DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 1, “Method” ---, should be corrected to ---, “A method” ---.
In claims 2-14 line 1, “Method to start-up a modular” ---, should be corrected to ---, “The method to start-up the modular” ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al (US Publication No. 20120243160).
Regarding claim 1, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]), the control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]) comprises a top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]), the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) having components (i.e., such as the computer hardware elements to perform their software tasks; see for example fig. 7, para. [0051]- [0062]) needed to perform at least one specific function (i.e., such as the function of providing a computing module infrastructure; In particular, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a platform having embedded infrastructure control systems to provide a modular approach and control architecture, which may allow users to safely assemble, upgrade, and otherwise manage computer modules deployed on the platform. For example, in one implementation, an integrated ECKVM switch 240 may simplify deployment and cable management to provide simple options to install and use the stack, a shared power supply unit 250 may be used to power various computer modules and otherwise optimize power management associated with various components in the stack, and identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) for which the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) is designed (i.e., such as designed as a platform having embedded infrastructure control systems to provide a modular approach and control architecture, which may allow users to safely assemble, upgrade, and otherwise manage computer modules deployed on the platform; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]), and at least one first stack connector (i.e., such as 1st stack connector Power-Jumber 225; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]), the method (i.e., such as the adaptive computing system may employ modern manufacturing methods and materials to provide stability, safety, performance, image, and easy assembly and service, which tend to be important factors that users consider when making decisions relating to what computer to purchase, the various building blocks may generally include a base module to provide a common power supply and common Ethernet-Control-KVM (ECKVM) switching functionality to the entire stack and one or more power and ECKVM backplanes having mechanical and electrical interconnections to stabilize the various computer modules in the stack and carry power signals and ECKVM switching signals to and from the base module, wherein the ECKVM switching signals may include network (or Ethernet) signals, infrastructure control signals, and input/output device signals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0007]- [0008]) comprising the steps of: providing power (i.e., such as providing power by the 250 via the plurality of the 220 and the plurality of the 225 to the plurality of the 230; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) to the control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); detecting (i.e., such as to detect; for example, the GPIO headers 770 may include a power LED header to drive a power LED, a power on header to turn the motherboard on and off and connect to the remote control, a hard-drive LED header to display hard drive activities, an intruder header to detect chassis intrusions, etc., an embedded controller on the motherboard associated with the computer modules may further detect any major state changes in an operating system running on the computer modules; see for example fig. 10, para. [0084]; Also, the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; see for example fig. 10, para. [0041]) and determining (i.e., such as to determine; As such, in response to determining the capacity associated with the power supply unit and the power draw requirements associated with every module on the stack, the master controller 400 may ensure that all computer modules on the stack do not draw collective power that exceeds the capacity associated with the common supply unit. For example, during power-up sequences, the master controller 400 can make decisions to ensure that the collective power demand does not exceed the capacity associated with the common power supply, and an error may be generated if the common power supply unit cannot provide sufficient power output to meet the requirements (e.g., visually via an LED indicator or LCD screen associated with the remote control and/or audibly via speakers or other audio output devices); for example, the master controller 400 may read values associated with the power budget jumpers 420 to determine a capacity associated with the common supply unit and determine power draw requirements associated with every dependent module in the stack, including the master controller 400 itself; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]; Also, the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; see for example fig. 10, para. [0041]) the number of units (i.e., such as the amount of units can be verified via two ways; the first way utilizes the grounding panel-pins configuration via microcontroller 1000, also used as security measures; and the second way utilizes the LED-visualization scheme; For example, in one implementation, the enable LED 1015 may be off to indicate that a common power supply in the base module has not been turned on, solid red to indicate that the common power supply has been turned on but that no computer modules have been powered on, blinking red to indicate that a fault has occurred in the master controller, and solid green to indicate that the common power supply has been turned on and that one or more computer modules are drawing power from the common power supply. Similarly, the KVM buttons 1030 that can be used to switch the KVM among the various computer modules via the remote control may have associated KVM LEDs 1035 to indicate a current status associated with the ECKVM switch. More particularly, in response to the user pressing a particular KVM button 1030 to switch the KVM to the computer module associated with the particular KVM button 1030, the associated KVM LED 1035 may turn on, changing to a certain color (e.g., amber) to indicate that the KVM has been successfully switched to the associated computer module, while all other KVM LEDs 1035 may turn off. In one implementation, although the foregoing description relating to the enable LED 1015, the power LEDs 1025, and the KVM LEDs 1035 refer to certain particular colors, various other colors may be suitably used to reflect the various status indicators, as will be apparent; see for example fig. 10, para. [0085]) in the control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]) using the first stack connector (i.e., such as 1st stack connector Power-Jumper 225; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]); and detecting (i.e., such as to detect; for example, the GPIO headers 770 may include a power LED header to drive a power LED, a power on header to turn the motherboard on and off and connect to the remote control, a hard-drive LED header to display hard drive activities, an intruder header to detect chassis intrusions, etc., an embedded controller on the motherboard associated with the computer modules may further detect any major state changes in an operating system running on the computer modules; see for example fig. 10, para. [0084]; Also, the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; see for example fig. 10, para. [0041]) and determining (i.e., such as to determine; As such, in response to determining the capacity associated with the power supply unit and the power draw requirements associated with every module on the stack, the master controller 400 may ensure that all computer modules on the stack do not draw collective power that exceeds the capacity associated with the common supply unit. For example, during power-up sequences, the master controller 400 can make decisions to ensure that the collective power demand does not exceed the capacity associated with the common power supply, and an error may be generated if the common power supply unit cannot provide sufficient power output to meet the requirements (e.g., visually via an LED indicator or LCD screen associated with the remote control and/or audibly via speakers or other audio output devices); for example, the master controller 400 may read values associated with the power budget jumpers 420 to determine a capacity associated with the common supply unit and determine power draw requirements associated with every dependent module in the stack, including the master controller 400 itself; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]; Also, the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; see for example fig. 10, para. [0041]) by each unit (i.e., such as each computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) its position (i.e., such as each 230's position with respect to the whole stack of the 230s; the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; For example, to indicate overall quality in the adaptive computing system, the various buttons 1010, 1020, and 1030 on the remote control may have sizes based on a person having larger fingers, while having tactile qualities that a person with smaller hands or fingers would be able to feel. Further, all legends or other alphanumeric indicators printed on the remote control may be resistant to fading or removal, while the various LEDs 1015, 1025, and 1035 may use white, red, green, blue, and other colors that can be easily perceived visually. Further, the LEDs 1015, 1025, and 1035 may support dimmed or brightened colors to reflect particular needs in certain customer environments, wherein the master controller may enable users to select a dimness or brightness level associated therewith (e.g., visually impaired users may desire brighter colors that are easier to see, while environments having substantial natural light may support dimmer colors that provide greater contrast in bright light); see for example fig. 10, para. [0086]) in the stack (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) using the first stack connector (i.e., such as 1st stack connector Power-Jumper 225; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) further comprises at least one second stack connector (i.e., such as 2nd stack connector ECKVM-Jumper 215; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) and the