DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schmidt et al. [WO 2007/137683 A1].
Regarding claims 1-2, Schmidt et al. discloses a power transmission pad/device configured to wirelessly transmit power to a reception pad comprising a secondary coil, the power transmission pad/device [figures 1a-1b] comprising:
- a primary coil [20] arranged to surround a central space;
- a ferrite member [11-15] configured to form a magnetic coupling with the primary coil; and
- a housing [30] configured to support the primary coil and the ferrite member, wherein the primary coil comprises a flat wire wound at least once [figures 1a-1b], wherein corners of the primary coil are rounded at least partially [figure 1a].
Regarding claim 3, Schmidt et al. discloses corners of a cross section of the flat wire of the primary coil are rounded at least partially [figure 1a].
Regarding claims 4-5, Schmidt et al. discloses the primary coil has a planar structure where a major axis of a cross section of the flat wire is perpendicular to a central axis of the primary coil [figures 1a-1b], wherein the primary coil has a vertical type structure where a major axis of a cross section of the flat wire is parallel with a central axis of the primary coil [figure 1b].
Regarding claims 6-7, Schmidt et al. discloses the primary coil has a shape that each of a plurality of flat wire elements is wound to surround the central space [figures 1a-1b], wherein the plurality of flat wire elements are arranged in a concentric shape sharing a central axis of the primary coil [figures 1a-1b].
Regarding claims 8-9, Schmidt et al. discloses the ferrite member is disposed such that a first area into which the primary coil is projected on a horizontal plane perpendicular to a central axis of the primary coil is included in a second area into which the ferrite member is projected on the horizontal plane, wherein the ferrite member is formed to include a void or space correspondingly to at least a portion of the central space of the primary coil [figures 1a-1b].
Regarding claim 14, Schmidt et al. discloses a wireless [contactless] power transfer system configured to wirelessly transmit power from a transmission pad to a reception pad, the wireless power transfer system comprising: the transmission pad comprising a primary coil [figures 1a-1c]; and the reception pad comprising a secondary coil, wherein the transmission pad comprises: the primary coil [20] arranged to surround a central space; a ferrite member [11-15] configured to form a magnetic coupling with the primary coil; and a housing [30] configured to support the primary coil and the ferrite member, wherein the primary coil comprises a flat wire wound at least once [figures 1a-1b].
Regarding claims 15-16, Schmidt et al. discloses corners of a cross section of the flat wire of the primary coil are rounded at least partially [figure 1a], wherein corners of a cross section of the flat wire of the primary coil are rounded at least partially [figures 1a-1b].
Regarding claims 17-18, Schmidt et al. discloses the primary coil has a planar structure where a major axis of a cross section of the flat wire is perpendicular to a central axis of the primary coil [figures 1a-1b], wherein the primary coil has a vertical type structure where a major axis of a cross section of the flat wire is parallel with a central axis of the primary coil [figure 1b].
Regarding claims 19-20, Schmidt et al. discloses the primary coil has a shape that each of a plurality of flat wire elements is wound to surround the central space [figures 1a-1b], wherein the plurality of flat wire elements are arranged in a concentric shape sharing a central axis of the primary coil [figures 1a-1b] and wherein the ferrite member is disposed such that a first area into which the primary coil is projected on a horizontal plane perpendicular to a central axis of the primary coil is included in a second area into which the ferrite member is projected on the horizontal plane [figures 1a-1b].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kentaro et al. [EP 3432328 A1] in view of Schmidt et al.
Regarding claim 1, Kentaro et al. discloses power reception pad/device [figures 2-3] configured to wirelessly receive power from a transmission pad comprising a primary coil, the power reception pad comprising:
- a secondary coil [21] arranged to surround a central space and wound at least once;
- a ferrite member [42-45] configured to form a magnetic coupling with the secondary coil; and
- a housing [10, 46, 50] configured to support the secondary coil and the ferrite member.
Kentaro et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the secondary coil comprises a flat wire.
Schmidt et al. discloses a flat wire for coil of the wireless device [see above].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use flat wire for the secondary coil of Kentaro et al., as suggested by Schmidt et al., for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling and low cost.
Regarding claim 11, both Kentaro et al. and Schmidt et al. disclose corners of the coil are rounded at least partially.
Regarding claim 12, Schmidt et al. discloses corners of a cross section of the flat wire of the coil are rounded at least partially.
Regarding claim 13, Schmidt et al. the ferrite member is disposed such that a first area into which the secondary coil is projected on a horizontal plane perpendicular to a central axis of the secondary coil is included in a second area into which the ferrite member is projected on the horizontal plane [figures 1a-1b].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the ferrite members arrangement into Kentaro et al. device for the purpose of improving magnetic flux/field.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837