Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings are not in compliance with 37 C.F.R. 1.84 (m), which states that solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color. Figures 6a, 6b, 6c, 7a, 7b, 8a, 8b, and 8c contain solid black shading areas, and are objected to accordingly.
Additionally, the drawings are objected to due to comprising color-based charts which are not legible when translated into greyscale, as color drawings are only permitted in design application, as per 37 C.F.R. (a)(1) unless a petition is granted certifying the necessity of color drawings as per 37 C.F.R. (a)(2). Figures 10a, 10b, 11a, 11b, 12b, 12c, 12d, 12e, and 12f are all presented in greyscale, while having color based heat map figures. Accordingly the information presented in these figures cannot be readily understood based on the submitted figures, and they are objected to.
Additionally, Figures 10a, 10b, 11a, 11b, 12b, 12c, 12d, 12e, and 12f are objected to as they are presented in such a resolution that the text in the figures and on the scales is not legible. Accordingly, the information presented in these figures cannot be readily understood based on the submitted figures, and they are objected to.
Additionally, the figure on page 11 of the submitted figures is objected to as it is unlabeled. As it is located after figure 8c, and before figure 10a, a suggested figure label for the figure on page 11 is “Fig. 9”.
Additionally, figures 2a-2b, 3a-3b, 8a-8c are objected to, due to an inconsistent labelling scheme when compared to other figures present in the application. For example, figures 8a, 8b, and 8c are labelled as “Fig. 8 (a)”, “Fig. 8 (b)”, and “Fig. 8 (c)”, in comparison to figures such as figure 7a which is labeled as “Fig. 7a”. For the purpose of consistency, it is recommended that a single labelling scheme is used for identifying the figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 24, and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is indefinite due to the limitation “a material with a specific conductivity higher than lead and lead alloys”. Here, this limitation does not properly define the scope of lead alloys, which is a unbounded set of alloys. Accordingly, for the purpose of this office action, this claim is interpreted as being directed towards a material with a specific conductivity higher than an item in the group of “lead and lead alloys”.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the grid including a planar spinal configuration" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “faster current flow” in claim 24 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “faster current flow” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Here, it is unclear what metric should be used to determine if a current flow is “faster”.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the third corner active material current collectors" in the fourth paragraph of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17, 19-23, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bose (US-20190393512-A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Bose discloses a grid for a battery (Abstract, “A grid for an absorbent glass mat lead acid battery is also disclosed”) comprising a plurality of vertical grid wires (Paragraph 0033, “a plurality of spaced apart vertically extending grid wires 158 are provided.”), a plurality of horizontal grid wires (Paragraph 0034, “the cross wires include, for example, horizontal grid wires 152”), and a plurality of frame grid wires 140, 142, 144, and 146, shown in their figure 6 (See paragraph 0028). As further depicted in figure 6, the vertical grid wires 150 and horizontal grid wires 152 are provided between the frame grid wires for current transport (Paragraph 0037, “the current carrying capacity of the wires to help carry away increasing current”).
Additionally, Bose discloses an active material current collector 114/116 (Paragraph 0025, “Each plate is 114 , 116 formed of a grid 118 , 120 pasted with an active material 122 , 124”) provided for current collection (Paragraph 0027, “positive and negative plates 114 , 116 are paste-type electrodes or plates”).
Additionally, Bose discloses an active material utilization enhancer configured in a lateral cross-section of the grid wires, with a maximum surface perimeter, where the active material utilization enhancer is the surface which is the interface between the grid wires and the surrounding active material in the current collector regions, based on the definition provided in the instant application’s specification paragraph 00082, which defines the active material utilization enhancer as being an interface (“In an embodiment, the active material utilization enhancer 601 is an interface between the current transporter (grid wires) and the current collector”). Additionally, where the instant claim requires that the active material utilization enhance have a maximum surface perimeter, this limitation is inherently satisfied by Bose, as any material with a shape would inherently have the maximum possible perimeter for that specific current instance of its shape.
Additionally, Bose discloses that the lateral cross section of the grid wires includes a primary current collector and transporter, in disclosing that the grid material is made of lead (Paragraph 0041).
Regarding Claim 19, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 17. Additionally, Bose discloses that a material of the primary current collector and transporter includes lead (Paragraph 0041).
