DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/IB2022/055899, filed 06/24/2022, which claims benefit of application no. 63/215,407, filed 06/25/2021. The instant application has the effective filing date of 25 June 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, submitted on 12/18/2023, are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-22 are rejected under U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more, as detailed in the analysis below.
Eligibility Step 1: Subject matter eligibility evaluation in accordance with MPEP § 2106:
Claims 1-20 are directed to a statutory category (method).
Claim 21 is directed to a statutory category (product).
Claim 22 is directed to a statutory category (system).
Therefore, in accordance with MPEP § 2106.03 all claims have patent eligible subject matter.
[Eligibility Step 1: YES]
Eligibility Step 2A: This step determines whether a claim is directed to a judicial exception in accordance with MPEP § 2106.
Eligibility Step 2A -- Prong One: Limitations are analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that could equate to a judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon). Possible judicial exceptions are explored below.
Recitations of Judicial Exceptions:
Claims 1, 21, and 22: generating, by the one or more processors, an abundancy value for one or more of the microbiome biomarkers based on the mapping; (mental process)
comparing, by the one or more processors, the abundancy value for the one or more of the microbiome biomarkers to a threshold value for the one or more of the microbiome biomarkers; (mental process)
determining a health outcome based on the comparison. (mental process)
Claim 2: depleting a portion of the host nucleotides; creating a sequencing library using the microbial nucleotides; and generating the oral microbial sequencing data from the sequencing library. (mental process)
Claim 3: wherein the depleting the portion of the host nucleotides includes size selection. (mental process)
Claim 6: identifying, using the one or more processors, a single microbial strain. (mental process)
Claim 7: identifying a relative abundance between a plurality of microbes using the one or more processors. (mental process)
Claim 8: generating a diversity score for a microbiome based on the abundancy value for the one or more of the microbiome biomarkers using the one or more processors. (mental process)
Claim 9: generating a dysbiosis score with the abundancy value for the one or more of the microbiome biomarkers using the one or more processors. (mental process)
Claim 12: wherein the generating the dysbiosis score and/or the diversity score includes: comparing, using the one or more processors, the abundancy value from one of the one or more subjects to previously generated abundancy values and clinical data from other subjects stored in a memory. (mental process)
Claim 13: wherein the generating the dysbiosis score and/or the diversity score includes: comparing, using the one or more processors, the abundancy value from one of the one or more subjects to published journal and clinical data. (mental process)
Claim 16: indicating a negative health outcome when the abundancy value exceeds the threshold value. (mental process)
Claim 17: wherein the negative health outcome includes dental caries, halitosis, and/or periodontitis. (mental process)
Claim 18: wherein the abundancy value is for commensal bacteria biomarker, the method further comprising: indicating a negative health outcome when the abundancy value is lower than the threshold value. (mental process)
Claim 19: wherein the microbiome biomarkers include microbiome biomarkers specific to a taxonomic group of the microbiome. (mental process)
Claim 20: wherein the taxonomic group of the microbiome includes a specie of the microbiome (mental process)
Step 2A – Prong One Analysis:
Analysis techniques such as generating abundancy values (counting), filtering by size selections, comparing, and identifying data from other groups requiring nothing more than the human mind and pen/paper, read on observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and fall under the mental process grouping of abstract ideas. Limitations that merely provide additional information regarding the data being analyzed in this manner are similarly categorized (claim 17 and 19-20).
Therefore, the claims appear to recite judicial exceptions.
[Eligibility Step 2A – Prong One: YES]
Eligibility Step 2A – Prong Two: A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. If the claim contains no additional claim elements beyond the abstract idea, the claim fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). Additional elements are recited, categorized, and analyzed below.
Data Gathering/Outputting Elements:
Claim 2: processing an oral sample from the one or more subjects to generate the oral microbial sequencing data, the processing including: collecting the oral sample from the one or more subjects;
Claim 10: presenting the diversity score and/or the dysbiosis score in the form of interactive charts, plots, and/or graphs.