control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]) further comprises at least one additional unit (i.e., such as additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]), the additional unit (i.e., such as additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) having at least a further first stack connector (i.e., such as further 1st stack connector Power-Jumper 225; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) to be connected with the at least first stack connector (i.e., such as further 1st stack connector Power-Jumper 225; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) of the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) and at least a further second stack connector (i.e., such as 2nd stack connector ECKVM-Jumper 215; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) to be connected with the at least second stack connector (i.e., such as 2nd stack connector ECKVM-Jumper 215; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) of the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]), wherein the method (i.e., such as the adaptive computing system may employ modern manufacturing methods and materials to provide stability, safety, performance, image, and easy assembly and service, which tend to be important factors that users consider when making decisions relating to what computer to purchase, the various building blocks may generally include a base module to provide a common power supply and common Ethernet-Control-KVM (ECKVM) switching functionality to the entire stack and one or more power and ECKVM backplanes having mechanical and electrical interconnections to stabilize the various computer modules in the stack and carry power signals and ECKVM switching signals to and from the base module, wherein the ECKVM switching signals may include network (or Ethernet) signals, infrastructure control signals, and input/output device signals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0007]- [0008]) further comprises the step of sending (i.e., such as sending signals per the command of a user; for example, the connector 330 may be coupled to the ECKVM switch via a connector 320, which may have eight pins to send five-volt standby (+5VSB) power, five-volt (5V) power, and control signals (e.g., Power_ON) to the ECKVM switch. In one implementation, in response to a user pressing a power button on the front panel associated with the base module, a jumper 310 to the front panel power switch may send a Power_Button signal to a microcontroller in the ECKVM switch via the connector 320, wherein the microcontroller may then drive the Power_ON signal to the connector 330, which may turn on the power supply unit; see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]) by the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) an enquiry signal (i.e., such as status check signal in terms of power, function, operation, position, location, etc. to be sent per the command of any user; for example, FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary block diagram associated with the hardware remote control noted above, which may operate the adaptive computing system via a command path to a master controller in the base module and associated with the ECKVM switch. In particular, the remote control may have a microcontroller 1000 that interfaces with various KVM buttons 1030 associated with various computer modules deployed in the stack and/or the remote computer module, wherein users may press the KVM buttons 1030 to toggle, switch, or otherwise activate a particular computer module. Additionally, as noted above, the microcontroller 1000 may handle various behaviors that relate to waiting until all pressed KVM buttons 1030 have been released before sending a KVM switching signal to the ECKVM switch, prioritizing a first one of the KVM buttons 1030 that was pressed if multiple KVM buttons 1030 are pressed, ignoring subsequent presses on the KVM buttons 1030 once one of the KVM buttons 1030 has been pressed, and activating the computer module on a port associated with a first KVM button 1030a on initial startup; see for example fig. 10, para. [0077]) over the at least one second stack connector (i.e., such as 2nd stack connector ECKVM-Jumper 215; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) to the additional unit (i.e., such as additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]); sending (i.e., such as sending signals per the command of a user; for example, the connector 330 may be coupled to the ECKVM switch via a connector 320, which may have eight pins to send five-volt standby (+5VSB) power, five-volt (5V) power, and control signals (e.g., Power_ON) to the ECKVM switch. In one implementation, in response to a user pressing a power button on the front panel associated with the base module, a jumper 310 to the front panel power switch may send a Power_Button signal to a microcontroller in the ECKVM switch via the connector 320, wherein the microcontroller may then drive the Power_ON signal to the connector 330, which may turn on the power supply unit; see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]) by the additional unit (i.e., such as additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) a reply signal (i.e., such as a feedback, reporting back to the user per the status check signal; for example, signaling between the master controller and the remote control 120 may be handled using Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) rather than USB (i.e., although USB may have substantial flexibility, USB may require activating more protocols prior to operation, whereby I.sup.2C may enable the remote control to become operational, process user inputs, and present user feedback faster than USB); see for example fig. 10, para. [0078]) over the at least one second stack connector (i.e., such as 2nd stack connector ECKVM-Jumper 215; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) to the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]); identifying (i.e., such as to identify; for example, in closed positions, the front panels may preserve the consistent and organized appearance, wherein post-market off-the-shelf devices may be installed in the stack without causing a dissimilar appearance, and different computer modules 120a-c may have different front panels having different finish colors to identify different characteristics (e.g., different classification domains) associated with the computer modules 120a-c. As such, different colors or other finishes may visually associate a particular computer module 120 and operating environment to enable users to quickly distinguish one computer module 120 from another computer module 120, which may further aid support personnel to conduct security audits, install upgrades, and otherwise manage the different computer modules 120a-c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) by the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) on the basis of the reply signal (i.e., such as a feedback, reporting back to the user per the status check signal; for example, signaling between the master controller and the remote control 120 may be handled using Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) rather than USB (i.e., although USB may have substantial flexibility, USB may require activating more protocols prior to operation, whereby I.sup.2C may enable the remote control to become operational, process user inputs, and present user feedback faster than USB); see for example fig. 10, para. [0078]) which protocol (i.e., such as the pertinent protocol in terms of security wise, environmental wise, etc.; for example, the industrial design 100 may eliminate brominated flame retardant (BFR) from all circuit boards, eliminate polyvinyl chloride (PVC) from all cables, have recyclable mechanical materials, and substantially reduce packaging and shipping materials, among other environmental benefits. As such, the industrial design 100 may meet or exceed environmental performance criteria sufficient to achieve Electronic Product Environmental Assessment (EPEAT.RTM.) Gold certification (e.g., as described in "IEEE Standard 1680.1, Section 4-Environmental Performance Criteria for Desktop Personal Computers, Notebook Personal Computers and Personal Computer Displays," the contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference in their entirety); see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) to use to address (i.e., such as to classify/prioritize any added computer module 230; for example, the master controller 400 may manage having the associated operating systems shut the computer modules down and enable users to establish priorities to shut down the computer modules while the uninterruptible power supply provides battery power (e.g., a computer module having a highest or most critical priority may operate on battery power from the uninterruptible power supply longest, and therefore be shut down last). As such, users may flexibly manage priorities associated with running the computer modules on the battery power associated with the uninterruptible power supply and further control the stack; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]) the additional unit (i.e., such as additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); the control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]) further comprises at least one further additional unit (i.e., such as one further additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]), the at least one further additional unit (i.e., such as one further additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) having at least a further first stack connector (i.e., such as further 1st stack connector Power-Jumper 225; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) and at least a further second stack connector (i.e., such as further 2nd stack connector ECKVM-Jumper 215; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) to be placed between two additional units (i.e., such as between two additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) stacked on each other (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]), wherein the method (i.e., such as the adaptive computing system may employ modern manufacturing methods and materials to provide stability, safety, performance, image, and easy assembly and service, which tend to be important factors that users consider when making decisions relating to what computer to purchase, the various building blocks may generally include a base module to provide a common power supply and common Ethernet-Control-KVM (ECKVM) switching functionality to the entire stack and one or more power and ECKVM backplanes having mechanical and electrical interconnections