DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta et al. (US Pub.2020/0145964) in view of Nammi et al. (US 2019/0312706 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Sengupta discloses a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled with the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to (Paragraph 0168, Fig. 9 discloses the structure of a base station which includes a processor 1240, memory 1235, transceiver 1220):
transmit a first downlink control signal (DCI) (Paragraphs 0094, 0111 Fig. 2 discloses base station generates a DCI to schedule multiple transport blocks to UE and paragraph 0096 discloses base station transmits the DCI to the UE to schedule transport blocks transmission on PDSCH); and transmit a first type transport block and a second type transport block through resources within a first transmission time interval (TTI) indicated by the first DCI (Paragraph 0098 discloses base station 105-a may transmit a DCI block 215 to schedule multiple transport blocks 220. The DCI block 215 may include control information for each of the multiple transport blocks 220. For example, the DCI block 215 may schedule each of transport block 1 (TB1) 220-a, TB2 220-b, and TB3 220-c. Paragraph 0092 discloses A device, such as a UE 115 or base station 105, utilizing enhanced CCs may transmit wideband signals (e.g., according to frequency channel or carrier bandwidths of 20, 40, 60, 80 MHz, etc.) at reduced symbol durations (e.g., 16.67 microseconds). A TTI in enhanced CC may consist of one or multiple symbol periods. In some cases, the TTI duration (that is, the number of symbol periods in a TTI) may be variable. The base station 105 may transmit the single DCI block which includes DCI (e.g., scheduling information) for each of the multiple transport blocks that is using a single TTI within a single DCI block), wherein the first DCI includes at least one of a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number, a first new data indicator (NDI), and a first redundancy version (RV) for the first type transport block (Paragraphs 0101-0105 discloses the DCI block 215 may include a hybrid automated repeat request (HARQ) process identifier (ID), the DCI block 215 may include a new data indicator, the DCI block 215 may also include a redundancy version (RV) indicator).
Sengupta does not explicitly disclose wherein the first type transport block includes at least one of a second HARQ process number, a second NDI, and a second RV for the second type transport block.
In an analogous art, Nammi discloses wherein the first type transport block includes at least one of a second HARQ process number, a second NDI, and a second RV for the second type transport block (Figs. 3-4, paragraphs 0045-0046 disclose the downlink control information structure 400 comprises a slot to indicate the MCS (402) Redundancy Version 404 and new data indicator 406 for the first codeword symbol as well as the MCS 408 RV 410, and NDI 412 for the second codeword symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nammi to the system of Sengupta to provide for indicating a number of codeword symbols in a data traffic transmission (Abstract, Nammi).
Regarding claim 11, Sengupta discloses a method for operating performed by a terminal in wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a first downlink control signal (DCI) (Fig.4; paragraphs 0139, 0094, step 415, a UE receives DCI 215); and receiving a first type transport block and a second type transport block through a resource within a first transmission time interval (TTI) indicated by the first DCI (Paragraph 0098 discloses base station 105-a may transmit a DCI block 215 to schedule multiple transport blocks 220. The DCI block 215 may include control information for each of the multiple transport blocks 220. For example, the DCI block 215 may schedule each of transport block 1 (TB1) 220-a, TB2 220-b, and TB3 220-c. Paragraph 0092 discloses A device, such as a UE 115 or base station 105, utilizing enhanced CCs may transmit wideband signals (e.g., according to frequency channel or carrier bandwidths of 20, 40, 60, 80 MHz, etc.) at reduced symbol durations (e.g., 16.67 microseconds). A TTI in enhanced CC may consist of one or multiple symbol periods. In some cases, the TTI duration (that is, the number of symbol periods in a TTI) may be variable. The base station 105 may transmit the single DCI block which includes DCI (e.g., scheduling information) for each of the multiple transport blocks that is using a single TTI within a single DCI block), wherein the first DCI includes at least one of a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number, a first new data indicator (NDI), and a first redundancy version (RV) for the first type transport block (Paragraphs 0101-0105 discloses the DCI block 215 may include a hybrid automated repeat request (HARQ) process identifier (ID), the DCI block 215 may include a new data indicator, the DCI block 215 may also include a redundancy version (RV) indicator).