Regarding Claim 20, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 17. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that a material of the corrosion resistant coating of conductive composites and materials exhibit electrical conducting property and corrosion resistance the parent claim 17 does not require that the corrosion resisting coating of conductive composites and materials is present. Accordingly, the scope of this claim is optional.
Regarding Claim 21, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 17. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that a material of the secondary current collection enhancer and transporter include a material with a specific conductivity higher than lead and lead alloys, the parent claim 17 does not require that the secondary current collection enhancer and transporter are present. Accordingly, the scope of this claim is optional.
Regarding Claim 22, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 17. Additionally, Bose discloses that the grid includes a planar spatial configuration, as depicted in their figure 6. Additionally, Bose discloses that sizes of first corner active material current collectors nearer to a lug 126/128 are greater than sizes of second corner active material current collectors away from the lug, based on Bose’s disclosure that the wires 152 are arranged between side elements to cause there to be substantially equal potential points across the width of the grid (Paragraph 0037), as shown in their figure 9. As figure 9’s grid depicts structure where the vertical grid wires extend radially from a point, to there are therefore fewer vertical grid wires at the bottom of the area of grid than at the top. To ensure that there are the same number of potential points that are caused when vertical and horizontal grid wires intersect, the horizontal grid wires must be spaced more closely together towards the bottom side of the grid away from the lug. Accordingly, this means that the first corner active material current collectors nearer to a lug have a height size greater than the height size of second corner active material current collectors away from the lug, at a bottom-most part of the grid, for maximizing uniform current collection and transport, through ensuring that there is a uniform dispersion of potential points.
Regarding Claim 23, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 22. Additionally, Bose discloses structure, as discussed above in regards to claim 22, where the progression of the spacing of the horizontal grid wires shown in figure 9 ensures that there is an even spacing of potential points, the size of third active material current collectors other than the first and second active material current collectors are in a linear spatial progression from the third corner active material current collectors nearer to the lug to the first and second corner active material current collectors away from the lug.
Regarding Claim 25, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 17. Additionally, Bose discloses that sizes of top current collectors at a top side of the grid, on the side of a lug 126/128 are greater than sizes of second current collectors away from the lug and on the bottom side of the grid, based on Bose’s disclosure that the wires 152 are arranged between side elements to cause there to be substantially equal potential points across the width of the grid (Paragraph 0037), as shown in their figure 9. As figure 9’s grid depicts structure where the vertical grid wires extend radially from a point, to there are therefore fewer vertical grid wires at the bottom of the area of grid than at the top. To ensure that there are the same number of potential points that are caused when vertical and horizontal grid wires intersect, the horizontal grid wires must be spaced more closely together towards the bottom side of the grid away from the lug. Accordingly, this means that the first top current collectors nearer to a lug have a height size greater than the height size of second bottom material current collectors away from the lug, at a bottom-most part of the grid, for maximizing uniform current collection and transport, through ensuring that there is a uniform dispersion of potential points.
Regarding Claim 26, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 17. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the active material utilization enhancer is configured in a shape of a Koch fractal curve with a maximum surface perimeter for a given area of the active material current collector, thereby maximizing battery capacity, improving uniform current density, decreasing corrosion, and increasing service life, the parent claim 17 does not require that the active material utilization enhancer is present. Accordingly, the scope of this claim is optional.
Regarding Claim 27, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 17. Additionally, Bose discloses that the battery is selected from the group consisting of lead acid batteries (Paragraph 0005), secondary rechargeable batteries (Paragraph 0023). Additionally, Bose discloses that their battery is operable to be used in residential, industrial, transportation, consumer, electrical, electronic, medical, military, telecommunication and space applications (Paragraph 0002). Here, it is noted that “applications” is a broad term in regards to scope, and any use of a battery in a manner which connects to these fields could be considered to be a relevant application. For example, a battery used in a vehicle that has functionality in regards to transporting military, medical, or space technology can be considered to be a battery with a military, medical, or space application.
