DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 12/18/2023, claims 29-36 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2023 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 12/18/2023 have been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 31, 33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al. (US 2022/0399978 A1 as PCT filed on Sep. 3, 2020) in view of LI (US 2023/0007648 A1).
Regarding claim 29; Gao teaches a method of communication performed by a terminal device, comprising:
receiving, from a network device, a first configuration (See Fig. 2: the base station can activate a terminal to perform SPS transmission according to the period configured by the SPS by sending an activating PDCCH…¶ [0046]) for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (See Fig. 2: In the step 201, the terminal may determine the initial time unit in which the PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH is located based on K1 corresponding to the first SPS PDSCH. ¶ [0055]) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) deferral (See Fig. 2: Step 203, deferring, in case that an unavailable symbol is included, the first HARQ-ACK to a target time unit and processing the first HARQ-ACK. ¶ [0059]);
determining that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission is overlapped with a second PUCCH transmission in a time domain (See Fig. 2: In case that the UCI includes CSI and/or SR, the PUCCH resource carrying the UCI and the first PUCCH resource have overlapping symbols. ¶ [0105]), and the first PUCCH transmission is overlapped with a downlink symbol (See Fig. 2: the PUCCH resource carrying the UCI and the PUCCH resource corresponding to the SPS PDSCH (i.e., DL symbol) have overlapping symbols. ¶ [0108]), wherein the first PUCCH transmission being with HARQ-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receptions (See Fig. 2: transmitting the first HARQ-ACK and the CSI simultaneously on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the CSI, or determining a PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources corresponding to SPS PDSCH based on a total number of bits of the first HARQ-ACK…; ¶ [0111]); and
determining a PUCCH transmission associated with the HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration (See Fig. 2: the PUCCH resource for carrying the first HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH selected from PUCCH resources corresponding to SPS PDSCH based on a total number of bits of the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH and the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH to be transmitted in the target time unit…¶ [0099]).
Even though, Gao teaches determining a PUCCH transmission associated with the HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration, Gao doesn’t explicitly provide determining a third PUCCH transmission.
However, LI discloses determining a third PUCCH transmission (LI: See Fig. 4: the third time domain resource position of the PUCCH resource carrying the URLLC HARQ-ACK is determined; it is determined whether there is an overlap between the PUCCH resource carrying the URLLC HARQ-ACK and the PUCCH resource carrying the eMBB HARQ-ACK in the time domain based on the first time domain resource position (i.e., first configuration)…¶ [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide determining the third PUCCH TX as taught by LI to have incorporated in the system of Gao, so that it would provide to improve the success rate of reception, when a small number of repeated transmissions are dropped, the base station can still receive all the eMBB data, so even if the eMBB PUSCH resources are dropped, the impact on using the eMBB service data is small. LI: ¶ [0162].
Regarding claim 31; Gao teaches a method of communication performed by a network device, comprising
transmitting, to a terminal device, a first configuration (See Fig. 2: the base station can activate a terminal to perform SPS transmission according to the period configured by the SPS by sending an activating PDCCH…¶ [0046]) for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (See Fig. 2: In the step 201, the terminal may determine the initial time unit in which the PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH is located based on K1 corresponding to the first SPS PDSCH. ¶ [0055]) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) deferral (See Fig. 2: Step 203, deferring, in case that an unavailable symbol is included, the first HARQ-ACK to a target time unit and processing the first HARQ-ACK. ¶ [0059]);
wherein a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission is overlapped with a second PUCCH transmission in a time domain (See Fig. 2: In case that the UCI includes CSI and/or SR, the PUCCH resource carrying the UCI and the first PUCCH resource have overlapping symbols. ¶ [0105]), and the first PUCCH transmission is overlapped with a downlink symbol (See Fig. 2: the PUCCH resource carrying the UCI and the PUCCH resource corresponding to the SPS PDSCH (i.e., DL symbol) have overlapping symbols. ¶ [0108]), wherein the first PUCCH transmission being with HARQ-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receptions (See Fig. 2: transmitting the first HARQ-ACK and the CSI simultaneously on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the CSI, or determining a PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources corresponding to SPS PDSCH based on a total number of bits of the first HARQ-ACK…; ¶ [0111]); and
for determining of a PUCCH transmission associated with the HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration (See Fig. 2: the PUCCH resource for carrying the first HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH selected from PUCCH resources corresponding to SPS PDSCH based on a total number of bits of the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH and the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH to be transmitted in the target time unit…¶ [0099]).
Even though, Gao teaches determining a PUCCH transmission associated with the HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration, Gao doesn’t explicitly provide determining a third PUCCH transmission.
However, LI discloses determining a third PUCCH transmission (LI: See Fig. 4: the third time domain resource position of the PUCCH resource carrying the URLLC HARQ-ACK is determined; it is determined whether there is an overlap between the PUCCH resource carrying the URLLC HARQ-ACK and the PUCCH resource carrying the eMBB HARQ-ACK in the time domain based on the first time domain resource position (i.e., first configuration)…¶ [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide determining the third PUCCH TX as taught by LI to have incorporated in the system of Gao, so that it would provide to improve the success rate of reception, when a small number of repeated transmissions are dropped, the base station can still receive all the eMBB data, so even if the eMBB PUSCH resources are dropped, the impact on using the eMBB service data is small. LI: ¶ [0162].