Sengupta does not explicitly disclose wherein the first type transport block includes at least one of a second HARQ process number, a second NDI, and a second RV for the second type transport block.
In an analogous art, Nammi discloses wherein the first type transport block includes at least one of a second HARQ process number, a second NDI, and a second RV for the second type transport block (Figs. 3-4, paragraphs 0045-0046 disclose the downlink control information structure 400 comprises a slot to indicate the MCS (402) Redundancy Version 404 and new data indicator 406 for the first codeword symbol as well as the MCS 408 RV 410, and NDI 412 for the second codeword symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nammi to the system of Sengupta to provide for indicating a number of codeword symbols in a data traffic transmission (Abstract, Nammi).
Regarding claim 2, Sengupta does not explicitly disclose wherein the first type transport block further includes at least one of modulation order information and code rate information of the second type transport block.
In an analogous art, Nammi discloses wherein the first type transport block further includes at least one of modulation order information and code rate information of the second type transport block (Figs. 3-4, paragraphs 0045-0046 disclose the downlink control information structure 400 comprises a slot to indicate the MCS (402) Redundancy Version 404 and new data indicator 406 for the first codeword symbol as well as the MCS 408 RV 410, and NDI 412 for the second codeword symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nammi to the system of Sengupta to provide for indicating a number of codeword symbols in a data traffic transmission (Abstract, Nammi).
Claims 3-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta et al. (US Pub.2020/0145964) in view of Nammi et al. (US 2019/0312706 A1) and further in view of Su et al. (US 2020/0228296 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sengupta and Nammi do not explicitly disclose wherein a HARQ process of the second type transport block is identified by a combination of the first HARQ process number and the second HARQ process number.
In an analogous art, Su discloses wherein a HARQ process of the second type transport block is identified by a combination of the first HARQ process number and the second HARQ process number (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0046 discloses, a network device sends a data packet #1 carrying a TB #1 to a terminal device. Downlink control information used to schedule the data packet #1 includes a HARQ process number and a new data indicator (NDI). The downlink control information and the data packet #1 are sent together. For example, a HARQ process number corresponding to the TB #1 is 1, and an NDI corresponding to the TB #1 is 0. After receiving the data packet #1, the terminal device decodes the data packet #1. If the decoding succeeds, the terminal device sends acknowledgement (ACK) feedback to the network device; or if the decoding fails, the terminal device sends a negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network device. In FIG. 2, a decoding process fails. The terminal device feeds back a NACK and requests the network device to retransmit the TB #1. After receiving the NACK from the terminal device, the network device retransmits a data packet #2 carrying the TB #1, and uses a HARQ process number and an NDI that are same as those in initial transmission, to indicate that this transmission is retransmission. In other words, in this case, the data packet #2 and the data packet #1 carry the same TBs. The terminal device correctly decodes the data packet #2, and sends an ACK feedback to the network device. After receiving the ACK feedback from the terminal device, the network device finishes a HARQ process corresponding to the TB #1. The network device transmits a TB #2 by using the same HARQ process number).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Su to the modified system of Sengupta and Nammi to provide terminal device can obtain the transport blocks (that is, the foregoing first transport block and second transport block) by performing joint decoding on the first data packet and the second data packet (Paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 12, Sengupta and Nammi do not explicitly disclose wherein a HARQ process of the second type transport block is identified by a combination of the first HARQ process number and the second HARQ process number or is identified by the second HARQ process number.
