DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 12, 15-18, 23 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the induction heating device is configured to detach from the radiator at a fail-safe temperature”. For apparatus claims, the applicant should define each element by its structure or means plus function language. Each defined element should be further inter-connected with previous define element(s). Currently, the apparatus claims contain no structure or means plus function language except functional statements and desired results. For example, it is not clear how the claims heater is interconnected with the radiator to detach at a fail-safe temperature.
Claim 4 recites “optionally wherein the induction heating device is attached to the radiator using one or more magnets and at least one of the one or more magnets detaches from the radiator at the fail-safe temperature” at the end of the claim. The phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, this phrase indicates preferred but not required limitations.
Claim 8 recites “optionally wherein the radiator comprises stainless steel” at the end of the claim. The phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, this phrase indicates preferred but not required limitations.
Claim 12 recites “optionally wherein the one or more sensors comprise an electromagnetic sensor, and/or an electrical current sensor. The phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, this phrase indicates preferred but not required limitations.
Claim 15 recites “optionally wherein the first temperature range is from 30°C to 45°C.” at the end of the claim. The phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, this phrase indicates preferred but not required limitations.
Claim 18 recites “optionally wherein each of the plurality of radiators and each of the plurality of induction heating devices are substantially identical.” The phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, this phrase indicates preferred but not required limitations.
Claim 23 recites “optionally wherein the electrical power supply is powered solely by renewable energy sources.” The phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, this phrase indicates preferred but not required limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 21- 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Seye (European Patent Publication EP 0627678A1; In applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Seye discloses a heating system comprising: a radiator (Seye, figs. 3 & 3a, radiator 17); and an induction heating device (Seye, figs. 3 and 3a; conductor 14 within housing 13) attachable to the radiator, the induction heating device configured to heat at least a portion of the radiator via induction (Seye, ¶0039, “As shown in Figure 3, this inductor, through which alternating currents are generated by the electronic board 15, creates a variable alternating magnetic field 25 which generates in the ferrous wall of the radiator 17 or the susceptor an induction phenomenon and consequently induced currents, which cause the heating of the substance where they originated, namely the wall of the radiator 17”).
Regarding claim 2, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the induction heating device is removably attached to the exterior of the radiator (Seye, ¶0030, the housing is placed on the radiator).
Regarding claim 5, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the induction heating device is integral to the radiator (Seye, fig. 3A, ¶0038, becomes part of the unit to which it is applied. see integral. (n.d.). Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Def. 1C: “formed as a unit with another part” Retrieved 30 September 2026, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/integral ).
Regarding claim 7, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the induction heating device comprises a heat sink configured to transmit heat to at least a portion of the radiator (¶38, the susceptor is a heat sink configured to transmit heat).
Regarding claim 8, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the radiator comprises iron, cast iron, steel, mild steel, stainless steel, aluminium, any other ferrous metal (Seye, ¶0039, “ferrous wall of the radiator”), or any combination thereof, optionally wherein the radiator comprises stainless steel.
Regarding claim 9, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the radiator houses a fluid and the induction heating device is configured to heat the fluid housed in the radiator (Seye, ¶0012, at least, “a heating device for water or heat transfer fluid radiators”).
Regarding claim 10, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the system comprises a controller configured to receive instructions to operate the heating system (Seye, ¶0013, “a temperature control device adapted to control, as a function of the temperature measured by the first sensor, the operation of the inductor to regulate the temperature of the radiator around a setpoint value to which the radiator is allowed to be heated.”).
Regarding claim 11, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 10, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the instructions comprise instructions to heat the radiator, stop heating the radiator, increase the rate of heating of the radiator, decrease the rate of heating of the radiator, or any combination thereof (Seye, ¶0012, “the temperature of the radiator is increased”) .