Claim 11: wherein the presenting includes displaying a profile for each of the one or more subjects, including the diversity score and the dysbiosis score.
Claim 14: wherein the presenting includes displaying health guidance comprising lifestyle changes, hygiene changes, and/or therapeutics based on the profile.
Claim 15: wherein the oral sample includes a salivary sample.
Computer Components Elements:
Claim 21: A non-transitory computer-readable medium (CRM) in which a program is stored for causing a computer to perform a method
Claim 22: A system for determining an oral microbiome composition within an oral cavity to determine potential health outcomes, the system comprising: a data store configured to store; a computer device communicatively connected to the data store, the computer device comprising
Sequencing Elements:
Claims 1, 21, and 22: aligning, by the one or more processors, the oral microbial sequencing data to a reference genome to count microbial reads from the oral microbial sequencing data; mapping, by the one or more processors, the microbial reads to a database of microbiome biomarkers;
Claim 2: purifying the oral sample to concentrate host and microbial nucleotides;
Claim 4: wherein the creating the sequencing library using the microbial nucleotides includes fragmentating the microbial nucleotides and attaching unique barcodes thereto.
Claim 5: demultiplexing the oral microbial sequencing data to identify a source subject using the one or more processors.
Step 2A – Prong Two Analysis:
The data gathering/outputting elements merely obtain data necessary to complete the judicial exceptions and display the results. Such elements are classified as insignificant extra-solution activity and thus do not integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application per MPEP 2016.05(g).
Generic computer components and implementations provide mere instructions to implement the abstract ideas onto a technological environment per Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
As such, the additional elements, when viewed separately and in the context of a whole claimed invention, do not integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
[Eligibility Step 2A – Prong Two: NO]
Eligibility Step 2B: Claim elements are probed for inventive concept equating to significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.04(II)).
Step 2B Analysis:
Data gathering activities that collect the oral sample from subjects and output the results of the judicial exception are found well-understood, routine, and conventional In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (of MPEP 2106.05(g)), respectively.
The computer components are further found to be well-understood, routine, and conventional per Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93 for storing and retrieving information in memory and Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (MPEP 2106.05 (a)).
The sequencing elements that involve purifying, fragmenting, barcoding, demultiplexing, and aligning reads of a sample are found well-understood, routine, and conventional per Anahtar et al. (J Visual Exper; Vol. 110: e53939; 2016), Curtis et al. (Plos One; Vol. 13: 3; 2017), and Wick et al. (Microb Geno; Vol. 3: 10; 2017), which each independently disclose performing the aforementioned steps of sample preparation and sequencing.
As such, the additional elements are further found to lack inventive concept.
[Eligibility Step 2B: NO]
Therefore, claims 1-22 are directed to judicial exceptions without significantly more and are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16-17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frias-Lopez et al. (2018/0110795).
Frias-Lopez et al. describes compositions and methods for detecting periodontal disease.
Claims 1, 21 and 22 are directed to methods, computer readable mediums, and systems that determine an oral microbiome composition and health outcomes of a subject by performing the steps of: receiving, by one or more processors, oral microbial sequencing data of one or more subjects; aligning, by the one or more processors, the oral microbial sequencing data to a reference genome to count microbial reads from the oral microbial sequencing data; mapping, by the one or more processors, the microbial reads to a database of microbiome biomarkers; generating, by the one or more processors, an abundancy value for one or more of the microbiome biomarkers based on the mapping; comparing, by the one or more processors, the abundancy value for the one or more of the microbiome biomarkers to a threshold value for the one or more of the microbiome biomarkers; and determining a health outcome based on the comparison.
