DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0342201 (Andres) in view of US 2012/0176080 (Uchihashi).
Regarding claim 1, Andres teaches a battery pack (Fig. 3 shows batteries 118) comprising: a battery module having at least one battery cell (Fig. 3 shows battery module having battery cells 11) [0022]; a control module (Fig. 3 shows battery monitoring electronics 326) connected to the battery module and configured to manage the battery module (Fig. 3 shows battery monitoring electronics 326 connected to battery module and configured to manage the battery module) [0033]; a fire extinguishing tank (Fig. 3 shows second compartment 316) containing a fire extinguishing agent and coupled to the battery module and the control module (second compartment 316 containing fluid coolant and coupled to the battery module and battery management electronics 326) [0033-34]; and a side cover mounted on a first side of the fire extinguishing tank (Fig. 3 shows a side cover mounted on a first side of the second compartment 316 of the fluid) [0033-34].
However, Andres does not teach side cover of the fire extinguishing tank is configured to guide an electrical connection between the battery module and the control module.
However, Uchihashi teaches side cover of the fire extinguishing tank is configured to guide an electrical connection between the battery module and the control module (Fig. 6 shows side cover of the fire extinguishing tank 24 is configured to guide signal lines 102, 104, 106 between secondary battery block 120 and control unit 44) [0030-31, 0046, 0060-63].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have side cover of the fire extinguishing tank is configured to guide an electrical connection between the battery module and the control module as taught by Uchihashi in order to ensure that the battery module is being operated in a safe manner while in communication with the control module in a secure and efficient manner.
Regarding claim 2, Andres teaches wherein the fire extinguishing tank includes a connection member for electrically connecting the battery module and the control module (secondary compartment includes a connection member 322 for electrically connecting the battery module and battery monitoring electronics 326) [0033-34], and wherein the side cover is provided to expose the first side of the fire extinguishing tank when the connection member is mounted to guide the installation of the connection member (Fig. 3 shows the side cover is provided to expose the first side of the secondary compartment i.e. fire extinguishing tank when the connection member 322 is mounted to guide the installation of the connection member) [0025, 0028-29].
Regarding claim 3, Andres teaches wherein the side cover is detachably mounted on the first side of the fire extinguishing tank (Fig. 3 shows side cover is detachably mounted on the first side of the secondary compartment) [0036].
Regarding claim 4, Andres teaches wherein the side cover is rotatably mounted on the first side of the fire extinguishing tank [0037-38].
Regarding claim 5, Andres teaches wherein the side cover is slidably mounted on the first side of the fire extinguishing tank to at least partially to expose the first side of the fire extinguishing tank [0038].
Regarding claim 6, Andres teaches wherein the first side of the fire extinguishing tank is provided with a connection member accommodation portion that accommodates the connection member and is provided at a predetermined depth along a height direction of the fire extinguishing tank (Fig. 3 shows the first side of the second compartment 116 i.e. fire extinguishing tank is provided with a fluid release member 322 accommodation portion that accommodates the connection member 322 at a predetermined depth along a heigh direction of the second compartment) [0033].
Regarding claim 7, Andres teaches further comprising a sealing member disposed between the first side of the fire extinguishing tank and the side cover to seal the first side of the fire extinguishing tank (second compartment is a sealed fluid reservoir thereby sealing between the first side of the second compartment and first compartment) [0026].
Regarding claim 8, Andres teaches wherein the first side of the fire extinguishing tank is one of a left side and a right side of the fire extinguishing tank (Fig. 3 shows first side of the second compartment i.e. fire extinguishing tank is one of a left side and a right side of the second compartment).
Regarding claim 9, Andres teaches wherein a tank connector for connection between the battery module and the control module is provided at a top and a bottom of the connection member (Fig. 3 shows link 332 for connection between battery and battery monitoring electronics is provided at the top and bottom of the connection member 322).
Regarding claim 10, Andres teaches comprising the battery pack according to any one of claims 1 (Fig. 3 shows battery pack).
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836