In an analogous art, Su discloses wherein a HARQ process of the second type transport block is identified by a combination of the first HARQ process number and the second HARQ process number or is identified by the second HARQ process number (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0046 discloses, a network device sends a data packet #1 carrying a TB #1 to a terminal device. Downlink control information used to schedule the data packet #1 includes a HARQ process number and a new data indicator (NDI). The downlink control information and the data packet #1 are sent together. For example, a HARQ process number corresponding to the TB #1 is 1, and an NDI corresponding to the TB #1 is 0. After receiving the data packet #1, the terminal device decodes the data packet #1. If the decoding succeeds, the terminal device sends acknowledgement (ACK) feedback to the network device; or if the decoding fails, the terminal device sends a negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network device. In FIG. 2, a decoding process fails. The terminal device feeds back a NACK and requests the network device to retransmit the TB #1. After receiving the NACK from the terminal device, the network device retransmits a data packet #2 carrying the TB #1, and uses a HARQ process number and an NDI that are same as those in initial transmission, to indicate that this transmission is retransmission. In other words, in this case, the data packet #2 and the data packet #1 carry the same TBs. The terminal device correctly decodes the data packet #2, and sends an ACK feedback to the network device. After receiving the ACK feedback from the terminal device, the network device finishes a HARQ process corresponding to the TB #1. The network device transmits a TB #2 by using the same HARQ process number).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Su to the modified system of Sengupta and Nammi to provide terminal device can obtain the transport blocks (that is, the foregoing first transport block and second transport block) by performing joint decoding on the first data packet and the second data packet (Paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 4, Sengupta and Nammi do not explicitly disclose receiving a negative-acknowledge (NACK) for the second type transport block; transmitting a second DCI including a third HARQ process number; and retransmitting the second type transport block through a resource within a second TTI indicated by the second DCI, wherein a value of the third HARQ process number is identical with a value of the first HARQ process number.
In an analogous art, Su discloses receiving a negative-acknowledge (NACK) for the second type transport block (Paragraph 0046 discloses if the decoding fails, the terminal device sends a negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network device. In FIG. 2, a decoding process fails. The terminal device feeds back a NACK and requests the network device to retransmit the packet. After receiving the NACK from the terminal device, the network device retransmits a data packet); transmitting a second DCI including a third HARQ process number (Paragraph 0046); and retransmitting the second type transport block through a resource within a second TTI indicated by the second DCI, wherein a value of the third HARQ process number is identical with a value of the first HARQ process number (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0046 discloses, a network device sends a data packet #1 carrying a TB #1 to a terminal device. Downlink control information used to schedule the data packet #1 includes a HARQ process number and a new data indicator (NDI). The downlink control information and the data packet #1 are sent together. For example, a HARQ process number corresponding to the TB #1 is 1, and an NDI corresponding to the TB #1 is 0. After receiving the data packet #1, the terminal device decodes the data packet #1. If the decoding succeeds, the terminal device sends acknowledgement (ACK) feedback to the network device; or if the decoding fails, the terminal device sends a negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network device. In FIG. 2, a decoding process fails. The terminal device feeds back a NACK and requests the network device to retransmit the TB #1. After receiving the NACK from the terminal device, the network device retransmits a data packet #2 carrying the TB #1, and uses a HARQ process number and an NDI that are same as those in initial transmission, to indicate that this transmission is retransmission. In other words, in this case, the data packet #2 and the data packet #1 carry the same TBs. The terminal device correctly decodes the data packet #2, and sends an ACK feedback to the network device. After receiving the ACK feedback from the terminal device, the network device finishes a HARQ process corresponding to the TB #1. The network device transmits a TB #2 by using the same HARQ process number).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Su to the modified system of Sengupta and Nammi to provide terminal device can obtain the transport blocks (that is, the foregoing first transport block and second transport block) by performing joint decoding on the first data packet and the second data packet (Paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 13, Sengupta and Nammi do not explicitly disclose transmitting a negative-acknowledge (NACK) for the second type transport block; receiving a second DCI including a third HARQ process number; and receiving the second type transport block retransmitted through a resource within a second TTI indicated by the second DCI, wherein a value of the third HARQ process number is identical with a value of the first HARQ process number.
