DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II, claims 5-14, in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 and 15-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Second Paragraph
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is indefinite because it is not clear whether the amounts of HPMC, xanthan gum, and CMC recited in claim 6 refer to the amounts in the total “personal care composition” or the amounts in the “suspending polymer composition” as recited in claim 5. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting this to refer to the amount of each of the polymers in the “suspending polymer composition”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Clark et al. (US 6,025,311) in view of Dijk et al. (US 2008/0071077 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Clark discloses a composition including 15.0 wt.% hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose (HPMC), 8.0 wt.% carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC), and 0.2 wt.% xanthan gum (Col 9, Table 7C). In relation to the total amount of polymers, this is 64.65 wt.% HPMC, 34.48 wt.% CMC, and 0.86 wt.% of xanthan gum. The polymer blends are added to shampoo formulations as thickeners in an amount such as 1.80 wt.% (Col 11, lines 30-34; Col 12-13). The shampoo compositions include anionic surfactants, such as 27.50 wt.% of ammonium lauryl sulfate, preservatives, such as 0.1 wt.% of methyl paraben, and around 60 wt.% water (Col 12, lines 30-40, Table 12). The shampoo compositions are free from acrylic acids, methacrylates, or derivatives. Additionally, Clark discloses that hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose acts as a thickener (Col 2, lines 65-67), that adding CMC allows for the salt requirement to be reduced (Col 8, lines 55-59), and that xanthan gum provides a structure to the polymer suspension which helps prevent settling of the polymer particles (Col 4, lines 9-11).
Clark is not believed to be anticipatory because Clark does not disclose amounts of each component falling within the instantly claimed range. That is, Clark discloses the amount of xanthan gum in the polymer blend is 0.86 wt.%, which is lower than the claimed amount of about 10-25 wt.%, and the amount of CMC in the polymer blend is 34.48 wt.%, which is higher than the claimed amount of about 10-25 wt.%.
However, Dijk discloses the use of CMC, HPMC, and xanthan gum as thickeners in personal care compositions such as shampoos [0016]-[0018]. Dijk teaches that the weight ratio of CMC to HPMC or xanthan gum may be from 1:100 to 100:1 [0018].
CMC, HMPC, and xanthan gum, and their amounts, are recognized to have different effects (HPMC, CMC, and xanthan gum – thickening; CMC – reducing salt requirement; xanthan gum – providing structure to polymer suspension) with changing amounts used as taught by Clark and Dijk; and the general condition (ratio of the components) is known (Dijk [0018]). As such, result effective variables can be optimized by routine experimentation and it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amount of CMC, HPMC, and xanthan gum in the polymer combination via routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, in regards to the amount of the individual components, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Regarding claim 6, the amounts of HPMC, CMC, and xanthan gum would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation, as previously discussed.
Clark does not disclose that the carboxymethyl cellulose has a degree of substitution of less than 0.65.
Dijk teaches the use of CMC which has a degree of substitution of 0.6 [0026]. Dijk teaches that the CMC of the disclosure provides the cosmetic formulations, such as shampoos, with improved rheological behavior, gelling properties, texture and elasticity, enhanced water retention and (storage) stability [0010]-[0011] [0016].
Since Clark generally teaches a polymer combination to thicken personal care compositions, such as shampoos, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the CMC of Dijk, with a degree of substitution of 0.6, within the teachings of Clark, because Dijk teaches a CMC with this degree of substitution in cosmetic formulations such as shampoos. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use a CMC with a degree of substitution of 0.6 because Clark teaches that it provides the cosmetic formulations with improved rheological behavior, gelling properties, texture and elasticity, enhanced water retention and (storage) stability [0010]-[0011] [0016]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claims 7-8 and 14 are rendered prima facie obvious because Clark discloses the shampoo composition includes a preservative (methyl paraben) (Col 12, lines 30-40).
Claims 9-10 are rendered prima facie obvious because Clark discloses the compositions are formulated into shampoos (Col 11, lines 30-34; Col 12-13).
Claim 12 is rendered prima facie obvious because Clark discloses ammonium lauryl sulfate (Col 12, lines 30-40) which is an alkyl sulfate anionic surfactant.
Claim 13 is rendered prima facie obvious because the compositions disclosed by Clark used as a shampoo are silicone free (Col 11, lines 30-34; Col 12-13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 5-14 in the response to election/restriction filed 01/07/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 5-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/925,570 in view of Clark et al. (US 6,025,311).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for carboxymethyl cellulose.
Clark discloses a personal care composition including carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) (Col 9, Table 7C). Clark teaches that that adding CMC allows for the salt requirement to be reduced (Col 8, lines 55-59).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include CMC, within the copending claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the composition to include CMC to reduce the salt requirement (Col 8, lines 55-59).
The weight percentages of each component, as recited in the instant claims, would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner , Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612