DETAILED ACTIONStatus of Application
Claims 1-10 and 18 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 2-3, the claimed hair growth agents are drawn to product claims and therefore the intended use of the agent, “for use in combination with …” other agents does not carry patentable weight over the teachings of the prior art. Regarding claims 4-8 and 10, the claimed hair grown agent according to claim 1, “for use in …” or “used for …” does not carry patentable weight over the teachings of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garland et al. (US20190209557A1) hereinafter Garland in view of Fagot et al. (US6184252B1) hereinafter Fagot.
Regarding claims 1-10 and 18, Garland is drawn to compositions as well as methods of treating patients using such compositions; wherein the composition is a in liquid form and comprises water and/or a non-aqueous solvent (abstract and claims).
Garland discloses palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminobutyloyl hydroxythreonine, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminohydroxybutyrate [0194].
Garland does not explicitly disclose the presence of phytosphingosine in the composition.
However, Fagot is drawn to topically applicable hair growth-/hair loss-affecting cosmetic/pharmaceutical compositions for treating mammalian subjects with hair or scalp disorders (abstract and claims 1-21).
Fagot discloses among these sphingolipids, N-acylated derivatives based
on sphinganine (2S,3R)-2-amino-1 (col. 2, ln 20-22). It is also known that
compounds based on sphingenine can also be generated by activation of acyl-CoA: sphinganine (sphingosine) (col. 2, ln 60-62). Fagot discloses N-palmitoylsphingenine (col. 9, ln 62). Fagot discloses a method for inducing or stimulating hair growth on a mammalian subject in need of said treatment comprising topically applying to the hair
and/or skin an effective amount of a cosmetic or pharmaceutical composition (claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Garland, to incorporate sphingosine, as previously disclosed by Fagot, and arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because both Garland and Fagot are in the field of palmitoyl containing compositions, topically applicable hair growth-/hair loss-affecting cosmetic/pharmaceutical compositions for treating mammalian subjects with hair or scalp disorders (Fagot: abstract), thus combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615