DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-10 and 18 are pending and are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the limitation “according to any one among claim 1 to a subject.” Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Obviousness Rejection
1) Claims 1-5, 9-10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20170114317 (A), cited in IDS dated 12/18/2023; citations below are from the English translation provided by the applicant).
Kwon teaches a composition for preventing hair loss and stimulating hair growth comprising phytosphingosine and a yeast extract as active ingredients (pg 1, [0001]). Kwon further teaches minoxidil as active ingredient for hair growth (pg 2, [0004]). These teachings read on claims 1-5.
For claim 9, Kwon teaches a liquid composition (pgs 13-14, [0066]).
For claims 10 and 18, one of ordinary skill would reasonably conclude that Kwon teaches a composition for baldness of the head. See MPEP 2144.01.
The skilled artisan would have expected success in adding minoxidil to the Kwon's composition for preventing hair loss and stimulating hair growth comprising phytosphingosine and a yeast extract because Kwon teaches that minoxidil is useful for preventing hair loss and stimulating hair growth and, generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
2) Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (cited above), in view of Vañó-Galván (“Safety of low-dose oral minoxidil for hair loss: A multicenter study of 1404 patients,” J Am Acad Dermatol, 2021; 84: 1644-51).
The teachings of Kwon are discussed above.
Kwon does not teach an improvement of maximum hair length or an increase in hair shaft diameter.
Vañó-Galván teaches the missing elements of Kwon.
Vañó-Galván teaches oral minoxidil shortens the telogen phase of the hair growth cycle, causing premature transition to anagen (the active growth phase of hair follicles), and prolongs anagen, resulting in increased hair length and diameter (pg 1645, left column).
The skilled artisan would have expected success in utilizing the composition of Kwon to increase hair length and hair shaft diameter since Vañó-Galván teaches minoxidil shortens the telogen phase of the hair growth cycle, causing premature transition to anagen, and prolongs anagen, resulting in increased hair length and diameter.
3) Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (cited above), in view of Price (“Changes in hair weight and hair count in men with androgenetic alopecia, after application of 5% and 2% topical minoxidil, placebo, or no treatment,” J Am Acad Dermatol, 1999, 41: 717-721).
The teachings of Kwon are discussed above.
Kwon does not teach an increase in the number of hairs.
Price teaches the missing element of Kwon.
Price teaches the quantity of hair and the amount of hair growth increased during a 96 week clinical trial, using either 2% or 5% minoxidil solution, or vehicle. The fourth group, unblinded, received no treatment (Abstract).
The skilled artisan would have expected success in utilizing the composition of Kwon to increase the number of hairs since Price teaches minoxidil causes an increase in the quantity of hair and the amount of hair growth.
CONCLUSION
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612