to stabilize the various computer modules in the stack and carry power signals and ECKVM switching signals to and from the base module, wherein the ECKVM switching signals may include network (or Ethernet) signals, infrastructure control signals, and input/output device signals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0007]- [0008]) further comprises the step of passing on (i.e., such as passing on signals per the command of any user; for example, the connector 330 may be coupled to the ECKVM switch via a connector 320, which may have eight pins to send five-volt standby (+5VSB) power, five-volt (5V) power, and control signals (e.g., Power_ON) to the ECKVM switch. In one implementation, in response to a user pressing a power button on the front panel associated with the base module, a jumper 310 to the front panel power switch may send a Power_Button signal to a microcontroller in the ECKVM switch via the connector 320, wherein the microcontroller may then drive the Power_ON signal to the connector 330, which may turn on the power supply unit; see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]) by the additional unit (i.e., such as one further additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) the enquiry signal (i.e., such as status check signal in terms of power, function, operation, position, location, etc. to be sent per the command of any user; for example, FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary block diagram associated with the hardware remote control noted above, which may operate the adaptive computing system via a command path to a master controller in the base module and associated with the ECKVM switch. In particular, the remote control may have a microcontroller 1000 that interfaces with various KVM buttons 1030 associated with various computer modules deployed in the stack and/or the remote computer module, wherein users may press the KVM buttons 1030 to toggle, switch, or otherwise activate a particular computer module. Additionally, as noted above, the microcontroller 1000 may handle various behaviors that relate to waiting until all pressed KVM buttons 1030 have been released before sending a KVM switching signal to the ECKVM switch, prioritizing a first one of the KVM buttons 1030 that was pressed if multiple KVM buttons 1030 are pressed, ignoring subsequent presses on the KVM buttons 1030 once one of the KVM buttons 1030 has been pressed, and activating the computer module on a port associated with a first KVM button 1030a on initial startup; see for example fig. 10, para. [0077]) over the at least one further second stack connector (i.e., such as further 2nd stack connector ECKVM-Jumper 215; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) to the at least one further additional unit (i.e., such as one further additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]); passing on (i.e., such as passing on signals per the command of any user; for example, the connector 330 may be coupled to the ECKVM switch via a connector 320, which may have eight pins to send five-volt standby (+5VSB) power, five-volt (5V) power, and control signals (e.g., Power_ON) to the ECKVM switch. In one implementation, in response to a user pressing a power button on the front panel associated with the base module, a jumper 310 to the front panel power switch may send a Power_Button signal to a microcontroller in the ECKVM switch via the connector 320, wherein the microcontroller may then drive the Power_ON signal to the connector 330, which may turn on the power supply unit; see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]) by the at least one further additional unit (i.e., such as one further additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) the reply signal (i.e., such as a feedback, reporting back to the user per the status check signal; for example, signaling between the master controller and the remote control 120 may be handled using Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) rather than USB (i.e., although USB may have substantial flexibility, USB may require activating more protocols prior to operation, whereby I.sup.2C may enable the remote control to become operational, process user inputs, and present user feedback faster than USB); see for example fig. 10, para. [0078]) over the at least one further second stack connector (i.e., such as further 2nd stack connector ECKVM-Jumper 215; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) to the additional unit (i.e., such as additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]); passing on (i.e., such as passing on signals per the command of any user; for example, the connector 330 may be coupled to the ECKVM switch via a connector 320, which may have eight pins to send five-volt standby (+5VSB) power, five-volt (5V) power, and control signals (e.g., Power_ON) to the ECKVM switch. In one implementation, in response to a user pressing a power button on the front panel associated with the base module, a jumper 310 to the front panel power switch may send a Power_Button signal to a microcontroller in the ECKVM switch via the connector 320, wherein the microcontroller may then drive the Power_ON signal to the connector 330, which may turn on the power supply unit; see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]) by the additional unit (i.e., such as additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) the reply signals (i.e., such as a feedback, reporting back to the user per the status check signal; for example, signaling between the master controller and the remote control 120 may be handled using Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) rather than USB (i.e., although USB may have substantial flexibility, USB may require activating more protocols prior to operation, whereby I.sup.2C may enable the remote control to become operational, process user inputs, and present user feedback faster than USB); see for example fig. 10, para. [0078]) from the at least one further additional unit (i.e., such as one further additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) over the at least one second stack connector (i.e., such as further 2nd stack connector ECKVM-Jumper 215; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) to the top- level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]); identifying (i.e., such as to identify; for example, in closed positions, the front panels may preserve the consistent and organized appearance, wherein post-market off-the-shelf devices may be installed in the stack without causing a dissimilar appearance, and different computer modules 120a-c may have different front panels having different finish colors to identify different characteristics (e.g., different classification domains) associated with the computer modules 120a-c. As such, different colors or other finishes may visually associate a particular computer module 120 and operating environment to enable users to quickly distinguish one computer module 120 from another computer module 120, which may further aid support personnel to conduct security audits, install upgrades, and otherwise manage the different computer modules 120a-c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) by the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) on the basis of the reply signals (i.e., such as a feedback, reporting back to the user per the status check signal; for example, signaling between the master controller and the remote control 120 may be handled using Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) rather than USB (i.e., although USB may have substantial flexibility, USB may require activating more protocols prior to operation, whereby I.sup.2C may enable the remote control to become operational, process user inputs, and present user feedback faster than USB); see for example fig. 10, para. [0078]) from the at least one further additional unit (i.e., such as one further additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) which protocol (i.e., such as the pertinent protocol in terms of security wise, environmental wise, etc.; for example, the industrial design 100 may eliminate brominated flame retardant (BFR) from all circuit boards, eliminate polyvinyl chloride (PVC) from all cables, have recyclable mechanical materials, and substantially reduce packaging and shipping materials, among other environmental benefits. As such, the industrial design 100 may meet or exceed environmental performance criteria sufficient to achieve Electronic Product Environmental Assessment (EPEAT.RTM.) Gold certification (e.g., as described in "IEEE Standard 1680.1, Section 4-Environmental Performance Criteria for Desktop Personal Computers, Notebook Personal Computers and Personal Computer Displays," the contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference in their entirety); see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) to use to address (i.e., such as to classify/prioritize any added computer module 230; for example, the master controller 400 may manage having the associated operating systems shut the computer modules down and enable users to establish priorities to shut down the computer modules while the uninterruptible power supply provides battery power (e.g., a computer module having a highest or most critical priority may operate on battery power from the uninterruptible power supply longest, and therefore be shut down last). As such, users may flexibly manage priorities associated with running the computer modules on the battery power associated with the uninterruptible power supply and further control the stack; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]) the at least one further additional unit (i.e., such as one further additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); wherein the step of passing on (i.e., such as passing on signals per the command of any user; for example, the connector 330 may be coupled to the ECKVM switch via a connector 320, which may have eight pins to send five-volt standby (+5VSB) power, five-volt (5V) power, and control signals (e.g., Power_ON) to the ECKVM switch. In one implementation, in response to a user pressing a power button on the front panel associated with the base module, a jumper 310 to the front panel power switch may send a Power_Button signal to a microcontroller in the ECKVM switch via the connector 320, wherein the microcontroller may then drive the Power_ON signal to the connector 330, which may turn on the power supply unit; see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]) of the enquiry signal (i.e., such as status check signal in terms of power, function, operation, position, location, etc. to be sent per the command of