the APP with the slice”, and an input instruction that can be selected by a user, that is, confirm or cancel, are displayed on a user interface of a terminal, par [0113]).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses a notifier, wherein the at least one circuitry determines, based on the identifiers acquired via the communication interface, whether the number of slices corresponding to the communication network is changed, and if the number of slices corresponding to the communication network is changed, notifies such change via the notifier (read as the visually displayed number of slices in figure 5 would change based on based on a preference of the user and a requirement on a network speed, an application of video and game types frequently used by the user with the identifier of the first network slice corresponding to the first display interface, thereby achieving good user experience, the visually displayed number of slice in figure 5 would be read as a notifier on change of number of slices, figures 5 and 7A, par [0108], [0110] and [0117]).
Consider claim 21, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses a notifier, wherein the at least one circuitry determines, based on the identifiers acquired via the communication interface, whether the communication network includes a predetermined service type, and if the communication network includes the predetermined service type, notifies such inclusion via the notifier (read as the showing of application types on figures 5 and 7A would be considered as notifier to notify that such application type (i.e. game type) is included based on the identifier/S-NSSAI acquired, figures 5 and 7A, par [0108], [0110] and [0117]).
Consider claim 22, as applied to claim 21 above, Zhu discloses wherein the predetermined service type is a service type uniquely recommended for the electronic device (read as game type (Fruit Ninja) as recommended based on network speed/frequent usage for the terminal, par figures 5 and 7A, par [0110] and [0117]).
Consider claim 23, as applied to claim 21 above, Zhu discloses wherein the predetermined service type is a service type uniquely recommended for at least one application executed in the electronic device (read as game type (application Fruit Ninja) as recommended based on network speed/frequent usage for the terminal, par figures 5 and 7A, par [0110] and [0117]).
Consider claim 24, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses wherein, when the communication network is a local cellular communication network (read as the 5G cellular communication network employing network slicing associated enterprise network (i.e. local), par [0003] and [0106]), the at least one circuitry acquires, via the communication interface, owner information indicating an owner of a license corresponding to the local cellular communication network, and displays, based on the owner information, a sixth image indicating the owner on the display (read as displayed service feature information may include information such as a network speed, a charging criterion, and a service provider (i.e. owner of a license to operate the enterprise network) that are corresponding to a network slice, par [0081] and [0106]).
Consider claim 25, as applied to claim 24 above, Zhu discloses wherein the at least one circuitry displays, based on a predetermined operation (read as user interaction (predetermine operations) performed on displayed images/interface cause the processor to display additional image or prompt information on the display (par [0094] and [0104]-[0105]) associated with the sixth image displayed on the display, a guide image enabling access to the owner on the display (read as the displayed service feature information returned by the network side includes either or both of a service provider of the network slice and network speed information of the network slice, it should be noted that the service provider of the network slice may be an operator to which the network slice belongs, or may be a tenant or an enterprise network to which the network slice belongs, par [0106]).
Consider claim 26, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses wherein, when the communication network is a local cellular communication network (read as the 5G cellular communication network employing network slicing associated enterprise network (i.e. local), par [0003] and [0106]), the at least one circuitry acquires, via the communication interface, communication area information indicating a communication area of the local cellular communication network, and displays, based on the communication area information, a seventh image indicating the communication area on the display (read as displayed service feature information may include information such as a network speed, a charging criterion, and a service provider (i.e. owner of a license to operate the enterprise network) that are corresponding to a network slice, par [0081] and [0106]).
Consider claim 27, as applied to claim 26 above, Zhu discloses wherein the at least one circuitry displays, based on a predetermined operation associated with the seventh image displayed on the display, a map image indicating the communication area on the display (read as the displayed service feature information returned by the network side includes either or both of a service provider of the network slice and network speed information of the network slice, it should be noted that the service provider of the network slice may be an operator to which the network slice belongs, or may be a tenant or an enterprise network to which the network slice belongs, par [0106]).
Consider claim 28, Zhu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (read as the terminal device including memory 102 configured to store program, figures 1 and 4, par [0061] and [0077]) storing a program causing a computer installed in an electronic device equipped with a display to execute processing (read as the display device 103 and processor 101, figures 1 and 4, par [0061], [0077] and [0061]) comprising:
acquiring, from a communication network theoretically divided into a plurality of slices each corresponding to a service type, identifiers each assigned to a respective one of the plurality of slices via a communication interface (read as the terminal receives allowed-NSSAI by using a registration accept message from network side via a network/communication interface, wherein the allow-NSSAI includes S-NSSAI-1, S-NSSAI-2 and S-NSSAI-3, each identifying a respective network slice, figure 4, see table 1 and par [0102]-[0103] and [0106]); and
displaying, based on the acquired identifiers, an image indicating predetermined information about the communication network on the display (read as the terminal performs split-screen display on service feature information of different network slices, and display service feature information of the S-NSSAI-1, S-NSSAI-2 and S-NSSAI-3 on corresponding display interfaces, figure 5, par [0107]-[0109]).
Consider claim 29, Zhu discloses a display method in an electronic device equipped with a display (read as the terminal device including the display device 103 and processor 101, figures 1 and 4, par [0061], [0077] and [0061]), comprising:
acquiring, from a communication network theoretically divided into a plurality of slices each corresponding to a service type, identifiers each assigned to a respective one of the plurality of slices via a communication interface (read as the terminal receives allowed-NSSAI by using a registration accept message from network side via a network/communication interface, wherein the allow-NSSAI includes S-NSSAI-1, S-NSSAI-2 and S-NSSAI-3, each identifying a respective network slice, figure 4, see table 1 and par [0102]-[0103] and [0106]); and
displaying, based on the acquired identifiers, an image indicating predetermined information about the communication network on the display (read as the terminal performs split-screen display on service feature information of different network slices, and display service feature information of the S-NSSAI-1, S-NSSAI-2 and S-NSSAI-3 on corresponding display interfaces, figure 5, par [0107]-[0109]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20200169921 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20140098085 A1).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the display includes a display member having light transmissivity, and the at least one circuitry displays the first image on a display surface of the display member, the first image being viewed in a space that is visible through the display member.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses transparent or translucent screen 124 and circuitry renders an image on the surface of the transparent screen while the user simultaneously sees real-world objects through the screen, meaning the image is viewed in a space visible through the display member, par [0017], [0021], [0025] and [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transparent display technology of Lee into the network-slice UE system of Zhu in order to present network slice information on a see-through display, thereby allow a user to view real-world space while simultaneously viewing network information, which improves usability and situational awareness without blocking the user’s view.
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20200169921 A1) in view of Anderson (US 20190371064 A1).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose a camera that photographs a space, wherein the at least one circuitry displays, on the display, an image of the space photographed by the camera and the first image superimposed on the image of the space.
Nonetheless, Anderson discloses a camera/environment sensor 102 capturing a real screen/real environment, and displaying the camera-captured image of the real-world space on the display, and further superimposing/overlaying a virtual image on the camera image of the real-world scene/space, figure 1, par [0009], [0033] and [0045 ]-[0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the camera-based image superimposition technique of Anderson into the network information display system Zhu in order to consolidate multiple display outputs into a single visual interface and reduce the need for separate screens or display modes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645