DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended. Claim 9 has been canceled. Claims 14-16 have been added. Claims 1-8 and 10-16 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-11, filed 05/12/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument of: “JP2019 fails to describe or suggest "a blade configured to cut foreign substances,”, the examiner disagrees.
While the description of “JP 2019” refers to a “scrape” in [0021, 0023, and 0024], it is nevertheless disclosed as a “blade”. According to Merriam-Webster, “blade” as defined by is “3a: the cutting part of an implement”, and therefore, capable of cutting foreign objects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20210052121 A1) and “JP 2019” (JP 6570130 B2).
Referring to claim 1: KIM teaches a cleaner station (100 Fig. 1/300 Fig. 23) comprising:
a housing (housing of 300 Fig. 23);
a coupling part (340 Fig. 23) disposed in the housing (housing of 300 Fig. 23) and including a coupling surface (coupling surface of 340 shown in Fig. 23) to which at least a part of a cleaner (10 Fig. 23) is coupled;
a dust collecting part (350 Fig. 24) accommodated in the housing (housing of 300 Fig. 23), disposed below the coupling part (340 Fig. 23), and configured to capture dust in a dust bin (20 Fig. 23) of the cleaner (10 Fig. 23);
a dust collecting motor (“a fan motor configured to generate suction power” [0003]; “suction fan 331” [0346]) accommodated in the housing, disposed below the dust collecting part (350 Fig. 24), and configured to generate a suction force (“The intake air flow generated by the suction fan 331 may be supplied to the dust collecting chamber 20” [0349]) for sucking the dust in the dust bin (20 Fig. 23);
a door unit (151, 152, and 156 Fig. 10) including a door (152 Fig. 10) hingedly coupled to the coupling surface (coupling surface of 340 shown in Fig. 23) to open or close a dust passage hole (hole shown in Fig. 10) formed in the coupling surface; and
a flow path part (flow path part of 30 and 151 when coupled shown in Fig. 10) provided in a flow path tube (30 Fig. 10) disposed in the housing, the flow path part being configured to connect (“The cleaner body 11 may include a dust collecting guide 30 provided to connect among the dust collecting chamber 20” [0100]) the dust bin (20 Fig. 23) of the cleaner (10 Fig. 23) and the dust collecting part (350 Fig. 24);
but is silent on wherein the door unit comprises a scraper coupled to the door and configured to come into contact with at least a part of the flow path tube when the door blocks the dust passage hole, and wherein the scraper comprises a blade configured to cut foreign substances.
“JP 2019” teaches wherein the similar configuration door unit (10 Fig. 3) comprises a scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7) coupled to the similar configuration door (6 Figs. 3 and 4) and configured to come into contact (shown in Fig. 6) with at least a part of the flow path tube (flow path tube of 5) when the door (6 Figs. 3 and 4) blocks the similar configuration dust passage hole (dust passage hole of 6 Figs. 3 and 4), and wherein the scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7) comprises a blade (B Fig. 2-A inserted above; “blade” [0021-0024]; “blade” as defined by Merriam-Webster is “3a: the cutting part of an implement”) configured to cut foreign substances (while the description of “JP 2019” refers to a “scrape” in [0021, 0023, and 0024], it is nevertheless disclosed as a “blade” and is capable of cutting foreign objects).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of KIM with the scraper as taught by “JP 2019” for the purpose of removing any dust which adheres to the body ([0022] of “JP 2019”)
Referring to claim 4: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7 of “JP 2019”) comprises:
a door coupling part (3a Fig. 6 of “JP 2019”) coupled to an outer peripheral surface (outer peripheral surface of 6) of the door (6 Figs. 3 and 4 of “JP 2019”);
a first scraper (S1 Fig. 2-A inserted below) protruding and extending outward from the door coupling part (3a Fig. 6 of “JP 2019”); and
a second scraper (S2 Fig. 2-A inserted below) protruding from the door coupling part (3a Fig. 6 of “JP 2019”) in parallel (shown parallel in Fig. 2-A inserted below) with the first scraper (S1 Fig. 2-A inserted below).
Referring to claim 5: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the scraper (6 Figs. 3 and 4 of “JP 2019”) is a squeegee (squeegee as defined by Merriam-Webster is: “a blade of leather or rubber set on a handle and used for spreading, pushing, or wiping liquid material on, across, or off a surface (such as a window)”; “Although the elastomer is used as the material of the blade 3b, the material is not limited to this, and rubber, soft resin, foamed resin, non-woven fabric, etc., or a composite material thereof may be used.” [0022]).