any user; for example, FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary block diagram associated with the hardware remote control noted above, which may operate the adaptive computing system via a command path to a master controller in the base module and associated with the ECKVM switch. In particular, the remote control may have a microcontroller 1000 that interfaces with various KVM buttons 1030 associated with various computer modules deployed in the stack and/or the remote computer module, wherein users may press the KVM buttons 1030 to toggle, switch, or otherwise activate a particular computer module. Additionally, as noted above, the microcontroller 1000 may handle various behaviors that relate to waiting until all pressed KVM buttons 1030 have been released before sending a KVM switching signal to the ECKVM switch, prioritizing a first one of the KVM buttons 1030 that was pressed if multiple KVM buttons 1030 are pressed, ignoring subsequent presses on the KVM buttons 1030 once one of the KVM buttons 1030 has been pressed, and activating the computer module on a port associated with a first KVM button 1030a on initial startup; see for example fig. 10, para. [0077]) is extended to the next further additional unit (i.e., such as next further additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) in the stack (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]), and the step of passing on (i.e., such as passing on signals per the command of any user; for example, the connector 330 may be coupled to the ECKVM switch via a connector 320, which may have eight pins to send five-volt standby (+5VSB) power, five-volt (5V) power, and control signals (e.g., Power_ON) to the ECKVM switch. In one implementation, in response to a user pressing a power button on the front panel associated with the base module, a jumper 310 to the front panel power switch may send a Power_Button signal to a microcontroller in the ECKVM switch via the connector 320, wherein the microcontroller may then drive the Power_ON signal to the connector 330, which may turn on the power supply unit; see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]) of the reply signals (i.e., such as a feedback, reporting back to the user per the status check signal; for example, signaling between the master controller and the remote control 120 may be handled using Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) rather than USB (i.e., although USB may have substantial flexibility, USB may require activating more protocols prior to operation, whereby I.sup.2C may enable the remote control to become operational, process user inputs, and present user feedback faster than USB); see for example fig. 10, para. [0078]) is extended to earlier (i.e., such as earlier per priority of any additional computer module 230; for example, the master controller 400 may manage having the associated operating systems shut the computer modules down and enable users to establish priorities to shut down the computer modules while the uninterruptible power supply provides battery power (e.g., a computer module having a highest or most critical priority may operate on battery power from the uninterruptible power supply longest, and therefore be shut down last). As such, users may flexibly manage priorities associated with running the computer modules on the battery power associated with the uninterruptible power supply and further control the stack; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]) further additional unit (i.e., such as additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) in the stack (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); wherein the reply signals (i.e., such as a feedback, reporting back to the user per the status check signal; for example, signaling between the master controller and the remote control 120 may be handled using Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) rather than USB (i.e., although USB may have substantial flexibility, USB may require activating more protocols prior to operation, whereby I.sup.2C may enable the remote control to become operational, process user inputs, and present user feedback faster than USB); see for example fig. 10, para. [0078]) comprise information (i.e., such as information in terms of security wise; for example, the ECKVM form-factor and associated circuitry may have components designed to receive security certifications, which may be particularly important to governmental customers that handle information with classified status. For example, to meet National Information Assurance Partnership (NIAP) certification requirements, the ECKVM switch may be entirely concealed within a metal enclosure and security tape may be used to protect the switch. As a result, all jumpers and connectors associated with the ECKVM switch will be accessible from outside the enclosure, whereby users need not open the enclosure to access the jumpers and connectors needed to connect components associated with the ECKVM backplane, the power backplane, and input/output devices to the ECKVM switch. Furthermore, in one implementation, the ECKVM switch may be installed vertically within the base module to dock directly into the ECKVM backplane, and as noted above, may have independent Ethernet switching circuitry, control switching circuitry (e.g., via the master controller), and KVM switching circuitry; see for example fig. 9, para. [0074]) about the function (i.e., such as the function of providing a computing module infrastructure; In particular, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a platform having embedded infrastructure control systems to provide a modular approach and control architecture, which may allow users to safely assemble, upgrade, and otherwise manage computer modules deployed on the platform. For example, in one implementation, an integrated ECKVM switch 240 may simplify deployment and cable management to provide simple options to install and use the stack, a shared power supply unit 250 may be used to power various computer modules and otherwise optimize power management associated with various components in the stack, and identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) of the at least one additional unit (i.e., such as one additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); wherein, during the identifying step (i.e., such as to identify; for example, in closed positions, the front panels may preserve the consistent and organized appearance, wherein post-market off-the-shelf devices may be installed in the stack without causing a dissimilar appearance, and different computer modules 120a-c may have different front panels having different finish colors to identify different characteristics (e.g., different classification domains) associated with the computer modules 120a-c. As such, different colors or other finishes may visually associate a particular computer module 120 and operating environment to enable users to quickly distinguish one computer module 120 from another computer module 120, which may further aid support personnel to conduct security audits, install upgrades, and otherwise manage the different computer modules 120a-c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) the identifying (i.e., such as to identify; for example, in closed positions, the front panels may preserve the consistent and organized appearance, wherein post-market off-the-shelf devices may be installed in the stack without causing a dissimilar appearance, and different computer modules 120a-c may have different front panels having different finish colors to identify different characteristics (e.g., different classification domains) associated with the computer modules 120a-c. As such, different colors or other finishes may visually associate a particular computer module 120 and operating environment to enable users to quickly distinguish one computer module 120 from another computer module 120, which may further aid support personnel to conduct security audits, install upgrades, and otherwise manage the different computer modules 120a-c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) of the function (i.e., such as the function of providing a computing module infrastructure; In particular, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a platform having embedded infrastructure control systems to provide a modular approach and control architecture, which may allow users to safely assemble, upgrade, and otherwise manage computer modules deployed on the platform. For example, in one implementation, an integrated ECKVM switch 240 may simplify deployment and cable management to provide simple options to install and use the stack, a shared power supply unit 250 may be used to power various computer modules and otherwise optimize power management associated with various components in the stack, and identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) of the at least one additional unit (i.e., such as one additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) is used by the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) to look up in a library (i.e., the access to the online mass database/library by the ECKVM control system to look up, select, install, and upgrade any protocol desired by the user; for example, the ECKVM switch may be installed vertically within the base module to dock directly into the ECKVM backplane, and as noted above, may have independent Ethernet switching circuitry, control switching circuitry (e.g., via the master controller), and KVM switching circuitry. In one implementation, the Ethernet switching circuitry may generally perform in substantially a similar manner to standard standalone Ethernet switches, providing a 1 Gb port from each computer module to a 1 Gb uplink port that can be connected to a primary Ethernet connection, while the control and KVM switching circuitry may have a substantially similar design; see for example fig. 8, para. [0074]) the protocol (i.e., such as the pertinent protocol in terms of security wise, environmental wise, etc.; for example, the industrial design 100 may eliminate brominated flame retardant (BFR) from all circuit boards, eliminate polyvinyl chloride (PVC) from all cables, have recyclable mechanical materials, and substantially reduce packaging and shipping materials, among other environmental benefits. As such, the industrial design 100 may meet or exceed environmental performance criteria sufficient to achieve Electronic Product Environmental Assessment (EPEAT.RTM.) Gold certification (e.g., as described in "IEEE Standard 1680.1, Section 4-Environmental Performance Criteria for Desktop Personal Computers, Notebook Personal Computers and Personal