DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed October 5, 2026 has been entered. Claims 18-20, 22-24, 28-34, 37, 40 and 43-47 are pending. Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s cancellation of claim 25 and addition of new claim 47.
Applicant declined Examiner’s proposal to amend the claims to include claim language of previously indicated allowable subject matter after Examiner provided notice of potential prior arts which continue to read on the presently claimed invention via email communications received October 28, 2026. Responsive to Applicant’s decision, the prior art discussed has been provided in the present rejection.
Applicant’s amendments necessitate new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 dated October 5, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 29, and 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Yoshida et al. (US 20240050654 A1) (hereinafter – Yoshida) in view of
Farringdon et al. (US 20050113703 A1) (hereinafter – Farringdon) in further view of
Re. Claim 18: Yoshida teaches a system comprising:
an article (Paragraph 0010: “The sensor device can further include a substrate including an opening, wherein the sensor is on the substrate, and the first sensor electrode and the second sensor electrode are on the substrate and are located about the opening;” Paragraphs 0033, 0034; Figs. 1-19)
comprising:
a body (see previous citations);
Yoshida describes first and second electrodes disposed on the first major surface of the body (Fig. 2: inner and outer electrode pairs 232, 234, sensor electrode 230; Fig. 4: inner electrodes 410, outer electrodes 420; Fig. 5: electrodes 500, 510, 520; Fig. 6: electrodes 600; Fig. 7: electrodes 700, 710, 720; Fig. 8: sensor electrodes 820; see plural electrodes in other figures; Paragraph 0039: “A conductive material such as a gel or spray 880 can be used to facilitate electrical contact between the sensor electrodes 820 and the patient's skin. It is also possible to use a dry electrode;” similarly recitation of the use of a dry electrode is known from Paragraphs 0042, 0043, 0045, 0047). Yoshida does not describe such electrodes as having at least one skin-penetrating microfeature.
The concept of electrodes having skin-penetrating microfeatures is well-known. Farringdon teaches analogous art in the technology of electrode-based sensors (Abstract). Farringdon further teaches that electrodes may comprise microneedles to penetrate the skin (Paragraph 0075).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified JW to include a skin-penetrating microfeature on each of the electrodes as taught by Farringdon, the motivation being that doing so enhances the electrodes’ ability to remain properly positioned at a measurement location (Paragraph 0075).
Yoshida as modified by Farringdon further teaches the invention:
a controller electrically connected to the first dry electrode and the second dry electrode (Paragraph 0032: “The sensor 140 can include one or more of a microcontroller unit (MCU), Bluetooth low energy (BLE) module, a light-emitting diode (LED), circuitry to analyze bioimpedance, and a front-end circuit connected to the antenna. The circuitry to analyze the bioimpedance can be an integrated circuit (IC) or other similar device. The front-end circuit can process the signals received by the antenna and can be a custom analog front-end circuit or other similar device”),
wherein the controller is configured to:
provide an input to the first dry electrode; receive an output from the second dry electrode based on providing to the input signal to the first dry electrode (Abstract: “Each of the plurality of sensor electrodes can include an inner electrode and an outer electrode surrounding the inner electrode. A first outer electrode of the first sensor electrode and a second outer electrode of the second sensor electrode can detect a current applied between the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode. A first inner electrode of the first sensor electrode and a second inner electrode of the second sensor electrode can detect a voltage applied between the first inner electrode and the second inner electrode;” Figs. 4-7, 16);
determine at least one electrical parameter based on the output (Paragraph 0032: analysis of bioimpedance; Paragraph 0033: “For example, the sensor can measure the voltage and the impedance of the detection area;” Paragraph 0036: “The intravenous infiltration sensor device measures bioimpedance parameters of the patient's skin 590 between the sensor electrodes 500, including, for example, voltage 540 between the inner electrodes 510 and current 550 between the outer electrodes 520. It is also possible that the outer electrodes 520 measure voltage 540 and the inner electrodes 510 measure current 550;” );
and detect extravasation of a fluid into a tissue based on the at least one electrical parameter (Paragraph 0001: “The present invention relates to intravenous (IV) infiltration sensor devices;” Paragraph 0006: “Thus, an impedance change of a certain level of the patient's tissue in the vicinity of the IV site can be interpreted as being caused by infiltration or extravasation;” Paragraph 0036: “Changes in the voltage 540 and the current 550 between the two sensor electrodes 500 can be used to detect IV infiltration or extravasation;” similarly recited in Paragraphs 0038, 0046, claim 18).