Referring to claim 6: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7 of “JP 2019”) comprises: a door coupling part (3a Fig. 6 of “JP 2019”) coupled to an outer peripheral surface of the door (6 Figs. 3 and 4 of “JP 2019”); a friction part (rounded surface of 3b shown in Fig. 7 of “JP 2019”) configured to rub against the flow path tube (flow path tube of 5 of “JP 2019”) when the door blocks (6 Figs. 3 and 4 of “JP 2019”) the dust passage hole (dust passage hole of 5 of “JP 2019”); and a connection part (3e Fig. 7 of “JP 2019”) configured to connect the door coupling part (3a Fig. 6 of “JP 2019”) and the friction part (rounded surface of 3b shown in Fig. 7 of “JP 2019”) and define a space therein (space which retains 3b shown in Fig. 7 of “JP 2019”).
Referring to claim 11: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path part (flow path part of 30 and 151 when coupled shown in Fig. 10) comprises:
a first flow path (first flow path which communicates 20 to 30 shown in Fig. 4) configured to communicate with an internal space of the dust bin (20 Fig. 23) when the dust passage hole (hole shown in Fig. 10) is opened; and
a second flow path (second flow path which communicates 151 to dust collecting part 350 Fig. 24) formed at a predetermined angle (predetermined angle of approximately 90°) with respect to the first flow path and configured to allow the first flow path and an internal space of the dust collecting part (350 Fig. 24) to communicate with each other, and wherein the scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7 of “JP 2019”) comes into contact with at least a part of a first flow path tube (flow path tube of 5 of “JP 2019”), which constitutes the first flow path, when the door (6 Figs. 3 and 4 of “JP 2019”) blocks the dust passage hole (dust passage hole of 5 of “JP 2019”).
Referring to claim 12: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path part (flow path part of 30 and 151 when coupled shown in Fig. 10) comprises:
a first flow path (first flow path which communicates 20 to 30 shown in Fig. 4) penetrated by a longitudinal axis (LA-1 Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the dust bin (20 Fig. 23) in a state in which the cleaner (10 Fig. 23) is coupled to the cleaner station (100 Fig. 1/300 Fig. 23); and
a second flow path (second flow path which communicates 151 to dust collecting part 350 Fig. 24) configured to communicate with the first flow path (first flow path which communicates 20 to 30 shown in Fig. 4) and penetrated by a longitudinal axis (LA-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the cleaner station, wherein the longitudinal axis of the dust bin and the longitudinal axis of the cleaner station intersect each other (LA-1 and LA-2 shown intersected in Fig. 1-A inserted below) in the state in which the cleaner (10 Fig. 23) is coupled to the cleaner station (100 Fig. 1/300 Fig. 23), and wherein the scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7 of “JP 2019”) comes into contact with at least a part of a first flow path tube (flow path tube of 5 of “JP 2019”), which constitutes the first flow path, when the door (6 Figs. 3 and 4 of “JP 2019”) blocks the dust passage hole (dust passage hole of 5 of “JP 2019”).
Referring to claim 13: KIM teaches a cleaner system (10 Fig. 23; 100 Fig. 1/300 Fig. 23) comprising:
a cleaner (10 Figs. 1, 4, and 23) including a suction part (“air flowing through the main suction unit (not shown).” [0095]) having a suction flow path (flow path part of 30 and 151 when coupled shown in Fig. 10) through which air flows, a main body (main body of 10 Figs. 1, 4, and 23) having a dust separating part (part of 20 which houses “cyclone chambers” [0139]) having at least one cyclone part, and
a dust bin (20 Figs. 4 and 23) configured to store dust separated by the dust separating part (“the dust collecting chamber 20 is formed in the shape of multi cyclone type” [0140]); and
a cleaner station (100 Fig. 1/300 Fig. 23) including a dust collecting part (350 Fig. 24) configured to capture the dust in the dust bin (“The intake air flow generated by the suction fan 331 may be supplied to the dust collecting chamber 20” [0349]),
a dust collecting motor (“a fan motor configured to generate suction power” [0003]; “suction fan 331” [0346]) configured to generate a suction force (“The intake air flow generated by the suction fan 331 may be supplied to the dust collecting chamber 20” [0349]) for sucking the dust in the dust bin (20 Fig. 23) into the dust collecting part (350 Fig. 24), and a housing (housing of 300 Fig. 23) configured to accommodate the dust collecting part (350 Fig. 24) and the dust collecting motor (“a fan motor configured to generate suction power” [0003]; “suction fan 331” [0346]) in a longitudinal direction (shown stacked longitudinally in Fig. 24), wherein a longitudinal axis (LA-1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the dust bin (20 Fig. 23) and a longitudinal axis (LA-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the cleaner station (100 Fig. 1/300 Fig. 23) intersect (LA-1 and LA-2 shown intersected in Fig. 1-A inserted above) each other in a state in which the cleaner is coupled (shown coupled in Fig. 1-A inserted above) to the cleaner station;
a door (152 Fig. 10);
a part of a flow path tube (30 Fig. 10);
a flow path part (flow path part of 30 and 151 when coupled shown in Fig. 10).