Frias-Lopez et al. teaches downloading genomes of archaea and bacteria and their associated information from the Human Oral Microbiome Database (HOMD) server [0207]; performing abundance estimation at the species level by applying the Genome Abundance Similarity Correction (GASiC) to estimate true genome abundances via read alignment by considering reference genome similarities [0209]; generating a gff file to map hits to different regions in the genomes of the database [0208]; determining the quantity of marker in a sample [0123]; and in general, comparing the measurement of a marker polypeptide in a subject sample with a diagnostic amount present in a reference, in which the diagnostic amount distinguishes between periodontitis or a propensity to develop such conditions and the absence of such condition [0124].
Claim 16 is directed to: indicating a negative health outcome when the abundancy value exceeds the threshold value. Claim 17 is directed to wherein the negative health outcome includes dental caries, halitosis, and/or periodontitis.
Frias-Lopez et al. teaches a diagnostic amount distinguishes between periodontitis, e.g., gingivitis, mucosal membrane lesions, plaque-induced inflammations, gum bleeds, bone or tooth loss in the oral cavity, or a propensity to develop such conditions and the absence of such condition [0124].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frias-Lopez et al. (2018/0110795) as applied to claims 1, 16-17, and 21-22 previously, in view of Henn et al. (2016/0030494).
Frias-Lopez et al. teaches a method of determining a health outcome of periodontitis by comparing oral microbiome sequencing data to a reference.
Claim 2 is directed to processing an oral sample from the one or more subjects to generate the oral microbial sequencing data by: collecting the oral sample from the one or more subjects; purifying the oral sample to concentrate host and microbial nucleotides; depleting a portion of the host nucleotides; creating a sequencing library using the microbial nucleotides; and generating the oral microbial sequencing data from the sequencing library.
Frias-Lopez et al. teaches subgingival microbial samples were collected from up to 32 sites per subject per visit [0203].
Frias-Lopez et al. does not explicitly teach purifying the oral sample to concentrate host and microbial nucleotides; depleting a portion of the host nucleotides; creating a sequencing library using the microbial nucleotides; and generating the oral microbial sequencing data from the sequencing library (claim 2).
Henn et al. describes network-based microbial compositions and methods.
Henn et al. teaches pure cultures of organisms are isolated from the stool, oral cavity or other niche of the body of clinically qualified donors [0490], in which “isolated” encompasses a bacterium or other entity or substance that has been (1) separated from at least some of the components with which it was associated when initially produced and/or (2) produced, prepared, purified, and/or manufactured by the hand of man [0146]; extracted DNA or transcribed cDNA are sheared using physical, acoustic, or molecular technologies and then size selected as per the sequencing technologies manufacturer's recommendations [0443]; and the barcoded cleaned PCR products are combined such that each distinct PCR product is at an equimolar ratio to create a prepared Illumina library [0446].
Claim 3 is directed to wherein the depleting the portion of the host nucleotides includes size selection.
Henn et al. teaches extracted DNA or transcribed cDNA are sheared using physical, acoustic, or molecular technologies and then size selected as per the sequencing technologies manufacturer's recommendations [0443].
Claim 4 is directed to wherein the creating the sequencing library using the microbial nucleotides includes fragmentating the microbial nucleotides and attaching unique barcodes thereto.
Henn et al. teaches long RNAs are first converted into a library of cDNA fragments through either RNA fragmentation or DNA fragmentation [0595]; sequencing adaptors appropriate to the sequencing technology being used for downstream sequencing are subsequently added to each cDNA fragment and a short sequence is obtained from each cDNA using high-throughput sequencing technology [0595]; amplification performed for downstream sequencing by short read technologies such as Illumina require amplification using primers known to those skilled in the art that additionally include a sequence-based barcoded tag [0436]; and incorporating barcoded adapters for Illumina sequencing [0436].
Claim 5 is directed to demultiplexing the oral microbial sequencing data to identify a source subject using the one or more processors.
Henn et al. teaches following sequence characterization as described above, sequence reads are demultiplexed using the indexing (i.e. barcodes) [0457].
Henn et al. further teaches disclosed herein are therapeutic compositions containing combinations of bacteria for the prevention, control, and treatment of gastrointestinal diseases, and other disorders and conditions that result in or are caused by a dysbiotic microbiome in a niche of a host [0112].
