DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sadakane et al (US 2019/0337270 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Sadakane et al discloses a laminated glazing (page 2, section [0017] – page 5, section [0058], Figures 1A-C, “20”), comprising: a first glass sheet having first and second opposing surfaces (Figure 1C, “220”); a second glass sheet having third and fourth opposing surfaces (Figure 1C, “210”); an interlayer between the first glass sheet and the second glass sheet, wherein the interlayer is positioned between the second surface of the first glass sheet and the third surface of the second glass sheet (Figure 1C, “230”); a p-polarized light reflective layer between the first glass sheet and the second glass sheet (page 2, section [0023], Figure 1C, “240”); and an opaque layer (page 4, section [0042], Figure 1C, “27”), wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer (Figure 1C, “240”) is positioned between a vehicle interior (Figure 1C, “300”) and the opaque layer (Figure 1C, “27”) when the laminated glazing is installed in a vehicle (page 2, section [0017], re: windshield of a vehicle), and wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer is in an area overlapping with the opaque layer to provide a display surface, such that the opaque layer is a background for the display surface (page 2, section [0021] & page 3, section [0025], Figure 1C, “240, 27,” re: HUD image projected on film “240”).
Regarding claim 2, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer is a reflective film having a base film (page 2, section [0018], Figure 1C, “230”) and one or more reflective layers on the base film (page 2, section [0021], Figure 1C, “240”).
Regarding claim 5, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the interlayer includes a first interlayer and a second interlayer and the p-polarized light reflective layer is positioned between the first interlayer and the second interlayer (Figure 1C, re: interlayers “230” on both sides of p-polarized reflective layer “240”).
Regarding claim 6, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the opaque layer (Figure 1C, “27”) is on the first glass sheet (Figure 1C, “220”).
Regarding claim 7, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the opaque layer is a black print (page 4, section [0042]).
Regarding claim 8, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the opaque layer includes an enamel material (page 4, section [0042], re: ceramic).
Regarding claim 9, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer includes a coating (page 4, section [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer is a reflective layer (Figure 1C, “240”) adhered to one of the second glass sheet and the interlayer (Figure 1C, “230”).
Regarding claim 11, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer (Figure 1C, “240”) does not extend beyond the opaque layer (Figure 1C, “27”).
Regarding claim 12, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer is completely overlapping (Figure 1C, “240”) with the opaque layer (Figure 1C, “27”) such that the opaque layer (Figure 1C, “27”) extends past edges of the p-polarized light reflective layer (Figure 1C, “240”).
Regarding claim 13, Sadakane et al discloses said laminated glazing according comprising a masking layer (Figure 1C, “26”), wherein the masking layer covers at least one of the edges of the p-polarized light reflective layer (Figure 1C, “240”).
Regarding claim 14, Sadakane et al discloses wherein the masking layer is an enamel print (page 4, section [0042], re: ceramic).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakane et al in view of Anzai (US 2023/0028048 A1).
In regard to claim 15, Sadakane et al discloses a head-up display system, comprising: a laminated glazing (page 2, section [0017] – page 5, section [0058], Figures 1A-C, “20”), comprising: a first glass sheet having first and second opposing surfaces (Figure 1C, “220”); a second glass sheet having third and fourth opposing surfaces (Figure 1C, “210”); an interlayer between the first glass sheet and the second glass sheet, wherein the interlayer is positioned between the second surface of the first glass sheet and the third surface of the second glass sheet (Figure 1C, “230”); a p-polarized light reflective layer between the first glass sheet and the second glass sheet (page 2, section [0023], Figure 1C, “240”); and an opaque layer (page 4, section [0042], Figure 1C, “27”), wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer (Figure 1C, “240”) is positioned between a vehicle interior (Figure 1C, “300”) and the opaque layer (Figure 1C, “27”) when the laminated glazing is installed in a vehicle (page 2, section [0017], re: windshield of a vehicle), and wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer is in an area overlapping with the opaque layer to provide a display surface, such that the opaque layer is a background for the display surface (page 2, section [0021] & page 3, section [0025], Figure 1C, “240, 27,” re: HUD image projected on film “240”); and a projector for projecting light toward the p-polarized light reflective layer of the laminated glazing, wherein an image is produced from a reflection of the light at the p-polarized light reflective layer (page 2, section [0021]), but does not specifically disclose wherein the projector projects p-polarized light and the image is produced as a virtual image from said reflection.
However, Sadakane et al discloses that a real image is projected on the p-polarized light reflection film (page 2, section [0021]) and Anzai teaches that it is desirable for projectors used in head-up display systems in automotive windshields project p-polarized real images on screens (page 12, sections [0198]-[0199]) for the purpose of achieving reflected virtual images that have changeable imaging positions (page 12, section [0200]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the projector of Sadakane et al to project p-polarized light and for said reflected image to be produced as a virtual image since Anzai teaches that it is desirable for the purpose of achieving reflected virtual images that have changeable imaging positions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 3: a laminated glazing as claimed, specifically wherein the opaque layer is on the p-polarized light reflective layer.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 4: a laminated glazing as claimed, specifically wherein the p-polarized light reflective layer is on the third surface of the second glass sheet.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 December 26, 2025