DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive the Response to Election/Restriction filed 05/20/2026.
The preliminary amendment filed 10/15/2024, amended claims 3-6, 8 and 10, and cancelled claim 7.
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, the compound, and the species
as the compound of the formula of instant claim 1, in the reply filed on 05/20/2026, is acknowledged.
The species is allowable over the prior art. The examination of the Markush claim has been extended. If a Markush grouping as set forth in a claim is proper and election of species has been required, the examiner must continue to search the species of the claim unless the claim has been found to be unpatentable over prior art. MPEP 803.02.
As detailed in the following prior art rejections, the generic claim encompassing the elected species was not found patentable. Therefore, the provisional election of species is given effect, the examination is restricted to the elected species only, and claims not reading on the elected species are held withdrawn. MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987).
Should applicant, in response to this rejection of the Markush-type claim, overcome the rejection through amendment, the amended Markush-type claim will be reexamined to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. See MPEP 803.02.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1 and 5-6 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. 2020/0009272 to Pitner, (published 01/09/2020, IDS of 08/22/2025) in view of Jiang (Polarity-tunable and wavelength-tunable bacteriochlorins bearing a single carboxylic acid or NHS ester. Use in a protein bioconjugation model system, published 2015, PTO-892).
Pitner teaches the following photoacoustic imaging contrast agents:
or metalized versions thereof (pg. 11, claim 30), which meet the limitations of the formula of instant claim 1 when:
R1 and R2 are an ester
R3 and R4 are aryl and arylalkynyl,
R5 is H, and
M is the metal nickel or not present.
Pitner differs from that of the formula of instant claim 1 in that it does not teach R1 and R2 as different.
Pitner teaches its compounds as having the generic formula:
wherein R7, which is instant R1 and R2 can be independently selected from:
([0057]-[0059]).
Jiang teaches structurally similar bacteriochlorins and specifically teaches:
(pg. 404), wherein the positions of instant R1 and R2 are different.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute either the instant R1 or R2 position of
, with sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid, to arrive at the formula of instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Pitner teaches that its compounds can be sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid at these positions and teaches that the instant R1 and R2 groups are independent of one another,
-Jiang teaches structurally similar compounds with different groups at the instant R1 and R2 positions,
-Pitner and Jiang both teach their compounds as bacteriochlorins (Pitner, abstract; Jiang, title and abstract) for bioconjugation (Pitner [0020], [0053], and Jiang, title and abstract)
-Jiang specifically teaches its compounds for use in a protein bioconjugation model system (title, abstract), and
-a prima facie case of obvious may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities, MPEP 2144.09.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at a structurally similar bacteriochlorin that is effective as a photoacoustic imaging contrast agent that is conjugated to proteins.
Regarding claim 6, Pitner teaches its compounds as photoacoustic imaging agents.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,042,548 (IDS of 08/22/2025) in view of US PG Pub. 2020/0009272 to Pitner, (published 01/09/2020, IDS of 08/22/2025) in view of Jiang (Polarity-tunable and wavelength-tunable bacteriochlorins bearing a single carboxylic acid or NHS ester. Use in a protein bioconjugation model system, published 2015, PTO-892).
‘548 claims the following compounds:
(claims 3, 7).
‘548 differs from that of the formula of instant claim 1 in that it does not claim R1 and R2 as different.
Pitner is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Jiang is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute either the instant R1 or R2 position of the compounds of ‘548, with sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid, to arrive at the formula of instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘548 claims its compounds as bacteriochlorin photoacoustic imaging agents (claim 1),
-Pitner and Jiang both teach their compounds as bacteriochlorins (Pitner, abstract; Jiang, title and abstract) for bioconjugation (Pitner [0020], [0053], and Jiang, tile and abstract)
-Pitner teaches that its compounds can be sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid at these positions and teaches that the instant R1 and R2 groups are independent of one another,
-Jiang teaches structurally similar compounds with different groups at the instant R1 and R2 positions,
-Jiang specifically teaches its compounds for use in a protein bioconjugation model system (title, abstract), and
-a prima facie case of obvious may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities, MPEP 2144.09.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at a structurally similar bacteriochlorin that is effective as a photoacoustic imaging contrast agent that is conjugated to proteins.