Therefore Henn et al. teaches methods of preparing an oral sample of a subject for the analysis of its microbiome. As such, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sample preparation methods with the analysis methods with each element merely performing the same function as they do separately in order to yield predictable results in the form of an oral microbiome sequencing data analysis pipeline.
Claims 6-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frias-Lopez et al. (2018/0110795) as applied to claims 1, 16-17, and 21-22 previously, in view of Banaver et al. (2023/0162858).
Frias-Lopez et al. teaches a method of determining a health outcome of periodontitis by comparing oral microbiome sequencing data to a reference.
Frias-Lopez et al. does not teach identifying a single microbial strain (claim 6).
Banaver et al. describes analyzing taxa and microbial activity, from an oral microbiome sample, and executing a diagnostic model that infers the presence or absence of oral cancer [abstract].
Regarding claim 6, Banaver et al. teaches a) providing a biological sample from a subject comprising an oral microbiome ; b) sequencing nucleic acids from the sample to produce sequence information; c) determining, from the sequence information, measures of activity of each of one or more microbial taxa [0016]; in which determining activity comprises: (1) for biomarkers that are taxa categories, performing a taxonomic analysis with a metagenomic classifier to measure taxa activity [0026], where taxonomies are identified and their relative activities are calculated at three different taxonomic ranks: genus, species, and strain [0173].
Claim 7 is directed to identifying a relative abundance between a plurality of microbes using the one or more processors.
Banaver et al. teaches once classified, sequences in each category can be quantified or estimated to determine amounts of sequencing reads in each taxonomic category and the relative abundance of each taxonomic entity [0067].
Claim 19 is directed to wherein the microbiome biomarkers include microbiome biomarkers specific to a taxonomic group of the microbiome.
Banaver et al. teaches measuring, in a sample from a subject comprising an oral microbiome activity of one or more biomarkers selected from Table 1 [0026], and (v) determining, activity of each of the one or more biomarkers, in which determining activity comprises: (1) for biomarkers that are taxa categories, performing a taxonomic analysis with a metagenomic classifier to measure taxa activity [0026].
Claim 20 is directed to wherein the taxonomic group of the microbiome includes a species of the microbiome.
Banaver et al. teaches microbial taxa include taxonomic designation at any taxonomic level, e.g., species, genus, order, class, or phylum [0071]; classifications can be at one or a plurality of different taxonomic levels, typically down to the species or strain level [0062]; and Table 1 identifies microbial taxa [0112], including species [table 1].
Banaver et al. further teaches features used by a classification algorithm to infer presence of oral cancer can include a combination of microbial taxa activity scores, microbial KO activity scores, and host gene activity scores [0114]; Hydrogen sulfide (H2S), a gaseous transmitter, is associated with oral periodontitis, is one of the main causes of halitosis, and is generally associated with many oral diseases including oral cancer [0124]; and among the taxa, members of the Streptococcus anginosus group, Fusobacterium and Porphyromonas endodontalis are known producers of oral H2S [0124].
Therefore Banaver et al. teaches methods of generating microbial taxa activity features, which can be used to infer species associated with oral cancer or other negative health outcomes, such as periodontitis and halitosis. As such, the feature extraction methods can be reasonably combined with the method of determining negative health outcomes, based on oral microbiome analysis, such as the technique of Frias-Lopez et al., with each element merely performing the same function as they do separately, as they are in the same field of endeavor.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frias-Lopez et al. (2018/0110795) as applied to claims 1, 16-17, and 21-22 previously, in view of von Maltzahn et al. (2018/0235987).
Frias-Lopez et al. teaches a method of determining a health outcome of periodontitis by comparing oral microbiome sequencing data to a reference.
Claim 8 is directed to generating a diversity score for a microbiome based on the abundancy value for the one or more of the microbiome biomarkers using the one or more processors.