But is silent on wherein the cleaner station further comprises a scraper coupled to a door of the cleaner station, the scraper being configured to, based on the door being closed, rub against at least a part of a flow path tube, that defines a flow path part, and wherein the scraper comprises a blade configured to cut foreign substances.
“JP 2019” teaches wherein a scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7) coupled to a similar configuration door (6 Figs. 3 and 4), the scraper being configured to, based on the door being closed (shown in Fig. 3), rub against at least a part of a flow path tube (flow path tube of 5), that defines a flow path part (flow path part from 5 to 1 Fig. 3), and wherein the scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7) comprises a blade (B Fig. 2-A inserted above; “blade” [0021-0024]; “blade” as defined by Merriam-Webster is “3a: the cutting part of an implement”) configured to cut foreign substances (while the description of “JP 2019” refers to a “scrape” in [0021, 0023, and 0024], it is nevertheless disclosed as a “blade” and is capable of cutting foreign objects).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of KIM with the scraper as taught by “JP 2019” for the purpose of removing any dust which adheres to the body ([0022] of “JP 2019”)
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20210052121 A1) and “JP 2019” (JP 6570130 B2), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of Salice (US 20050017224 A1).
Referring to claim 2: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7 of “JP 2019”) is coupled to the door structure which holds the door (6 Figs. 3 and 4 of “JP 2019”) and protrudes downward (3b shown protruding downwards in Fig. 6).
But is silent on wherein the door comprises: a first door hingedly coupled to the coupling surface; and a second door hingedly coupled to the first door, and wherein the scraper is coupled to the second door and protrudes downward from the second door.
Salice teaches a similar configuration door (14 and 16 Fig. 3) further comprising a first door (14 Fig. 3) hingedly coupled to the coupling surface (surface of 26); and a second door (16 Fig. 3) hingedly coupled to the first door (14 Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the door of KIM as modified with the first and second door configuration as taught by Salice for the purpose of having a door configuration which is meant to operate in a confined area.
As a result of the Salice modification the second door would also be confined to the door structure of which mates and supports 6 of “JP 2019”, the scraper would also be coupled to the second door.
Referring to claim 3: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the scraper (3 Figs. 3, 6, and 7 of “JP 2019”) is coupled to the door structure which holds the door (6 Figs. 3 and 4 of “JP 2019”) and protrudes outward (3b shown protruding outwards in Fig. 6).
But is silent on wherein the door comprises:
a first door hingedly coupled to the coupling surface; and
a second door hingedly coupled to the first door, wherein the second door comprises:
a second door main body hingedly coupled to the first door; and
a second door outer wall surface formed at an outer end of the second door main body and configured to face a sidewall of the dust passage hole when the door blocks the dust passage hole, and wherein the scraper is coupled to the second door outer wall surface and protrudes outward from the second door outer wall surface.
Salice teaches a similar configuration door (14 and 16 Fig. 3) further comprising a first door (14 Fig. 3) hingedly coupled to the coupling surface (surface of 26); and
a second door (16 Fig. 3) hingedly coupled to the first door (14 Fig. 3), wherein the second door comprises:
a second door main body (main body of 16 Fig. 3) hingedly coupled to the first door (14 Fig. 3); and
a second door outer wall surface (end surface of 16 which faces the bottom of 26) formed at an outer end of the second door main body (main body of 16 Fig. 3) and configured to face a sidewall (sidewall of 26) of the similar configuration dust passage hole (hole of 26 which is closed by 14 and 16) when the door (14 and 16 Fig. 3) blocks the dust passage hole.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the door of KIM as modified with the first and second door configuration as taught by Salice for the purpose of having a door configuration which is meant to operate in a confined area.
As a result of the Salice modification the second door would also be confined to the door structure of which mates and supports 6 of “JP 2019”, the scraper would also be coupled to the second door outer wall surface.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20210052121 A1) and “JP 2019” (JP 6570130 B2), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of George (US 1212255 A).