Re. Claim 29: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches each aspect of claim 29 which recites limitations of claim 18 mutatis mutandis as a method claim (see rejection of claim 18).
Limitations of claim 29 which differ from those in claim 18 are still taught by the combination of Yoshida as modified by Farringdon, including:
wherein the method comprises:
piercing skin with the first skin-penetrating microfeature on a first lateral side of an injection site absent a hydrogel; piercing skin with the second skin-penetrating microfeature on a second lateral side of the injection site absent a hydrogel (Yoshida teaches multiple embodiments where two electrodes are disposed laterally on either side of an IV hole, e.g. Figs. 2, 6A-6B, Fig. 9 as described in Paragraph 0039: “Although not shown in FIGS. 8 and 9, it is possible to include an IV stabilization device on the substrate 810, for example, by including the IV stabilization device instead of the opening 815;” see similar features in other figures; Farringdon modifies the electrodes of Yoshida to require piercing skin; thus, application of the device of Yoshida on the skin would necessarily require the claimed steps above).
Re. Claim 43: Yoshida teaches a system, comprising:
an article, comprising:
a body (Paragraphs 0010-0018: “substrate”);
a securement device mounted to the body and operable to support an intravenous catheter at an injection site (Paragraphs 0016, 0018: “intravenous hole;” elements recited in Paragraph 0032).
regarding the limitations:
a first dry electrode mounted to the body on a first lateral side of the securement device and including a skin-penetrating microfeature configured to pierce skin absent a hydrogel; and
a second dry electrode mounted to the body on a second lateral side of the securement device and including a second skin-penetrating microfeature configured to pierce skin absent a hydrogel.
See rejection of claim 18. Motivation to modify Yoshida is identical. Thus, Yoshida as modified by Farringdon accordingly teaches each aspect of the invention.
Re. Claim 44: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 43. See citations of rejection of claim 18 regarding the limitations of claim 44.
Re. Claim 45: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 44. Yoshida further teaches the invention wherein the controller is mounted to the body of the article (Paragraph 0032: “The sensor 140 can include one or more of a microcontroller unit (MCU), Bluetooth low energy (BLE) module, a light-emitting diode (LED), circuitry to analyze bioimpedance, and a front-end circuit connected to the antenna. The circuitry to analyze the bioimpedance can be an integrated circuit (IC) or other similar device. The front-end circuit can process the signals received by the antenna and can be a custom analog front-end circuit or other similar device”).
Re. Claim 46: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 43. Yoshida further teaches the invention wherein the securement device includes:
dimensions corresponding to the intravenous catheter to detachably couple to the intravenous catheter at the injection site (Paragraph 0032: “The device 100 can include a flexible substrate 110 with an opening 120 used as an IV hole that defines a pathway to insert a needle or catheter into a patient's skin, stabilization marks 125 as guides for placing the needle or catheter through the opening 120, an IV stabilization device 130 supported by a foam stiffener 135 to help secure and stabilize the needle or catheter and tubing during use, and electronic sensor components”); and
a retention feature to secure to the intravenous catheter based on the securement device detachably coupling to the intravenous catheter (see previous citation).
Claims 19, 20, 28, 30, 31, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Yoshida et al. (US 20240050654 A1) (hereinafter – Yoshida) in view of
Farringdon et al. (US 20050113703 A1) (hereinafter – Farringdon) in further view of
Jersey-Willuhn et al. (US 20030216663 A1) (hereinafter – JW).