Frias-Lopez et al. does not teach generating a diversity score for a microbiome based on the abundancy value for the microbiome biomarkers (claim 8).
von Maltzahn et al. describes glycan compositions and uses thereof.
von Maltzahn et al. teaches diversity can relate to the number of distinct microbial taxa and/or richness of the microbial taxa within the niche or host and can be expressed, using the Shannon Diversity index (Shannon entropy), alpha-beta diversity, total number of observed OTUs, or Chaol index, as described herein [0130]; and in some embodiments, a microbiome regulator described herein modulates diversity within a microbial community, which may be expressed using Shannon entropy as a measure [0130].
von Maltzahn et al. teaches the more unequal the abundances of the bacterial taxa, the larger the weighted geometric mean of the p.sub.i values in Shannon's formula, and the smaller the corresponding Shannon entropy [0130]; and if practically all abundance is concentrated to one taxa, and the other taxa are very rare, Shannon entropy approaches zero [0130].
Claim 9 is directed to generating a dysbiosis score with the abundancy value for the one or more of the microbiome biomarkers using the one or more processors.
von Maltzahn et al. teaches acquiring a value representing dysbiosis at the non-gut body site (e.g. a microbial sequencing analysis of a sample of the site) and selecting the subject if a dysbiosis is present; in some embodiments, the selecting comprises acquiring a value representing the abundance of a selected bacterial taxa at the non-gut body site and selecting the subject if the abundance of the bacterial taxa at the non-gut body site differs from a predetermined value for the non-gut body site, such as the range of abundance for the taxa in a healthy state across a number of subjects [0019].
von Maltzahn et al. further teaches microbial metabolite profiles of patient samples or microbial cultures from subject samples are used to identify risk factors for developing a non-gut disease, disorder or condition [0450]; in some embodiments, the non-gut body site containing mucosal tissue of a human subject is the oral cavity [0015]; and the disease, disorder or pathological condition at the oral cavity is dental caries (cavities), periodontal disease, gingivitis, periodontitis, periapical periodontitis, halitosis (bad breath), severe early childhood caries (S-ECC), or root caries (RC) [0015].
Therefore, von Maltzahn et al. teaches using microbial sequencing data to identify a subject’s risk of developing negative health outcomes, such as periodontitis and halitosis. It further teaches using the sequencing data to generate diversity and dysbiosis scores. As such it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the methods of that analyze oral microbiome sequencing data to determine health outcomes, such as Frias-Lopez et al., with the methods that generate diversity and dysbiosis scores, with each element merely performing the same function as they do separately in order to yield predictable results within an oral microbiome analysis pipeline.
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frias-Lopez et al. (2018/0110795) in view of von Maltzahn et al. (2018/0235987) as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Chong et al. (Nature Protocols; Vol. 15: 799-821; 2020).
Frias-Lopez et al., in view of von Maltzahn et al., teach a method that includes determining a health outcome of periodontitis by comparing oral microbiome sequencing data to a reference and generating a dysbiosis score based on the abundance value of microbiome biomarkers.
Frias-Lopez et al. in view of von Maltzahn et al. do not teach presenting the diversity score and/or the dysbiosis score in the form of interactive charts, plots, and/or graphs (claim 10).
Chong et al. describes using MicrobiomeAnalyst software for comprehensive statistical, functional, and meta-analysis of microbiome data.
Chong et al. shows an interactive 3D PCoA plot for beta-diversity analysis (page 10, fig. 3), where to the left is a dot plot displaying the alpha-diversity measures across samples (page 7, column 2); and figure 5 shows a correlation network analysis (page 13, fig. 5), where at the top of the network is the MD-index, microbial dysbiosis index, which is an empirical estimation of the degree of dysbiosis within the microbiome (page 11, column 1).
Claim 11 is directed to wherein the presenting includes displaying a profile for each of the one or more subjects, including the diversity score and the dysbiosis score.