Regarding Claim 28, Bose discloses a grid for a battery (Abstract, “A grid for an absorbent glass mat lead acid battery is also disclosed”) configured for uniform current collection and transport (Paragraph 0037), comprising an electrochemically active material space 172 formed between the vertical grid wires. Additionally, Bose discloses that sizes of first corner active material current collectors nearer to a lug 126/128 are greater than sizes of second corner active material current collectors away from the lug, based on Bose’s disclosure that the wires 152 are arranged between side elements to cause there to be substantially equal potential points across the width of the grid (Paragraph 0037), as shown in their figure 9. As figure 9’s grid depicts structure where the vertical grid wires extend radially from a point, to there are therefore fewer vertical grid wires at the bottom of the area of grid than at the top. To ensure that there are the same number of potential points that are caused when vertical and horizontal grid wires intersect, the horizontal grid wires must be spaced more closely together towards the bottom side of the grid away from the lug. Accordingly, this means that the first corner active material current collectors nearer to a lug have a height size greater than the height size of second corner active material current collectors away from the lug, at a bottom-most part of the grid.
Further, where the progression of the spacing of the horizontal grid wires shown in figure 9 ensures that there is an even spacing of potential points, the size of third active material current collectors other than the first and second active material current collectors are in a linear spatial progression from the third corner active material current collectors nearer to the lug to the first and second corner active material current collectors away from the lug.
Regarding Claim 29, Bose discloses a grid for a battery (Abstract, “A grid for an absorbent glass mat lead acid battery is also disclosed”) configured for uniform current collection and transport (Paragraph 0037), comprising a lug 126/128 (Paragraph 0037), a plurality of vertical grid wires 150, shown in figure 6, a top frame grid wire 140, shown in figure 6, an electrochemically active material space 172 formed between the vertical grid wires. Additionally, Bose discloses that a lateral cross-section of the vertical grid wires includes a primary current collector and transporter, through disclosing that the vertical grid wires are made of lead (Paragraph 0041).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose (US-20190393512-A1) as applied to claims 17, 19-23, and 25-26 above, in view of Blanyer (US 6027822 A) and further in view of Christie (US 20150017545 A1), and in view of the teachings of Lancaster (US 20170069914 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 17. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires that the air core is provided at a center of the lateral cross-section of the grid wire for reducing weight of the grid, wherein the second current collection enhancer and transporter are provided in an axially inner portion of the lateral cross-section, wherein the corrosion resistant coating surrounds the secondary current collection enhancer and transporter, and wherein the primary current collector and transporter surround the corrosion resistant coating, Bose fails to disclose said structure, where their grid wire comprises only a primary current collector and transporter, through their disclosure that the grid wire is a solid lead wire (Paragraph 0041).
In regards to the limitation which requires that the air core is provided at a center of the lateral cross-section of the grid wire for reducing weight of the grid, Bose fails to disclose said structure. Therefore, we look to Blanyer, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of battery grids (Column 9 lines 9-12, “A further object of the present invention is to provide a method of making an electrode grid of high conductivity, light weight and increased durability.”). Here, Blanyer discloses that battery weight reduction is a specific goal of battery construction, specifically disclosing that a known approach in the art to reduce battery weight is to make conducting elements lighter (Column 7 lines 37-39, “Another approach which can be utilized to reduce the weight of the battery while improving its electrical characteristics”) and specifically identifies lightweight grid wires as a desirable component for battery construction (Column 8 lines 61-64, “It is another object of the present invention to provide a lightweight, lead coated wire with the high tensile and shear strength and corrosion resistance necessary to allow the use of the wire in the electrode of an electrochemical cell.”). Accordingly, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to reduce the weight of the conducting elements of Bose’s battery, and do specifically seek out a lightweight grid wire. Here, we further look to Lancaster which is an analogous art directed towards the art of lead acid battery grids (Paragraph 0002, “The present application relates to an electrode for a lead acid battery, hereinafter referred to as a grid.”). Here, Lancaster teaches that contact surface area between the grid wires and the surrounding active material is vital in regards to conductivity between the active materials and the battery grid, with increased surface area resulting in increased overall battery performance and efficiency (See paragraph 0003). Accordingly, in view of the teaching of Blanyer, who indicates that reducing the weight of the grid wires is preferable, and Lancaster, who indicates that maintaining a high surface area is preferable, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to reduce the weight of the grid wire by removing parts which are not located on the surface where the active material contacts the grid wire. I.e. the core of the grid wire. Accordingly, Bose in view of Blanyer and Lancaster makes obvious a space within the core of the grid wire that is not occupied by grid wire material for the purpose of reducing the weight of the grid wire, thereby making obvious the limitation of the instant claim which requires that the lateral cross-section of the grid wires include an air core and wherein the air core is provided at a center of the lateral cross-section of the grid wire for reducing weight of the grid.