Referring to claim 7: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the scraper is made of a felt material.
George in an analogous scraper teaches it made of a felt material (“This invention relates to that type of fountain window washing appliances provided with detachable squeegee blades of rubber, felt or the like.” Lines 9-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scraper of KIM as modified with the felt material as taught by George for the purpose of having a material suitable for cleaning that is also doesn’t damage the cleaning surface.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20210052121 A1) and “JP 2019” (JP 6570130 B2), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of Farmer (US 4240176 A).
Referring to claim 8: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the scraper comprises a brush.
Farmer teaches wherein the analogous scraper comprises a brush (“In accordance with my invention there is provided a device for interchangeably holding a plurality of windshield cleaning tools, including a sponge, scraper, squeegee and brush” Col. 1, lines 20-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scraper of KIM as modified with the brush material as taught by Farmer for the purpose of having a material suitable for cleaning that is also doesn’t damage the cleaning surface.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20210052121 A1) and “JP 2019” (JP 6570130 B2), as applied above in claim 4, and in further view of Junkins (US 20110017232 A1).
Referring to claim 10: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 4, and teaches
wherein the second scraper (S2 Fig. 2-A inserted above of “JP 2019”) disposed in parallel (S2 runs parallel to 6) along the outer peripheral surface (outer peripheral surface of 6) of the door (6 Figs. 3 and 4 of “JP 2019”).
But is silent on comprises a plurality of scraper teeth protruding at predetermined intervals.
Junkins in an analogous scraper (15 Fig. 1) teaches a plurality of scraper teeth (21 Fig. 1) protruding at predetermined intervals (shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scraper of KIM as modified with the teeth as taught by Junkins for the purpose of having a material suitable for cleaning that is also doesn’t damage the cleaning surface.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20210052121 A1) and “JP 2019” (JP 6570130 B2), as applied above in claim 4, and in further view of Christian (US 20180229943 A1).
Referring to claim 14: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 4, but is silent on wherein a portion of the blade is inserted into a space that is defined between opposing surfaces of the first scraper and the second scraper, the portion of the blade extending parallel to the opposing surfaces of the first scraper and the second scraper.
Christian teaches a similar configuration scraper (44 Fig. 2) wherein a portion of the similar configuration blade (blade which is fit into slot 52; “a slot 52, shown in dotted outline, to receive a scraper blade, (not shown), as is known in the art” [0028]) is inserted into a space (52 Figs. 2 and 3-A inserted below) that is defined between opposing surfaces of the similar configuration first scraper (S1-B Fig. 3-A inserted below) and the similar configuration second scraper (S2-B Fig. 3-A inserted below), the portion of the blade extending parallel (extending parallel via dotted lines shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3-A inserted below) to the opposing surfaces of the first scraper and the second scraper (S1-B and S2-B Fig. 3-A inserted below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scraper of KIM as modified with the assembly as taught by Christian for the purpose of adding more rigidity towards the end portion and/or to have a portion of the scraper which can be easily replaced.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20210052121 A1) and “JP 2019” (JP 6570130 B2), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of Krosschell (US 9586765 B2).
Referring to claim 15: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the blade is made of metal.
Krosschell teaches a similar configuration scraper wherein the blade (242) is made of metal (“By way of example, the blade body 222 may be made of polyurethane or rubber, the plate 242 made of steel” Col. 25, lines 44-46).
Paragraphs [0030, 0033, 0338] of the application’s specification discloses numerous materials, which are well known in the art, that would equally work well:
“The scraper may be a squeegee made of a rubber material.”;
“The scraper may be made of a felt material.”;
“the blade 1145d may be made of a material such as metal, resin, or silicone that may form a sharp blade.”.
Since the scraper’s material lacks criticality, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scraper of KIM as modified with the metal blade as taught by Krosschell for the purpose of adding more rigidity towards the end portion and/or to have a portion of the scraper which can be easily replaced.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20210052121 A1) and “JP 2019” (JP 6570130 B2), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of MATSUMOTO (JP 2007007242 A).
Referring to claim 16: KIM as modified teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, while “JP2019” discloses a scraper made of “elastomer” [0022], which silicone is classified as, it does not disclose the blade is made of silicone, specifically.
MATSUMOTO teaches a scraper (1) with a blade (3) made of silicone (“the hardness on the tip side of the scraping portion 3 made of this silicone resin” [0017]).
Since the scraper’s material lacks criticality, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scraper of KIM as modified with the metal blade as taught by MATSUMOTO for the purpose of the appropriate rigidity towards the end portion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723