In an analogous art, Su discloses transmitting a negative-acknowledge (NACK) for the second type transport block (Paragraph 0046 discloses if the decoding fails, the terminal device sends a negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network device. In FIG. 2, a decoding process fails. The terminal device feeds back a NACK and requests the network device to retransmit the packet. After receiving the NACK from the terminal device, the network device retransmits a data packet); receiving a second DCI including a third HARQ process number (Paragraph 0046); and receiving the second type transport block retransmitted through a resource within a second TTI indicated by the second DCI, wherein a value of the third HARQ process number is identical with a value of the first HARQ process number (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0046 discloses, a network device sends a data packet #1 carrying a TB #1 to a terminal device. Downlink control information used to schedule the data packet #1 includes a HARQ process number and a new data indicator (NDI). The downlink control information and the data packet #1 are sent together. For example, a HARQ process number corresponding to the TB #1 is 1, and an NDI corresponding to the TB #1 is 0. After receiving the data packet #1, the terminal device decodes the data packet #1. If the decoding succeeds, the terminal device sends acknowledgement (ACK) feedback to the network device; or if the decoding fails, the terminal device sends a negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network device. In FIG. 2, a decoding process fails. The terminal device feeds back a NACK and requests the network device to retransmit the TB #1. After receiving the NACK from the terminal device, the network device retransmits a data packet #2 carrying the TB #1, and uses a HARQ process number and an NDI that are same as those in initial transmission, to indicate that this transmission is retransmission. In other words, in this case, the data packet #2 and the data packet #1 carry the same TBs. The terminal device correctly decodes the data packet #2, and sends an ACK feedback to the network device. After receiving the ACK feedback from the terminal device, the network device finishes a HARQ process corresponding to the TB #1. The network device transmits a TB #2 by using the same HARQ process number).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Su to the modified system of Sengupta and Nammi to provide terminal device can obtain the transport blocks (that is, the foregoing first transport block and second transport block) by performing joint decoding on the first data packet and the second data packet (Paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 5, Sengupta and Nammi do not explicitly disclose wherein, based on the NACK for the second type transport block being received, the second type transport block is retransmitted in one of TTIs associated with a HARQ process number which is set to a same value as the first HARQ process number.
In an analogous art, Su discloses wherein, based on the NACK for the second type transport block being received, the second type transport block is retransmitted in one of TTIs associated with a HARQ process number which is set to a same value as the first HARQ process number (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0046 discloses, a network device sends a data packet #1 carrying a TB #1 to a terminal device. Downlink control information used to schedule the data packet #1 includes a HARQ process number and a new data indicator (NDI). The downlink control information and the data packet #1 are sent together. For example, a HARQ process number corresponding to the TB #1 is 1, and an NDI corresponding to the TB #1 is 0. After receiving the data packet #1, the terminal device decodes the data packet #1. If the decoding succeeds, the terminal device sends acknowledgement (ACK) feedback to the network device; or if the decoding fails, the terminal device sends a negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback to the network device. In FIG. 2, a decoding process fails. The terminal device feeds back a NACK and requests the network device to retransmit the TB #1. After receiving the NACK from the terminal device, the network device retransmits a data packet #2 carrying the TB #1, and uses a HARQ process number and an NDI that are same as those in initial transmission, to indicate that this transmission is retransmission. In other words, in this case, the data packet #2 and the data packet #1 carry the same TBs. The terminal device correctly decodes the data packet #2, and sends an ACK feedback to the network device. After receiving the ACK feedback from the terminal device, the network device finishes a HARQ process corresponding to the TB #1. The network device transmits a TB #2 by using the same HARQ process number).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Su to the modified system of Sengupta and Nammi to provide terminal device can obtain the transport blocks (that is, the foregoing first transport block and second transport block) by performing joint decoding on the first data packet and the second data packet (Paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 6, Sengupta and Nammi do not explicitly disclose wherein a HARQ process of the second type transport block is identified by the second HARQ process number, irrespective of the first HARQ process number.
In an analogous art, Su discloses wherein a HARQ process of the second type transport block is identified by the second HARQ process number, irrespective of the first HARQ process number.
(Fig. 2, Paragraph 0046 discloses the mechanism of identifying the HARQ process number of different transport blocks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Su to the modified system of Sengupta and Nammi to provide terminal device can obtain the transport blocks (that is, the foregoing first transport block and second transport block) by performing joint decoding on the first data packet and the second data packet (Paragraph 0009).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li et al. (US 20160056926 A1) discloses the field of mobile communications, and more particularly, to a soft buffer processing method and device in TDD systems (Fig. 2).
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413