In regards to the limitation that requires that the air core is provided at a center of the lateral cross-section of grid wire for reducing weight of the grid, we look to Christie, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of lead acid batteries comprising metal grids (See paragraph 0024). Here Christie discloses structure which comprises current collector fibers coated with lead (Paragraph 0071, “In some embodiments the fibres of the current collector material may be coated with Pb”), where the carbon fibers are conductive materials (Paragraph 0071, “In preferred embodiments the conductive current collecting material fibres are inherently conductive”). Where the carbon fibers are conductive material, they therefore are a secondary current collection enhancer and transporter provided in an axially inner portion of a lateral cross section of the grid wire, and are coated with lead which is the primary current collector and transporter. Christie further discloses that the use of carbon fibers allows for a more flexible current collector material, allowing for the current collector grid to accommodate volume changes of active material attached to the current collector during battery cycling, preventing the active material from shedding off of the collector (see Paragraph 0072). Accordingly, where ensuring that the active material remains in contact with the grid during battery cycling is a desirable attribute in the field of battery grids, and where Christie discloses that this can be achieved through a carbon fiber core inside a lead exterior, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to implement a carbon fiber core inside the lead grid wires of Bose, thereby resulting in structure wherein the lateral cross-section of the grid wires includes a secondary current collection enhancer and transporter (the carbon fiber), and wherein the secondary current collection enhancer and transporter are provided in an axially inner portion of the lateral cross section.
Additionally, in view of the teachings of Lancaster, which is an analogous art directed towards the art of lead acid battery grids (Paragraph 0002, “The present application relates to an electrode for a lead acid battery, hereinafter referred to as a grid.”). Lancaster teaches that an active material layer disposed on the exterior of grid wires has the effect of acting as a corrosion resistant coating (Paragraph 0057, “where the active material can fracture and slide off a planar surface of the wire element, leaving a portion of the grid exposed and susceptible to corrosion”). Accordingly, where Bose’s active material surrounds the grid wires (Paragraph 0025, “a grid 118 , 120 pasted with an active material”), the interface of active material and the grid wires is therefore a corrosion resistant coating which surrounds the entire grid wire, including the secondary current collection enhancer and transporter within the grid wire.
Additionally, where an individual grid wire has the corrosion resistant coating surrounding it, that corrosion resistant coating is in turn surrounded by other grid wires, as shown in Bose’s figure 2, where the other grid wires comprise the primary current collector and transporter as discussed above, thereby resulting in structure wherein the primary current collector and transporter surround the corrosion resistant coating.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose (US-20190393512-A1) as applied to claims 17, 19-23, and 25-26 above, and further in view of Gibson (EP 0143666 A2).
Regarding Claim 24, Bose discloses the invention as set forth in claim 17. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the grid including a planar spinal configuration includes a spine provided at a location corresponding to a location of a lug, Bose fails to disclose said structure. Therefore we look to Gibson, which is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of grid batteries (Paragraph 0032, “The negative plate grid comprises a mesh 30 of expanded lead alloy which is constituted by mesh elements 32”). Gibson teaches a battery grid which comprises spine 34 in their battery grid positioned at a location corresponding to the location of a lug 36(Paragraph 0032, “The current collecting bar 34 terminates short of the bottom of the negative plate by a predetermined distance and extends up above the top of the plate by the same distance where it constitutes a current take-off lug 36.”). Here, Gibson discloses that formation of a grid by which comprises this spine is convenient in terms of production (Paragraph 0032, “The negative plate grids are conveniently produced by the method referred to above.”). Accordingly, where ease of production is desirable to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing, it would be obvious to use the grid plate formation method of Gibson for the plate of Bose, thereby resulting in Bose’s grid including a planar spinal configuration including a spine provided at a location corresponding to a location of a lug. Additionally, as depicted in Gibson’s figure 3, the thickness of the spine is greater than the thickness of the frame grid wires, where Gibson depicts that the spine does not travel down to a bottom of the grid, while the frame does. Additionally, the spine’s thickness is less than the total thickness of the group of the horizontal grid wires and vertical grid wires. Accordingly, Gibson in view of Bose makes obvious the limitation wherein a size of the spine is greater than a size of the frame grid wires and lesser than a size of the horizontal grid wires and the vertical grid wires. Additionally, the spine, in being made of solid metal, allows for a faster current flow, through having a greater volume of conductive metal compared to an embodiment which does not comprise the spine.
Conclusion
/J.W.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725