Computer Displays," the contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference in their entirety); see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) and/or interface (i.e., such as the interface to communicate as a standalone platform; for example, the remote control may have a microcontroller that interfaces with the buttons associated with the computer modules and handles the above behaviors that relate to waiting until all pressed buttons have been released before switching, prioritizing a first button press, ignoring subsequent button presses, and activating the first enumerated port, as will be described in further detail below. Further, as shown in FIG. 9, the KVM switch 910 may receive input signals from the computer modules on the stack and/or the remote computer module via the connection to the ECKVM backplane 950, wherein the input signals may include two display port input signals, one USB input signal, and one audio input signals, while the remote computer module (if present) connects to the ECKVM backplane 950 (and consequently the KVM switch 910) via two display port cables and one USB cable on the ECKVM daughter card; see for example fig. 9, para. [0076]) needed to communicate (i.e., such as to communicate back and forth per the user command; for example, signaling between the master controller and the remote control 120 may be handled using Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) rather than USB (i.e., although USB may have substantial flexibility, USB may require activating more protocols prior to operation, whereby I.sup.2C may enable the remote control to become operational, process user inputs, and present user feedback faster than USB); see for example fig. 10, para. [0078]) with this at least one additional unit (i.e., such as one additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); wherein the reply signals (i.e., such as a feedback, reporting back to the user per the status check signal; for example, signaling between the master controller and the remote control 120 may be handled using Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) rather than USB (i.e., although USB may have substantial flexibility, USB may require activating more protocols prior to operation, whereby I.sup.2C may enable the remote control to become operational, process user inputs, and present user feedback faster than USB); see for example fig. 10, para. [0078]) comprise information (i.e., such as information in terms of security wise; for example, the ECKVM form-factor and associated circuitry may have components designed to receive security certifications, which may be particularly important to governmental customers that handle information with classified status. For example, to meet National Information Assurance Partnership (NIAP) certification requirements, the ECKVM switch may be entirely concealed within a metal enclosure and security tape may be used to protect the switch. As a result, all jumpers and connectors associated with the ECKVM switch will be accessible from outside the enclosure, whereby users need not open the enclosure to access the jumpers and connectors needed to connect components associated with the ECKVM backplane, the power backplane, and input/output devices to the ECKVM switch. Furthermore, in one implementation, the ECKVM switch may be installed vertically within the base module to dock directly into the ECKVM backplane, and as noted above, may have independent Ethernet switching circuitry, control switching circuitry (e.g., via the master controller), and KVM switching circuitry; see for example fig. 9, para. [0074]) about the position (i.e., such as each 230's position with respect to the whole stack of the 230s; the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; For example, to indicate overall quality in the adaptive computing system, the various buttons 1010, 1020, and 1030 on the remote control may have sizes based on a person having larger fingers, while having tactile qualities that a person with smaller hands or fingers would be able to feel. Further, all legends or other alphanumeric indicators printed on the remote control may be resistant to fading or removal, while the various LEDs 1015, 1025, and 1035 may use white, red, green, blue, and other colors that can be easily perceived visually. Further, the LEDs 1015, 1025, and 1035 may support dimmed or brightened colors to reflect particular needs in certain customer environments, wherein the master controller may enable users to select a dimness or brightness level associated therewith (e.g., visually impaired users may desire brighter colors that are easier to see, while environments having substantial natural light may support dimmer colors that provide greater contrast in bright light); see for example fig. 10, para. [0086]) of the at least one additional unit (i.e., such as one additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) in the stack (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); wherein, during the identifying step (i.e., such as to identify; for example, in closed positions, the front panels may preserve the consistent and organized appearance, wherein post-market off-the-shelf devices may be installed in the stack without causing a dissimilar appearance, and different computer modules 120a-c may have different front panels having different finish colors to identify different characteristics (e.g., different classification domains) associated with the computer modules 120a-c. As such, different colors or other finishes may visually associate a particular computer module 120 and operating environment to enable users to quickly distinguish one computer module 120 from another computer module 120, which may further aid support personnel to conduct security audits, install upgrades, and otherwise manage the different computer modules 120a-c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) the identification (i.e., such as to identify; for example, in closed positions, the front panels may preserve the consistent and organized appearance, wherein post-market off-the-shelf devices may be installed in the stack without causing a dissimilar appearance, and different computer modules 120a-c may have different front panels having different finish colors to identify different characteristics (e.g., different classification domains) associated with the computer modules 120a-c. As such, different colors or other finishes may visually associated a particular computer module 120 and operating environment to enable users to quickly distinguish one computer module 120 from another computer module 120, which may further aid support personnel to conduct security audits, install upgrades, and otherwise manage the different computer modules 120a-c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) of the location (i.e., such as identification of the location of the new intruder computer module 230 in terms of its location with respect to the whole modular stack in order to identify its priority to be provided accordingly in terms of the hardware/software wise; For example, in the diagram shown in FIG. 9, which includes four computer modules, the KVM switch 910 would provide a four-to-one switch between four computer modules and one input/output device set shared among the four computer modules. In one implementation, the KVM switch 910 may generally receive and transmit signals to any computer modules deployed in the stack with the base module via a connector to the ECKVM backplane 950, and may receive transmit signals to the remote computer module (if present) via connectors on the ECKVM daughter card shown in FIG. 8; see for example fig. 9, para. [0075]) in the stack (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) of the at least one additional unit (i.e., such as one additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) is used by the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) to identify (i.e., such as to identify; for example, in closed positions, the front panels may preserve the consistent and organized appearance, wherein post-market off-the-shelf devices may be installed in the stack without causing a dissimilar appearance, and different computer modules 120a-c may have different front panels having different finish colors to identify different characteristics (e.g., different classification domains) associated with the computer modules 120a-c. As such, different colors or other finishes may visually associate a particular computer module 120 and operating environment to enable users to quickly distinguish one computer module 120 from another computer module 120, which may further aid support personnel to conduct security audits, install upgrades, and otherwise manage the different computer modules 120a-c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) the offset (i.e., such as the offset needed to ensure the prioritized modules 230 operate and function properly and accordingly as desired by the user; for example, the ECKVM form-factor and associated circuitry may have components designed to receive security certifications, which may be particularly important to governmental customers that handle information with classified status. For example, to meet National Information Assurance Partnership (NIAP) certification requirements, the ECKVM switch may be entirely concealed within a metal enclosure and security tape may be used to protect the switch. As a result, all jumpers and connectors associated with the ECKVM switch will be accessible from outside the enclosure, whereby users need not open the enclosure to access the jumpers and connectors needed to connect components associated with the ECKVM backplane, the power backplane, and input/output devices to the ECKVM switch; see fig. 9, para. [0074]) which need to be given to a communication signal (i.e., such as the communication signal back and forth between the module 230 and the ECKVM switch system 240; for example, the KVM switch 910 may generally receive and transmit signals to any computer modules deployed in the stack with the base module via a connector to the ECKVM backplane 950, and may receive transmit signals to the remote computer module (if present) via connectors on the ECKVM daughter card shown in FIG. 8; see for example fig. 9, para. [0075]) by a selecting mechanism (i.e., such as the mechanical security activation signal; for example, the remote control may have a mechanical security activation switch 1060, which may initially be closed to connect a security activation pin on the microcontroller 1000 to ground. In the closed state, the remote control may be considered unsecure (i.e., to communicate with other unsecured master controllers), wherein