Regarding claim 12, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system comprising one or more sensors configured to detect a non-radiator object in proximity to or adjacent to the heating system (Seye, ¶0013, “a temperature control device adapted to control, as a function of the temperature measured by the first sensor, the operation of the inductor to regulate the temperature of the radiator around a setpoint value to which the radiator is allowed to be heated.”), optionally wherein the one or more sensors comprise an electromagnetic sensor, and/or an electrical current sensor.
Regarding claim 13, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system comprising one or more temperature sensors configured to detect the temperature of the radiator, the ambient environment in proximity to the radiator, or any combination thereof (Seye, ¶0013, “a temperature control device adapted to control, as a function of the temperature measured by the first sensor, the operation of the inductor to regulate the temperature of the radiator around a setpoint value to which the radiator is allowed to be heated.”).
Regarding claim 14, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 13, as above, but does not further explicitly disclose a heating system wherein the system is configured to maintain the temperature of the radiator and/or ambient environment in proximity to the radiator within a first temperature range. However, Seye does disclose regulating the temperature around a setpoint value (Seye, ¶0013, “a temperature control device adapted to control, as a function of the temperature measured by the first sensor, the operation of the inductor to regulate the temperature of the radiator around a setpoint value to which the radiator is allowed to be heated.”). Thus, it would be obvious, in order to maintain the temperature around the setpoint value, to have a small range around the setpoint value for allowable temperatures, in order to keep the temperature appropriate, but to also allow for some leeway so that the device is not constantly turning off and on to exactly stay precisely at the setpoint temperature, which could cause undue where on the switching mechanism and “around” in the specification indicates that there may be some range, not precisely at the setpoint, that the temperature may be allowed to be.
Regarding claim 15, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 14, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the first temperature range is from 20°C to 70°C (Seye, ¶0108, “temperature of 70°C”), optionally wherein the first temperature range is from 30°C to 45°C.
Regarding claim 16, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 15, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the first temperature range is a temperature range defined by the user (Seye, ¶0052, Seye teaches the ability to set the setpoint temperature, so the range would be set according to that desired limit).
Regarding claim 18, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the heating system comprises a plurality of radiators and a plurality of induction heating devices (Seye, fig. 2, radiators 10a-10e, ¶0027, “To overcome these drawbacks, separate radiators, each equipped with an induction heating device according to the invention”) , optionally wherein each of the plurality of radiators and each of the plurality of induction heating devices are substantially identical.
Regarding claim 19, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 18, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein each of the plurality of induction heating devices are individually controllable (Seye, figs. 3, 3a; ¶0029, each has an electronic control device).
Regarding claim 21, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the induction heating device comprises: a housing (13); and a heating coil (14) at least partially contained within the housing (Seye, fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 22, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 21, as above, and further discloses a heating system comprising: a temperature sensor (Seye, ¶0045, sensors 18 and 30, at least) ; and/or a boost system comprising a boost button configured to activate the induction heating device; and/or one or more circuit boards configured to control the heating coil (¶102 “The microprocessor 280 and the microcontroller 51 of the temperature control circuit), and/or the boost system; and/or a wireless network system configured to receive instructions to operate the induction heating device.
Regarding claim 23, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 21, as above, and further discloses a heating system comprising an electrical power supply (Seye, ¶0013, “power generator”; ¶0056, “mains electricity”), optionally wherein the electrical power supply is powered solely by renewable energy sources.
Regarding claim 24, Seye discloses a method of retrofitting a radiator, the method comprising attaching an induction heating device (fig. 3a) to a radiator (17) to provide a heating system as defined in any of claim 1 (Seye, ¶0027, these may be attached to the radiators of the prior art which uses a boiler).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seye (European Patent Publication EP 0627678A1; in applicant’s IDS) in view of Bennett (U.S. Patent # 4,506,138).
