DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 18 December 2023, 24 March 2025, and 10 October 2025 are acknowledged and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-17 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 7, and 8 all recite "corresponding a point" in the last clause. This should be "corresponding to a point."
Claims 4-5 and 10-13 all recite "corresponding the" in the identifies clause. This should be "corresponding to the."
In claims 2, 5, and 12-13, "Wherein" in improperly capitalized and should be "wherein".
Claims 6 and 14-17 all recite "detects which a point." As best understood, this should be "detects which point"
It is requested that applicant review their application for other such obvious grammatical errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first correspondence relationship" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, this is treated as a new limitation. The basis for this is otherwise in claim 2, from which claim 3 does not depend. Claims 11, 13, and 15 depend from claim 3 and inherit this deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/044648 to Yoda et al. (hereinafter referred to as Yoda; cited by applicant; US 2021/0172767 relied upon as a translation).
With regards to claim 1, Yoda discloses a monitoring system (see the system of fig. 1, 8, etc.) comprising:
at least one memory (memory 402/storage 403; fig. 8) configured to store instructions ([0090]); and
at least one processor (processor 401) configured to execute the instructions ([0090]) to
acquire a plurality of amplitudes of vibrations for points on an optical fiber cable (optical fiber cable 20) based on light propagating the optical fiber cable attached to a monitoring target (e.g., a utility pole) (see fig. 2 and the associated description, particularly [0061] and [0063]),
generate a vibration mode of the monitoring target based on the plurality of amplitudes (patterns, corresponding to the modes, are generated in the resulting data of fig. 2, see [0065]), and
detect a point on the monitoring target corresponding a point on the optical fiber based on the vibration mode (based on the patterns, the locations of utility poles is detected; [0065], [0067]).
With regards to claim 2, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 1. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor
calculating sum of the plurality of amplitudes on each of intervals on the optical fiber (a sum of the number of times vibration is greater to a threshold in given intervals; [0065]); and
generating a graph indicating a first correspondence relationship between the sums of the intervals and the intervals (the graph of fig. 2, showing where utility poles are identified in the evaluated intervals along a single y value).
With regards to claim 3, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 1. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor,
acquiring the plurality of amplitudes of vibrations over a plurality of times (over the y-axis in fig. 2; [0061]), and
generating a graph indicating a second correspondence relationship between each of the times and the first correspondence relationship (the graph of fig. 2, showing where utility poles are identified in the evaluated intervals along all y values).
With regards to claim 4, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 1. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor
identifying a monitoring part corresponding the monitoring target based on the plurality of amplitudes of vibrations for points on the optical fiber (based on the amplitude patterns, utility poles are identified; [0065]-[0067]), and
generating the vibration mode of the monitoring target based on the vibrations for points on the monitoring part (a pattern, corresponding to this mode, is generated in the resulting data of fig. 2 based on vibrations of the utility pole, see [0065]).
With regards to claim 6, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 1. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor detecting which a point of the vibration mode is a point of the monitoring target (points where a number of vibrations is at least a threshold value; [0065]-[0067]).
With regards to claim 7, Yoda discloses a monitoring method (employed in the system of fig. 1, 2, etc.) comprising:
acquiring a plurality of amplitudes of vibrations for points on an optical fiber (optical fiber cable 20) based on light propagating the optical fiber attached to a monitoring target (e.g., a utility pole) (see fig. 2 and the associated description, particularly [0061] and [0063]);
generating a vibration mode of the monitoring target based on the plurality of amplitudes (patterns, corresponding to the modes, are generated in the resulting data of fig. 2, see [0065]); and
detecting a point on the monitoring target corresponding a point on the optical fiber based on the vibration mode (based on the patterns, the locations of utility poles is detected; [0065], [0067]).
With regards to claim 8, Yoda discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 402/storage 403; fig. 8) that stores a program ([0090])for causing a computer (computer 40; fig. 8) to execute:
acquiring a plurality of amplitudes of vibrations for points on an optical fiber (optical fiber cable 20) based on light propagating the optical fiber attached to a monitoring target (e.g., a utility pole) (see fig. 2 and the associated description, particularly [0061] and [0063]);
generating a vibration mode of the monitoring target based on the plurality of amplitudes (patterns, corresponding to the modes, are generated in the resulting data of fig. 2, see [0065]); and
detecting a point on the monitoring target corresponding a point on the optical fiber based on the vibration mode (based on the patterns, the locations of utility poles is detected; [0065], [0067]).
With regards to claim 9, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 2. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor,
acquiring the plurality of amplitudes of vibrations over a plurality of times (over the y-axis in fig. 2; [0061]), and
generating a graph indicating a second correspondence relationship between each of the times and the first correspondence relationship (the graph of fig. 2, showing where utility poles are identified in the evaluated intervals along all y values).