Regarding claim 33; Gao teaches a terminal device, comprising: a receiver; and at least one processor configured to cause the terminal device to:
control the receiver to receive, from a network device, a first configuration (See Fig. 2: the base station can activate a terminal to perform SPS transmission according to the period configured by the SPS by sending an activating PDCCH…¶ [0046]) for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (See Fig. 2: In the step 201, the terminal may determine the initial time unit in which the PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH is located based on K1 corresponding to the first SPS PDSCH. ¶ [0055]) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) deferral (See Fig. 2: Step 203, deferring, in case that an unavailable symbol is included, the first HARQ-ACK to a target time unit and processing the first HARQ-ACK. ¶ [0059]);
determine that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission is overlapped with a second PUCCH transmission in a time domain (See Fig. 2: In case that the UCI includes CSI and/or SR, the PUCCH resource carrying the UCI and the first PUCCH resource have overlapping symbols. ¶ [0105]), and the first PUCCH transmission is overlapped with a downlink symbol (See Fig. 2: the PUCCH resource carrying the UCI and the PUCCH resource corresponding to the SPS PDSCH (i.e., DL symbol) have overlapping symbols. ¶ [0108]), wherein the first PUCCH transmission being with HARQ-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receptions (See Fig. 2: transmitting the first HARQ-ACK and the CSI simultaneously on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the CSI, or determining a PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources corresponding to SPS PDSCH based on a total number of bits of the first HARQ-ACK…; ¶ [0111]); and
determine a PUCCH transmission associated with the HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration (See Fig. 2: the PUCCH resource for carrying the first HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH selected from PUCCH resources corresponding to SPS PDSCH based on a total number of bits of the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH and the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH to be transmitted in the target time unit…¶ [0099]).
Even though, Gao teaches determining a PUCCH transmission associated with the HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration, Gao doesn’t explicitly provide determining a third PUCCH transmission.
However, LI discloses determining a third PUCCH transmission (LI: See Fig. 4: the third time domain resource position of the PUCCH resource carrying the URLLC HARQ-ACK is determined; it is determined whether there is an overlap between the PUCCH resource carrying the URLLC HARQ-ACK and the PUCCH resource carrying the eMBB HARQ-ACK in the time domain based on the first time domain resource position (i.e., first configuration)…¶ [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide determining the third PUCCH TX as taught by LI to have incorporated in the system of Gao, so that it would provide to improve the success rate of reception, when a small number of repeated transmissions are dropped, the base station can still receive all the eMBB data, so even if the eMBB PUSCH resources are dropped, the impact on using the eMBB service data is small. LI: ¶ [0162].
Regarding claim 35; Gao teaches a network device, comprising: a transmitter; and at least one processor configured to cause the network device to:
control the transmitter to transmit, to a terminal device, a first configuration (See Fig. 2: the base station can activate a terminal to perform SPS transmission according to the period configured by the SPS by sending an activating PDCCH…¶ [0046]) for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (See Fig. 2: In the step 201, the terminal may determine the initial time unit in which the PUCCH carrying the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH is located based on K1 corresponding to the first SPS PDSCH. ¶ [0055]) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) deferral (See Fig. 2: Step 203, deferring, in case that an unavailable symbol is included, the first HARQ-ACK to a target time unit and processing the first HARQ-ACK. ¶ [0059]);
wherein a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission is overlapped with a second PUCCH transmission in a time domain (See Fig. 2: In case that the UCI includes CSI and/or SR, the PUCCH resource carrying the UCI and the first PUCCH resource have overlapping symbols. ¶ [0105]), and the first PUCCH transmission is overlapped with a downlink symbol (See Fig. 2: the PUCCH resource carrying the UCI and the PUCCH resource corresponding to the SPS PDSCH (i.e., DL symbol) have overlapping symbols. ¶ [0108]), wherein the first PUCCH transmission being with HARQ-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receptions (See Fig. 2: transmitting the first HARQ-ACK and the CSI simultaneously on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the CSI, or determining a PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources corresponding to SPS PDSCH based on a total number of bits of the first HARQ-ACK…; ¶ [0111]); and
the first configuration is used for determining of a PUCCH transmission associated with the HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration (See Fig. 2: the PUCCH resource for carrying the first HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH selected from PUCCH resources corresponding to SPS PDSCH based on a total number of bits of the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH and the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH to be transmitted in the target time unit…¶ [0099]).
Even though, Gao teaches determining a PUCCH transmission associated with the HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH receptions based on the first configuration, Gao doesn’t explicitly provide determining a third PUCCH transmission.
However, LI discloses determining a third PUCCH transmission (LI: See Fig. 4: the third time domain resource position of the PUCCH resource carrying the URLLC HARQ-ACK is determined; it is determined whether there is an overlap between the PUCCH resource carrying the URLLC HARQ-ACK and the PUCCH resource carrying the eMBB HARQ-ACK in the time domain based on the first time domain resource position (i.e., first configuration)…¶ [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide determining the third PUCCH TX as taught by LI to have incorporated in the system of Gao, so that it would provide to improve the success rate of reception, when a small number of repeated transmissions are dropped, the base station can still receive all the eMBB data, so even if the eMBB PUSCH resources are dropped, the impact on using the eMBB service data is small. LI: ¶ [0162].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30, 32, 34, and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claims but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2021/0105766 A1 to discuss Method Of Multiplexing Uplink Control Information And Related Device).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416