Regarding claim 3, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating system wherein the radiator comprises a ferrous metal, (Seye, ¶0039, “ferrous wall of the radiator”), but does not disclose wherein the induction heating device is attached to the radiator using one or more magnets. However, Bennet, in his auxiliary heater, teaches a heating device is attached to the [engine block] using one or more magnets (Bennett, bar magnet 140; column 2 lines 15-20; column 3 lines 61-67). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention, to have “the induction heating device is attached to the radiator using one or more magnets”, as the radiator is made of ferrous material, and this would be a method of heating but allowing for the removal of the heater if necessary, or placement or movement of the heater on a radiator (Bennett, column 4 lines 41-48, that the heater may be easily moved, if necessary). In order to affect heating in different ways, but the attaching of the device is simple and well known in removable electrical heaters.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seye (European Patent Publication EP 0627678A1; in applicant’s IDS) in view of Nakanishi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/ 0298129).
Regarding claim 4, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further disclose a heating system wherein the induction heating device is configured to at least partly detach from the radiator at a fail- safe temperature, optionally wherein the induction heating device is attached to the radiator using one or more magnets and at least one of the one or more magnets detaches from the radiator at the fail-safe temperature.
However, Nakanishi teaches that heaters may be adhered to substrates via adhesives (Nakanishi, ¶¶0041-0042, adhesive layer 60 adheres heater 1a to substrate 50, and the adhesive may “polyester resin such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET), . Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Seke with the teachings of Nakanishi, to use an adhesive to keep a heater on a substrate, as taught in Nakanishi, to substitute in a known adhesive for attaching heaters for Seye’s attaching material 16, because the substitution of known materials for the same purpose is not inventive, and such a substitution would depend on the availability and access to the material, in order to keep the heater in place, and as well, such a resin would fail at a certain temperature and at least partially detach, so that limitation is also met with this reference (see https://eureka.patsnap.com/report-how-to-improve-polyethylene-terephthalate-heat-resistance , teaching “transition temperature of approximately 78° C”; see attached).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seye (European Patent Publication EP 0627678A1; in applicant’s IDS) in view of Universitatea Transilvania (Romanian Patent Publication RO 133575; in applicants IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further disclose a heating system wherein the induction heating device has a power rating of less than 1500 W, optionally wherein the induction heating device has a power rating of less than 500W, less than 400W, less than 300W, or less than 200W. However, Universitatea Transilvania teaches, in its induction heater, wherein the induction heating device has a power rating of less than 1500 W (Universitatea Transilvania, p. 2 Variant A, “working power… in 400W, 800W, 1000W”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the teachings of Universitatea Transilvania when operating Seye, to limit the power of the device, in order not to overheat or cause damage to the heater, and to also not use so much power to keep the heater more efficient. (Universitatea Transilvania, p. 1, last three paragraphs).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seye (European Patent Publication EP 0627678A1; in applicant’s IDS) in view of Yoder (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0385915).
Regarding claim 17, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 15, as above, but does not disclose a heating system wherein the induction heating device is controlled remotely (Seye, ¶¶0050,103, fig. 5, remote control 36) but does not further disclose remotely controlling the device “via an app”. However, Yoder teaches being able to control remotely via an app (Yoder, ¶0023, “remote input display upon an app on a phone or tablet”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Seye with the teaching of Yoder, to control the induction heater remotely via a mobile app, in order to most conveniently control the heating conveniently via a cell phone or something that a user regularly has, in order to conveniently monitor and control the heating of the fluid in the radiator.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seye (European Patent Publication EP 0627678A1; in applicant’s IDS) in view of Senn (British Patent Publication GB504880; in applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 25, Seye discloses all the limitations of claim 24, as above, but does not disclose a heating system wherein the radiator is compatible with a gas boiler heating system. However, in his heating system for a radiator, Senn teaches wherein the radiator is compatible with a gas boiler heating system (Senn, line 54-61, fig. 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Seye with the teaching of Senn, to have the induction heater as a supplemental heater, in order to have a main source and then use the supplemental heater to fine tune the temperature, in order to efficiently and cheaply heat the fluid in the radiator and to supplement a system already working.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached Form PTO-892.
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761