With regards to claim 10, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 2. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor
identifying a monitoring part corresponding the monitoring target based on the plurality of amplitudes of vibrations for points on the optical fiber (based on the amplitude patterns, utility poles are identified; [0065]-[0067]), and
generating the vibration mode of the monitoring target based on the vibrations for points on the monitoring part (a pattern, corresponding to this mode, is generated in the resulting data of fig. 2 based on vibrations of the utility pole, see [0065]).
With regards to claim 11, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 3. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor
identifying a monitoring part corresponding the monitoring target based on the plurality of amplitudes of vibrations for points on the optical fiber (based on the amplitude patterns, utility poles are identified; [0065]-[0067]), and
generating the vibration mode of the monitoring target based on the vibrations for points on the monitoring part (a pattern, corresponding to this mode, is generated in the resulting data of fig. 2 based on vibrations of the utility pole, see [0065]).
With regards to claim 14, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 2. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor detecting which a point of the vibration mode is a point of the monitoring target (points where a number of vibrations is at least a threshold value; [0065]-[0067]).
With regards to claim 15, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 3. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor detecting which a point of the vibration mode is a point of the monitoring target (points where a number of vibrations is at least a threshold value; [0065]-[0067]).
With regards to claim 16, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 4. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor detecting which a point of the vibration mode is a point of the monitoring target (points where a number of vibrations is at least a threshold value; [0065]-[0067]).
With regards to claim 17, Yoda discloses the monitoring system according to claim 5. Yoda further discloses the at least one processor detecting which a point of the vibration mode is a point of the monitoring target (points where a number of vibrations is at least a threshold value; [0065]-[0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoda as respectively applied to claims 4, 10, and 11 above, and further in view of US 11,643,923 to Thiruvenkatanathan.
With regards to claim 5, Yoda teaches the monitoring system according to claim 4. Yoda further teaches the at least one processor
identifying monitoring parts corresponding the monitoring targets based on the plurality of amplitudes of vibrations for points on the optical fiber (based on the amplitude patterns, utility poles are identified; [0065]-[0067]), and
generating the vibration modes of the monitoring targets based on the vibrations for points on the monitoring parts (patterns, corresponding to the modes, are generated in the resulting data of fig. 2, see [0065]).
However, Yoda does not expressly teach standardizing the vibrations for points on the monitoring parts, and by extension generating based on the standardized valued.
Thiruvenkatanathan teaches the feature of standardizing (e.g., normalizing) data after collection to correct for variability in measured data (col. 9, ll. 38-43). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly adopt such data standardization in the system of Yoda, and thereby have the vibration modes be based on based on standardized vibration data. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to compensate for fiber sensitivity or signal strength.
With regards to claim 12, Yoda teaches the monitoring system according to claim 10. Yoda further teaches the at least one processor
identifying monitoring parts corresponding the monitoring targets based on the plurality of amplitudes of vibrations for points on the optical fiber (based on the amplitude patterns, utility poles are identified; [0065]-[0067]), and
generating the vibration modes of the monitoring targets based on the vibrations for points on the monitoring parts (patterns, corresponding to the modes, are generated in the resulting data of fig. 2, see [0065]).
However, Yoda does not expressly teach standardizing the vibrations for points on the monitoring parts, and by extension generating based on the standardized valued.
Thiruvenkatanathan teaches the feature of standardizing (e.g., normalizing) data after collection to correct for variability in measured data (col. 9, ll. 38-43). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly adopt such data standardization in the system of Yoda, and thereby have the vibration modes be based on based on standardized vibration data. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to compensate for fiber sensitivity or signal strength.
With regards to claim 13, Yoda teaches the monitoring system according to claim 11. Yoda further teaches the at least one processor
identifying monitoring parts corresponding the monitoring targets based on the plurality of amplitudes of vibrations for points on the optical fiber (based on the amplitude patterns, utility poles are identified; [0065]-[0067]), and
generating the vibration modes of the monitoring targets based on the vibrations for points on the monitoring parts (patterns, corresponding to the modes, are generated in the resulting data of fig. 2, see [0065]).
However, Yoda does not expressly teach standardizing the vibrations for points on the monitoring parts, and by extension generating based on the standardized valued.
Thiruvenkatanathan teaches the feature of standardizing (e.g., normalizing) data after collection to correct for variability in measured data (col. 9, ll. 38-43). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly adopt such data standardization in the system of Yoda, and thereby have the vibration modes be based on based on standardized vibration data. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to compensate for fiber sensitivity or signal strength.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0319017 to Tian discloses a system that using distributed acoustic sensing to determine the location of electrical transformers affixed to utility poles.
US 10,931,366 to Wang et al. discloses a system that identifies specific locations relative to manholes, etc., using optical fiber sensing.
US 2017/0184463 is the US filing of a document cited in the IDS.
/JS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858