Chong et al. teaches users are not only able to profile their microbial communities and identify important features, they can also gain functional insights through enrichment analysis and metabolic network-based visualizations (page 20, column 1); and a certain page of the application allows users to generate a comprehensive analysis report describing all the steps performed together with detailed introductions to the corresponding methods and their associated outputs (Fig. 2) (page 3, column 1). Chong et al. shows the comprehensive data analysis and report generation shows a user-specific profile that includes alpha-diversity analysis, beta-diversity analysis, and the correlation network (page 3, fig. 2), which contains dysbiosis index data (page 11, column 1).
Claim 13 is directed to wherein the generating the dysbiosis score and/or the diversity score includes: comparing, using the one or more processors, the abundancy value from one of the one or more subjects to published journal and clinical data.
Chong et al. teaches the Projection with Public Data (PPD) module is intended to enable users to visually explore their own 16S rRNA data within the context of a compatible public dataset (page 5, column 1); and that visual data exploration with a compatible public dataset (page 17, column 1) includes the comparison of taxa abundances of different samples (page 18, column 1) with KEGG (page 18, fig. 8). Chong et al. teaches enrichment analysis, can be applied to gain deeper understandings from a list of taxa; however, a key obstacle is the need to create a comprehensive and meaningful collection of taxon sets, similar to gene sets or metabolite sets and to address this gap, we have manually curated 2,393 taxon sets from high-impact journals across different fields of microbiome research that can be downloaded from the ‘Resources’ page at the MicrobiomeAnalyst website (page 6, column 1).
Chong et al. further teaches microbiome data present several key analytical challenges (page 1, column 1) that must be considered in downstream statistical analyses (page 2, column 2); novel statistical methods that account for such characteristics are required for a proper analysis of microbiome data (page 2, column 2); most newly developed methods are available in the R programming language and software environment; although R is incredibly powerful and flexible, learning R can be challenging for clinicians and bench researchers (page 2, column 1).
Chong et al. teaches MicrobiomeAnalyst was developed as a web-based tool to enable microbiome researchers to effortlessly perform comprehensive statistical analysis, interactive visualization, and meta-analysis of microbiome data without prior coding expertise (page 2, column 1).
Therefore Chong et al. provides sufficient motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to use a web-based interactive visualization tool to properly address the analytical challenges present in microbiome analysis without requiring researchers to learn a specific programming language. As such, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply such techniques to the microbiome analysis pipeline of Frias-Lopez et al., in view of von Maltzahn et al., with a reasonable expectation of success and improvement to the system.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frias-Lopez et al. (2018/0110795) in view of von Maltzahn et al. (2018/0235987), as applied to claim 9 previously, and in further view of Sokol et al. (2018/0250350).
Frias-Lopez et al., in view of von Maltzahn et al., teach a method that includes determining a health outcome of periodontitis by comparing oral microbiome sequencing data to a reference and generating a dysbiosis score based on the abundance value of microbiome biomarkers
Frias-Lopez et al., in view of von Maltzahn et al., do not teach wherein the generating the dysbiosis score and/or the diversity score includes: comparing, using the one or more processors, the abundancy value from one of the one or more subjects to previously generated abundancy values and clinical data from other subjects stored in a memory (claim 12).
Sokol et al. describes methods and pharmaceutical compositions for preventing or treating inflammatory bowel diseases [0001] that develop at the intersection of genetic predisposition, dysbiosis of the gut microbiota and environmental influences [0002].
Sokol et al. teaches analyzing the microbiota in a feces samples obtained from subjects [0016]; performing rarefaction to compare the abundances of OTUs across samples [0126]; and calculating the number of observed species and the Shannon diversity index using rarefied data [0126].
Therefore Sokol et al. teaches comparing the abundance values across samples/subjects using previously generated values. As the technique is applicable to the analysis of microbiome sequencing data, one of ordinary skill in the art could combine it with that of Frias-Lopez et al., in view of von Maltzahn et al., with each element merely performing the same function as they do separately in order to yield predictable results.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frias-Lopez et al. (2018/0110795) in view of in view of von Maltzahn et al. (2018/0235987) and Chong et al. (Nature Protocols; Vol. 15: 799-821; 2020) as applied to claim 11 previously, and in further view of Apte et al. (IDS, filed 04/15/2024; cite no. 1; 2019).