Re. Claim 19: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 18, but does not explicitly teach the invention wherein the controller is further configured to determine
an extravasated volume of the fluid or
a time period of extravasation,
or a combination thereof based on the at least one electrical parameter.
JW teaches the invention wherein the controller is further configured to determine
an extravasated volume of the fluid (Paragraph 0104: “Extravasation causes a volume change due to tissue swelling and a conductivity change which, in combination, change the electrical impedance sensed by the receiving electrodes 416;” Paragraph 0168: “One or more of various types of data can be stored, compared, and analyzed, for example including current data, reference data, baseline data, information trends, preset parameters, automatic comparison results, patient condition information for disease condition adjustments, environment information, cannula position and motion information, and infusion flow information;” Paragraph 0178: infusion rate is known; Examiner notes that since the device of JW knows an infusion rate, identifies an occurrence of extravasation within a window of infusion, and further discloses that various types of data may be compared to baseline, then the combination of identifying each of these features indicates that the controller of JW is configured to determine an extravasated volume of fluid).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Yoshida as modified by Farringdon to include gathering data which yield parameters including an extravasated volume of infiltrated fluid as taught by JW, the motivation being that doing so provides health care providers with additional helpful information in determining how to treat extravasation and review or adjust an infusion flow rate (Paragraph 0005).
Re. Claim 20: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 18, but does not explicitly teach the invention wherein the at least one electrical parameter comprises one or more of
an impedance magnitude,
an impedance phase angle,
a capacitance,
a resistance, and
a reactance.
JW teaches the invention wherein the at least one electrical parameter comprises one or more of an impedance magnitude (Paragraph 0178: “In one example, extravasation is indicated if the impedance changes with a substantially consistent slope of .+-.0.5 .OMEGA./s or more during infusion at a rate of at least 1000 cc over 24 hours or an intermittent infusion of over 100 cc in one hour;” Paragraph 0179: “In an example, tissue impedance is considered to be affected by extravasation because ionic contrast media has lower impedance than tissue. For ionic contrast media extravasation, measured impedance is less than the measured tissue impedance prior to extravasation. A non-ionic contrast media has higher impedance than tissue and causes increased impedance during an extravasation”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Yoshida as modified by Farringdon to detect a change in impedance by assessing magnitude as taught by JW, the motivation being that doing so provides corresponding ranges for indicating extravasation given known and particular infusion rates (Paragraph 0178).
Re. Claim 28: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 18, but does not teach the invention wherein, based on detecting extravasation of the fluid, the controller is further configured to:
generate an alert; or
provide an input to an infusion system to automatically stop infusion of the fluid; or
a combination thereof.
JW teaches the invention wherein, based on detecting extravasation of the fluid, the controller is further configured to:
generate an alert (Paragraph 0070: “The control unit 124 may have an alarm…”); or
provide an input to an infusion system to automatically stop infusion of the fluid (Paragraph 0071: “… the control unit 124, can detect harmful tissue conditions and reduce complications by adjusting infusion flow or terminate infusion in response to the alarm condition”); or
a combination thereof (see above).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Yoshida as modified by Farringdon to include the alert generation and infusion system control as taught by JW since Yoshida already describes that setting an alarm or notification of a potential problem around an IV site is a clinical need relevant in the art area (Yoshida, Paragraph 0006), and the particular control steps of JW address this clinical need and reduces further extravasation due to system control.
Re. Claim 30: See rejection of claim 19.
Re. Claim 31: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 29, but does not teach the invention wherein the input has a frequency ranging from about 0 hertz to about 1 gigahertz.