users can remove a latch associated with the security activation switch 1060 to activate security features associated with the microcontroller 1000; see for example fig. 10, para. [0080]) when communicating (i.e., such as the communication signal back and forth between the module 230 and the ECKVM switch system 240; for example, the KVM switch 910 may generally receive and transmit signals to any computer modules deployed in the stack with the base module via a connector to the ECKVM backplane 950, and may receive transmit signals to the remote computer module (if present) via connectors on the ECKVM daughter card shown in FIG. 8; see for example fig. 9, para. [0075]) with this at least one additional unit (i.e., such as one additional computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); wherein the step of detecting (i.e., such as to detect; for example, the GPIO headers 770 may include a power LED header to drive a power LED, a power on header to turn the motherboard on and off and connect to the remote control, a hard-drive LED header to display hard drive activities, an intruder header to detect chassis intrusions, etc., an embedded controller on the motherboard associated with the computer modules may further detect any major state changes in an operating system running on the computer modules; see for example fig. 10, para. [0084]; Also, the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; see for example fig. 10, para. [0041]) and determining (i.e., such as to determine; As such, in response to determining the capacity associated with the power supply unit and the power draw requirements associated with every module on the stack, the master controller 400 may ensure that all computer modules on the stack do not draw collective power that exceeds the capacity associated with the common supply unit. For example, during power-up sequences, the master controller 400 can make decisions to ensure that the collective power demand does not exceed the capacity associated with the common power supply, and an error may be generated if the common power supply unit cannot provide sufficient power output to meet the requirements (e.g., visually via an LED indicator or LCD screen associated with the remote control and/or audibly via speakers or other audio output devices); for example, the master controller 400 may read values associated with the power budget jumpers 420 to determine a capacity associated with the common supply unit and determine power draw requirements associated with every dependent module in the stack, including the master controller 400 itself; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]; Also, the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; see for example fig. 10, para. [0041]) the number of units (i.e., such as the number of units can be verified via two ways; the first way utilizes the grounding panel-pins configuration via microcontroller 1000, also used as security measures; and the second way utilizes the LED-visualization scheme; For example, in one implementation, the enable LED 1015 may be off to indicate that a common power supply in the base module has not been turned on, solid red to indicate that the common power supply has been turned on but that no computer modules have been powered on, blinking red to indicate that a fault has occurred in the master controller, and solid green to indicate that the common power supply has been turned on and that one or more computer modules are drawing power from the common power supply. Similarly, the KVM buttons 1030 that can be used to switch the KVM among the various computer modules via the remote control may have associated KVM LEDs 1035 to indicate a current status associated with the ECKVM switch. More particularly, in response to the user pressing a particular KVM button 1030 to switch the KVM to the computer module associated with the particular KVM button 1030, the associated KVM LED 1035 may turn on, changing to a certain color (e.g., amber) to indicate that the KVM has been successfully switched to the associated computer module, while all other KVM LEDs 1035 may turn off. In one implementation, although the foregoing description relating to the enable LED 1015, the power LEDs 1025, and the KVM LEDs 1035 refer to certain particular colors, various other colors may be suitably used to reflect the various status indicators, as will be apparent; see for example fig. 10, para. [0085]) uses presence detection pins (i.e., such as the presence of pins detected by the the remote control as a security countermeasures to verify the authorized users, thereby reflecting the source, the position, the location, and the total number of the respective computer module(s) 230 is/are online in the modular stack 100; For example, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060 and connecting the remote control to an unsecured master controller, various security features may be activated on the remote control and the master controller (e.g., encoding communications between the remote control and the master controller via randomly generated keys to prevent the remote control from working with other master controllers and vice versa, locking down the firmware on the remote control and the master controller except via an interface associated with the JTAG header 1050 and the reset header 1055, and disabling an interface associated with the UART connector 1080). Further, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060, subsequent changes to the security activation switch 1060 may no longer affect the security features on the remote control (i.e., the security activation switch 1060 provides a one-time activation option to secure operating the remote control with a particular master controller); see for example fig. 10, para. [0080]) of the at least one first stack connector (i.e., such as 1st stack connector Power-Jumper 225; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) and further comprises identifying (i.e., such as to identify; for example, in closed positions, the front panels may preserve the consistent and organized appearance, wherein post-market off-the-shelf devices may be installed in the stack without causing a dissimilar appearance, and different computer modules 120a-c may have different front panels having different finish colors to identify different characteristics (e.g., different classification domains) associated with the computer modules 120a-c. As such, different colors or other finishes may visually associate a particular computer module 120 and operating environment to enable users to quickly distinguish one computer module 120 from another computer module 120, which may further aid support personnel to conduct security audits, install upgrades, and otherwise manage the different computer modules 120a-c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) by the top-level unit (i.e., such as top-level computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) how many of the presence detection pins (i.e., such as the presence of pins detected by the remote control as a security countermeasures to verify the authorized users, thereby reflecting the source, the position, the location, and the total number of the respective computer module(s) 230 is/are online in the modular stack 100; For example, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060 and connecting the remote control to an unsecured master controller, various security features may be activated on the remote control and the master controller (e.g., encoding communications between the remote control and the master controller via randomly generated keys to prevent the remote control from working with other master controllers and vice versa, locking down the firmware on the remote control and the master controller except via an interface associated with the JTAG header 1050 and the reset header 1055, and disabling an interface associated with the UART connector 1080). Further, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060, subsequent changes to the security activation switch 1060 may no longer affect the security features on the remote control (i.e., the security activation switch 1060 provides a one-time activation option to secure operating the remote control with a particular master controller); see for example fig. 10, para. [0080]) became grounded (i.e., such as setting the pin of microcontroller 1000 to the ground in order to ground panels 1020a-1020d/1030a-1030d of the respective computer modules 230; for example, the remote control may have a mechanical security activation switch 1060, which may initially be closed to connect a security activation pin on the microcontroller 1000 to ground. In the closed state, the remote control may be considered unsecure (i.e., to communicate with other unsecured master controllers), wherein users can remove a latch associated with the security activation switch 1060 to activate security features associated with the microcontroller 1000. For example, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060 and connecting the remote control to an unsecured master controller, various security features may be activated on the remote control and the master controller (e.g., encoding communications between the remote control and the master controller via randomly generated keys to prevent the remote control from working with other master controllers and vice versa, locking down the firmware on the remote control and the master controller except via an interface associated with the JTAG header 1050 and the reset header 1055, and disabling an interface associated with the UART connector 1080); see for example fig. 10, para. [0080]) after providing power (i.e., such as providing power; for example, users may press and release the enable button 1010 to turn on the base module, press and hold the enable button 1010 after the base module has turned on and reached an operational state to turn on all computer modules on the stack (and the remote computer module if present), and press and hold the enable button 1010 again to turn off the base modules and any other computer modules currently powered on (i.e., essentially a forced shutdown). In one implementation, the power buttons 1020 may control powering on and off individual computer modules associated therewith, wherein a first power button 1020a may be associated with a computer module situated immediately above the base module on the stack, a second power button 1020b may be associated with a next highest computer module, and so on, while a fourth power button 1020d may be associated with the remote computer module, regardless of how many computer modules may be in the stack; see for example fig. 10, para. [0081]) to