Frias-Lopez et al., in view of von Maltzahn et al. and Chong et al. teach a method that includes determining a health outcome of periodontitis by comparing oral microbiome sequencing data to a reference; generating a dysbiosis score based on the abundance value of microbiome biomarkers; and displaying subject profiles that include the diversity score and dysbiosis score.
Claim 14 is directed to wherein the presenting includes displaying health guidance comprising lifestyle changes, hygiene changes, and/or therapeutics based on the profile.
Chong et al. further teaches the aim of correlation network is to identify potential interactions between microbes that could represent mutualistic, commensal, parasitic or even competitive relationships; and uncovering such interactions could hold important therapeutic implications for the health of the microbial community (page 12, column 1).
Frias-Lopez et al. in view of von Maltzahn et al. and Chong et al. do not explicitly teach displaying the health guidance comprising lifestyle changes, hygiene changes, and/or therapeutics based on the profile (claim 14).
Apte et al. describes methods and systems for microbiome-derived diagnostics and therapeutics for oral health.
Apte et al. teaches a web interface of a personal computer or laptop associated with a subject can provide access, to a user account of the subject, wherein the user account includes information regarding the subject's characterization, detailed characterization of aspects of the subject's microbiome composition and/or functional features, and notifications regarding suggested therapeutic measures generated in Block S150 [0240]; feature vectors effective in predicting classifications of the characterization process can include features related to one or more of: microbiome diversity metrics [0224]; an application executing at a personal electronic device can be configured to provide notifications (e.g., at a display, haptically, in an auditory manner, etc.) regarding therapeutic suggestions generated by the therapy model of Block S150 [0240]; and Block S150 can thus include identification of one or more baseline microbiome compositions and/or functional features, and potential therapy formulations and therapy regimens that can shift microbiomes of subjects who are in a state of dysbiosis toward one of the identified baseline microbiome compositions and/or functional features [0248].
Apte et al. further teaches given the profound implications of the microbiome in affecting a subject's health, efforts related to the characterization of the microbiome, the generation of insights from the characterization, and the generation of therapeutics configured to rectify states of dysbiosis should be pursued [0003].
Therefore Frias-Lopez et al., in view of von Maltzahn et al. and Chong et al. teach displaying user profiles that include microbial diversity and dysbiosis scores; and further teach such scores have therapeutic implications. Apte et al. teaches displaying therapeutic suggestions based off a user’s microbiome diversity metrics and state of dysbiosis. As such, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the techniques of generating user profiles, based on diversity and dysbiosis, with the technique of displaying of the recommendations, with each element merely performing the same function as they do separately in order to yield predictable results, with a reasonable expectation of success based on the teachings of Chong and Apte et al.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frias-Lopez et al. (2018/0110795) as applied to claims 1, 16-17, and 21-22 previously, in view of Caselli et al. (BMC Microbiology; Vol. 20: 120; 2020).
Frias-Lopez et al. teaches a method of determining a health outcome of periodontitis by comparing oral microbiome sequencing data to a reference.
Claim 15 is directed to wherein the oral sample includes a salivary sample.
Frias-Lopez et al. teaches collecting subgingival microbial samples from up to 32 sites per subject per visit [0203].
Frias-Lopez et al. does not teach including salivary samples (claim 15).
Caselli et al. describes defining the oral microbiome by whole-genome sequencing and resistome analysis.
Caselli et al. teaches analyzing the oral microbiome of twenty healthy subjects by whole-genome sequencing (WGS) and real-time quantitative PCR microarray (page 1, column 1), in which sampled oral micro-habitat include tongue dorsum, hard palate, buccal mucosa, keratinized gingiva, supragingival and subgingival plaque, and saliva with or without rinsing (page 1, column 1); and finding that the collected results also provided indications that microbiome in saliva after rinsing can give a picture representative of the site-specific samples, and might be therefore used for future comparative studies (page 3, column 1).
