DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Acknowledgement is made of amendments filed 08/18/2026. Upon entering the amendments, claim 7 is canceled, claim 9 is added, and claims 1-6 and 8 are amended. The claims 1-6 and 8-9 are pending and presented for the examination.
Rejections Over USC 112 Withdrawn
Claims 1-2 have been amended to overcome the indefiniteness rejections set forth in the previous office action. Therefore, these grounds of rejection are withdrawn for said claims and dependent claims 3-6 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cid Aguilar (WO 2020046096 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cid Aguilar teaches a grey glass comprising a silicon-sodium-calcium composition and a coloring agent, said coloring agent comprising Fe2O3 1.20-3.0%, iron (II) oxide (Fe2+) 15-40%, FeO 0.25-1.0% (expressed as Fe2O3), Co3O4 0.020-0.040%, Se 0.0015-0.010%, CuO 0.00050-0.050%, and TiO2 0.01-1% (see Abstract). Each aforementioned range significantly overlaps the corresponding component range of the instant claim. Cid Aguilar further teaches exemplary embodiments wherein each aforementioned component falls within the corresponding range of claim 1 (see Tables 1-3, examples 5, 8, 9, 14, 16, 17, reproduced below).
Fe2O3 Fe2+ FeO Co3O4 Se CuO TiO2
Ex.5 2.30 20.6 0.475 0.0330 0.0045 0.0075 0.56
Ex. 8 2.30 16.0 0.368 0.0330 0.0042 0.0075 0.56
Ex. 9 2.30 16.7 0.384 0.0330 0.0032 0.0075 0.56
Ex. 14 2.30 23.1 0.531 0.0365 0.0049 0.0150 0.56
Ex. 16 1.90 33.9 0.644 0.0310 0.0037 0.0075 0.044
Ex. 17 1.90 35.9 0.682 0.0310 0.0061 0.0075 0.044
The Fe2+ values listed above for each example glass correspond to the redox ratio percentage values for each glass. As can be seen, each glass has a redox ratio percentage that falls within the 9.33-44.3% range of the amended claim.
The Cid Aguilar glasses glass have a low illuminant light A transmission (TLA) no greater than
15%, direct solar transmission (TDS) no greater than 14%, near infrared radiation transmission (TIR) no greater than 14%, ultraviolet radiation transmission (TUV) no greater than 8%, total solar transmission (TTS) no greater than 38%, with these values being measured through glass sheets with thicknesses of 2.85-3.85 mm (see claim 1).
Cid Aguilar et al teaches that the inventive glasses are formed into a glass sheet having the color coordinates measured under illuminant D65: L* from 46 to 15; a* from -10 to 5; b* from -5.0 to 15; and an excitation purity no greater than 50% for a thickness of 3.85 mm. The values for each of these properties in the cited exemplary embodiments fall within the corresponding ranges of amended claim 1. The property limitations of said claim are therefore met by the Cid Aguilar teachings. Each limitation of instant claim 1 is therefore met by the teachings of Cid Aguilar, and the claim is anticipated by the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 2, Cid Aguilar et al teaches that the inventive glass has a purity no greater than 50% and a dominant wavelength of 480-590 nm with a thickness of 3.85 mm (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, the Cid Aguilar et al base glass comprises 68 to 75% by weight SiO2; 0 to 5% by weight Al2O3; 0 to 10% by weight MgO; 0 to 5% by weight K2O; 0.05 to 0.3% by weight SO3 (see pages 13-14).
Regarding claim 4, Cid Aguilar et al teaches that the inventive glasses further comprise NaNO3 in amounts falling within the range of the instant claim (see Tables 1-3, examples cited above).
Regarding claim 5, Cid Aguilar et al teaches that the inventive glasses either contain 0 wt%, or contain carbon in an amount falling within the range of the instant claim (ibid.).
Regarding claim 6, the Cid Aguilar et al glasses are used to form glass sheets by a float process.
Regarding claim 8, the aforementioned examples 5, 8, 9, 14, 16, 17 embodiments have dominant wavelengths falling within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, examples 5, 8, 9, and 14 as discussed above comprise Fe2O3 and FeO in amounts falling within the narrower ranges of the new claim, and have redox ratio percentage values also falling within the corresponding range of the instant claim. Claim 9 is therefore anticipated by the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the previously applied prior art to Cid Aguilar et al does not teach or suggest a glass redox ratio percentage in the range of the amended claims of 9.33-44.3%. However, this is not persuasive because, as shown above, Cid Aguilar et al teaches several examples wherein the redox ratio percentage is within this range. As acknowledged and shown by applicant, the glass redox ratio percentage is calculated from the FeO and Fe2O3 contents of the glass; the aforementioned glasses of the prior art have contents of these two components such that the resultant redox ratio percentages fall within the new range of amended claim 1, and thus applicant’s contention of the opposite is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that the prior art to Cid Aguilar et al teaches a glass having a redox ratio percentage of 15-40%, and that because the range of the instant claims (9.33-44.3%) exceeds that of the prior art, the instant claims are patentably distinct. This contention is not persuasive because a range in a claim is anticipated if a prior art embodiment has a value for the type of range falling therewithin. This is the case with the Cid Aguilar et al prior art; several embodiment glasses have redox ratio percentages falling within the instantly claimed range. It is not necessarily that the exact breadth of said claimed range be identically disclosed by a piece of prior art teaching for anticipation to be present. The instantly claimed range is therefore anticipated, and the fact that the range of the instant amended claims extends higher is immaterial for determining patentability.
Applicant similarly argues that the Cid Aguilar et al prior art ranges for FeO, Fe2O3, Co3O4, and selenium are not identical to those of the instant claims, and thus the claims are distinct over the prior art teachings. However, as discussed above, this is not persuasive because the exemplary embodiments taught in the Cid Aguilar et al prior art meet each instant claim limitation, and thus fall within the intended claim coverage. These embodiments thus anticipate the claims, and it is not necessary for the prior art ranges to be identical to those of the instant claims in order for anticipation to be present.
While applicant argues equivalently in regard to the redox ratio percentage of the instant claims, contending that the FeO and Fe2O3 contents lead to end points for the redox ranges that are not identical to those of the amended claims, this argument is not persuasive for the same reasons as discussed above. Each cited exemplary embodiment from the Cid Aguilar et al prior art falls within the redox ranges of the instant claims, thus anticipating said ranges. That the entirety of the instantly claimed range is not taught by Cid Aguilar, or that the range is not identical, is not a persuasive showing that this anticipation is not present.
Thus, the grounds of rejection previously issued are maintained for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
6. No claim is allowed.
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NOAH S WIESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
NSW27 October 2026