the stacked control application system (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); wherein the number of pins (i.e., such as the number of pins corresponds to the respective panels 1020a-1020d/1030a-1030d, subsequently leads to the computer modules 230 in the modular stack 100; For example, as noted above, the adaptive computing system may include multiple methods to trigger shutdown procedures, which users should attempt before using the enable button 1010 or the power buttons 1020 to trigger forced shutdowns (e.g., sending operating system instructions to embedded motherboard controllers, using a GPIO power button, sending instructions from the SMBus to the chipset or the embedded motherboard controller, using the master controller shutdown procedure, etc.).; see for example fig. 10, para. [0081]) that became grounded (i.e., such as setting the pin of microcontroller 1000 to the ground in order to ground panels 1020a-1020d/1030a-1030d of the respective computer modules 230; for example, the remote control may have a mechanical security activation switch 1060, which may initially be closed to connect a security activation pin on the microcontroller 1000 to ground. In the closed state, the remote control may be considered unsecure (i.e., to communicate with other unsecured master controllers), wherein users can remove a latch associated with the security activation switch 1060 to activate security features associated with the microcontroller 1000. For example, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060 and connecting the remote control to an unsecured master controller, various security features may be activated on the remote control and the master controller (e.g., encoding communications between the remote control and the master controller via randomly generated keys to prevent the remote control from working with other master controllers and vice versa, locking down the firmware on the remote control and the master controller except via an interface associated with the JTAG header 1050 and the reset header 1055, and disabling an interface associated with the UART connector 1080); see for example fig. 10, para. [0080]) equals the amount of units (i.e., such as the amount/number of units can be verified via two ways; the first way utilizes the grounding panel-pins configuration via microcontroller 1000, also used as security measures; and the second way utilizes the LED-visualization scheme; For example, in one implementation, the enable LED 1015 may be off to indicate that a common power supply in the base module has not been turned on, solid red to indicate that the common power supply has been turned on but that no computer modules have been powered on, blinking red to indicate that a fault has occurred in the master controller, and solid green to indicate that the common power supply has been turned on and that one or more computer modules are drawing power from the common power supply. Similarly, the KVM buttons 1030 that can be used to switch the KVM among the various computer modules via the remote control may have associated KVM LEDs 1035 to indicate a current status associated with the ECKVM switch. More particularly, in response to the user pressing a particular KVM button 1030 to switch the KVM to the computer module associated with the particular KVM button 1030, the associated KVM LED 1035 may turn on, changing to a certain color (e.g., amber) to indicate that the KVM has been successfully switched to the associated computer module, while all other KVM LEDs 1035 may turn off. In one implementation, although the foregoing description relating to the enable LED 1015, the power LEDs 1025, and the KVM LEDs 1035 refer to certain particular colors, various other colors may be suitably used to reflect the various status indicators, as will be apparent; see for example fig. 10, para. [0085]) which are provided in the stack (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); wherein the step of detecting (i.e., such as to detect; for example, the GPIO headers 770 may include a power LED header to drive a power LED, a power on header to turn the motherboard on and off and connect to the remote control, a hard-drive LED header to display hard drive activities, an intruder header to detect chassis intrusions, etc., an embedded controller on the motherboard associated with the computer modules may further detect any major state changes in an operating system running on the computer modules; see for example fig. 10, para. [0084]; Also, the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; see for example fig. 10, para. [0041]) and determining (i.e., such as to determine; As such, in response to determining the capacity associated with the power supply unit and the power draw requirements associated with every module on the stack, the master controller 400 may ensure that all computer modules on the stack do not draw collective power that exceeds the capacity associated with the common supply unit. For example, during power-up sequences, the master controller 400 can make decisions to ensure that the collective power demand does not exceed the capacity associated with the common power supply, and an error may be generated if the common power supply unit cannot provide sufficient power output to meet the requirements (e.g., visually via an LED indicator or LCD screen associated with the remote control and/or audibly via speakers or other audio output devices); for example, the master controller 400 may read values associated with the power budget jumpers 420 to determine a capacity associated with the common supply unit and determine power draw requirements associated with every dependent module in the stack, including the master controller 400 itself; see for example fig. 4, para. [0040]; Also, the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; see for example fig. 10, para. [0041]) by each unit (i.e., such as each computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) its position (i.e., such as each 230's position with respect to the whole stack of the 230s; the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; For example, to indicate overall quality in the adaptive computing system, the various buttons 1010, 1020, and 1030 on the remote control may have sizes based on a person having larger fingers, while having tactile qualities that a person with smaller hands or fingers would be able to feel. Further, all legends or other alphanumeric indicators printed on the remote control may be resistant to fading or removal, while the various LEDs 1015, 1025, and 1035 may use white, red, green, blue, and other colors that can be easily perceived visually. Further, the LEDs 1015, 1025, and 1035 may support dimmed or brightened colors to reflect particular needs in certain customer environments, wherein the master controller may enable users to select a dimness or brightness level associated therewith (e.g., visually impaired users may desire brighter colors that are easier to see, while environments having substantial natural light may support dimmer colors that provide greater contrast in bright light); see for example fig. 10, para. [0086]) in the stack (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) uses position detection pins (i.e., such as the position of pins detected by the remote control as a security countermeasures to verify the authorized users, thereby reflecting the source, the position, the location, and the total number of the respective computer module(s) 230 is/are online in the modular stack 100; For example, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060 and connecting the remote control to an unsecured master controller, various security features may be activated on the remote control and the master controller (e.g., encoding communications between the remote control and the master controller via randomly generated keys to prevent the remote control from working with other master controllers and vice versa, locking down the firmware on the remote control and the master controller except via an interface associated with the JTAG header 1050 and the reset header 1055, and disabling an interface associated with the UART connector 1080). Further, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060, subsequent changes to the security activation switch 1060 may no longer affect the security features on the remote control (i.e., the security activation switch 1060 provides a one-time activation option to secure operating the remote control with a particular master controller); see for example fig. 10, para. [0080]) of the at least one first stack connector (i.e., such as one 1st stack connector Power-Jumper 225; plurality of 210s, 215s, 220s, and 225s; such as the vertical connector 215 provides communication to the 230 to communicate with each other as well as to communicate back and forth with the 240 via the 210 in order to be administrated and controlled by any user via the 260 and the 270; the 220 provides power to each 230; the 225 secures power and comms with the 230s, and the 230 between each other via the 220 in order to supplied via the 250, also, to report back and forth to the 260 and the 270 via the 240; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]- [0035]) and further comprises identifying (i.e., such as to identify; for example, in closed positions, the front panels may preserve the consistent and organized appearance, wherein post-market off-the-shelf devices may be installed in the stack without causing a dissimilar appearance, and different computer modules 120a-c may have different front panels having different finish colors to identify different characteristics (e.g., different classification domains) associated with the computer modules 120a-c. As such, different colors or other finishes may visually associate a particular computer module 120 and operating environment to enable users to quickly distinguish one computer module 120 from another computer module 120, which may further aid support personnel to conduct security audits, install upgrades, and otherwise manage the different computer modules 120a-c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0029]) by each unit (i.e., such as each computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) which position detection pin (i.e., such as the position of pins detected by the remote control as a security countermeasures to verify the authorized users, thereby reflecting the source, the position, the location, and the total number of the respective computer module(s) 230 is/are online in the modular stack 100; For example, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060 and connecting the remote control to an unsecured master