Regarding claim 6, ‘548 claims its compounds as photoacoustic imaging agents.
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,904,026 (IDS of 08/22/2025) in view of US PG Pub. 2020/0009272 to Pitner, (published 01/09/2020, IDS of 08/22/2025) in view of Jiang (Polarity-tunable and wavelength-tunable bacteriochlorins bearing a single carboxylic acid or NHS ester. Use in a protein bioconjugation model system, published 2015, PTO-892).
‘026 claims the following compounds:
(claims 1, 5).
‘026 differs from that of the formula of instant claim 1 in that it does not claim R1 and R2 as different.
Pitner is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Jiang is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute either the instant R1 or R2 position of the compounds of ‘026, with sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid, to arrive at the formula of instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘026 claims its compounds as bacteriochlorin photoacoustic imaging agents (claims 1-2),
-Pitner and Jiang both teach their compounds as bacteriochlorins (Pitner, abstract; Jiang, title and abstract) for bioconjugation (Pitner [0020], [0053], and Jiang, tile and abstract)
-Pitner teaches that its compounds can be sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid at these positions and teaches that the instant R1 and R2 groups are independent of one another,
-Jiang teaches structurally similar compounds with different groups at the instant R1 and R2 positions,
-Jiang specifically teaches its compounds for use in a protein bioconjugation model system (title, abstract), and
-a prima facie case of obvious may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities, MPEP 2144.09.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at a structurally similar bacteriochlorin that is effective as a photoacoustic imaging contrast agents, that is conjugated to proteins.
Regarding claim 6, ‘026 claims its compounds as photoacoustic imaging agents.
Claims 1 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17, 30, 33, 36 of copending Application No. 17/612,971 (claim set of 02/04/2026) in view of US PG Pub. 2020/0009272 to Pitner, (published 01/09/2020, IDS of 08/22/2025) in view of Jiang (Polarity-tunable and wavelength-tunable bacteriochlorins bearing a single carboxylic acid or NHS ester. Use in a protein bioconjugation model system, published 2015, PTO-892).
‘971 claims the following compounds:
(claims 17, 30, 33, 36).
‘971 differs from that of the formula of instant claim 1 in that it does not claim R1 and R2 as different.
Pitner is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Jiang is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute either the instant R1 or R2 position of the compounds of ‘971, with sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid, to arrive at the formula of instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘971 claims its compounds as bacteriochlorin photoacoustic imaging agents (pg. 1, lines 9-19, ‘971 Specification),
-Pitner and Jiang both teach their compounds as bacteriochlorins (Pitner, abstract; Jiang, title and abstract) for bioconjugation (Pitner [0020], [0053], and Jiang, tile and abstract)
-Pitner teaches that its compounds can be sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid at these positions and teaches that the instant R1 and R2 groups are independent of one another,
-Jiang teaches structurally similar compounds with different groups at the instant R1 and R2 positions,
-Jiang specifically teaches its compounds for use in a protein bioconjugation model system (title, abstract), and
-a prima facie case of obvious may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities, MPEP 2144.09.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at a structurally similar bacteriochlorin that is effective as an imaging contrast agent, that is conjugated to proteins.
Regarding claim 6, Pitner teaches such compounds as photoacoustic imaging agents.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Free of the Prior Art
Claim 5 is free of the prior art. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art to claim 5 is US PG Pub. 2020/0009272 to Pitner, (published 01/09/2020, IDS of 08/22/2025) which teaches the following photoacoustic imaging contrast agents:
or metalized versions thereof (pg. 11, claim 30).
However, Pitner does not teach R1-R4 as depicted in compound 6 of instant claim 5 and it does not teach R1 and R2 as different, which are the distinct features of compound 6.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected.
Claim 5 is objected to.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 are withdrawn.
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622