JW teaches the invention wherein the input has a frequency ranging from about 0 hertz to about 1 gigahertz (Paragraph 0103: “The current source 412 typically injects radio frequency (RF) energy in a suitable range of frequencies, for example from one kilohertz to about one megahertz;” Paragraph 0174: “Other suitable currents and frequencies may be used. For example, Electrical Impedance Tomography imaging typically uses frequencies above 1 kHz and less than 100 kHz, although some applications may utilize frequencies up to 10 mHz and above. A system with capability to operate in a frequency range between 10 kHz and 10 MHz is highly flexible”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to include input current parameters as taught by JW in the system of Yoshida as modified by Farringdon, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements (Yoshida as modified by Farringdon: an extravasation detection device which injects current; JW: teaching suitable currents for an injection current for the purpose of detecting extravasation), and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. Claim 37: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 29, but does not teach the invention further comprising determining an impedance magnitude for a frequency of the input ranging from about 400 kilohertz to about 1 megahertz.
JW teaches such an aspect; the rejection of claim 20 provides reasoning for determination of an impedance magnitude, and the rejection of claim 31 provides reasoning for utilizing known input current parameters which encompass the invention.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Yoshida et al. (US 20240050654 A1) (hereinafter – Yoshida) in view of
Farringdon et al. (US 20050113703 A1) (hereinafter – Farringdon) in further view of
Rubinsky et al. (US 20080224688 A1) (hereinafter – Rubinsky).
Re. Claim 40: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 29, but does not teach the invention further comprising determining a reactance for a frequency of the input of about 1 megahertz.
Rubinsky teaches analogous art in the technology of analyzing tissue water content (Abstract), including detection of extravasation (Paragraph 0049). Rubinsky further teaches the invention further comprising determining a reactance for a frequency of the input of about 1 megahertz (Paragraph 0037: use of 1MHz signals; Paragraph 0048: “Briefly, body tissues contain intra and extracellular fluids that behave as electrical conductors and cell membranes that act as electrical capacitors. At DC and low frequencies electrical current passes mainly through the extracellular fluid; at higher frequencies, however, current penetrates both intra and extracellular fluids. Therefore, body fluids and electrolytes are responsible for electrical resistance and cell membranes for reactance. At MHz frequencies the impedance of proteins becomes important…”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Yoshida as modified by Farringdon to include identifying reactance of an input signal for signals of about 1 MHz, the motivation being that Rubinsky teaches that the impedance of proteins in intra- and extracellular fluids become an important consideration for assessing net water content in a volume (Paragraph 0037).
Claims 19, 20, 28, 30, 31, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Yoshida et al. (US 20240050654 A1) (hereinafter – Yoshida) in view of
Farringdon et al. (US 20050113703 A1) (hereinafter – Farringdon) in further view of
Jersey-Willuhn et al. (US 20030216663 A1) (hereinafter – JW) in further view of
Lee (KR 20240037728 A) (hereinafter – Lee) (citing SEARCH translation).
Re. Claim 47: Yoshida as modified by Farringdon teaches the invention according to claim 18, but does not teach the invention wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine an extravasated volume of the fluid based on the detection; and
display the extravasated volume of the fluid on a monitor, thereby allowing a medical practitioner to assess tissue damage at an injection site and provide an appropriate treatment.
The aspect of determining an extravasated volume of the fluid based on the detection is known from JW (see rejection of claim (see rejection of claim 19 – motivation to modify Yoshida as modified by Farringdon is identical).
Lee teaches analogous art in the technology of detection of extravasation (Title; Abstract). Kweon further teaches display of a determined extravasated volume of fluid (Page 5: “… an extravascular leakage information provider 210 displayed on a display D linked to the EMR server”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Yoshida as modified by Farringdon and JW to include display of a calculated extravasated volume of fluid, the motivation being that doing so enables a healthcare provider a quick way of visually assessing the degree of extravasation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-24 and, similarly, claims 32-34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the current prior art of record teach or suggest:
“for the input signal having a frequency of about 1 megahertz,
the first electrode and the second electrode provide a data set correlating a percentage change of the at least one electrical parameter to the extravasated volume of the fluid, and
wherein a best linear fit to the data set has a slope of at least about 5% per milliliter of the fluid.”
Conclusion
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791