controller, various security features may be activated on the remote control and the master controller (e.g., encoding communications between the remote control and the master controller via randomly generated keys to prevent the remote control from working with other master controllers and vice versa, locking down the firmware on the remote control and the master controller except via an interface associated with the JTAG header 1050 and the reset header 1055, and disabling an interface associated with the UART connector 1080). Further, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060, subsequent changes to the security activation switch 1060 may no longer affect the security features on the remote control (i.e., the security activation switch 1060 provides a one-time activation option to secure operating the remote control with a particular master controller); see for example fig. 10, para. [0080]) is grounded (i.e., such as setting the pin of microcontroller 1000 to the ground in order to ground panels 1020a-1020d/1030a-1030d of the respective computer modules 230; for example, the remote control may have a mechanical security activation switch 1060, which may initially be closed to connect a security activation pin on the microcontroller 1000 to ground. In the closed state, the remote control may be considered unsecure (i.e., to communicate with other unsecured master controllers), wherein users can remove a latch associated with the security activation switch 1060 to activate security features associated with the microcontroller 1000. For example, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060 and connecting the remote control to an unsecured master controller, various security features may be activated on the remote control and the master controller (e.g., encoding communications between the remote control and the master controller via randomly generated keys to prevent the remote control from working with other master controllers and vice versa, locking down the firmware on the remote control and the master controller except via an interface associated with the JTAG header 1050 and the reset header 1055, and disabling an interface associated with the UART connector 1080); see for example fig. 10, para. [0080]) on this respective unit (i.e., such as corresponds to the pertinent computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 12, Nguyen discloses method to start-up a modular stacked control loop application system (i.e., such as the industrial design 100 and its connection diagram in fig. 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0030]); wherein the number of the pin (i.e., such as the number of pins corresponds to the respective panels 1020a-1020d/1030a-1030d, subsequently leads to the computer modules 230 in the modular stack 100; For example, as noted above, the adaptive computing system may include multiple methods to trigger shutdown procedures, which users should attempt before using the enable button 1010 or the power buttons 1020 to trigger forced shutdowns (e.g., sending operating system instructions to embedded motherboard controllers, using a GPIO power button, sending instructions from the SMBus to the chipset or the embedded motherboard controller, using the master controller shutdown procedure, etc.).; see for example fig. 10, para. [0081]) that became grounded (i.e., such as setting the pin of microcontroller 1000 to the ground in order to ground panels 1020a-1020d/1030a-1030d of the respective computer modules 230; for example, the remote control may have a mechanical security activation switch 1060, which may initially be closed to connect a security activation pin on the microcontroller 1000 to ground. In the closed state, the remote control may be considered unsecure (i.e., to communicate with other unsecured master controllers), wherein users can remove a latch associated with the security activation switch 1060 to activate security features associated with the microcontroller 1000. For example, in response to the user removing the latch to open the security activation switch 1060 and connecting the remote control to an unsecured master controller, various security features may be activated on the remote control and the master controller (e.g., encoding communications between the remote control and the master controller via randomly generated keys to prevent the remote control from working with other master controllers and vice versa, locking down the firmware on the remote control and the master controller except via an interface associated with the JTAG header 1050 and the reset header 1055, and disabling an interface associated with the UART connector 1080); see for example fig. 10, para. [0080]) equals (i.e., such as the position of the respective unit can be verified via two ways; the first way utilizes the grounding panel-pins configuration via microcontroller 1000, also used as security measures; and the second way utilizes the LED-visualization scheme; For example, in one implementation, the enable LED 1015 may be off to indicate that a common power supply in the base module has not been turned on, solid red to indicate that the common power supply has been turned on but that no computer modules have been powered on, blinking red to indicate that a fault has occurred in the master controller, and solid green to indicate that the common power supply has been turned on and that one or more computer modules are drawing power from the common power supply. Similarly, the KVM buttons 1030 that can be used to switch the KVM among the various computer modules via the remote control may have associated KVM LEDs 1035 to indicate a current status associated with the ECKVM switch. More particularly, in response to the user pressing a particular KVM button 1030 to switch the KVM to the computer module associated with the particular KVM button 1030, the associated KVM LED 1035 may turn on, changing to a certain color (e.g., amber) to indicate that the KVM has been successfully switched to the associated computer module, while all other KVM LEDs 1035 may turn off. In one implementation, although the foregoing description relating to the enable LED 1015, the power LEDs 1025, and the KVM LEDs 1035 refer to certain particular colors, various other colors may be suitably used to reflect the various status indicators, as will be apparent; see for example fig. 10, para. [0085]) to the position (i.e., such as each 230's position with respect to the whole stack of the 230s; the number of units 230s can be checked and verified via the LED-scheme, for example, whenever a computer 230 is online, the user can see/monitor/control the status of the designated 230 in terms of operation, function, position, location, etc.; For example, to indicate overall quality in the adaptive computing system, the various buttons 1010, 1020, and 1030 on the remote control may have sizes based on a person having larger fingers, while having tactile qualities that a person with smaller hands or fingers would be able to feel. Further, all legends or other alphanumeric indicators printed on the remote control may be resistant to fading or removal, while the various LEDs 1015, 1025, and 1035 may use white, red, green, blue, and other colors that can be easily perceived visually. Further, the LEDs 1015, 1025, and 1035 may support dimmed or brightened colors to reflect particular needs in certain customer environments, wherein the master controller may enable users to select a dimness or brightness level associated therewith (e.g., visually impaired users may desire brighter colors that are easier to see, while environments having substantial natural light may support dimmer colors that provide greater contrast in bright light); see for example fig. 10, para. [0086]) of the respective unit (i.e., such as the germane computer module 230; plurality of 230s; such as identical motherboards 230 may be used in the computer modules to simplify deploying multiple computer modules in the platform. Thus, as will be described in further detail herein, the connection diagram shown in FIG. 2 may provide a modular control, switching, and power supply architecture, which may include various building blocks that may be utilized to assemble the various computer modules in the stack in a manner that meets the particular needs associated with any particular user; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]) in the stack (i.e., such as the modular stack 100 of the computer modules 230s; see for example fig. 2, para. [0031]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, Nguyen teaches the invention set forth above. However, Nguyen does not particularly teach wherein the step of detecting and determining the number of units further comprising: continuously sending out a position signal on a first channel of a stack connector by each additional unit in the stack to the unit placed above the each additional unit in the stack, receiving the position signals shifting the received position signal from the below unit to the next available channel, repeating the step of shifting of the received position signals to the next available channel and transmitting the position signals to the above placed unit until all position signals have reached the top-level unit, transmitting the position signals to the above placed unit, scanning by the top-level unit of the channels of the stack connector connecting the top-level unit with the additional unit below the top-level unit to determine which channels are sending out a position signal, and determining the number of channels used and using this number to determine the number of additional units.
Hence claim 13 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 14, Nguyen teaches the invention set forth above. However, Nguyen does not particularly teach which the step of detecting and determining by each unit its position in the stack further comprising the steps of: sending a grounding signal by the top-level unit on a first channel of a stack connector to the below additional unit, shifting the grounding signal from the first channel to the next available channel in the stack connector placed between additional units, determining the position of the additional unit, in the stack by the additional unit by determining the channel on which the grounding signal was received by the additional unit and transferring the grounding signal to the next additional unit, repeating the sending out of the grounding signal, the shifting of the received grounding signal, and the determining of the position by the additional unit, until all other additional units have determined their position in the stack.
Hence claim 14 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838