Therefore Caselli et al. presents saliva and subgingival plaque as two of the finite number of identified predictable sample sites for analyzing the oral microbiome; and further provides sufficient motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to select saliva for future comparative studies, as it can give a picture representative of the site-specific samples. As such, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute obtaining samples from subgingival plaque, as taught by Frias-Lopez et al., with obtaining saliva samples for the analysis of the oral microbiome, based on the teachings of Caselli et al.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frias-Lopez et al. (2018/0110795), as applied to claims 1, 16-17, and 21-22 previously, and in further view of Jiang et al. (Appl Environ Micro; Vol. 86: 14; 2020) and Gallo et al. (2021/0283215).
Frias-Lopez et al. teaches a method of determining a health outcome of periodontitis by comparing oral microbiome sequencing data to a reference.
Frias-Lopez et al. does not teach wherein the abundancy value is for commensal bacteria biomarker, the method further includes: indicating a negative health outcome when the abundancy value is lower than the threshold value (claim 18).
Jiang et al. describes how the antimicrobial peptide GH12 prevents dental caries by regulating dental plaque microbiota.
Jiang et al. teaches in the rat caries model with a caries-promoting diet, 64-mg/liter GH12 regulated the microbiota of dental plaque, in which the abundance of caries-associated bacteria was decreased and the abundance of commensal bacteria was increased (page 1, column 1); conventional antimicrobials, such as chlorhexidine, eradicate commensal bacteria and pathogenic bacteria indiscriminately, which disrupts the microbial ecology and results in adverse impacts on oral health (page 2, column 1).
Jiang et al. further teaches S. parasanguinis II antagonizes S. mutans via arginine metabolism and H2O2 production, which inhibit the activity of S. mutans, prevent the acidification of biofilms, and decrease the risk for dental caries (page 10, column 1); S. parasanguinis II may play a crucial role in the promotion of stable, health-associated oral biofilm communities by moderating the plaque pH and interfering with the growth and virulence of caries pathogens (page 10, column 1); and that caries development is a consequence of dietary sugar-driven biofilm assembly and localized acidification, which cause the dysbiosis of the microbial community and the disequilibrium of enamel mineral homeostasis (page 1, column 1).
Therefore Jiang et al. teaches commensal bacteria in the oral microbiome regulate dysbiosis, inhibit the growth of pathogens, and a decrease in the abundance of such commensal bacteria results negative health outcomes, such as dental caries.
Jiang et al. does not explicitly teach indicating a negative health outcome if the abundance of commensal bacteria falls below a threshold.
Gallo et al. describes a method of diagnosing skin dysbiosis and/or risk of a C. acnes infection [0101].
Gallo et al. teaches the term “probiotic”, “probiotic composition” or “topical probiotic composition” or “probiotic skin composition” comprises a probiotic commensal skin bacteria, an attenuated or engineered microorganism that expresses an agent that inhibits C. acnes growth or infection, and a pharmaceutical carrier that maintain the viability of the commensal skin bacteria [0054].
Gallo et al. teaches the method further comprises obtaining a biological sample from the skin of a subject and determining the relative abundance of commensal bacteria in the sample [0101]; and if the level or abundance falls below a threshold of less than 50%, 40%, 30%, 20%, 10%, 5%, 2.5%, 1%, 0.5%, 0.1% then the subject is at risk of having a C. acnes infection [0101].
Therefore Gallo et al. teaches commensal skin bacteria also regulates dysbiosis and inhibit pathogen growth. As such, the commensal bacteria in both types of microbiomes share the same relationship with negative health outcomes. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill of the art to apply the known commensal bacteria thresholding technique to oral microbiome sequencing data in order to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
Correspondence
/M.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/Karlheinz R. Skowronek/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1687